Sabattus, ME 
Sabattus Disc Golf - Eagle Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 211ft.   3 / 254ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

5+    6/13/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: WraithMaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A variety of shots are needed.
It's a nice walk in the woods.
The pro shop is very nice and staff are knowledgeable.
Lots of shots next to a body of water.
The bottle bins and butt cans are at every hole.
Cons: There are a few water holes. They do give you ways to retrieve discs though.
It does share some tees with another course the falcon.
Other Thoughts: This is hands down my favorite course to play. It has both open and tight drives. This course is a must play for anyone in Maine.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Flawless

5+    12/17/2014   4/17/2015
Review By: Jmewhite1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best baskets you will find anywhere, long and challenging course that is absolutely manicured to perfection. Nice stream and bridges along the way. Great stonework and benches all over and very well marked.
Cons: Isn't open in the winter
Other Thoughts: Destination course with 3 other courses on site.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Professional feel. Good golf.

1    10/9/2014   10/9/2014
Review By: Birds
Played: 49  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is all the way nice. From the giant basket out front, into the pro shop, to the first tee, and throughout the course all you get is professional and upscale disc golf. The pro shop is great. The scorecards are nice. Tee signs are clear and concise. The course is aesthetic and fair. Beautiful. No litter. No bs.
Cons: Only the "par" situation. I just played and didn't really think too much about par. All the 5's felt like 4's and most of the 4's I considered tough 3's. I shot a 61 which felt to me like somewhere around where par aught to be.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely go out of my way to play this course again. Totally sweet. As others have said, this is what a pay to play course aught to be like. If you are paying 10 bucks a day (which I think is the most I've paid to play disc outside of tournaments) you should expect the highest level. This is it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Destination course

5+    8/24/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: overkill
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very well layed out course; the first few times I played it I didn't even notice how one hole runs alongside another. The entire course is extremely well maintained - virtually all debris has been removed in any wooded area; the large/long grass areas are always cut and akin to fairways at a golf course. Challenging holes plus the beautiful layout make it my favorite place to play of approximately 20 courses I have been to.
Cons: Very, very few. Get a working scale in the pro shop; and it would be nice to have food (burgers and dogs etc on site).
Other Thoughts: Love the selection in the pro shop too.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

destination course

5+    8/24/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: huckitt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous property. Expertly laid out and immaculately maintained. Great use of terrain. Nice baskets, signage and pads. The three and a half courses offer something for every player level. Peter Ruby and his team have put their heart and soul into this property and it shows.
Cons: I haven't encountered a problem with traffic but one of the intermediate courses shares tee boxes (but separate fairways and baskets) of the champion course for first several holes. Par is "generous". Grooming is so nice that the rough isn't a death sentence.
Other Thoughts: I travel and play extensively, love Houck courses as noted by reposado in an earlier post and agree with his comment about pin placement, but would still rank Eagle at Sabattus as one of the all time fun rounds to play anywhere. Artful use of the gorgeous meadows and wooded terrain with open water and streams in play, (but not as ridiculous hazards). The fairways are immaculate and well laid out with excellent signage - the lanes will challenge (but not intimidate the best players) - and they are thankfully devoid of the huck and pray config typical of New England wooded courses. Only con for a pro course is that a few holes are generously parred - good for the ego but easily overcome by a bit of score adjustment. Besides the pro-oriented Eagle, Sabattus offers two other very playable 18 hole intermediate runs, another 9 hole beginner course and a nicely stocked pro shop. This is a destination course for all levels. If there was a brewpub onsite I'd move next door.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

2-4    8/15/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome!

-Great mix of shots
-Nice elevation
-Awesome mix of tighter vs. more open fairways (mostly wooded)
-Great basket locations
-Great cement teepads
-Amazing signs
-Terrain is insane (roots, creeks, ponds, trees, rocks)
-Cheap to play all day
-Amazing pro shop with tons of discs and merch, so replacing lost plastic or stocking up is no prob)
Cons: -Pars are meant for amateurs (I found this to be a par 65 rather than a 72, but no big deal if you convert it)
-Some spots muddy after a big rain
-Creeks are deep and murky, so no plastic coming back (side of hole 4, pond on 8)
Other Thoughts: This place feels like a golf country club. From someone passing through for the 2nd summer from Philly, I was blown away with how awesome this place is. Great work guys! We need more places like this!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 eagle

