Disc Golf Store
Adair Village, OR 
Adair Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great course!

2-4    3/3/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Variety of shots throughout course
-Great baskets
-Signage is absolutely awesome
Cons: -Not enough rest rooms
-Need more benches
-Swampy during rainy season
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course. Nice variety of long and short holes. Multiple pin locations. If you are traveling through Corvallis or that area you should def. try to play this course. Course can get a bit swampy in places. All in all, a great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great concrete tee pads!!!

5+    11/23/2013   11/24/2013
Review By: frasnow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New concrete tee pads, which are 12' to 14' in length.
- Recently added next-tee tape and locator tape on the baskets; though, it appears the baskets got disorganized during the concrete installation.
- Incredible variety of holes (tight woods, big open field shots, long downhill bombers, uphill shots, ace runs, par fours).
- Two very challenging par fours (6 and 11) and one long downhill par four (18).
- Variety of basket positions for all holes.
- The new hole 4 long position gives a great opportunity for some to get a long ace.
- Far enough from major population to keep it from getting crowded during the week.
- Great location for a tournament with its nice picnic shelters and lack of interference between the course and other park activities.
- From the parking lot it is easy to start from a variety of holes (1, 3, 5, 14, 18), which can be nice when a large/slow group(s) is already on 1-3, or you only have time for a few holes.
- Well maintained course, so it's easier to locate an errant disc in the woods than it is on other courses I've played.
- Short stocky posts hold well-made tee signs, but (see cons)
- Trash cans at a few key locations (11 tee and tennis courts near 18)
- Bathrooms and water fountains (seasonal)
Cons: - Hole 13 hasn't received a concrete tee yet.
- Some of the signage is looking dated due to the number of new positions not on the signs.
- Can sometimes get crowded on weekend late mornings and weekend afternoons.
- Hole 18 ends a long ways from the parking lot, but you can always play the practice basket as hole 19, or replay 12 and 13 (my preference).
- The road comes into play a bit (1, 2, 5, 11) and I don't like the possibility of damaging a disc. The tee shot on 11 is my least favorite, because the left side is all road and the right side is very tight woods (i.e. lost discs).
- Lots of ways to lose discs in the wooded sections. A ditch on the right side of 8 forms a pond in the winter that eats discs, so 8 is often removed from tournaments in the winter. I carry a Blizzard Wraith (138g) just for hole 8.
Other Thoughts: I strongly believe I wouldn't own so many discs if I didn't play Adair. There is such a great variety of holes that I find myself trying different techniques, and discs, in an attempt to hit that perfect line.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Varied, entertaining course

5+    8/6/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: protravler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: An entertaining array of wide open long shots, recently added par-4's mixed in there and a stretch of impressively technical but well thought-out shorter shots through the thick woods. Definitely the best mid-Willamette valley course for an advanced player. Course is frequently changing and evolving, making it even more fun for locals.
Cons: Dense brush in a few areas can make for a few extra minutes of disc-searching if not careful. Poison Oak in the area but not too bad.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: beaverboy56
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large Variety of Obstacles
Extremely Fun, nice flow
Not easy but not too hard
Pet friendly
Concrete pads (all, except #13)
Well marked signs designation different hole locations
Map in parking lot
Trash Cans along the course, fairly clean
Course doesn't play through the heavier park usage areas.
I have yet to find a better course in Oregon
Cons: Posion Oak
There are a couple of key spots that eat discs
Haven't played when the course is soaked, imagine it would be in bad shape
Other Thoughts: This is my home course (despite living closer to Bryant), I play here often and never tire of this course. Highly recommend. Recently upgraded concrete pads are really nice, only Hole #13 is still rubber.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Tough and Varied

1    4/12/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent variety. There are some uphill shots some downhill shots some open shots some tunnels some dense trees all mixed across 18 holes with varying distances.

Tough, but not overly frustrating.

Not crowded.

Good flow. The course takes you all around the park. Holes and overall layout are well designed.

Fairly easy to navigate. Follow the trails.
Cons: Some areas are slow to dry out.

There is enough rough that you might spend some time hunting for a disc.

Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth checking out.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A real players course

2-4    11/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: Ronburke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a variety of holes here. You need to control and on many holes, shape them correctly. I love the challenges this course brings. I would have hated this course when I was newer, but now having more experience, I love that this course gives me the opportunity to throw very crafty shpaed shots, bomb shots, skilled mid and short shots, etc.
Cons: It's not too hard to loose a disc here. Some holes it's not a bad idea to have someone run out and spot your throws. Especially in the fall (lots of leaves) and spring (taller grasses).
Other Thoughts: I just find this to be a very fun course. The people I"ve run inot here are all courteous players. I have to use every shot in my bag to play well here and I love that.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Medieval faire

1    7/31/2008   8/1/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice Park. Big Jousting faire on whilst we were there. Nice layout. Some tricky OB. We werer the only ones in the park playing, that's good.
Cons: Not all that well marked a little scramble to find where to go next. Not exceptional in my mind.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/6/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open holes to air it out after some tight/technical holes. Clean. Cared for very well. Uses the landscape very well, all kind of shots.
Cons: No maps/scorecards on the day I went. Or the next time either. Take scrap paper.
Other Thoughts: I'll surely go back for more! Gotta be a top course in the state! It's one of the best and funniest courses I've played.

