Kansas City, MO 
Kessler Park (Cliff Drive) Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -front 9 is very scenic and has challenging technical shots.
-park is on a very nice piece of property
-tee pads are very large
-good chances to air it out
-lots of elevation
-it shows that a lot of work has been put into this park when you look at reviews on here from 2009 and before
Cons: -parking situation is terrible. too many chances to hit a car or have your car hit
-lots of chances to lose a disc between the fenced in area in the middle or down the side of the cliffs
-lots of trash in the woods
-other people using the park and being oblivious to DG players a strong possibility
-maybe too open on the back 9
Other Thoughts: this place to me is like a more spread out and open version of Water Works. When I played it, there were some people who basically just parked either in front of a hole or 25 feet from the pin (non DGers) This was just stupid and forces people to throw way out of the way. I would not recommend playing this course if there are a lot of non-DG people around but its a very nice course if its empty.

This is a huge park too btw, neighborhood argument for KC argument is so tired and mostly irrelevant.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/10/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is really a tale of two halves. The first half of the course is wooded with big elevation changes, and the holes are a generally in the 200-400 foot range. I loved every one of these holes. You really see the "cliff" in Cliff Drive. The fairways were not unreasonably tight, but if you don't have a good drive that lands in the fairway, you have no shot at par.

The second half is mostly open and much longer, in the 400-800 foot range. More on those below.

Every hole has a concrete tee pad, and there are numerous pin positions on almost every hole (I think #9 only has one). The tee signs are very good, showing the various locations and distances. It was usually easy to narrow it down as to which location was being used because the short ones are obviously supposed to be visible from the tee.
Cons: Navigation here wasn't great. I had to pull up the map on my phone about every other hole to figure out which way to go. The back 9 is a little easier to navigate but a lot less interesting to play. Very few trees come into play. The challenge is mostly posed by the distance of the holes, and the OB areas (if you play the roads as OB, which is obviously the intent). There is some elevation on the back 9 (not nearly as much as the front 9), and the baskets are placed on slopes for challenging putting.

Some holes have alternate hole locations in use in addition to regular baskets. As a first timer, this was kind of confusing. But if I were a regular, I would definitely appreciate the opportunity for some variety on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I think this probably makes a good tournament course. The front 9 gives the edge to accurate, technical players, and the back 9 gives the big arms a chance to make up some ground. That said, I like wooded, technical courses with lots of elevation changes, and I wish more of the course was like the front 9. I'd give the front half a 4 and the back half a 2.5 or 3.

By the way, I didn't think the neighborhood was as bad as other reviews indicated, and I certainly didn't feel unsafe in the park. Keep in mind that many great disc golf courses are not in the best parts of town, and for good reason. Do you want lots of dog walkers, joggers, playground enthusiasts, and picnickers wandering through your course? Me neither. We'll keep this little gem to ourselves.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I got to experience this course

2-4    5/30/2009   7/10/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Several holes present an opportunity to use just about every shot imaginable. The holes up top offer a little elevation change, but the lower course was quite memorable and very technical forcing you to break out your best to thread one through the trees. Most holes seemed to be at or above the 300ft mark which is a refreshing change from a lot of other courses better suited for beginners.
Cons: I really don't have much to say that would take away from the great experience I had here. Perhaps the only thing I would caution is there are a few holes which I felt that pedestrians came into play and delayed teeing off as I don't like throwing at or near people.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Windy course

1    12/30/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: dehammer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good mix of woods and long open drives. It is a different layout that other courses. Great views over the river and the new bridge. Very long, new concrete tee pads.
Cons: Bad section of town. extremely windy, use heavy discs. Can loose disc in old retaining ponds ringed with wrought iron fence. It is dry, though. Needs better course markings.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play this again, on next visit to KC.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll and Hyde

1    9/24/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very different personality with wooded technical holes on the front nine, and open field/park-type holes on the back nine.

Nice, solid Mach baskets and very good concrete tees. Lots of different elements incorporated in the design such as elevation change, trees, and even a fenced off area at the top of the hill that I would guess you don't want to have to retrieve a disc from. The map on here is pretty accurate and makes navigation a snap.

My memorable holes:
1 - Right of the bat you have a technical, wooded hole with elevation change and distance. If you can thread your drive through the trees and get a lucky upshot, you can lay up for a three
2 - Tunnel shot downhill that looks fairly simple, but looks can be deceiving.
5 - Throwing uphill with trees all around. This would be a thrilling deuce if you could hit it.
8 - Throw out from some trees next to a cliff, then one of the baskets is hanging on chain, very cool.
12 - Hard, steep drop-off on the right, don't let your drive go there like I did. After about an hour of billy-goating I finally found it. BE CAREFUL!
13 - LOOOOONG hole. You can really stretch out and let it fly on this one.
14 - Sloping down left to right, and pretty long. You can go out right with a big hyzer and let it fade back it...if you have the distance. I, sadly, did not, and went right into the tree.
17 - Big downhill drive. Difficult to hug the road on the right and keeping it from going too far left for a long upshot.
Cons: Although the map on here is pretty decent, I still struggled finding a couple of the holes in the woods on the front nine. There are also no hole distances or layouts, so on several holes I had to walk them first and make sure I was throwing to the correct basket, and to even see where the basket was.

