Brighton, CO
Benedict Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #9
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 High 9

2-4    12/18/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The sinage on this course is simply amazing. There is a huge board at the start of the course that is stuffed with course maps. Every hole has a beautiful sign with accurate distances. All of the tee pads are concrete and very consistent. Rumor has it that the city is putting in a new practice basket near tee 1. The design of the course takes good advantage of the little elements around this nice park. There is a very good variation of distances from long to short, without anything being too crazy. There is a good variety of lefty and righty shots. There is at least one hole where you are pretty much required to throw low through some sort of tunnel. The park is well taken care of or at least appears to be with nice pavillions for BBQs. There is a bathroom facility that may be open during summer months. There are a couple of really nice playgrounds for the little kids and a pool that may be open during the summer.
Cons: While you can find times when this park is not busy, there are plenty of amenities including a skate park, playground equipment and ball fields that will keep this place very busy. It is only a nine hole course and if there was space in the park and more features in the park it would be nice to see a few more holes added. There are a couple of tee shots where paths and or the skate park will come into play. The last basket isn't necessarily close to the first tee or the parking lot. Hole three has a tee that is accross the ditch from basket two and play right back near hole two. This is one of a couple tees that may be hard to find without a map or someone who knows where they are going. Holes 2, 3, and 8 pretty much cover the most difficult tees to find.
Other Thoughts: This really was a fun course to play though with havier park traffic that fun factor could diminish. The variety keeps it interesting and the nice mature trees keep the park feeling like a well valued park. You will be able to get some nice views of the mountains as there is not much between Brighton and the mountains. Be sure to stop and get a map before hole one unless you are playing with someone who knows the course. Hole one is closest to the lot right off of Southern, on the east side of that lot. The ditch that runs along holes 1-3 can apparently be nasty at times and there is a small risk of throwing into it. There are a couple of fences that you might throw over, specifically on hole 5. Be sure not to climb over but drive around after your round to get a disc that is over the fence.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Where's Benedict Arnold?

1    10/17/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of distance (distances range from 190 ft to about 440 ft)
-River comes into play on two of the holes
-Good hole design (Hole 1 is an awesome shot down a chute of trees, three throws over the river, 7 is a short shot with an opportunity for an ace, and 9 (the best hole on the course) throws into a thick grove of trees with several different options to the hole).
-Good tee signs( Hole number, par, distance and a drawing of the hole)
Cons: -This park is extremely crowded and many of the park goers don't even seem to realize there is a disc golf course in the park. We had to wait for non disc golfers for quite a while on several holes. On hole 3 we had to wait for a small kid with no parents around while he used the basket as a jungle gym. We could not use the tee for 5 because people were set up right in front of it, and several of the holes had people set up in the middle of the hole.
-There are quite a few safety issues here. Hole 2 throws right next to picnic shelter and over a BBQ grill, several of the holes throw over the sidewalk and some other ones throw right along side the soccer field, and 6 throws straight over a skate park.
-It can be difficult at times to know where the next hole is as there is some walking between the holes and it is not always clear which way you need to go so bring a map.
-The restrooms are really nasty
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some really well designed and fun holes and I wish I could give it a higher rating. It was just extremely frustrating waiting for the crowds and non dgers. I did play this course on a Sunday so it could have just been very crowded since it was a weekend. If you are in the area definitely stop but I wouldn't go out of my way to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long drive

2-4    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was very clean. I only encountered one piece of trash on hole #9. The holes have great variation. From skill shots to long open shots, this course gives it all. The best hole is number 5. A low hanging branch and an OB behind and beside the hole is very tricky.
Cons: People provided the main problem. On hole #6, there are people on the skate park and to avoid being redundant I will stop there. Also, hole #7 was a popular hangout for a large family which made for a nerve-racking shot. Also, there was very little as far as changes in elevation.
Other Thoughts: I drove all the way from Castle Rock to try this course and it was definitely worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Small Course

5+    7/15/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: mcduffiejc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is small but don't let it fool you. It is one of the best in Colorado, especially for being in a park.
1. The course is a quick 9 hole.
2. The course has so many different shots to make you work for your score.
A. Hole 1 is setup to where you have to fight two trees just to get to the pin and if you fire off to hard then you might find some water.
B. Hole 2 and 3 you are dealing with water. Hole 3 also is a beautiful shot for you to just open up on and test that distance.
C. Hole 4 has this tree that you can test a hyzer or anhyzer on and it gives you two totally different lay ups.
D. Hole 5 is the first real "ace" hole but don't be fooled, especially in the summer, with the overgrown trees working to knock your disc away.
E. Hole 7 is an ace hole also and definitely a fun one. You have got to get a beautiful shot slicing in between some mean trees. Hope you don't play the 2 meter rule!
F. Hole 8 is a another shot to open up on and is lined directly up with the out of bounds.
G. Hole 9 is one of my favorite holes. You fire off into a group of trees to where you can't see the pin from the tee, during the Summer.
3. The playground is setup to where it doesn't get in the way at all and it can be a plus if you have kids.
4. There are usually score cards available and also there are signs up for the course - good design.
Cons: There are definitely some cons but nothing to extreme.
1. You might have to worry about people getting in the way when playing since its a city park. The course is built around a local park that has a soccer field, playground, and shelters for rent - so you might run into a few people getting in the way. Honestly though it's not that bad and the people are usually pretty understanding to the sport.
2. The bathrooms are pretty bad and can really be redone but that is a city thing.
3. Hole 6 is the worst setup on the whole course only because the tee is close to the pin on 5 so watch your head and also the tee to the pin on 6 overshoots a skate half pipe where kids like to hang out so sometimes you might have to make sure your shot is no screw up.
Other Thoughts: The course definitely has its pros and cons but it is a very well designed course. A lot of people don't care for the water there but really I love the water because it makes it all more difficult, makes you have to test your skills.