5+    7/19/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: piranhabite
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice challenge , wide variety of holes/shot to make, water hazards , excellent baskets
Cons: not much maybe the water shots for newer players but good golfers will find it a fun challenge
Other Thoughts: this course is awesome makes a good challenge and very cool terrain nice place and very well maintained landscaping is some of the best seen on any course thanks to pete and his crew

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    7/10/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: endlsswinter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazingly friendly staff and beautifully maintained course. A great mixture of technical wooded holes and open bomber holes.
Other Thoughts: I searched for some of the best courses in the north east, and this one popped up. I was a little worried about the 5 hour trip just to play this course, but I gave it a shot. It was well worth it. I am looking forward to playing this course again. It is now easily in my top 3 courses.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

the course of the future, today

1    5/23/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: People often talk about the future of pay-to-play courses. Well in Sabattus, Maine, the future has arrived. There will always be a place for a true private course, a labor of love tucked far off the beaten path. But I think the growth will come from private, for-profit courses like this one.

People often talk about a course being manicured. Typically a course that is considered manicured means that apes a traditional golf course. Often, such courses are former courses. That's not how I would describe Sabattus. The courses here are manicured but with an original aesthetic that is specifically designed for disc golf. The gravel paths are striking. They look both professional and unique. There is grass too but often covers a glen, or a hillside and not a fairway. The entire operation just screams, "Professional."

From the first tee, a gravel path stretches ahead of you across the remainder of the open space and into the woods. The line isn't too demanding but it is long. You want to throw a straight shot down that gravel path. If you miss, you'll hit a tree, ruining a chance for birdie but there is very little underbrush, even off the fairway.

The second tee is the one that started me thinking that I was on a potential five. There is a creek just after the tee after which the fairway goes up and to the left. The bridge that crosses that creek will make every other course's bridges look amateur. Three is another killer hole. Over an open field on Eagle's high point. Past the standing stones, the first drive wants to cut left into an opening in the woods. From there, it's a narrow path to the basket.

Four, (and this is the last hole I'll describe in such detail) throws down along the path and into a glen that feels like discing in Hyrule. The basket is on the opposite hillside. The rest of the holes...man, they're all unique. The course really takes advantage of all the different slopes and shapes available on the property. There is quite a bit of water. Some of is merely aesthetic, but often the creek that runs along the course will come into play. It may lurk just behind the basket, making a run risky or it may require a crossing, but in every case it adds astounding beauty to the layout.

There are a lot of different shots here. There's a nice carry on twelve. There's an open pit which isn't a true carry but it is fun to attempt one there. There are even a few open holes where the big dogs will get a chance to eat, even for the big arms. There isn't any big elevation but there are a ton of bumps and ridges that will force players to reconsider flight paths.

The layout is fantastic. I think I've made that clear. But it's the professionalism that really stands out here. The grooming. The signage. Just the aesthetics. It's the course of the future, but you can play it today.
Cons: If you are looking for a Houck-style course with specific landing areas, where holes are designed with par in mind, this isn't it. In my opinion, if you take a course like that and combine with the presentation of Eagle, you have a five. For the first third of the course, I was wondering if Eagle would warrant my first five. It didn't quite get there and mostly because of this lack. (And also, a few holes toward the end aren't as interesting as those first few.

If you are looking for a course that will challenge top pros, this isn't it. For all of its good qualities, Eagle doesn't scare you. You might walk up to a tee and be blown away, you might eagerly anticipate the throw, but a blue-level player isn't going to walk up to tee and think, "I don't know if I can throw that." I don't think it was actually designed for an ability level but more to take full-advantage of the terrain. Which isn't always a bad thing.
Other Thoughts:
In the end, Eagle is a very good example of a 4.5. It is fully deserving of a spot in the top 100 and likely should be among the top 50. I find it incredible that it has existed for this long without picking up more than ten reviews. Locals, travelers, anyone: get on your keyboard and write.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Best I've ever played

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Schleyer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome pro shop
Great courses (3 of them)..Eagle is the hardest, Hawk is also hard. Owl is good learner course
Challenging
Well maintained
Trash / Recycling on every hole
Cons: Can't think of anything!....except a bit of a distance from Portland
Other Thoughts: Best course I have ever played! Recommend it to everyone!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.