Disc Golf Store
Adair Village, OR
Adair Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

1    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good combination of long, short, technical, and open holes.
- All holes have multiple pin locations.
- Holes 2-10 are very technical and require a variety of shot types, hyzers, flip shots, anhyzers.
- Holes 11-18 are more open and require more distance shots, with the exception of a few.
- Hole 18 is ~800' and downhill, very fun hole.
-Tee signs are excellent with multiple pin locations and distances.
Cons:
- Some of the holes are blind and it's pretty easy to lose a disc because of this. Almost lost three discs in one round.
- After you get past hole 10 there isn't much shade and it gets pretty hot.
- The grass doesn't get mowed very often and the grass gets pretty high: makes losing a disc more likely and prevents your disc from skipping which can get frustrating.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've played. It's nice to have a course that challenges you on so many different aspects of your game. It's courses like these that help you improve your overall game and I recommend it for anyone in the area or just passing through.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  poison oak everywhere!

5+    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: discinbee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking space, the park as a whole is very nice, dog friendly.
Cons: Some holes do not have a clear shot to basket ( no routes), Trees make it very difficult at times. Overgrown and hard to play at times on some holes. Sewage plant nearby and it smells awful. If you get poison oak stay away from this place!
Other Thoughts: Not from Oregon so I have a different perspective on these courses. I have played in a lot of different states but Oregon has to be the roughest of them all. Many of these places do not believe in clear routes to the baskets and you mostly do poke and pray golf here. Others that are not from this state share some of the same feelings. Some of the courses in Portland area, Milo, Whistlers and courses in the Salem area are an exception to this.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Brilliant Course!

1    5/3/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Flow
Well Laid Out
Challenging Without Being Ludicrous
Great Risk/Reward Opportunities
Multiple Pin Locations
Plenty of Parking
Great Signage
Plenty of Benches
Some Elevation Changes
Good For Any Player With Some Experience
Cons: Rubber Teepads
Could Use Some Additional Trash Cans
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing Adair and I can't wait to go back and shoot a lower score now that I've seen what it has to offer. This course does a great job "leveling" the playing field. Accuracy is just as, and often times more important than crushing big drives. A bad first shot on the treed holes can turn a 2 or 3 into a 4 or 5 really quickly and you can't blame anyone but yourself! Definitely make the extra effort to see one of the top 5 courses in the state.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Oregon Southpaw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some gorgeous holes.

Challenging. Rewards accuracy over distance in the front nine, back has subtle backdoors for long-bombers.
Variation of long wide-open holes, wooded technical shots, and deceptively easy holes that make you consider the wind.

Great local community, disc golf part of the park is usually in great shape.

Lots of serious golfers out here most times. Generally low traffic, but you get surprised occasionally.

Mostly free of OSU frat-morons that seasonally populate Willamette.
Cons: Too far out from Corvallis for a quick round.

Not bicycle friendly at all (no racks!)

Gets odoriferously close a sewage treatment plant.

Wooded holes are grueling and some are unfair and disc-chomping.

Sputters out around 16. I hate 18, like 975' depending on position. (Played in tournament as 4 but casual play as 3 yuck).

Other Thoughts: Worth the trip but honestly I'm feeling Bryant more these days.

The wooded holes really are debilitating. Watch groups just bounce after coming back out by the road instead of finishing their rounds.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/1/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: Rayfillet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long wooded and open fairways. A great diversity in elevation. Can be challenging but always a good time.
No college students!!!
Cons: wish it was closer
Other Thoughts: Some holes are still under construction. But overall it is a clean well planned course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/10/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: gwillim
Played: 154  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 12.9 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in great shape.
-Kiosk with maps.
-Variety of distances from under 200' up to past 700'.
-Variety of hole type ranging from short wooded tech holes to long open range bombers.
-Nice use of available elevation: Some shots shoot up to 20' downhill. A couple uphill bombs as well.
-Great mix of hazards including carved fairways, and some holes with OB make for great risk/reward scenarios.
-Very fair lefty vs. righty (I think the course was mainly designed by a RHFH dominant player).
-Bathrooms available.
-Water available.
-Many holes have benches.
-Plenty of dedicated parking available.
-Good markings along the course helping you navigate.
-Strong local club involvement keeps the place tidy.
-Tee signs have illustration of hole, as well as distance for tee positions.
-All holes have at least two alternate pin positions, some have more!
-Course flow is great, taking you around the entire park in a nice loop. Eighteen ends about 300 feet away from hole one and the parking lot.
-Scenic beauty. The course is just in a beautiful area of Oregon. Part of the course plays through a section of very old, old-growth oak trees that are about as tall as an oak tree can get.
-Lot's of tournaments throughout the year to compete in, including:
...Festivus (winter tourney)
...OLE Series event
...Oregon Series event
...Umbrella Open
...and many more.
Cons:
-Rubber teepads. Rubber tee pads work really well in some areas of the country. Oregon is not on that list. With a little mud and rain, rubber tee pads can be VERY slippery and dangerous. I wish they'd put concrete down at Adair.
-There is some poison oak, although the locals have been doing a good job recently at keeping it to a minimum.
-It can be pretty windy at Adair at times, bring extra clothing in winter to shield you from the freezing wind.
Other Thoughts:
Adair is one of the top five courses in Oregon, and Oregon has a lot of great courses. With Adair only being a 20 minute drive west off of I-5, there is really no excuse not to stop off for a round if you're passing through. The course is marked well enough that it's quite easy to figure it out your first time without searching for things. Also, there are maps provided for ease of navigation.

