Adair Village, OR
Adair Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Mix!

1    1/7/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: Tolan
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes, nothing too extreme, just some nice downhill tee-offs, and some late uphills that challenge your approaches. Nice mix of hyzer/anhyzer flight paths through the trees. Distance differences between holes is nice, going from narrow and technical in the trees, to open and long in the field. Makes you a better player having such narrow fairways with OB on one side, and the "jungle" on the other. Pin placements are very technical for the most part, nestled in the trees on the front nine, and part of the back 9 as well.
Cons: It was wet when we went, but you can't fault the park for that. They were out of maps, and my phone couldn't take a very good pic of the map at the kiosk, so having a small sign pointing the way to the next hole would have been nice for the first timer. We played two rounds, and the second we had no probs, but we played the wrong basket three times on the first round.
Other Thoughts: After playing hole 18 twice, I now realize that I really need to work on my drive power (I seem to be quite the wuss). Overall, this course has been added to my favs...I think this has overtaken both Pier and Horning's in my book. I will be back and often!!!!!! I repeat, THIS COURSE WILL MAKE YOU A BETTER GOLFER! Or, it will make you want to quit...lol.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home sweet home...

5+    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An equal balance of up and down, different forest/brush types, long and short. In may ways, every hole is different than the one previous, with a different challenge on each. There are many similarities from groups of holes to other groups of holes.

Overall, this course will make you a better disc golfer.

Not anywhere near as crowded as some of the other courses in the area.

Great tees and hole descriptions, along with a map of where the next tee is. Easy to navigate the first time.

Park is groomed regularly.

Huge 18th hole is a lot of fun at the end.
Cons: There is no indication when they change the basket placements.

There is a sewage treatment plant near holes 7,8,9, and 10 that is real fruity on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: I play this course around 2-3 times a week. I consider it my home course. It can be crowded, but no where near Willamette. The difficulty of the wooded holes keeps most of the casual golfers out (this place can eat discs).

I cannot state how much I love this place. Like Dexter, it has a variety of similar holes, but each hole has it's own personality. Its just the right amount of difficult (not ridiculous). My best round here was +2, but my average is around +5.

Update (7/1/12): The Willamette Disc Gold Club has installed longer new basket positions for holes 4 and 6. Hole 4 long runs is just in the woods from the field to the right (par 3). Hole 6 long runs back from the prior long position and is now a par 4 position.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Adair Disc Golf Course

1    8/3/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Pulling in to Adair Park the first thing I noticed was how much space there was dedicated to this disc golf course. About 20 minutes west of I-5 and just minutes from OSU, Adair truly is a hidden gem and well worth the trip. This beautifully manicured park was a mix of thick woods and wide open spaces, allowing players to work on their entire game. Players must not only be able to drive for distance, but also throw accurate upshots, putts, and narrow fairway drives. This course would be the ideal home course for just about anyone due to variety and balance of lefty vs. righty holes. The Willamette DG Club does a fantastic job with upkeep, as well as providing several successful tournaments a year, including the Oregon State Series.

There was ample parking when I arrived, with a kiosk near tee one informing players about the latest tournaments, vendors, and work parties from their local club. Tee pads are rubber and work well when there isn't a downpour, although they can get quite slick at times. The DGA baskets are well taken care of, double chained, and catch well. Each hole has multiple pin placements which adds to the difficulty and keeps holes from being too redundant or routine. Holes range in distance from 207 feet (hole #1) to 823 feet (hole #18 - B position), and are all Par 3's with the exception of hole #18 which is a Par 4, making the course Par totaling 55. Tee signs have illustrations, par, distance, and identifies the multiple pin placements.

Course flow is great, starting players on a few open holes, then tightening up in the middle, and then taking players back to some open again at the end. The course has players going in a large loop throughout the park with players having to walk about 300 feet back to the parking lot at the end. The course incorporates much of the rolling hills too, with some elevated pins and tees. Holes on this course are well though out, with many interesting pin locations and tee pads to add to the overall challenge.

The course is well taken care of as I mentioned earlier, with the Parks and Rec mowing the open grassy fields in the center of the park, while the local club helps with course maintenance more in the woods (but really all over). The fairways are well defined, trimmed back in most spots with not too much underbrush, allowing for direct routes from the tee to the pin. Benches can be found on nearly every hole, with garbage cans, bathrooms, and water toward the start.
Cons:
This course was so well put together that it is difficult to find many cons with the overall design. The tee pads although fine most days, could pose a problem in the wetter months due to the slickness. Considering it is located in the NW, adding cement tee pads might be a better idea.

