Ames, IA 
Gateway Hills Park (Carroll Marty DGC) Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #13 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Pro Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Course - Go Get It!

5+    10/7/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: LoewDog
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in central Iowa IMO!

Great shot variety and elevation.

Great signage for the most part.

Well maintained.
Cons: Lots of people play it, but most are pretty courteous of others and let you play through.
Other Thoughts: Its worth the effort to get there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It has its Ups and Downs

1    7/22/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 71  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.5 Years
Pros: Many have lauded Gateway Hills (or is it Carroll Marty?) and I shall too!
- The shot selection here is off the charts!
You throw down hill, you throw up hill. You throw right to left, you throw hyzer spikes. A few wide open shots and enough wooded fairways to keep it interesting.
- i really appreciate all stairs and bridges. Those things didn't build themselves and they make this course possible.
- The whole works plays out in a scenic valley and the surrounding trees. What's not to love?
Cons: Not a lot to report here.
Just your regular run-of-the-mill vandalization.
Lots of broken glass.
Waiting at every tee for that group of 11 to hole out.
Other Thoughts: Elevation is the primary strength of Gateway Hills, followed closely by its playful variety of holes and diversity of shots needed to score well on those holes.
This course services a college town, no easy task to be sure, and I think its wear and tear and obvious popularity are testaments to its quality and to the quality of the experience golfers are having here.

Fun Park course

2-4    5/9/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: Pxranger
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Trashcans and benches near most tee boxes.
- 2 practice baskets near hole 1.
- Kiosk with map, however the map was not needed as the course seemed to flow logically. The only exception was that hole 4 is up the steps to the west of the basket for hole 3.
- Large concrete tee boxes on all holes.
- Pro tee boxes on most holes add more that a little added difficulty.
- Drink machines near the basket on 18.
What follows is a walkthrough of the course:
1. Hole 1 is a 344 ft downhill blind shot to the right. With the change in elevation it plays more like 250ft. The locals said this is played as one of 3 par 4's ( the rest being 3's). I however thought that shooting 2 on this hole was not too difficult.
2. Hole 2 is a short 170 ft for birdie. Beware of the creek on the right side of the fairway.
3. Hole 3 is just across the bridge and to the right. 200 ft through the trees .
4. Hole 4 is up the stairs to the west of the hole 3 basket. This hole can be tricky! 184 ft to the basket through a lot of trees. If you wind up to the right side your birdie may turn into a double bogey easily as the ground slopes sharply to the right side near the basket.
5. Hole 5 is 185 feet with no apparent line. I tried a tall spike hyzer based on the advice of a local and managed to birdie.
6. Hole 6 is in my opinion the only hole that cannot be easily made in 3 from the rec tees. The line to the basket starts with a long 200ft+ downhill tunnel. The basket sits another 100ft to the right at the bottom of the hill a couple feet from a large gorge with a creek. Do Not overshoot the basket on approach.
7. Hole seven is around 300 ft with a blind dogleg to the right at the end. Don't overshoot or you will be in the creek.
8. Hole 8 is 250ft across an open field into the trees. Beware of rollaway discs near the basket as the ground slopes down and to the right.
9. Hole 9 is uphill near 300ft. The locals play this as a par 4, but there should problem making 3 with a decent upshot.
10. Hole 10 is 126 feet straight downhill. Fun hole through trees that is easy to overshoot if not careful and end up in the next fairway.
11. Hole eleven is an open 276 foot hole. The only danger is that an errant disc to the right will be hard to find in the thick brush that inhabits the right side of the fairway.
12. Hole 12 is 185 feet with open terrain that shots to a blind basket near a swift moving creek.
13. Hole 13 is 233 feet completely in the open. No imagination went into what is the only real boring hole here.
14. This is a true ace run hole. Be careful to not veer to the right as your disc may end up wet.
15. Short hole uphill into the trees. No worries of overshooting as there is an ample backstop. Shots all the way up should birdie.
16. Long downhill shot with a large change in elevation. This was my favorite hole of the course.
17. Blind shot to the right. A good anhyzer or forearm for righties will reward you with a birdie.
18. Steep uphill shot to close out a great round.

Cons: A couple holes in the open seemed lacking and somewhat boring.
Stickers from discs all over signage to the point that some were unusable.
Grass was rather tall when I played, not sure of the maintenance schedule.
Other Thoughts: The other local course (Stable run) is rated higher on here. I honestly do not see why after playing both. The only thing I can figure is that is closer to ISU campus and is the only course ever played by some reviewers. Both times I have visited Ames to play disc golf I have played at least 3 rounds here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Carroll Marty

