Sabattus, ME 
Sabattus Disc Golf - Eagle Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #13 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 467ft.   4 / 407ft.   4 / 467ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Has anyone mentioned that this is a destination course yet?

1    9/27/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: AHagglund
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Sabattus Complex is fantastic. There are three courses on the property, and each have their niche. The property is a mature Maine woodland, which is every bit as lovely as it sounds. Everything is perfectly maintained, and the courses have every desired amenity. All in all, as others have mentioned, very professional.

The Eagle course is the most challenging of the three. Though the listed Par of 72 is, shall we say, pretty generous, the course is definitely not easy. The vast majority of the holes are wooded, narrow, relatively long, and usually with some degree of dogleg. Elevation often plays a factor, and there is shallow water on several holes. Put all of these factors together, and it is very, very tough to stay on the fairways.

The best compliment I can give the course is that there are no boring shots, and every hole is memorable. My personal favorites were probably 8 and 11.

Lots of par 4s and 5s, which I enjoyed.
Cons: The hole designs were somewhat atypical. The doglegs are so extreme that they take a lot of shots away (which is how a 350' foot hole becomes a par 4). A few holes bend so much that the fairways form a "U" shape. Some may like this; I did not. In some cases I was more rewarded for missing a fairway than for hitting one.

There were sooooooo many extreme left to right shots. 1, 6, 9, 13, 16, and 18 all fit this category. There are R->L shots too, but those tend to be more open, shorter, and with a greater margin for error.

Finally, I felt that the tee signs weren't very helpful. The lines they showed didn't match the lines on the course.
Other Thoughts: A full day of play for $10? Sign me up. The day I spent here was one of the most enjoyable days I've had with the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    7/31/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 149  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of all the disc golf complexes I've visited (Highbridge, Horning's Hideout), this is by far the best taken care of. Disc golf is the entire focus of the property, and the attention is evident. Everything is mowed. Woodchips cover every possible wet area. The pro shop is one of the largest I've seen.

Eagle is a terrific, multi-shot course. Hole 3 really set the tone. The drive is a full drive across a field. Your second shot needs to get you around a mando as you negotiate a gentle downhill at the same time as a 70-degree turn to the right with a stream guarding the left side, and then long, accurate approach to the basket. I'd love to play this hole until I can get a four on it.

Hole 8 is my favorite at the complex. Your drive is an uphill drive that needs to fade left down the fairway toward a pond. Your second shot needs to be a low shot across the pond to the basket on the other side. If you set yourself up nicely, it's a standard shot where you really just need to keep any thoughts of a worm burner out of your mind. If you put yourself behind a tree, you need to decide if you're going for an awkward shot across (this is the only water hazard on the course where you probably won't get your disc back). Oh, and you can avoid the pond altogether with an easy but boring 5 by going around. I haven't played another hole quite like this.

There are long bombers. Hole 14 is a 635-foot wide open hole that is a refreshing change and a fun chance to see if you can give yourself a look at 3. But there are several great short holes, too. Hole 4 is 254 feet downhill with the basket sitting at the edge of a slope with a thick part of the stream sitting behind.

The tees are concrete. The baskets are top-notch Mach X contraptions.
Cons: The tee signs (not the ones in the pictures). Not a fan. I only played to the wrong basket once (it was twice on Hawk). But the tee signs show the paths to the baskets for both Eagle and Falcon, which is an overlay to this course with separate baskets. The paths shown to the baskets take weird swooping paths that in no way represent the actual fairway. Please replace these. They don't fit with the superior standard that this complex has set for, frankly, everything else.

This isn't a true con for me, but just know that Eagle is not a true championship-level course. I imagine a real pro could shred the course. But whatever. There was no unnecessary beatdown here, just legitimate challenge combined with really fun design. We do play for fun, right?
Other Thoughts: Maple Hill is the best designed course in New England, but this is neck and neck with Smuggler's Notch for second. But why limit it to the Northeast? With the incredible condition of the course, the woodchips everywhere, and overall feel of the complex, this felt like a cross between Blue Ribbon Pines and Horning's Hideout Meadow Ridge.

I drove up from Boston on a hot summer day to get some cooler weather. I can't wait to get back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    6/13/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: WraithMaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A variety of shots are needed.
It's a nice walk in the woods.
The pro shop is very nice and staff are knowledgeable.
Lots of shots next to a body of water.
The bottle bins and butt cans are at every hole.
Cons: There are a few water holes. They do give you ways to retrieve discs though.
It does share some tees with another course the falcon.
Other Thoughts: This is hands down my favorite course to play. It has both open and tight drives. This course is a must play for anyone in Maine.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/17/2014   4/17/2015
Review By: Jmewhite1
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best baskets you will find anywhere, long and challenging course that is absolutely manicured to perfection. Nice stream and bridges along the way. Great stonework and benches all over and very well marked.
Cons: Isn't open in the winter
Other Thoughts: Destination course with 3 other courses on site.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Professional feel. Good golf.

