Disc Golf Store
Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 358ft.   4 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 109
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, but not elite

1    5/11/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.7 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tyler State Park offers everything you would expect from an upper level course. It is well maintained, with concrete tees and nice signage displaying all of the pertinant information for each hole. The fairways are kept very clean, and nicely built walkways help move players through the course without causing unnecessary wear on the landscape. The layout plays primarily through the woods with a few open field holes that help mix it up a little. The fairways are fair and the rough is not overly punishing.
Cons: While the course does everything right to fit the mold of a nice course, it does nothing to really set itself apart. There are no real signature elements and no "wow" moments. It's fun to play, but not overly memorable.

Each hole features three unique pin placements, but only one basket rotating among them. This normally doesn't bother me much. But at Tyler, each pin location represents a very different challenge. The A pins play nicely for beginners, the C pins are tough championship level challenges, and the Bs fit nicely in between the two. But with just one basket, players do not have the option to choose the best layout for them. When I played, the pins were fairly evenly mixed between all three layouts. This gave me a nice sampling of each, but left me feeling like I was missing out on a lot of what Tyler has to offer. And for stat junkies, it makes comparing scores very difficult. The layout I played was just 1 of 19,683 possible configurations (some of which are better than others).

The course shares space with a few high volume walking trails. The trails don't directly interfere with the course, but I did encounter a number of pedestrians that chose to go off the paved trails. Be prepared to exercise a bit of patience, especially on a busy day.
Other Thoughts:
This is a fun place to play, regardless of what layout you find it in. Although, I was a bit surprised by how highly it is rated. At no point in my round did I feel like I was on a truely elite disc golf course. It certainly ranks among the better courses I've played, but it is not at the top of that list.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Pampered in PA

2-4    8/30/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes set in a large State park. Plenty of parking and other activities for your clan. Scorecards in box on the way from parking lot to 1st tee.

Lots of navigation aid signs to help you figure out where you are going.

Great handmade signs at every hole. Signs show line, and layout and well as OB and in some cases what parts of fairway are up hill, and what parts are down hill. Very nice touch.

Large concrete tee pads at every hole.

Seemed to be plenty of benches and bag holders for those that care. I never pay much attention since it is hard to thrown while seated.

Very little underbrush, thorns or weeds. While there is rough, you never feel like your hacking your way out of a jungle to retrieve your disc.

Everything is very well maintained. Paths are cleared and lined with logs. Fallen trees and logs are cleared and stacked nicely as extra features on the course. You can tell that lots of love and care goes in to Tyler.

Good variety of shots needed to play well here. Nothing feels repetitive, and you won't get into a rut where you are throwing the same shot over and over again.

I played with the baskets in the C positions this trip. In those positions the course is tough and long. But there are still some shorter holes and ace runs available. Lengths went from 211' up to 883'.

On several holes baskets are positioned to add risk to your approach or putt. #23 stands out as a great green. There is a steep slope to the left of the basket that can kill your score. #4 has a nice slope and the creek downhill behind the basket. #7 has similar risk.



Cons: There really isn't any signature holes or standout features here. While there is water and elevation it isn't used in any dramatic ways. There are no top of the world shots or long water carries.

Course flow is a little wandering. There are some long walks and backtracking throughout the course. Even with all the signs you find yourself wondering if you are headed the right way.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course that would make a great home course for almost all of us. It is almost all wooded with just a few holes that let you really let loose into the open fields. 15 and 16 play mostly open as well as the finishing holes 26 and 27. This is a course where you need to stay on the fairways and hit your lines. And almost every fairway has a decent line, and offers some route for success. Only in a few spots did I wonder what the heck I was going to do. I think #14 was the only hole when I truly thought the fairway was little overgrown with Plinko trees.

A few of the shorter holes play very tight, but I think that makes sense. It's a lot easier to hit those gaps at 200-250' than it is at 450'. To me that is good design.