5+    12/1/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: kevdiv48
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carroll Marty DGC is set off on a less used part of Gateway Hills Park that is just south of campus. The concrete pads are grippy and generous. The baskets are well used but still catch well. The use of natural obstacles and challenges is fantastic. 1, 16, 9 and 6 are sweet downhill shots while 5 long, 8, 15, 18 and 9 are challenging uphills. The short tees are a blast for ace runs, while the pro tees really crank up the difficulty. I've played few other courses that have such a difference between the short and long tees. Not only are the pro tees longer, but they usually force you to take a much different or more precise line. The long for #5 comes to mind because you walk to the right of the short tee and backwards down the hill. As a result, you have a 280 footer that starts straight uphill through a tight lane of low hanging branches and finishes through a patch of trees than only opens about 20 feet in front of the basket. This variety of shots is the reason CM is so popular. 2 practice baskets with a sign board is a plus. Trash cans are at most holes.
Cons: A few solid changes are in order to bring Carroll Marty up to a solid 4 in my opinion.
New signs are needed. Only about half remain, and what are left are not updated with the current distances. As a frequent player it is not a huge deal to me, but new signs would definitely make a difference.
Trash cans should be put at every hole. There is huge amounts of traffic, especially during the beginning and end of the school. There is no better start to the weekend than a few beers and round of discs after class is done on Friday, so having trash cans would definitely help keep the course clean.
The basket on 14 has a few broken rings so some of the chains just hang as opposed to attach at the center. I also think the basket should be moved from its current location to the clearing that is about 70 feet behind and to the left of its current location.
I think the long tee for 2 could be moved back even farther to the prairie area that is behind the basket for one.
Those last two cons are just gravy, the big thing is just to give this course some love because it is definitely starting to show its age.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Carroll Marty is a blast to play. When at school I play here all the time, easily 3-5 times during the fall and spring weekends. I usually play from the shorts with a mid and putter and have a very good chance at birdies across the board. Traffic can be very high at peak playing times and there is a fair share of chucker groups to potentially slow your ride down. As I mentioned before, there are a few changes that should happen that would really jump CM up to the next level.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 awesome hill usage

2-4    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: therealpursuit
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: challenging concrete pro tees. no easy birdies no hole is impossible to birdie, though. very steep hills to throw up and down. 9 ends right by 10 and the parking lot. very cool locals. wooden steps, variant winds (some holes in valleys some on hills). picnic table and water fountain.
Cons: needs maps on signs, hole 3 is hard to find gotta go over a bridge hole 9 is up a steep hill from 8 chains(the path goes around the hill) 14 tee is back towards 13 tee
Other Thoughts: several possible signature holes going down very steep hills with narrow fairways or into openings. lots of man made stairs make the steep hills maneuverable. very well beaten paths.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Holy College Kids, Batman!!

1    10/3/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: musclehed03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole 1 and 16 are pretty cool! also there is one u throw over the creek and between some trees, nice! i had fun with some of the technical shots on this course. there was like 80 people there when we played. but the college kids there are pretty nice and helpful if you don't happen to know where the next tee is. the paths are cool, and there is one leading to 16 that is paved with beer bottle caps, wonder how long that took!
Also there was some really Smokin' HOTT women playing this course. I would go back just to watch some of them play!
Cons: Really didn't like how the holes crossed each other. also hole 18 is ridiculous, the hill u throw up is just stupid. it would make an awesome bomb shot!
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is good for the casual game. also to work on your technique with the first nine holes. Very easy to be distracted by the Frolfing Beauties you see on this course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Busy, but nice

1    8/21/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: DRuMiNFiNN15
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of shots
-Nice paths/stairs to help making navigating the course easy
-Front nine ends back at start - easy to just play front 9 or back 9
Cons: -Really busy during fall/spring (located near college campus)
-Not too many long shots - mostly medium to short
Other Thoughts: A good course for a casual round if you can beat the crowds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very fun challenge!

2-4    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some nice bomb shots (such as hole 1 and hole 16.)
-Good mixture of shade and sun.
-Very small risk to lose a disc even with all of the trees and the creek.
-Good use of elevation.
-The tees are in good condition.
-The baskets are in very nice condition.
-The trees provide for a good amount of difficulty without getting out of hand.
-A few blind holes which make for a good challenge.
-Some cool walkways on the fairway on a few of the front 9 holes.
-Vending machines at the end of the course so you can get something to drink before you go frolf again!
Cons: -Lots of junk laying around near the tees and baskets.
-Rather crowded most of the time.
-The tee signs were all all messed up and tough to read.
-I wouldn't be surprised if you got lost on the course due to a somewhat poor layout and lack of directions.
-The back 9 holes are a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I played this course right after I played the 13th street course. I must say that I enjoyed the other more, but this is still a very solid course and I will come back again for sure!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course And a Challenge!

5+    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: pjthediscgolfer
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes you use all of your discs
-All different kinds of shots
-Some very fun holes!
-Tee-pad are big and in nice shape
-Many slopes which will make for tough shots
-Very unique atmosphere being close to campus
-Cool path on the way to hole 16's Tee, made of beer bottle caps
-Close to ISU campus
-Shop at hole 1,10, and 18 with vending machines and discs
-Sand volleyball courts and tennis courts on site along with shelter and picnik accessories
-Beautiful views when sun sets
-Plenty of shade on front 9, back 9 more open
-No water hazards other than a small creek running through the middle but not much of a hassle to retrieve discs from.
Cons: -Very crowded!
-Tee Signs, baskets, and walkways are damaged due to high traffic
-Easy to get lost (can be easily fixed by asking one of the many other "Frolfers" around)
-No bathrooms on the course other than the shop
-Few holes repetitive and short (2,11,13)
-Beer bottles and trash are relevant
-No trash cans on the course other than the park at holes 1,10, and 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun and unique course. If you get lost, you can easily ask a friendly ISU local to help you find your way. Front 9 holes are more shaded and forested and Back 9 is more open and longer. I would definitely recommend this course for someone who is heading on a road trip up or down I-35. Great Course and much much fun!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 the carroll marty

5+    6/20/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This has been my home course for many years. And i love it. The front nine is pretty tech and difficult. Shorter on the front nine but in a good way. Lots of elevation changes. Back nine is a lot more open and easier. You will rack up a lot of deuces here.
Cons: Wish the holes were a little bit longer. Some ofof the Long tees could have been laid out a little better. Especially hole 5. Its just retarded.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.