Ames, IA 
Gateway Hills Park (Carroll Marty DGC) Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #16 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Looking back up at Hole #16 fairway. Tee is at top of stairs.



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Challenging Longs

1    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple of drink machines up by the office. I was told you can purchase discs when open, though I didn't have time to confirm. A few sand volleyball courts on site. Playground equipment for the young ones. Porta potty by parking lot.

Main course kiosk by hole one, includes map and local tourney and league info. Two nice practice baskets to warm up on. Nice covered picnic table to help rest out of the sun or rain. A trash can or two up there also.

Dual tees for all but hole 4. Tee's were large concrete pads, with a nice brushed texture. This course really was completely different playing from the pro tees. Though some weren't much farther in distance, the looks were completely different. Play was much harder from the pro tees.

Several nice bridges over the creek, multiple stairs to assist in traversing the hills, both were greatly appreciated.

Generous amount of elevation used on the majority of the holes. Lots of shots down to the pin, and several shooting up, nice mix there. I found that the course also had a nice mix of left to right and right to left shots, so the course didn't favor either right or left hand players, regardless of throwing style.

Course was separated into two different loops. Hole 9 and 18 end near the parking lot. This was nice on a super hot day so you could grab more water. Also nice if you don't have enough time to play a full 18.

First 9 holes are mostly wooded, last 9 are mostly open, with one or two of each to mix it up. Several blind pins throughout. Creek came into play on a few holes, but never caused any problems.
Cons: Unfortunately, due to the heavy play on the course, there has been vandalism, and most of the tee signs are missing, written on, or just in disarray. Also from what I could tell from what signs were there, if you were playing pro, you had to walk up to the am tee to figure out what distance you were throwing.

I don't recall seeing any trashcans or benches throughout course other than at the start - end of the course.

Though the course seemed to be maintained really well, I do think that it could used a little love. The areas around the bridges and stairs could use a little trimming or attention, as the stairs had weeds growing up through them, not a big deal, just worth noting.

Only a few of the pins were numbered. I wouldn't have noted it, but some were and some weren't.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes that I really enjoyed: Hole 1 was a great way to start the course, shooting on an elevated tee down to the pin at the bottom with the pin hidden to the right. Great roller hole too. Hole 12 (pro tee) starts within the woods, throws into the open, then the hole tightens up and the pin sits with a creek bed just behind it (hole 8 is similar, without the creek behind pin).

I think this is a good course to help develop a well rounded game, as this course has many features that cause you to have multiple throws and approaches in your bag. Overall, a really good and fair course to play. I enjoyed the elevation, enough that I would like to someday come back and play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: ifdiscer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of short and long holes
Fun challenging course
Lots of up and down hills to get some distance for weaker arms
Cons: A few difficult holes for newbies
A couple of blind holes (pitch and pray you get close)
Very crowded on even less than desirable days to play
Other Thoughts: Had a great time, will play again soon

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/16/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: happytree290
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good variety of holes to play, and flows really well from hole to hole. A creek runs through the course as well adding a little more challenge to some of the holes as well. If you don't like water,and getting muddy than it's probably not a plus, but I think it adds to the challenge on some of the holes, and gives the course character.
Cons: It can get slow when on nice days when there's a lot of people trafficking through this course. Especially on the nice days. Also the back 9 can be rather slow as well, since they're open/distance holes

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 4th course of the day

1    3/15/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: Earl Harbo
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained with several small water hazards and lots of big hills to throw off of. Favorite part of this course was defiantly the elevated tee pads with various distances depending on the hole. Tomahawks will be your best friend through many of the shots. Overall a nice mix of open, semi, and wooded shots. If anyone is in the Des Moines area this should defiantly be one of your top picks if trying to choose a course. Look over the pictures and you wont be disappointed.
Cons: Plenty of out of bounds opportunities, if you play OB.
Other Thoughts: This was the 4th course we played on March 15th in the epic Des Moines area Frolf outing. Congrats Larry, -1, first time played. No clue how he threw so many tomahawks after playing for 8 hours.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun factor for me