Apparently poison oak is an issue too, although I didn't see much. Eradicating it would be the only solution even though it can be a real pain. Playing De LaVeaga for so many years, I guess I am just used to it.

Navigation is not really an issue, but make sure you print off a map on the links tab above if you're a first timer. Once you figure out the layout, it is quite easy to navigate. I not saying, I am just saying.
Other Thoughts:
Adair is yet another example of a well thought out and challenging course in the state of Oregon. This is one of the better courses I have played in the past 10 years, and allowed me to work on all aspects of my game. Adair truly is magnificant and quite picturesque! With the old growth Oak trees and other native foliage, this course makes you feel quite isolated for being so close to OSU. If nearbye, Adair is a must!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Roc

2-4    8/26/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Roc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets,good elevation variation on holes ,wide range of shots,uncrowded,multiple pin settings
Cons: Thick underbrush,poison oak
Other Thoughts: This course has something for everyone-- long shots,short shots,tomohawks,rollers,hyzer,anhyzer and accuracy.If you only have one shot that you are good at this course will give you trouble.This would not be a good course for beginners.If you are intermediate to advanced you will like this course.This is a good course to improve your skills

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

5+    2/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Decent elevation change. Used what they had quite well.
Cons: The tees can be slippery. The land is what it is but that is what limits how great the course could be.
Other Thoughts: The added holes they use for tourneys are excellent.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 IlOVEADAIR

5+    12/13/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: The Bird Man
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation, trees, open, long, short, it has it all. This is one of Oregon's premier courses, challenging and fun. It has birdie opportunities for all levels of players. I love that there is tight wooded areas, big bomber holes and some exciting elevation.
Cons: Lots of POison Oak! You can smell the neighboring sewage treatment facility when your in the woods. The worst course I know of for POiSON OAK!!
Other Thoughts: ONe of the best in Oregon, and close to I-5.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Adair County Park

5+    9/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: sextondisc
Played: 80  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Open holes, very technical woods holes, length, elevation, and out of bounds hazards. Adair Park has great variety, fantastic tee signs, and multiple pin positions.
Cons: Some of the new long pins in the tight woods have a bit more "luck factor" than I like.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Come have some fun in Corvallis

2-4    7/11/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course with woods, elevation and distance. it starts off short but gradually gets longer..
rubber pads
Very nice challenging course with everything you could ask for.

Cons: No way of knowing where the basket is on wooded holes. So you have to walk or guess. which is why this one doesn't get a 4.5 or 5
The times I have been there it has been busy so prepare to wait on a few holes.

Some of the wooded holes really make you work.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course I would go more than I have, but it is 45min+ from my house.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Even Mix of Everything

2-4    7/21/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another great course that's located outside of the city hustle and bustle. All the terrain of this beautiful park was utilized - thick woods, elevation, open fields, mixed field and trees. It reminded us of the best of some of our great courses up in Washington. Balance is required to score well here, so bring a variety of discs. I remember loving the more wooded holes for their difficulty, but also loved launching off the #18 tee into a mostly open field that slowly rolled down to the final pin. I normally don't like more open holes but this one had character. The tees and signage are excellent and you can really tell where you're supposed to throw.
Cons: A few places that are easy to lose discs if you aren't paying attention - where grass gets quite high.
Other Thoughts: I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs and really long holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Adair

1    12/31/2010   7/25/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: About half of the course is open fairways and the other half are tight technical holes that will have you cursing the fact you ever picked up the sport. Excellent variety left,right,long and technical and a bit of elevation worked in there, this place is fair to however you throw or whether you are lefty or righty. Hole 18 is an open fairway where you will need to throw a couple of long bombs to get anywhere near the basket, great signature hole, lots of fun. Every single hole on this course is fun to play with enough of a challenge. This course is easy to navigate, thank you!
Cons: There are not a lot of cons at this course, it has been said before that concrete tee pads are needed. Not a lot of cons here just another solid course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in the stacked Oregon park system. This is a great course to combo with Willamette and Bryant Park for a nice road trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.