Brighton, CO 
Benedict Park Share
Uploaded By: AndyJB Hole #5 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A fun round of 9 holes

1    4/15/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: AdamBarnard
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
Pros: - pretty solid course layout
- concrete tees
- this course has signage, wayfinding, and free course maps!
- easy to medium course difficulty
Cons: - only 9 holes fit onsite here
- avoid peak park hours - this park can get very busy with lots of activities/people around
- there's a par 2 hole, which I always think is stupid
Other Thoughts: I'll start by saying that I love a good manicured park course, nothing against the good old Colorado native courses, but park courses are my favorite. Most of the holes are intelligently designed with average difficulty and different strategies/approaches in mind, however with one or two holes you risk losing a disk due to water and private property fence hazards, and I personally think the holes play a little too close too them, but as long as you are smart with your shot, you should be fine. The course is only 9 holes so it's tough to decide whether to penalize a course for that or not - I would summarize by saying that it does make use of the park land that is available and only 9 holes fit comfortably here so it does makes sense. Overall, I had a good time playing here and worth a visit - just try to avoid peak park hours as kids soccer/baseball/skateboard/badmitton/bocce/ practice is everywhere as well as dog walking through the course, people taking naps on the course, etc. - your typical park activities so just take note of that possibility.

Good for a 9 hole course

5+    10/15/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: Brian McFarlane
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.9 Years
Pros: All grass with cement tees (I prefer cement) and decent signage. Baskets are in great condition. Has a variety distances with some water in play on holes 2-3. Nice park.
Cons: Park has a lot of activity besides disc golf at times weekends can get very busy and sometimes picnickers will be in the way... not a huge problem. It is only a 9 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Has some big trees that can come into play, has a practice basket and is a nice park.

Fun, short, park course!

5+    9/29/2013   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: I used to play this course a lot and it is fun! Not much elevation but good length variety. Placement among trees is brilliant and makes it challenging, even on the short holes. Good park for families and pets. One of the better 9 holes in the metro area.
Cons: No elevation changes. A lot of park visitors and school kids, so make sure shot paths are clear before you throw. Wish it would expand down the creek to get to 15 or 18. Only two holes with length enough to air out.
Other Thoughts: Fun 9 hole for quick plays or going out with the family. Novice friendly, but also has some challenging lines for more advanced players. Watch out for park visitors, though. They can get in the way and are not what I would call friendly. BE CAREFUL if school is in session.

Nice Course, Worth a stop

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Trrasico
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.1 Years
Pros: Nice longer tees than other courses in the area. Go early in the morning (before 11) to avoid crowds. Course layout easy to follow, with nice variety of open and obstacle areas. Cement tees and well groomed park.
Cons: By skate park where no skateboarders can actually do anything.
Other Thoughts: Potential water hazard on two of your shots. This isn't really a problem at all as you have plenty of room/air-space to avoid water.


5+    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Fun short course. Good for any level of player. Introduced a few players to the sport at this course. Layout is good and easy to follow.
Cons: Park can be very cramped at times. A wild throw can be dangerous to other park patrons.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said, course doesn't wrap up back at 1. However, I am going to start playing back to the practice basket at the recommendation of others. Could be fun.

Solid 9er

1    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice concrete pads of an adequate size for this length of course
+Probably won't lose a disc here unless you find the ditch when there's water in it. There still is chance for retrieval if it goes in.
+Practice basket.
+Pretty decent shot variation here for a city park. Nothing is too long or too short but all the holes felt a little different. There were some trees that forced shots and the trees were often close to basket or tee.
+Decent signage on every hole. Plenty easy to find your way around. Signs included course diagram, distance, hole #.
+Some ace runs opps here.
+Clean and well maintained
+Intermediate level course that won't be too hard for a beginner or too boring for a better player.
Cons: -Definitely some conflicts with other park users. Nothing too dangerous but a wild shot could hit a non-disc golfer.
-Course doesn't quite loop back to start. Other reviewers have mentioned playing back to practice basket and that gets you pretty close and adds a hole.
-Probably could be pretty busy as it is a fun course and there's not any better courses too close.
-Could be windy as this course is kind of on the edge of the prairie.
Other Thoughts: -This is one of those park courses that I can't really think of a lot of cons but at the same time, it is hard to give it any more than that 2.5-3 rating.
-This is a solid park style course. It had a decent fun factor for me with some trees and some ace runs.
-This course is worth a stop if you are in the area. It won't be super challenging but could provide a bit of fun. It won't waste a lot of your day if you don't enjoy yourself for some reason.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shady.....in a good way

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mature trees help keep you cool. The right amount of distance for a beginner arm, not too short.....not too long. Just the right amount of trees in play to keep it interesting, but not impossible. A great intermediate course IMO.
Cons: Home course for the group i played with, and they kicked my butt. Only nine, but we played the practice basket from 9 basket . ( brings you back to #1 tee) and played again for twenty holes total. Feels a little cramped with other park people doing some BBQ and soccer. (But they were friendly and cheered you on ). Tee pads seemed shorter than usual?( Fell off the end a few times)
Other Thoughts: The ditch wasn't a big issue, but always a possibility on a few holes. Worth checking out if you are in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun around-the-park course

1    6/20/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 23  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shade, mature trees, cozy park.

Nice locals and family friendly vibe.

The ditch is a good hazard, without being inevitable, like at Interlocken.
Cons: Short.

I don't get out this way much, so I probably won't drop by, even though I want to. Probably not enough of a deal for me to make a special trip.

FOr some reason the nicely manicured lawns ATE my discs, and I spent an unusual amount of time locating them (of course, I was chucking 3-4 discs per hole, in my usual fashion.
Other Thoughts: I continue to be pleasantly surprised at how many mature parks there are in this area.

Parks like this encourage people to get out, and discover the sport. Very enjoyable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: DiiSegreti
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: As a rule I avoid short courses. This course is an exception though. Has some really fun shots plays literally around the park. Kids in the half pipe become potential hazards (yes I put that as a pro) I love this course for accurate shot training. The unique setup of shots on a short terrain means I don't have to put my arm completely behind a wild shot. Great place to teach beginners or if you have kids they can follow you around the course easily our be left at one of the parks you're never far from.
Cons: People. To many people. Two parks, soccer field, basket ball court, skate park, and picnic areas means traffic can get heavy. Not much chance to use your driver. You need it on a couple but mostly a mid range will suffice.

 Not bad for what it is.

2-4    11/18/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 46  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 23.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good use of available land
--Nice to see a well taken-care of park in a very small town
--Very friendly and welcoming to tournaments
--Great map at the start of the course, with scorecards and maps available
Cons: ---Super short holes. Many ace runs, but very low challenge
--Strange teepads. They are square, rather than rectangular, and very short (not a problem with these short holes)
--Park sees a lot of use from non disc golfers, and they get very upset when a disc lands near them...try to be curteous and don't throw over the skatepark!
Other Thoughts: The locals here have put in a ton of work to make this course happen, and it desrves respect for that alone. It's off the beaten path, so aside from tourneys most non-locals won't hit this spot up, which keeps it in pretty good shape.

Not a destenation course, but I had fun playing it for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.