Adair Village, OR 
Adair Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    8/6/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open holes to air it out after some tight/technical holes. Clean. Cared for very well. Uses the landscape very well, all kind of shots.
Cons: No maps/scorecards on the day I went. Or the next time either. Take scrap paper.
Other Thoughts: I'll surely go back for more! Gotta be a top course in the state! It's one of the best and funniest courses I've played.

Take scrap paper and pen/pencil with you to track score.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mid-Valley Excellence

5+    3/26/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ample parking
Excellent signage
Very active Club maintenance
Multiple Pins
Bathrooms and drinking water (seasonal)
Elevation
Tight technical and open holes
Short and long holes including one par 4
Seasonal water hazard
Cons:
Rubber tee-pads can be slippery in wet weather
Other Thoughts:
Adair is in my opinion the best all around course from Eugene to Salem, and one of the top five in the State of Oregon. Adair is the home course of the Corvallis based Willamette Disc Golf Club and they take excellent care of the course and its natural features, and they host several excellent tournaments every year. Benton County Parks have proven to be a great land owner to work with and seem to really understand and appreciate disc golf and how to work with a disc golf club that wants to take responsibility and pride in a course.

Adair has the some of the best tee signs around, mounted onto sturdy wooden posts set in the ground with great graphics and protection. They are very informative and maintain the natural aesthetic of the park. The rubber tee-pads are one knock on the course as they do get wet and sometimes slippery in the rainy season, but these were the best option allowed by the Parks department. Ironically, it is the Parks mowing staff that have repeatedly damaged some of the pads. The pads themselves are very well constructed, flat, and no question of being sturdy but the rubber material is what it is. 90% of the time, they are not a problem. Rumor has it that the Parks department may have agreed to the concept of concrete tees so perhaps Adair will have them in the future.

The course is an excellent design that takes advantage of everything available - elevation, wide open grass with scattered trees, thick forest, oak savanna, a long berm, and even some seasonal water on one hole. There are only two holes where lost discs are a semi-regular occurrence: Hole 8 with the seasonal ditch full of water, and Hole 14 which is called "Cambodia" for a reason, and that reason is a strip of long uncut grass and thick willows backed up by more thick woods which will swallow an errant shot, but the shot will be either very poorly thrown or very very aggressive, so it's not an unreasonable rough - the fairway is wide open.

The course starts with a fairly short slight uphill shot, but one with road and tennis court OB on either side. It then plays back and forth up and down the same small slope through hole 4. Hole 5 is either perched on a long berm or tucked between the berm and the road - both positions require length and proper placement and have tripped up many players. Holes 6 - 10 utilize a fairly dense wooded portion of the park. This section of the course requires technical skill and can yield all birdies or plenty of extra strokes.

Hole 11 brings you back to the open section of the park and plays with OB road all the way down the left side. Holes 12-13 play up a long gradual slope of mowed park grass with scattered trees. 14 brings you to the top of the slope throwing down the other side into a beautiful oak grove that contains 14-17. Holes 15 and 16 are fairly short and you really want these birdies. To protect some of the oak trees on these holes the WDGC installed tree protectors made of 2x4's painted dark brown and loosely strapped to the trees in danger of hits from near the tee-pad. They work very well and you probably won't even notice them unless you hit one. This is my favorite section of the course, both because I usually need some birdies at this point and because of the oak trees and the resident Acorn woodpeckers that are often heard clowning on your bad shots.

Hole 18 is a long bomb down a gradual slope with some small trees scattered at about 350 feet of the 7-800 foot hole depending on pin position. It is a par 4 in either position which I think is the correct par, but because there is only one par 4 on the course this makes for some awkward scoring mistakes by people who forget and refuse to use simple math when adding their scorecards, but rely on the one up/one down method instead of the good ol' 3rd grade math of 2+3+3, etc.

All of the holes at Adair have 2 or 3 alternate pin positions which add a lot of variety in lines and difficulty. It is hard to overstate how much having several quality pin locations adds to the overall excellence of a course, and Adair is a good example of alternate pins done right.

