Brighton, CO 
Benedict Park Share
Uploaded By: Camgolfer Hole #5 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun, short, park course!

5+    9/29/2013   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: I used to play this course a lot and it is fun! Not much elevation but good length variety. Placement among trees is brilliant and makes it challenging, even on the short holes. Good park for families and pets. One of the better 9 holes in the metro area.
Cons: No elevation changes. A lot of park visitors and school kids, so make sure shot paths are clear before you throw. Wish it would expand down the creek to get to 15 or 18. Only two holes with length enough to air out.
Other Thoughts: Fun 9 hole for quick plays or going out with the family. Novice friendly, but also has some challenging lines for more advanced players. Watch out for park visitors, though. They can get in the way and are not what I would call friendly. BE CAREFUL if school is in session.

Nice Course, Worth a stop

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Trrasico
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: Nice longer tees than other courses in the area. Go early in the morning (before 11) to avoid crowds. Course layout easy to follow, with nice variety of open and obstacle areas. Cement tees and well groomed park.
Cons: By skate park where no skateboarders can actually do anything.
Other Thoughts: Potential water hazard on two of your shots. This isn't really a problem at all as you have plenty of room/air-space to avoid water.


5+    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Fun short course. Good for any level of player. Introduced a few players to the sport at this course. Layout is good and easy to follow.
Cons: Park can be very cramped at times. A wild throw can be dangerous to other park patrons.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said, course doesn't wrap up back at 1. However, I am going to start playing back to the practice basket at the recommendation of others. Could be fun.

Solid 9er

1    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice concrete pads of an adequate size for this length of course
+Probably won't lose a disc here unless you find the ditch when there's water in it. There still is chance for retrieval if it goes in.
+Practice basket.
+Pretty decent shot variation here for a city park. Nothing is too long or too short but all the holes felt a little different. There were some trees that forced shots and the trees were often close to basket or tee.
+Decent signage on every hole. Plenty easy to find your way around. Signs included course diagram, distance, hole #.
+Some ace runs opps here.
+Clean and well maintained
+Intermediate level course that won't be too hard for a beginner or too boring for a better player.
Cons: -Definitely some conflicts with other park users. Nothing too dangerous but a wild shot could hit a non-disc golfer.
-Course doesn't quite loop back to start. Other reviewers have mentioned playing back to practice basket and that gets you pretty close and adds a hole.
-Probably could be pretty busy as it is a fun course and there's not any better courses too close.
-Could be windy as this course is kind of on the edge of the prairie.
Other Thoughts: -This is one of those park courses that I can't really think of a lot of cons but at the same time, it is hard to give it any more than that 2.5-3 rating.
-This is a solid park style course. It had a decent fun factor for me with some trees and some ace runs.
-This course is worth a stop if you are in the area. It won't be super challenging but could provide a bit of fun. It won't waste a lot of your day if you don't enjoy yourself for some reason.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shady.....in a good way

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mature trees help keep you cool. The right amount of distance for a beginner arm, not too short.....not too long. Just the right amount of trees in play to keep it interesting, but not impossible. A great intermediate course IMO.
Cons: Home course for the group i played with, and they kicked my butt. Only nine, but we played the practice basket from 9 basket . ( brings you back to #1 tee) and played again for twenty holes total. Feels a little cramped with other park people doing some BBQ and soccer. (But they were friendly and cheered you on ). Tee pads seemed shorter than usual?( Fell off the end a few times)
Other Thoughts: The ditch wasn't a big issue, but always a possibility on a few holes. Worth checking out if you are in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun around-the-park course

1    6/20/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shade, mature trees, cozy park.

Nice locals and family friendly vibe.

The ditch is a good hazard, without being inevitable, like at Interlocken.
Cons: Short.

I don't get out this way much, so I probably won't drop by, even though I want to. Probably not enough of a deal for me to make a special trip.

FOr some reason the nicely manicured lawns ATE my discs, and I spent an unusual amount of time locating them (of course, I was chucking 3-4 discs per hole, in my usual fashion.
Other Thoughts: I continue to be pleasantly surprised at how many mature parks there are in this area.

