Kansas City, MO 
Kessler Park (Cliff Drive) Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging but fun course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation changes, wooded and open holes. Several holes made you really think about the shot, angle, speed etc of your drive selection.
Cons: When it rains - as it did in the 2009 World's - some pathways can become treacherous. Some ropes could have been useful to avoid steep, slick treks.
Other Thoughts: Played here in the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the reasons why.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 On Top Of The Hill

2-4    6/6/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Clumsy Fumbles
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a great variety of technical and long open holes. The front 9 is where the technical shots are and these are mainly in the woods. The back 9 is where the nice long open holes are. Holes have nice long Tee boxes. Not busy at all. Only seen 1 other person playing when I've been there.
Cons: Noticed a lot of trash laying around but not in your way. There isn't much when it comes to parking though. People park on the side of the road since there is only really one spot to park and its not very big. Make sure to use the bathroom beforehand since there is no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Neighborhoods not as bad as it looks. It's worth playing if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Yes, play it

1    12/23/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 157  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage. The KC disc golf signs here and at Water Works are fantastic. Great tee boxes, stamped concrete, plenty of size. I love the fact that it's like two courses on one, Tight (not too tight) and technical, with advanced player length, and then open and bomber holes on the back 8. I hadn't seen the type of painted pipes in place of alternate tee positions before, and I love it!!! This set up is common in Kansas City, and I plan on mentioning it to a few designers in the MPLS area.
Cons: Some holes have two baskets set up, and for new to the course players, we ended up playing to a short basket when we could have played to longer ones, but since we didn't know for sure, we kept with our original shots. Garbage. WTH KC? It looked like a less desirable area, but we weren't too worried about playing there.
Other Thoughts: We loved our trip to KC to play the area courses. I told my wife if she wanted to move, KC would be acceptable for us. I plan on bringing the multiple pin position set up to the attention of MN course designers. It was easy (for the most part) to determine what hole and in what position the pin was in. I was shocked at the amount of litter in KC, here, at Water Works, and up top and down under in Roseville. I talked to a Missourian later in the week, and as it seems to be common in Missouri courses, I'd love to come back next summer and see that a local group had adopted a park to keep it clean(er).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Diverse Course

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First half of course works its way along a line of steep drop offs and trees. With skill, both can be avoided.
The second half of the course is a nice change of pace with longer open holes.
After one round, it makes since how to get around the course, even though not marked.
Cons: Definitely not in the best part of town.
No signs at the tee pad to tell you distance or where the basket is.
A few too many long open holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very pleasing park to the eye and has a good combination of technical and long bomb holes. If you are willing to take Prospect until it ends, and then more, to play a very good disc golf course, you should make your way out to Kessler Park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The name fits...

1    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great course.

The first half of the course is moderately to heavily wooded, and uses the natural changes of elevation to create a technical front 9 that is, to date, the most challenging I have played.

The back 9 of this course is wide open and long. There are a few very old, and large trees on a few of the holes, and alot of the fairways run along the OB roads.

Overall, a great, great course.
Cons: This course is very steep, and rocky in some places, footing can be very tricky, and one slip while searching for an errant disc could send you tumbling down a steep, rocky dropoff.

It also sits just on the outskirts of what isn't the best part of KC. Probably not a place you want to play by yourself at dusk.

There are no restrooms anywhere on the course, and not really any trashcans to speak of. Broken bottles, and other trash are pretty abundant in some areas.

There are no sign markers to point the way to the next tee box, or distance from tee to pin. On a few holes, backtracking is neccesary to find your way to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: My only "complaint" about this course is that it is clearly 2 halves, the first half being wooded and techincal, the second half is wide open and long. I would have loved for these holes to have been mixed together.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Tuff Course

1    12/6/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Tight wooded Holes on most of Front 9
*Great teepads
*Nice Tee Signs
*Huge Cliffs that can hurt you in many ways.
*Open up on Back 9 so very good mix of diff shot types.
Cons: *trash and couple homeless camp sites.
*Not the best neighborhood
*More open shots on the back 9 and all front 9 are most heavily wooded.
*Not easy to find the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Good tuff course. Would love to try it again.

Very well thoughtout course.

Playing right next to a huge old water resevor for the city.

We

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quickly becoming one of my favorites in KC

2-4    9/28/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Has an excellent wooded/open balance to it, and flows very logically, with some of the best technical holes in KC. Brand new teepads which were poured for 2009 Worlds have made navigation issues, particularly in the wooded section much easier. Good new signage too, although I don't know how long its going to last. Players rave mostly about the wooded section, but even the open section has some clever challenges, particuarly when the wind is blowing fiercely as Cliff Drive's open holes are at one of the highest points in the city. You're often challenged to park your disc between OB trouble on both sides. The old city "reservoir" (a long abandoned pill shaped structure with no actual water in it atop the hill) can be a formiddable obstacle on a couple of holes for some. I've never found this course to be terribly crowded.
Cons: The park is in a sketchy neighboorhood (one of the tee sign/bag hangers was destroyed and another teepad was graffiti ridden). Parking is not abundant, and knowing where to park your car if you're not familiar with the course can be a dilemnia, as you want to be near Tee 1, but not in the line of fire. Depending on when you get here, it may not be mowed very well (just my luck two holes into playing the Parks Dept. shows up with the mowers). Climbing up and down the wooded sections may not be very suitable for folks with bad knees on them. Rec players may find it a bit overwhelming as there are plently of places to lose a disc. Trash abound in the deeper sections of the woods, (hint: try not to get your disc in there, as I did twice), as well as the reservoir.
Other Thoughts: Water Works has been my longtime KC favorite, and I think with more play at CD (for some reason, I'm always in a hurry to get somewhere afterwards any time I get to play here) this could possibly top that. A few more trees in the open section to tighten things up, and some better parking, would make this magnificient. Want the cool wooded holes last? Park in the same area for hole 1, but climb the hill up towards the reservoir to Hole 11s tee and start there.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.