Brighton, CO 
Benedict Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #2
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: Fun short course. Good for any level of player. Introduced a few players to the sport at this course. Layout is good and easy to follow.
Cons: Park can be very cramped at times. A wild throw can be dangerous to other park patrons.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said, course doesn't wrap up back at 1. However, I am going to start playing back to the practice basket at the recommendation of others. Could be fun.

Shady.....in a good way

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mature trees help keep you cool. The right amount of distance for a beginner arm, not too short.....not too long. Just the right amount of trees in play to keep it interesting, but not impossible. A great intermediate course IMO.
Cons: Home course for the group i played with, and they kicked my butt. Only nine, but we played the practice basket from 9 basket . ( brings you back to #1 tee) and played again for twenty holes total. Feels a little cramped with other park people doing some BBQ and soccer. (But they were friendly and cheered you on ). Tee pads seemed shorter than usual?( Fell off the end a few times)
Other Thoughts: The ditch wasn't a big issue, but always a possibility on a few holes. Worth checking out if you are in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun around-the-park course

1    6/20/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shade, mature trees, cozy park.

Nice locals and family friendly vibe.

The ditch is a good hazard, without being inevitable, like at Interlocken.
Cons: Short.

I don't get out this way much, so I probably won't drop by, even though I want to. Probably not enough of a deal for me to make a special trip.

FOr some reason the nicely manicured lawns ATE my discs, and I spent an unusual amount of time locating them (of course, I was chucking 3-4 discs per hole, in my usual fashion.
Other Thoughts: I continue to be pleasantly surprised at how many mature parks there are in this area.

Parks like this encourage people to get out, and discover the sport. Very enjoyable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another Little Denver Area City Park 9 Holer!

1    7/18/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a lovely little green, well maintained city park. The course's biggest problem as I see it are the other park users and their oblivious nature in reference to disc golf. Because the park gets so much use, disc golfers have to use the utmost courtesy in dealing with these many park patrons. The green grassy nature of the park makes for a wonderful venue for rollers. Rollers can also eliminate the safety issue on a number of holes. The concrete pads could be longer. There are great tee signs with the distance on each hole. TheDGA baskets have the numbers on top.
# 6 presents a real safety hazard with your tee shot flying directly over a skate punk park only about 125' ahead. A low hard drive could easily drill some kid and cause some hard feelings. Hopefully, if you do hit a skater, hit one with a helmet!
Cons: I'm never a fan of par 2's even very short ones like # 7s 125'. # 6 over the skaters is a saftey issue. There could be issues with discs landing over some neighbors fences and the ever-present problem with all the park users.
Other Thoughts: This is such a lovely, little park. The disc golfers must co-exist in harmony with the rest of the park users. That means waiting for people/walkers/joggers to clear out of your way or perhaps occasionally skipping a hole all together or maybe teeing from an alternative position. This is a nice little course. Keeping it here means getting along with the general public. Work with them. Remember, it's their park too!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, crowded park

1    12/1/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads at every hole, with clear signage.
- A practice basket is posted at the beginning of the course.
- A keosk at the course start has maps, but the course flows well, and navigation is not an issue.
- A stream comes into play on hole 2, adding a touch of risk.
- A decent mix of hole lengths, with quite a few 400' holes, and holes holes 5-7 being ace runs.
- There are Porta-potties between holes 1 and 2.
- Easy to play a quick round, taking about a half an hour to go through the course.
- Despite the cons, it is a really fun course, but...
Cons: - This course is in a crowded, well used park. There were children everywhere, and dog-walkers regularly wandering the fairways.
- Hole 5 is a short downhill ace-run, but there is a playground full of children right behind the basket. Scary.
- Hole 6 forces you to throw a hyzer directly over a well used skate-park. Not a hard throw, but a grip lock could be awful.
- The tee pads are a touch on the short side, and the signs are on the back left corner of the pads themselves.
Other Thoughts: I really knew nothing about this course, but played it just to check it off the list. That said, it was a really fun few rounds. The course itself has very nice amenities, but the multiple playgrounds, skate parks, etc. just make it a bit nerve racking.
All things considered, I'm glad I played it, and will return to do so again. This is an overlooked course in the Denver area that really only has one glaring con, A little patience at the tees, and you'll have a great round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 High 9

2-4    12/18/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The sinage on this course is simply amazing. There is a huge board at the start of the course that is stuffed with course maps. Every hole has a beautiful sign with accurate distances. All of the tee pads are concrete and very consistent. Rumor has it that the city is putting in a new practice basket near tee 1. The design of the course takes good advantage of the little elements around this nice park. There is a very good variation of distances from long to short, without anything being too crazy. There is a good variety of lefty and righty shots. There is at least one hole where you are pretty much required to throw low through some sort of tunnel. The park is well taken care of or at least appears to be with nice pavillions for BBQs. There is a bathroom facility that may be open during summer months. There are a couple of really nice playgrounds for the little kids and a pool that may be open during the summer.
Cons: While you can find times when this park is not busy, there are plenty of amenities including a skate park, playground equipment and ball fields that will keep this place very busy. It is only a nine hole course and if there was space in the park and more features in the park it would be nice to see a few more holes added. There are a couple of tee shots where paths and or the skate park will come into play. The last basket isn't necessarily close to the first tee or the parking lot. Hole three has a tee that is accross the ditch from basket two and play right back near hole two. This is one of a couple tees that may be hard to find without a map or someone who knows where they are going. Holes 2, 3, and 8 pretty much cover the most difficult tees to find.
Other Thoughts: This really was a fun course to play though with havier park traffic that fun factor could diminish. The variety keeps it interesting and the nice mature trees keep the park feeling like a well valued park. You will be able to get some nice views of the mountains as there is not much between Brighton and the mountains. Be sure to stop and get a map before hole one unless you are playing with someone who knows the course. Hole one is closest to the lot right off of Southern, on the east side of that lot. The ditch that runs along holes 1-3 can apparently be nasty at times and there is a small risk of throwing into it. There are a couple of fences that you might throw over, specifically on hole 5. Be sure not to climb over but drive around after your round to get a disc that is over the fence.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DG in B-town

1    10/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall this course offers a wide variety of shots. On some of the holes the creek comes into play and others offer tight shots next to the fence and between trees. Everything is in great shape as this a a new course in 2008.
Cons: Depending on the day and time that you go, there can be kids playing soccer, people at the skate park, and families in other open spaces. I hear that the skate park is getting taken out so that will help.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Brighton area or only have a limited amount of time to play, this 9 hole will satisfy all of your DG needs.

Update:
There are tees signs at all of the tee boxes and a course map by the 1st tee box. Made a good course even better!!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/12/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: DigIt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice course that has a few fun holes. Nice couple of low shots and at least one good long one. All in all I was happy with the variety of shots.
Cons: It is almost not worth playing at all if the park has a mass of people. It plays around a few soccer fields and as already
stated it shoots right over a skate park so that's a fight waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel more than 15 minutes for this course. It's only 9 holes and it can be a bummer but one some early mornings it's a very nice little 9er nestled away in horrible Brighton.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.