Parks like this encourage people to get out, and discover the sport. Very enjoyable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: DiiSegreti
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: As a rule I avoid short courses. This course is an exception though. Has some really fun shots plays literally around the park. Kids in the half pipe become potential hazards (yes I put that as a pro) I love this course for accurate shot training. The unique setup of shots on a short terrain means I don't have to put my arm completely behind a wild shot. Great place to teach beginners or if you have kids they can follow you around the course easily our be left at one of the parks you're never far from.
Cons: People. To many people. Two parks, soccer field, basket ball court, skate park, and picnic areas means traffic can get heavy. Not much chance to use your driver. You need it on a couple but mostly a mid range will suffice.

Not bad for what it is.

2-4    11/18/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 40  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good use of available land
--Nice to see a well taken-care of park in a very small town
--Very friendly and welcoming to tournaments
--Great map at the start of the course, with scorecards and maps available
Cons: ---Super short holes. Many ace runs, but very low challenge
--Strange teepads. They are square, rather than rectangular, and very short (not a problem with these short holes)
--Park sees a lot of use from non disc golfers, and they get very upset when a disc lands near them...try to be curteous and don't throw over the skatepark!
Other Thoughts: The locals here have put in a ton of work to make this course happen, and it desrves respect for that alone. It's off the beaten path, so aside from tourneys most non-locals won't hit this spot up, which keeps it in pretty good shape.

Not a destenation course, but I had fun playing it for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another Little Denver Area City Park 9 Holer!

1    7/18/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a lovely little green, well maintained city park. The course's biggest problem as I see it are the other park users and their oblivious nature in reference to disc golf. Because the park gets so much use, disc golfers have to use the utmost courtesy in dealing with these many park patrons. The green grassy nature of the park makes for a wonderful venue for rollers. Rollers can also eliminate the safety issue on a number of holes. The concrete pads could be longer. There are great tee signs with the distance on each hole. TheDGA baskets have the numbers on top.
# 6 presents a real safety hazard with your tee shot flying directly over a skate punk park only about 125' ahead. A low hard drive could easily drill some kid and cause some hard feelings. Hopefully, if you do hit a skater, hit one with a helmet!
Cons: I'm never a fan of par 2's even very short ones like # 7s 125'. # 6 over the skaters is a saftey issue. There could be issues with discs landing over some neighbors fences and the ever-present problem with all the park users.
Other Thoughts: This is such a lovely, little park. The disc golfers must co-exist in harmony with the rest of the park users. That means waiting for people/walkers/joggers to clear out of your way or perhaps occasionally skipping a hole all together or maybe teeing from an alternative position. This is a nice little course. Keeping it here means getting along with the general public. Work with them. Remember, it's their park too!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, crowded park

1    12/1/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads at every hole, with clear signage.
- A practice basket is posted at the beginning of the course.
- A keosk at the course start has maps, but the course flows well, and navigation is not an issue.
- A stream comes into play on hole 2, adding a touch of risk.
- A decent mix of hole lengths, with quite a few 400' holes, and holes holes 5-7 being ace runs.
- There are Porta-potties between holes 1 and 2.
- Easy to play a quick round, taking about a half an hour to go through the course.
- Despite the cons, it is a really fun course, but...
Cons: - This course is in a crowded, well used park. There were children everywhere, and dog-walkers regularly wandering the fairways.
- Hole 5 is a short downhill ace-run, but there is a playground full of children right behind the basket. Scary.
- Hole 6 forces you to throw a hyzer directly over a well used skate-park. Not a hard throw, but a grip lock could be awful.
- The tee pads are a touch on the short side, and the signs are on the back left corner of the pads themselves.
Other Thoughts: I really knew nothing about this course, but played it just to check it off the list. That said, it was a really fun few rounds. The course itself has very nice amenities, but the multiple playgrounds, skate parks, etc. just make it a bit nerve racking.
All things considered, I'm glad I played it, and will return to do so again. This is an overlooked course in the Denver area that really only has one glaring con, A little patience at the tees, and you'll have a great round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.