Take scrap paper and pen/pencil with you to track score.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mid-Valley Excellence

5+    3/26/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ample parking
Excellent signage
Very active Club maintenance
Multiple Pins
Bathrooms and drinking water (seasonal)
Elevation
Tight technical and open holes
Short and long holes including one par 4
Seasonal water hazard
Cons:
Rubber tee-pads can be slippery in wet weather
Other Thoughts:
Adair is in my opinion the best all around course from Eugene to Salem, and one of the top five in the State of Oregon. Adair is the home course of the Corvallis based Willamette Disc Golf Club and they take excellent care of the course and its natural features, and they host several excellent tournaments every year. Benton County Parks have proven to be a great land owner to work with and seem to really understand and appreciate disc golf and how to work with a disc golf club that wants to take responsibility and pride in a course.

Adair has the some of the best tee signs around, mounted onto sturdy wooden posts set in the ground with great graphics and protection. They are very informative and maintain the natural aesthetic of the park. The rubber tee-pads are one knock on the course as they do get wet and sometimes slippery in the rainy season, but these were the best option allowed by the Parks department. Ironically, it is the Parks mowing staff that have repeatedly damaged some of the pads. The pads themselves are very well constructed, flat, and no question of being sturdy but the rubber material is what it is. 90% of the time, they are not a problem. Rumor has it that the Parks department may have agreed to the concept of concrete tees so perhaps Adair will have them in the future.

The course is an excellent design that takes advantage of everything available - elevation, wide open grass with scattered trees, thick forest, oak savanna, a long berm, and even some seasonal water on one hole. There are only two holes where lost discs are a semi-regular occurrence: Hole 8 with the seasonal ditch full of water, and Hole 14 which is called "Cambodia" for a reason, and that reason is a strip of long uncut grass and thick willows backed up by more thick woods which will swallow an errant shot, but the shot will be either very poorly thrown or very very aggressive, so it's not an unreasonable rough - the fairway is wide open.

The course starts with a fairly short slight uphill shot, but one with road and tennis court OB on either side. It then plays back and forth up and down the same small slope through hole 4. Hole 5 is either perched on a long berm or tucked between the berm and the road - both positions require length and proper placement and have tripped up many players. Holes 6 - 10 utilize a fairly dense wooded portion of the park. This section of the course requires technical skill and can yield all birdies or plenty of extra strokes.

Hole 11 brings you back to the open section of the park and plays with OB road all the way down the left side. Holes 12-13 play up a long gradual slope of mowed park grass with scattered trees. 14 brings you to the top of the slope throwing down the other side into a beautiful oak grove that contains 14-17. Holes 15 and 16 are fairly short and you really want these birdies. To protect some of the oak trees on these holes the WDGC installed tree protectors made of 2x4's painted dark brown and loosely strapped to the trees in danger of hits from near the tee-pad. They work very well and you probably won't even notice them unless you hit one. This is my favorite section of the course, both because I usually need some birdies at this point and because of the oak trees and the resident Acorn woodpeckers that are often heard clowning on your bad shots.

Hole 18 is a long bomb down a gradual slope with some small trees scattered at about 350 feet of the 7-800 foot hole depending on pin position. It is a par 4 in either position which I think is the correct par, but because there is only one par 4 on the course this makes for some awkward scoring mistakes by people who forget and refuse to use simple math when adding their scorecards, but rely on the one up/one down method instead of the good ol' 3rd grade math of 2+3+3, etc.

All of the holes at Adair have 2 or 3 alternate pin positions which add a lot of variety in lines and difficulty. It is hard to overstate how much having several quality pin locations adds to the overall excellence of a course, and Adair is a good example of alternate pins done right.

In addition to the tree protection, the WDGC has built steps, stairs, trails, turnpikes, footbridges, and vegetation barriers on the course which keep the wear and tear to a minimum, promote safety, and protect the natural features of the course. The involvement of the club at Adair, along with the support of Benton County parks makes a huge difference in keeping this disc golf course looking and playing so great year round. This is what puts this course at the top of my list for the Mid-Valley, and earns it a 4 rating. The design, terrain, playability, fun and challenge of Adair are comparable to other area courses that I rate at 3.5, but having strong stewardship by disc golfers and a land owner that understands and supports disc golf gives it the edge.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/30/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Brandon A. T.
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Fields on several holes.
Great Tees.
Kept mowed in open fields

Usually not a lot of people out there, though that depends on the time of day.

They have several holes where you are throwing uphill, and several that are going downhill, making this a very varied and challenging course.

Well marked tees, you can easily find the next hole.

Multiple positions for baskets, makes the course ever changing.
Cons: Some holes can be muddy.

Poison Oak, watch for it.

In wooded areas the baskets are not always easy to see.

Baskets are not marked clearly with bright color so that you can see them, however the tee does supply a picture of where they could be.

Other Thoughts: This is by far one of the best courses in the Corvallis/ Eugene/Salem area. It's a little out of Corvallis, but it makes up for the drive with a great course that is kept clean, litter free, and looking well kept up.

I would advise you to bring water, as this is a long course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.