In addition to the tree protection, the WDGC has built steps, stairs, trails, turnpikes, footbridges, and vegetation barriers on the course which keep the wear and tear to a minimum, promote safety, and protect the natural features of the course. The involvement of the club at Adair, along with the support of Benton County parks makes a huge difference in keeping this disc golf course looking and playing so great year round. This is what puts this course at the top of my list for the Mid-Valley, and earns it a 4 rating. The design, terrain, playability, fun and challenge of Adair are comparable to other area courses that I rate at 3.5, but having strong stewardship by disc golfers and a land owner that understands and supports disc golf gives it the edge.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/30/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Brandon A. T.
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Fields on several holes.
Great Tees.
Kept mowed in open fields

Usually not a lot of people out there, though that depends on the time of day.

They have several holes where you are throwing uphill, and several that are going downhill, making this a very varied and challenging course.

Well marked tees, you can easily find the next hole.

Multiple positions for baskets, makes the course ever changing.
Cons: Some holes can be muddy.

Poison Oak, watch for it.

In wooded areas the baskets are not always easy to see.

Baskets are not marked clearly with bright color so that you can see them, however the tee does supply a picture of where they could be.

Other Thoughts: This is by far one of the best courses in the Corvallis/ Eugene/Salem area. It's a little out of Corvallis, but it makes up for the drive with a great course that is kept clean, litter free, and looking well kept up.

I would advise you to bring water, as this is a long course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Adair Park Corvallis Oregon

5+    12/5/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 288  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.5 Years
Pros: A fine course and well worth checking out if you are in the area. There is a great variety of holes including a few ace run opportunities, some long holes like the 820' #18, ob possibilities and several very woodsy holes. These woodsy holes actually taught me what I consider to be a very valuable disc golf lesson. It teaches you to study your shot and choose a gap that will advance you far up the fairway, rather than trying to park a 280' shot through dense forest and hitting the 1st tree and trying to save bogey. Elevation changes also add to the variety. The bathroom across from #2 tee and #17 fairway is always open. The rubber tee pads are fine and the tee signs are real classy.
Cons: The hillside approaching #18 can get real sloppy in the rainy season and many a disc golfer has ended their round in a pile of slop, but hey it sure beats not playing. Though I can,t rate the course a 5 it is very solid and much work has been done there to make it a great experience. You really have to stretch to say anything bad about Adair.

 Good Mix!

1    1/7/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: Tolan
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes, nothing too extreme, just some nice downhill tee-offs, and some late uphills that challenge your approaches. Nice mix of hyzer/anhyzer flight paths through the trees. Distance differences between holes is nice, going from narrow and technical in the trees, to open and long in the field. Makes you a better player having such narrow fairways with OB on one side, and the "jungle" on the other. Pin placements are very technical for the most part, nestled in the trees on the front nine, and part of the back 9 as well.
Cons: It was wet when we went, but you can't fault the park for that. They were out of maps, and my phone couldn't take a very good pic of the map at the kiosk, so having a small sign pointing the way to the next hole would have been nice for the first timer. We played two rounds, and the second we had no probs, but we played the wrong basket three times on the first round.
Other Thoughts: After playing hole 18 twice, I now realize that I really need to work on my drive power (I seem to be quite the wuss). Overall, this course has been added to my favs...I think this has overtaken both Pier and Horning's in my book. I will be back and often!!!!!! I repeat, THIS COURSE WILL MAKE YOU A BETTER GOLFER! Or, it will make you want to quit...lol.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home...

5+    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An equal balance of up and down, different forest/brush types, long and short. In may ways, every hole is different than the one previous, with a different challenge on each. There are many similarities from groups of holes to other groups of holes.

Overall, this course will make you a better disc golfer.

Not anywhere near as crowded as some of the other courses in the area.

Great tees and hole descriptions, along with a map of where the next tee is. Easy to navigate the first time.

Park is groomed regularly.

Huge 18th hole is a lot of fun at the end.
Cons: There is no indication when they change the basket placements.

There is a sewage treatment plant near holes 7,8,9, and 10 that is real fruity on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: I play this course around 2-3 times a week. I consider it my home course. It can be crowded, but no where near Willamette. The difficulty of the wooded holes keeps most of the casual golfers out (this place can eat discs).

I cannot state how much I love this place. Like Dexter, it has a variety of similar holes, but each hole has it's own personality. Its just the right amount of difficult (not ridiculous). My best round here was +2, but my average is around +5.

