Disc Golf Store
Adair Village, OR 
Adair Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course!

2-4    3/3/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Variety of shots throughout course
-Great baskets
-Signage is absolutely awesome
Cons: -Not enough rest rooms
-Need more benches
-Swampy during rainy season
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course. Nice variety of long and short holes. Multiple pin locations. If you are traveling through Corvallis or that area you should def. try to play this course. Course can get a bit swampy in places. All in all, a great course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Varied, entertaining course

5+    8/6/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: protravler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: An entertaining array of wide open long shots, recently added par-4's mixed in there and a stretch of impressively technical but well thought-out shorter shots through the thick woods. Definitely the best mid-Willamette valley course for an advanced player. Course is frequently changing and evolving, making it even more fun for locals.
Cons: Dense brush in a few areas can make for a few extra minutes of disc-searching if not careful. Poison Oak in the area but not too bad.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A real players course

2-4    11/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: Ronburke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a variety of holes here. You need to control and on many holes, shape them correctly. I love the challenges this course brings. I would have hated this course when I was newer, but now having more experience, I love that this course gives me the opportunity to throw very crafty shpaed shots, bomb shots, skilled mid and short shots, etc.
Cons: It's not too hard to loose a disc here. Some holes it's not a bad idea to have someone run out and spot your throws. Especially in the fall (lots of leaves) and spring (taller grasses).
Other Thoughts: I just find this to be a very fun course. The people I"ve run inot here are all courteous players. I have to use every shot in my bag to play well here and I love that.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/6/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 49  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open holes to air it out after some tight/technical holes. Clean. Cared for very well. Uses the landscape very well, all kind of shots.
Cons: No maps/scorecards on the day I went. Or the next time either. Take scrap paper.
Other Thoughts: I'll surely go back for more! Gotta be a top course in the state! It's one of the best and funniest courses I've played.

Take scrap paper and pen/pencil with you to track score.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mid-Valley Excellence

5+    3/26/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ample parking
Excellent signage
Very active Club maintenance
Multiple Pins
Bathrooms and drinking water (seasonal)
Elevation
Tight technical and open holes
Short and long holes including one par 4
Seasonal water hazard
Cons:
Rubber tee-pads can be slippery in wet weather
Other Thoughts:
Adair is in my opinion the best all around course from Eugene to Salem, and one of the top five in the State of Oregon. Adair is the home course of the Corvallis based Willamette Disc Golf Club and they take excellent care of the course and its natural features, and they host several excellent tournaments every year. Benton County Parks have proven to be a great land owner to work with and seem to really understand and appreciate disc golf and how to work with a disc golf club that wants to take responsibility and pride in a course.

Adair has the some of the best tee signs around, mounted onto sturdy wooden posts set in the ground with great graphics and protection. They are very informative and maintain the natural aesthetic of the park. The rubber tee-pads are one knock on the course as they do get wet and sometimes slippery in the rainy season, but these were the best option allowed by the Parks department. Ironically, it is the Parks mowing staff that have repeatedly damaged some of the pads. The pads themselves are very well constructed, flat, and no question of being sturdy but the rubber material is what it is. 90% of the time, they are not a problem. Rumor has it that the Parks department may have agreed to the concept of concrete tees so perhaps Adair will have them in the future.

The course is an excellent design that takes advantage of everything available - elevation, wide open grass with scattered trees, thick forest, oak savanna, a long berm, and even some seasonal water on one hole. There are only two holes where lost discs are a semi-regular occurrence: Hole 8 with the seasonal ditch full of water, and Hole 14 which is called "Cambodia" for a reason, and that reason is a strip of long uncut grass and thick willows backed up by more thick woods which will swallow an errant shot, but the shot will be either very poorly thrown or very very aggressive, so it's not an unreasonable rough - the fairway is wide open.

The course starts with a fairly short slight uphill shot, but one with road and tennis court OB on either side. It then plays back and forth up and down the same small slope through hole 4. Hole 5 is either perched on a long berm or tucked between the berm and the road - both positions require length and proper placement and have tripped up many players. Holes 6 - 10 utilize a fairly dense wooded portion of the park. This section of the course requires technical skill and can yield all birdies or plenty of extra strokes.

Hole 11 brings you back to the open section of the park and plays with OB road all the way down the left side. Holes 12-13 play up a long gradual slope of mowed park grass with scattered trees. 14 brings you to the top of the slope throwing down the other side into a beautiful oak grove that contains 14-17. Holes 15 and 16 are fairly short and you really want these birdies. To protect some of the oak trees on these holes the WDGC installed tree protectors made of 2x4's painted dark brown and loosely strapped to the trees in danger of hits from near the tee-pad. They work very well and you probably won't even notice them unless you hit one. This is my favorite section of the course, both because I usually need some birdies at this point and because of the oak trees and the resident Acorn woodpeckers that are often heard clowning on your bad shots.