There are also no bathrooms, road parking, no bathrooms, and no indication of where hole one is. I had to drive around the loop a couple times before I located hole one's tee, since the map on here does not show where it is now.
Other Thoughts: This was a good, fun challenge, with just a few course-amenity type shortcomings. The DG here is excellent in spite of my 3.5 rating. With a little improvement in navigation, I could see this being a 4. Significant park upgrades would be required to make it higher than that though.

If you're in the KC area, this is a definite stop you should make. I would be careful though as it seems like this part of town is not the best. Also plan ahead and make sure you don't have to use the bathroom during your round.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Replay Value

1    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Mix of holes
Woods not too woodedOpen not too long (sometimes)
CHALLENGING
Cons: Some of the holes are repetitive (holes 14-18)
I got some of the least lucky bounces off of trees ever
Not very easy to find your way around first time
Terrible signage
NO TEE SIGNS.
Very difficult to judge distance on many holes
Crossing of roads way too much
Other Thoughts: This course is really much beter than I thought. Blue Valley-esqe holes for the back 5, so you get the whole Blue Valley experience with none of the insane frustration and losing of discs in maddening rough. I had a good time even with a terrible round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix

2-4    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes to add difficulty. Woods are pretty tight on the front 9, demanding a little strategy to post a good score. Open back 9, but OB roads, along with well placed trees, add some challenge. Never crowded. I threw every disc in my bag, good mix of length, hyzer, anhyzer, elevation changes made for a very fun round of golf. Navigating the course was pretty easy if you follow the paths.
Cons: No bathrooms or parking area. Not the best neighborhood. No benches. Long, uphill walk from 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very good course. Teepads have been finished since the first time I played here, just in time for Worlds, and it makes the course much nicer to play. I'm quite surprised this course isn't more crowded, as several holes were very memorable. Favorites include #1, 4, 5, 8, 12, 17. Definitely play this course if you're in the area, or couple it with WaterWorks or Wyandotte for a great day trip.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Neat-O Mosquito Front 9

2-4    3/13/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: P_eye
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 has some of the coolest terrain I've seen so far. They're getting ready to pour t-pads for the Worlds.
Cons: Parking. Sketchy people in the hood, although a local police officer was very friendly and parked near our vehicle while we played the front 9. He looked happy to see a shiny new out-of-state vehicle there.
Other Thoughts: I wish #3 tee box was still at the top of the hill; that is a Sick shot! #1 has a cool new tee. Lastly, don't bring a knife to gun fight...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sick Front 9 , OK Back 9

1    1/18/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: Porkchop
Played: 132  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cliff Drive is an appropriate name for this course as the front 9 plays amongst a very scenic cliff.
~ Great views of the City
~ Has both tight wooded holes and open holes
~ Nice shot variety - Makes you throw tight technical lines as well as allowing you to air it out.
~ Hole 2 is a great hole that makes you throw a very technical drive off a cliff through a corkscrewing wooded corridor to a nice green. Hole 17 is the best open hole as you bomb down a hill to a reachable pin 500+ ft away.
Cons: ~ Natural tees
~ No Parking lot or facilities of any kind
~ Difficult Navigation
~ Very dirty course in a very sketchy neighborhood. The wooded holes looked more like a trash dump than a disc golf course.
~ Lack of layout balance - the course has a balance of wooded and open holes, but it lacks course balance with all the wooded holes stringed together followed by all the open holes stringed together.
~ The back 9 is wide open with sparse trees and all long bomber holes that tend to be tweeners
Other Thoughts: The course is worth a play. It could be championship quality with the addition of proper signage, concrete tees, and a slight modification to the back 9 to limit repetitiveness.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice cliffs

1    10/9/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Level = Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975)

Very good terrain variety- very well balanced mixture of terrain. 5 Woods/ 5 Grass/ 8 Mixed. The front 9 has all of the woods holes and the mixed terrain holes have thicker foliage. The back 9 is much more open and even the holes with foliage have more sparsely spaced trees and bushes. I liked the wooded holes the best, but the great grass with scattered large old growth trees were nice too. Big arms can air it out on the wide open grassy back 9 holes as well.
Scenic Cliffs- On some holes, like #2, if you go too far off the fairway you're off a steep cliff with a big drop off so that you're toast trying get back up through the trees. On other holes the cliffs are a beautiful natural background.
Great Elevation variety- A perfect split of 9 Up and 9 Down. There's change on every hole, and 4 holes have big elev changes of 21 to 27 ft..
There's a very active local club with a very good website and an active discussion board.
Some holes have bag hangers.
There are a few views of the city
I played in the early afternoon and there were some deer grazing in the grass on hole 13.
Cons: Navigation- When I played the course in Oct 08 the KCFDC website "Course Map" link took me to a very old map so it was very confusing and very hard to find my way around the new layout and to even figure out what hole I was on. At the KCFDC website for Cliff Drive, if you scroll down the page to the April 11, 2006 update and then click on the small map it will bring up a larger more up to date version (but tees 1 and 7 are in different places now.)
Tee signs- Most tee signs need to be updated to reflect the new layout. The front nine has some very basic laminated signs that could be upgraded.
Tee pads- A few concrete but mostly grass and dirt framed with railroad ties.
It would be helpful if the current basket position was marked on the holes that have several positions.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole: 2. A downhill drive with a big drop of -27 ft, then there's steep drop off a cliff if you go too far right, and it ends with a cool green.

This is another very good KC course that's well worth playing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.