Big arms and shorter throwers alike will love Adair with it's excellent variety. Anyone who can throw an accurate 320' shot will do much better than someone with an inaccurate cannon arm.

As mentioned above, the place is beautiful, the park sits on the edge of a tiny little village, there are rarely any crowds, and the landscape is worthy of being painted.

Adair hosts many large tournaments every year put on by surrounding DG clubs, and for a few of those tourneys, they alter the course into a championship level course. It's fantastic and I'd suggest playing one of those tournaments to any seasoned pro, or aspiring advanced amateur.

I love Adair, and the only real beef I have is with the tee pads. I don't have a wild run-up and am generally pretty smooth and easy off the tee pad, but I have fallen at Adair more than a couple times. Last year I pulled a muscle in my back during a tournament and had to quit playing. Oregon climate/weather really necessitates concrete tee pads, especially if the holes are anywhere near mud. Fly Pads just don't cut it.

Other than the tee pads, I think Adair is a top-notch course, and I take every opportunity I can get to shoot a round there. With concrete tees, I would rate Adair at least 4.5 stars.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Adair

5+    9/30/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: snlphillips
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and tight holes. Great area to have a disc golf course. Beautiful park.
Cons: Maybe it's just me, but I find this course to be very ON/OFF. There are a lot of holes that are 2's or 5's. Not a "fair" course. I have shot a 49 and a 58 on the same day in the same weather.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One Of The Big Three In Oregon!

5/25/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a wonderful park for a course, some open gentle rolling hills and thickly wooded in other areas. Each hole was unique and offered it's own challenges. Hole after hole I played and thought, if I had the time I'd like to go back and play that hole again. Great teepads. Signs were clear and informative. No signs of vandalism. The park was litter free. Three basket placements for most holes. Just a super well planned and developed course. The fact that it is a county park and therefore a few miles from Corvallis is probably a major plus as that serves to keep the crowds down.
Cons: Well, there's no water to speak of, just a small drainage ditch on one of the wooded holes. Is this alone enough to keep it from getting the five stars?
Other Thoughts: Easily one of the top three in Oregon along with Pier Park and Milo, and I liked Adair more than Milo. There are no boring/mundane holes here. I loved # 14 with the risk/reward of throwing over a grove of trees or going around them. It's probably an fairly easy toss for you 350-400' throwers. # 18 is an 875' slightly downhill, mostly open, chance to show off your arm kind of hole. This a course that could challenge a top ranked player but not frustrate the average disc golfer. I'd love to come back and play it again and again.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome !!!!!!

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the premiere course for the valley south of Portland. It requires many technical shots and can be very unforgiving. Bring your A game for this course and plan on some funky fun shots to get out of the rough. You will be rewarded for nice fairway shots in the woods. End the round with a monster drive (maybe roller) for the 800ft+ 18th hole.
Cons: Poison Oak is vibrant in the summer months on hole 3,4, and 6 mostly. Be Aware. Not much else. The park doesnt get too crowded as its far enough away from the college. Not the best course for beginners. Adv/Pro course

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Change of pace

4/30/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This place has many different fairways to challenge yourself on. Fun course just to walk through. Looks can be deceiving, this course looks like an open field but, turns out to be a whole lot better. The maps are properly laid out for ease of use.. Not to disappoint.
Cons: It may be a drive for some people.
Other Thoughts: Not too many hazardous plants around, should be fun.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.