1    6/28/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good use of elevation on a lot of holes
-Creek comes into play on a few holes too
-Nice landscaping, stairs, ledges, woodchips that make this course more fun and more visually appealing- this looks like it is going to improve in the near future
-Nice baskets
-Nice tees
-Good mix of open and wooded holes. Wooded holes are not too wooded, perfect amount in my opinion
-Many holes turn right or left or have severe elevation changes- only a few open shots
-A decent variation in distance- elevation changes distances too so it seems even more varied.
-There were some really cool holes. I can't remember which ones they were. Hole one was at the top of the hill and the hole is off to the left. Hole 6 I think is also at the top of the hill but in the woods and has cool stairs all the way down. There are two holes later that go up steep hills and into woods. Another hill throws off a platform towards a hole at the bottom of the hill.
-No two holes are the same.
-Good parking, bathrooms, sand volleyball courts, playground

Cons: -Signs are in bad shape on most holes; either faded or missing.
-Can be muddy in the woods
-Can be very busy, especially when Stable Run/ISU is under water as it has been most of spring and summer
-Flow can be a bit confusing if you haven't been here before.
-Can be hot/humid/buggy in the summer
-Course could use a little trash cleanup and maintenance.
Other Thoughts: -One of two good courses in Ames, definitely worth a stop. Fall or Spring are the best times to play. Avoid weekends and evenings when the college students are going to be playing, can get crowded.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gateway Hills

1    10/2/2011   7/22/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 10/3/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -good use of natural elevation to make the course interesting and fun to play, some of the holes like #6 have nice elevation changes that make the course awesome
-good mix of open and wooded holes, as well as different distances
-good cement tee off pads, many holes have two different tee pads
-There are stairs and walkways to make the changes in elevation easier to climb
-Many interesting shots that make you want to keep playing.
Cons: -after it rains it can be quite muddy
-There are some holes that go along the river and those open up chances to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic Course, I would recommend playing it if you get a chance.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Neat Central IA gem

1    6/8/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate to novice level course that more advanced players won't get bored by. Good logical flow. Dual tees on every hole give players more adaptability in picking how much challenge they want. Good mix of open and wooded. Open area holes fairways are defined by a thin line of tall grass between holes (you can make going outside of these OB to add challenge). My favorite holes on this course were 8 and 12 which you shoot from one wooded area, out into the open, across to another wooded area.
Cons: If you like some long bomb holes, well, this ain't the course for you, as it is relatively short. The longest shot in the park is a 425' downhill tunnel hole. Course can be a mud pit in spots after a hard rain. The wooded section on 3-7 is particularly bad (definitely use the stairs provided). Very popular and gets crowded in the afternoons by mostly rec players, so expect some wait time. Pretty as it is, doesn't really have that wow factor. Hole signs are deteriorating.
Other Thoughts: A lot of places would be happy to have a course like Carol Marty in town. Due to its length and being in the vicinity of much longer, more challenging courses to the south probably doesn't get the cred it deserves. I wouldn't go to Ames just to play this, but I'd definitely play it again if I were passing through Ames. A good choice if you're in central Iowa and find the monster Des Moines courses a bit overwhelming.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good, fun course

5+    5/6/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has a wide variety of tee shots. Has a good amount of tight holes, also has some open holes that challenge players focus. Easy enough to always have a fun round. Easy to find course.
Cons: Too many short holes. Really no hole where you can let loose your longest drives. Course not updated enough. High concentration of bad players/hooligans. Often able to get near -10 under par on my own.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoy playing this course. While it is very easy and often crowded, it is still fun to play and satisfaction is easy to attain for players of all levels.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Is fun to play with lots of people

5+    5/4/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: Caligolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has many different holes for many different type of throwers. It also has some hole in one holes.
Cons: This course can be hard for beginners. There also some holes with water on them.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 6 and 16 are two of my favorite holes that i have played. They are both downhill longer shots.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

5+    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: Airfishey
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee pads
-2 practice baskets
-Easy layout to follow
-Beginner friendly from short tees
-Long tees usually offer a lot tougher shot/line at the pin
-A good amount of elevation change
-Nice staircases make the elevation change manageable
-Course is usually well maintained-i.e. grass mowed
-Drinking fountain/ beverage machines by hole 18
-2 volleyball courts and a playground in the park
Cons: -The course is often crowded during the school year. If you play during this time of year, come in the morning or plan on a lot of waiting.
-A lot of littering from college students that is tough to keep clean during the school year.
-The front nine can get pretty muddy after some heavy rain
-There aren't really any holes to drive for distance (Maybe 1 or 2 holes 400 feet or longer)
-The course isn't too challenging from the shorts
Other Thoughts: -There is usually one portapotty near the parking lot.
-If you have to decide between this course and Stable Run in Ames, then I would suggest checking out Stable run because it has multiple tee pads, multiple pin locations, and is more challenging. However, this course is more scenic.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.