There is water, but it is in the form of mostly small creek beds that add no lost disc risk or shot altering fear to your round.

There are slopes and hills along a few fairways, but the risk of long roll aways seems small. I've played this course 3 times now, and have never come close to losing a disc.

This is a course filled with lots of good disc golf. There are a few nice basket locations that add risk, and a little bit of elevation thrown in to keep you on your toes. There are however none of the dramatic features that make a truly top notch course to me. It's a nice round, but not a truly memorable one. Just 27 holes of quality golf in a nice, well cared for setting. Definitely worth a stop if you are in the area.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Immaculate & Beautiful

1    6/7/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tyler State Park is a gorgeous setting for a disc golf course. The level of care and maintenance is evident; people take a lot of pride in this course. The tee signs are great, the tee pads are all cement, large, and in great shape, and the baskets are nice. The fairways are all well defined, and there are even logs that line them, making them even more pronounced. The biggest pluses are the "next tee" signs. Navigation the first time through, though straightforward, is a little difficult, so these signs were key. Very helpful and clear. I also like the sign on the tee signs that let the player know where the pin is that particular day. I am also a huge fan of the lack of underbrush in the woods. Made finding an errant disc easy and allowed me to breeze through an entire round of 27 holes in 2-2.5 hours with virtually no searching for discs. New benches at each hole, bag hooks, and a few bathrooms throughout the course made the round enjoyable and add to the overall experience. There were even signs to clarify the rules (mandos, out of bounds, etc).
Cons: I think an individual's experience here can vary greatly on where the pin positions happen to be that particular day. Overall, 'A' positions are not very challenging or exciting. I understand the need to have them and not overburden a player with a ton of monster C positions, it is just a downer to go and see the potential a hole can have, but you happen to be there when the pin is in 'A'. Also, the par is etched on the tee sign, but depending on the pin position, the par may be different. I actually made a spreadsheet to bring with me in the future to know what the par is depending on the pin location.

One other con is that, on the whole, the holes were vanilla compared to some Lehigh Valley courses (Nockamixon, Jordan Creek). One day after playing, not many holes stick out to me as memorable.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed playing this course, but I was disappointed based on the scores the course had received. I guess I expected more. Don't get me wrong, the course is fantastic and immaculate, just not a 5 star course for me based on the layout I played. I only had 5 'C' positions and 9 'A' positions, and I think that has a lot to do with my rating. I would check out the tee sign and see some awesome potential basket placements only to look up and see the basket 225 ft away in the 'A' position straight in front of me. Big bummer. I will be back, and may adjust my rating upward, but I can only rate what I played.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Manicured

5+    2/25/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 183  Reviewed: 17
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The local club has obviously put a lot of work into this course, and it has paid off. The fairways are clear and well delineated. The signage is excellent - lots of useful "next tee" signs, and charming maps that accurately present the hole and pin position. The tees are large, concrete, and in excellent shape. Every hole has three quite different pin positions, and most holes have both back and front tees. There's also a lot of good disc golf to be had. There's 27 holes and they mix things up well -- uphill, downhill, straight, dogleg, open, wooded, and so forth.
Cons: Tyler is a good course any disc golfer will enjoy. These cons are to explain why I "only" give it a 4, not a 5:
- The A positions: typical pin positions go: B position is a good hole. C position is a longer or trickier good hole. A position is a boring, straight 200 foot hole. Just get rid of the As.
- Over use of OB/mandos: I like man vs. terrain, not man vs. contrived obstacles: don't hit trees or end up off the ravine. Tyler feels too artificial: A lot of random fields are roped OB, and there are a lot of mandos. (One hole has 3!) I don't mind one ocassionally, but it's excessive here.
- Lack of epic holes: Tyler's design feels a little like checking boxes: "Ok, we need to include a wooded dogleg left." Most top courses have a few holes that I just want to sit and savor, I don't feel that at Tyler. The terrain has the potential. For example, there's a big gully between holes 7 and 8. Why not have a drive over that gap, a la Whipping Post #9? The only steep downhills (2 and 21) are both short and straight.
Other Thoughts: A couple reviews complain about the course being too crowded, I don't think it's too bad. Obviously, if you play a course in a populated area on a sunny summer afternoon, you shouldn't expect a wilderness retreat feel.