Update (7/1/12): The Willamette Disc Gold Club has installed longer new basket positions for holes 4 and 6. Hole 4 long runs is just in the woods from the field to the right (par 3). Hole 6 long runs back from the prior long position and is now a par 4 position.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Adair Disc Golf Course

1    8/3/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Pulling in to Adair Park the first thing I noticed was how much space there was dedicated to this disc golf course. About 20 minutes west of I-5 and just minutes from OSU, Adair truly is a hidden gem and well worth the trip. This beautifully manicured park was a mix of thick woods and wide open spaces, allowing players to work on their entire game. Players must not only be able to drive for distance, but also throw accurate upshots, putts, and narrow fairway drives. This course would be the ideal home course for just about anyone due to variety and balance of lefty vs. righty holes. The Willamette DG Club does a fantastic job with upkeep, as well as providing several successful tournaments a year, including the Oregon State Series.

There was ample parking when I arrived, with a kiosk near tee one informing players about the latest tournaments, vendors, and work parties from their local club. Tee pads are rubber and work well when there isn't a downpour, although they can get quite slick at times. The DGA baskets are well taken care of, double chained, and catch well. Each hole has multiple pin placements which adds to the difficulty and keeps holes from being too redundant or routine. Holes range in distance from 207 feet (hole #1) to 823 feet (hole #18 - B position), and are all Par 3's with the exception of hole #18 which is a Par 4, making the course Par totaling 55. Tee signs have illustrations, par, distance, and identifies the multiple pin placements.

Course flow is great, starting players on a few open holes, then tightening up in the middle, and then taking players back to some open again at the end. The course has players going in a large loop throughout the park with players having to walk about 300 feet back to the parking lot at the end. The course incorporates much of the rolling hills too, with some elevated pins and tees. Holes on this course are well though out, with many interesting pin locations and tee pads to add to the overall challenge.

The course is well taken care of as I mentioned earlier, with the Parks and Rec mowing the open grassy fields in the center of the park, while the local club helps with course maintenance more in the woods (but really all over). The fairways are well defined, trimmed back in most spots with not too much underbrush, allowing for direct routes from the tee to the pin. Benches can be found on nearly every hole, with garbage cans, bathrooms, and water toward the start.
Cons:
This course was so well put together that it is difficult to find many cons with the overall design. The tee pads although fine most days, could pose a problem in the wetter months due to the slickness. Considering it is located in the NW, adding cement tee pads might be a better idea.

Apparently poison oak is an issue too, although I didn't see much. Eradicating it would be the only solution even though it can be a real pain. Playing De LaVeaga for so many years, I guess I am just used to it.

Navigation is not really an issue, but make sure you print off a map on the links tab above if you're a first timer. Once you figure out the layout, it is quite easy to navigate. I not saying, I am just saying.
Other Thoughts:
Adair is yet another example of a well thought out and challenging course in the state of Oregon. This is one of the better courses I have played in the past 10 years, and allowed me to work on all aspects of my game. Adair truly is magnificant and quite picturesque! With the old growth Oak trees and other native foliage, this course makes you feel quite isolated for being so close to OSU. If nearbye, Adair is a must!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Roc

2-4    8/26/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Roc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets,good elevation variation on holes ,wide range of shots,uncrowded,multiple pin settings
Cons: Thick underbrush,poison oak
Other Thoughts: This course has something for everyone-- long shots,short shots,tomohawks,rollers,hyzer,anhyzer and accuracy.If you only have one shot that you are good at this course will give you trouble.This would not be a good course for beginners.If you are intermediate to advanced you will like this course.This is a good course to improve your skills

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

5+    2/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Decent elevation change. Used what they had quite well.
Cons: The tees can be slippery. The land is what it is but that is what limits how great the course could be.
Other Thoughts: The added holes they use for tourneys are excellent.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 IlOVEADAIR

5+    12/13/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: The Bird Man
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation, trees, open, long, short, it has it all. This is one of Oregon's premier courses, challenging and fun. It has birdie opportunities for all levels of players. I love that there is tight wooded areas, big bomber holes and some exciting elevation.
Cons: Lots of POison Oak! You can smell the neighboring sewage treatment facility when your in the woods. The worst course I know of for POiSON OAK!!
Other Thoughts: ONe of the best in Oregon, and close to I-5.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.