Like any course it can surely use a little more work but since this was a volunteer built course and not sponsored by the city I am sure that will come with time. Make sure you play this course because you really won't regret it!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

2-4    3/8/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: CBass
Played: 76  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun and better than I expected even though I heard it was good. There is a good mix of technical and open shots. Plenty of shade and or covered picnic areas to seek refuge from the summer heat or a rainstorm. The layout is well put together for what the park has to offer and maintaining coexistence with other activities. I visited this course for the first time on a beautiful spring day when a moderate amount of activity was taking place. The creek looks like it could swallow up some discs if it were filled, adding to the challenge factor on the first three holes. Great signage on every hole point the way to the basket. All distances seem accurate.
Cons: The soccer fields could pose a problem if there are a lot of spectators, otherwise it should not be a big concern. The walking paths follow much of the course, but again, should not be too big a problem. Watch your tee shot on hole 5 as there is a chain link fence to the right and seems as though a less than stellar shot could go over easily. I'm not sure about access to the business beyond the fence as I, fortunately, did not have to find a way over. A well placed shot will stay in play easily.
Other Thoughts: New course in an established park which has plenty of mature trees makes this new course a pleasure. I drove down from Greeley to shoot and it was worth the drive.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DG in B-town

1    10/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: Usher
Played: 67  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall this course offers a wide variety of shots. On some of the holes the creek comes into play and others offer tight shots next to the fence and between trees. Everything is in great shape as this a a new course in 2008.
Cons: Depending on the day and time that you go, there can be kids playing soccer, people at the skate park, and families in other open spaces. I hear that the skate park is getting taken out so that will help.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Brighton area or only have a limited amount of time to play, this 9 hole will satisfy all of your DG needs.

Update:
There are tees signs at all of the tee boxes and a course map by the 1st tee box. Made a good course even better!!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Updates

5+    10/11/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The mature trees give obstacles to the short holes and make the open shots a little tougher. Concrete tees and new baskets are a plus. The course changes from winter to summer with tree growth. The park is well maintained and kept up. Holes 1 & 5 are great tunnel shots. Hole 9 forces shot accuracy through the trees. Hole #2 requires a long straight shot to stay dry. For as short as Hole #7 is, it is well guarded from an easy birdie.
Cons: Oftentimes other park users will be unaware of the fairways and set up other sports. The parties at the shelter near pad #2 often spill close to the fairway for that shot. If this happens we tee off at the big X on the ground to the right.
Other Thoughts: From Hole #1 walk across the parking lot near the bathrooms to Hole #2's tee. Hole #3 is across foot bridge on NE corner of the park. Signs are marked. Hole #8 is on the south side of the playground. This course would be a great glow round course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/12/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: DigIt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice course that has a few fun holes. Nice couple of low shots and at least one good long one. All in all I was happy with the variety of shots.
Cons: It is almost not worth playing at all if the park has a mass of people. It plays around a few soccer fields and as already
stated it shoots right over a skate park so that's a fight waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel more than 15 minutes for this course. It's only 9 holes and it can be a bummer but one some early mornings it's a very nice little 9er nestled away in horrible Brighton.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love that new course smell!

1    9/14/2008   9/15/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The tee boxes are big and cement and are brand spanking new, free of graffiti. The Park has all the things a park course has, playgrounds to keep the kids happy and the all important restroom. The DGA baskets are in great shape. Most of the fairways stay out of the way of other functions, you will have to look out for other people using the park. The pin positions are mostly well thought out, being in a grove of trees or on a hill side, make for an honest round. The holes that are out in the open make up for it by having good distance, 3,4, and 8 are all plus 375. The park is well groomed and no trash in sight. There is a top notch map in the links/files section!
Cons: #6 was the worst part, it's a sin I tell you. The tee box and basket have a popular skate park right between them. I know skaters like to be picked on so they can feel oppressed (just kidding), but I just don't think its right to be expected to throw over them.

* Update, I have been told that A. There are now signs and more importantly, B. Brighton has built a new skate park and will be getting rid of the skate park on the #6 fairway. This is great news, and I will be back to replay Benedict soon, with these improvements, I would rank Benedict just above nearby Loomiller based on the fact that it has signs and is much less crowded.
Other Thoughts: #1 the tee box is to the east of the first parking area by the playground after you enter the park from Southern Ave.
#2 Took me a little bit of effort to find, it's across the other parking lot just to the north. (at the end of the NE side of park).
#3 was even harder to find, the tee box is across the bridge to the north by the bike paths, it plays back into the park over the creek.
#4 plays back north, the tee is by the soccer field and restrooms.
#5 is easy to find from basket #4 it is short and plays west toward the fences.
#6 plays back to the south over the skate park with the tee near the small children's play ground.
#7 is easy to find it plays west and very short.
#8 tee box is south of play ground and plays all the way to the south end of the park toward the white shed.
#9 the tee is back toward the center of the park just west of the Lions Club shelter the basket plays a left dogleg through the bunch of trees.

Nice park, lot of potential, I look forward to playing this course again.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.