Driving here also involves a typically suburban Philly problem: there aren't enough highways, and that means other arterial roads are also congested.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/5/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: buzyheat50
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: well kept.,constant basket location changes,next tee signs.intermediate pro course thats still fun for beginners.also 27 holes
Cons: trees trees trees.can be frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: best maintained couse ive played

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The course I play the most

5+    6/19/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rickerbocker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of varied terrain from tight fairways to open fields to let you really drive the disc. Some holes have a great mix of elevation. The course is well maintained.
Cons: I've played the course several times, and have gotten used to the layout, but for first time players of the course the layout can be a bit difficult to follow. Sometimes the marker that indicates what spot (A, B, or C) the tee is in will point to the wrong letter.
Other Thoughts: I play this course mainly because it it the clsoest course to where I live, but it is still one of the best courses int eh Philadelphia area. It is a solid 27 hole course and as I previously said provides a variety of holes that lets you use every part of your game.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    11/1/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A fair wooded course with well defined fairways that reward well thrown shots with very few trees in the middle of the line. Several well thought out holes with some good variety as well requiring a variety of shots.
Cons: Layout is kind of strange and can be hard to follow. Apparently some changes have been made recently so this will probably get better soon. Almost every hole was set up short. I don't know if this is just for the casual play or if the baskets are moved reguarly. It would have been nice to see a mixture.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course and I can see that a better player like Joe Mela has influenced it. It overall was fair with some memorable shots. Playing this course was fun and it certainly will make you a better player. I wish I would have had time for another round or two.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Tyler State Park

2-4    6/5/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: Rol6566
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is really scenic and very well maintained. There were benches on almost every hole(if not every hole) which made it nice since I played when it was 90` out.
-There were tee signs with indicators that showed what placement the basket in
-
Cons: Some of the hole positions should be reconsidered. When I played, there were par 5s that were only 300'. In my belief, a par 5 should not be reachable with a putter, and that all the baskets for a hole should be near the same distance and just placed differently.
-Another thing is that on most holes there is only one tee

Edit: After a member PMd me I realized that the par changes on a hole when the baskets are moved to different positions. But I still feel that the par on a hole should be the same and the basket positions should reflect that par.

Other Thoughts: Even though this course was nice, I wasn't blown away. This course lacked variety for me. It has 27 good holes but for me there was also no "showcase" hole. I was kind of hoping for a hole where I would go WOW.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  A Great Course to be Played

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: ajkepner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved the course as a whole. Each hole was different and provided a different challenge. There were some open holes and some tight holes, some with water, and some with raised baskets. I liked that all the holes were different distances and not all in the some position (all A/all B/all C). Very tidy and clean. Bathrooms and water fountains available.
Cons: Walking distance between holes could get long at some points. And some of the signage between holes were not all clear and if I was not with a player who played the course, I would have been lost.
Other Thoughts: The Ladies Clinic was awesome, and helped me to learn so much more, and improve what I already know. I wish this course was not 2 1/2 hours away, I would love to play this course more often.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in SE Penna.

7/14/2007   1/29/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As mentioned previously 27 holes with various tee and pin positions. Plays thru the woods then opens up to finish. A must play! Host of the Tyler Jr. Jam which is how I got introduced to it. Caddying for my son just didn't satisfy the urge and ended up staying afterwards and throwing the entire course after walking it thru 18 holes. Well groomed paths between baskets.
Cons: Definitely want to bring the hikers and a little tricky trying to follow the scorecard map.
Other Thoughts: Great work improving the course. Adding the extra 9 holes complements the the already varied course layouts. See ya at the Great Eastern Am championship and the Yetter.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center