Kansas City, MO 
Kessler Park (Cliff Drive) Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  

5+    8/22/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: jlowekc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of 6-6-6 design, though many will say 9 wooded, 9 open, it is actually;
6-heavily wooded
6-techinical in light wood
6-more open

The new pads are very nice, as are the tee pads.
Cons: Need benches, and restrooms factilities, a marquee, and better trash receptacles. Parking is as it gets in the park.
Other Thoughts: Coming along nicely, more work continues to get done here, please come and play, let me know if you ahve any questions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix

2-4    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes to add difficulty. Woods are pretty tight on the front 9, demanding a little strategy to post a good score. Open back 9, but OB roads, along with well placed trees, add some challenge. Never crowded. I threw every disc in my bag, good mix of length, hyzer, anhyzer, elevation changes made for a very fun round of golf. Navigating the course was pretty easy if you follow the paths.
Cons: No bathrooms or parking area. Not the best neighborhood. No benches. Long, uphill walk from 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very good course. Teepads have been finished since the first time I played here, just in time for Worlds, and it makes the course much nicer to play. I'm quite surprised this course isn't more crowded, as several holes were very memorable. Favorites include #1, 4, 5, 8, 12, 17. Definitely play this course if you're in the area, or couple it with WaterWorks or Wyandotte for a great day trip.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Neat-O Mosquito Front 9

2-4    3/13/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: P_eye
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 has some of the coolest terrain I've seen so far. They're getting ready to pour t-pads for the Worlds.
Cons: Parking. Sketchy people in the hood, although a local police officer was very friendly and parked near our vehicle while we played the front 9. He looked happy to see a shiny new out-of-state vehicle there.
Other Thoughts: I wish #3 tee box was still at the top of the hill; that is a Sick shot! #1 has a cool new tee. Lastly, don't bring a knife to gun fight...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sick Front 9 , OK Back 9

1    1/18/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: Porkchop
Played: 132  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cliff Drive is an appropriate name for this course as the front 9 plays amongst a very scenic cliff.
~ Great views of the City
~ Has both tight wooded holes and open holes
~ Nice shot variety - Makes you throw tight technical lines as well as allowing you to air it out.
~ Hole 2 is a great hole that makes you throw a very technical drive off a cliff through a corkscrewing wooded corridor to a nice green. Hole 17 is the best open hole as you bomb down a hill to a reachable pin 500+ ft away.
Cons: ~ Natural tees
~ No Parking lot or facilities of any kind
~ Difficult Navigation
~ Very dirty course in a very sketchy neighborhood. The wooded holes looked more like a trash dump than a disc golf course.
~ Lack of layout balance - the course has a balance of wooded and open holes, but it lacks course balance with all the wooded holes stringed together followed by all the open holes stringed together.
~ The back 9 is wide open with sparse trees and all long bomber holes that tend to be tweeners
Other Thoughts: The course is worth a play. It could be championship quality with the addition of proper signage, concrete tees, and a slight modification to the back 9 to limit repetitiveness.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice cliffs

1    10/9/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Level = Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975)

Very good terrain variety- very well balanced mixture of terrain. 5 Woods/ 5 Grass/ 8 Mixed. The front 9 has all of the woods holes and the mixed terrain holes have thicker foliage. The back 9 is much more open and even the holes with foliage have more sparsely spaced trees and bushes. I liked the wooded holes the best, but the great grass with scattered large old growth trees were nice too. Big arms can air it out on the wide open grassy back 9 holes as well.
Scenic Cliffs- On some holes, like #2, if you go too far off the fairway you're off a steep cliff with a big drop off so that you're toast trying get back up through the trees. On other holes the cliffs are a beautiful natural background.
Great Elevation variety- A perfect split of 9 Up and 9 Down. There's change on every hole, and 4 holes have big elev changes of 21 to 27 ft..
There's a very active local club with a very good website and an active discussion board.
Some holes have bag hangers.
There are a few views of the city
I played in the early afternoon and there were some deer grazing in the grass on hole 13.
Cons: Navigation- When I played the course in Oct 08 the KCFDC website "Course Map" link took me to a very old map so it was very confusing and very hard to find my way around the new layout and to even figure out what hole I was on. At the KCFDC website for Cliff Drive, if you scroll down the page to the April 11, 2006 update and then click on the small map it will bring up a larger more up to date version (but tees 1 and 7 are in different places now.)
Tee signs- Most tee signs need to be updated to reflect the new layout. The front nine has some very basic laminated signs that could be upgraded.
Tee pads- A few concrete but mostly grass and dirt framed with railroad ties.
It would be helpful if the current basket position was marked on the holes that have several positions.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole: 2. A downhill drive with a big drop of -27 ft, then there's steep drop off a cliff if you go too far right, and it ends with a cool green.

This is another very good KC course that's well worth playing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.