1    10/9/2014   10/9/2014
Review By: Birds
Played: 49  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is all the way nice. From the giant basket out front, into the pro shop, to the first tee, and throughout the course all you get is professional and upscale disc golf. The pro shop is great. The scorecards are nice. Tee signs are clear and concise. The course is aesthetic and fair. Beautiful. No litter. No bs.
Cons: Only the "par" situation. I just played and didn't really think too much about par. All the 5's felt like 4's and most of the 4's I considered tough 3's. I shot a 61 which felt to me like somewhere around where par aught to be.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely go out of my way to play this course again. Totally sweet. As others have said, this is what a pay to play course aught to be like. If you are paying 10 bucks a day (which I think is the most I've paid to play disc outside of tournaments) you should expect the highest level. This is it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Destination course

5+    8/24/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: overkill
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very well layed out course; the first few times I played it I didn't even notice how one hole runs alongside another. The entire course is extremely well maintained - virtually all debris has been removed in any wooded area; the large/long grass areas are always cut and akin to fairways at a golf course. Challenging holes plus the beautiful layout make it my favorite place to play of approximately 20 courses I have been to.
Cons: Very, very few. Get a working scale in the pro shop; and it would be nice to have food (burgers and dogs etc on site).
Other Thoughts: Love the selection in the pro shop too.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

destination course

5+    8/24/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: huckitt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous property. Expertly laid out and immaculately maintained. Great use of terrain. Nice baskets, signage and pads. The three and a half courses offer something for every player level. Peter Ruby and his team have put their heart and soul into this property and it shows.
Cons: I haven't encountered a problem with traffic but one of the intermediate courses shares tee boxes (but separate fairways and baskets) of the champion course for first several holes. Par is "generous". Grooming is so nice that the rough isn't a death sentence.
Other Thoughts: I travel and play extensively, love Houck courses as noted by reposado in an earlier post and agree with his comment about pin placement, but would still rank Eagle at Sabattus as one of the all time fun rounds to play anywhere. Artful use of the gorgeous meadows and wooded terrain with open water and streams in play, (but not as ridiculous hazards). The fairways are immaculate and well laid out with excellent signage - the lanes will challenge (but not intimidate the best players) - and they are thankfully devoid of the huck and pray config typical of New England wooded courses. Only con for a pro course is that a few holes are generously parred - good for the ego but easily overcome by a bit of score adjustment. Besides the pro-oriented Eagle, Sabattus offers two other very playable 18 hole intermediate runs, another 9 hole beginner course and a nicely stocked pro shop. This is a destination course for all levels. If there was a brewpub onsite I'd move next door.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/15/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 51  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome!

-Great mix of shots
-Nice elevation
-Awesome mix of tighter vs. more open fairways (mostly wooded)
-Great basket locations
-Great cement teepads
-Amazing signs
-Terrain is insane (roots, creeks, ponds, trees, rocks)
-Cheap to play all day
-Amazing pro shop with tons of discs and merch, so replacing lost plastic or stocking up is no prob)
Cons: -Pars are meant for amateurs (I found this to be a par 65 rather than a 72, but no big deal if you convert it)
-Some spots muddy after a big rain
-Creeks are deep and murky, so no plastic coming back (side of hole 4, pond on 8)
Other Thoughts: This place feels like a golf country club. From someone passing through for the 2nd summer from Philly, I was blown away with how awesome this place is. Great work guys! We need more places like this!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/19/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: piranhabite
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice challenge , wide variety of holes/shot to make, water hazards , excellent baskets
Cons: not much maybe the water shots for newer players but good golfers will find it a fun challenge
Other Thoughts: this course is awesome makes a good challenge and very cool terrain nice place and very well maintained landscaping is some of the best seen on any course thanks to pete and his crew

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: endlsswinter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazingly friendly staff and beautifully maintained course. A great mixture of technical wooded holes and open bomber holes.
Other Thoughts: I searched for some of the best courses in the north east, and this one popped up. I was a little worried about the 5 hour trip just to play this course, but I gave it a shot. It was well worth it. I am looking forward to playing this course again. It is now easily in my top 3 courses.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.