Hole 18 is a long bomb down a gradual slope with some small trees scattered at about 350 feet of the 7-800 foot hole depending on pin position. It is a par 4 in either position which I think is the correct par, but because there is only one par 4 on the course this makes for some awkward scoring mistakes by people who forget and refuse to use simple math when adding their scorecards, but rely on the one up/one down method instead of the good ol' 3rd grade math of 2+3+3, etc.

All of the holes at Adair have 2 or 3 alternate pin positions which add a lot of variety in lines and difficulty. It is hard to overstate how much having several quality pin locations adds to the overall excellence of a course, and Adair is a good example of alternate pins done right.

In addition to the tree protection, the WDGC has built steps, stairs, trails, turnpikes, footbridges, and vegetation barriers on the course which keep the wear and tear to a minimum, promote safety, and protect the natural features of the course. The involvement of the club at Adair, along with the support of Benton County parks makes a huge difference in keeping this disc golf course looking and playing so great year round. This is what puts this course at the top of my list for the Mid-Valley, and earns it a 4 rating. The design, terrain, playability, fun and challenge of Adair are comparable to other area courses that I rate at 3.5, but having strong stewardship by disc golfers and a land owner that understands and supports disc golf gives it the edge.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Adair Park Corvallis Oregon

5+    12/5/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 275  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.8 Years
Pros: A fine course and well worth checking out if you are in the area. There is a great variety of holes including a few ace run opportunities, some long holes like the 820' #18, ob possibilities and several very woodsy holes. These woodsy holes actually taught me what I consider to be a very valuable disc golf lesson. It teaches you to study your shot and choose a gap that will advance you far up the fairway, rather than trying to park a 280' shot through dense forest and hitting the 1st tree and trying to save bogey. Elevation changes also add to the variety. The bathroom across from #2 tee and #17 fairway is always open. The rubber tee pads are fine and the tee signs are real classy.
Cons: The hillside approaching #18 can get real sloppy in the rainy season and many a disc golfer has ended their round in a pile of slop, but hey it sure beats not playing. Though I can,t rate the course a 5 it is very solid and much work has been done there to make it a great experience. You really have to stretch to say anything bad about Adair.

 Home sweet home...

5+    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An equal balance of up and down, different forest/brush types, long and short. In may ways, every hole is different than the one previous, with a different challenge on each. There are many similarities from groups of holes to other groups of holes.

Overall, this course will make you a better disc golfer.

Not anywhere near as crowded as some of the other courses in the area.

Great tees and hole descriptions, along with a map of where the next tee is. Easy to navigate the first time.

Park is groomed regularly.

Huge 18th hole is a lot of fun at the end.
Cons: There is no indication when they change the basket placements.

There is a sewage treatment plant near holes 7,8,9, and 10 that is real fruity on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: I play this course around 2-3 times a week. I consider it my home course. It can be crowded, but no where near Willamette. The difficulty of the wooded holes keeps most of the casual golfers out (this place can eat discs).

I cannot state how much I love this place. Like Dexter, it has a variety of similar holes, but each hole has it's own personality. Its just the right amount of difficult (not ridiculous). My best round here was +2, but my average is around +5.

Update (7/1/12): The Willamette Disc Gold Club has installed longer new basket positions for holes 4 and 6. Hole 4 long runs is just in the woods from the field to the right (par 3). Hole 6 long runs back from the prior long position and is now a par 4 position.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Roc

2-4    8/26/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Roc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets,good elevation variation on holes ,wide range of shots,uncrowded,multiple pin settings
Cons: Thick underbrush,poison oak
Other Thoughts: This course has something for everyone-- long shots,short shots,tomohawks,rollers,hyzer,anhyzer and accuracy.If you only have one shot that you are good at this course will give you trouble.This would not be a good course for beginners.If you are intermediate to advanced you will like this course.This is a good course to improve your skills

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

5+    2/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Decent elevation change. Used what they had quite well.
Cons: The tees can be slippery. The land is what it is but that is what limits how great the course could be.
Other Thoughts: The added holes they use for tourneys are excellent.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 IlOVEADAIR

5+    12/13/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: The Bird Man
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation, trees, open, long, short, it has it all. This is one of Oregon's premier courses, challenging and fun. It has birdie opportunities for all levels of players. I love that there is tight wooded areas, big bomber holes and some exciting elevation.
Cons: Lots of POison Oak! You can smell the neighboring sewage treatment facility when your in the woods. The worst course I know of for POiSON OAK!!
Other Thoughts: ONe of the best in Oregon, and close to I-5.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.