Disc Golf Center
Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #27 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #27 Short Tee



Reviews: 107
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Top Course

1    8/12/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: Philly_DG
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing, skill-wrenching course.
Course has a mix of every type of hole, couldn't ask for much more.
Cons: Haven't thought of any yet.
Other Thoughts: Played this course many, many times and it is spectacular. The pins are constantly changed, updates are constantly being made and the course continues evolving into one of the better courses on the east-coast.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wow

2-4    6/21/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Blazemedown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 7 MILE WALK!!!
Great variety of skill and open shots.
Well groomed. Every time Ive played here, pin locations are completely different.
One of the best I've ever played
Cons: Bring ur hiking boots and ur cardio because this course is long; but beautiful
Other Thoughts: Wow!
Top 2 I've ever played

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    6/16/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, no repetition, great signage, lots of elevation and challenges. 27 holes !
Cons: Def had to go disc hunting a couple times in the brush on the narrow areas, as well as the long grass fields.
Other Thoughts: Def worth the stop !

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    5/23/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: *No repetition on any holes
*Balance of A,B, and C pin placements
*Great tee boxes
*Great homemade tee signs
*Well maintained
*Benches on every hole
*Trash cans throughout the course
*A few water fountains on the course
Cons: Some pros could disagree with me, but hole 23 was just way too hard. It was a tight 575 foot par 4 in C position with a downhill dogleg to the left.
Other Thoughts: This course is a legendary course, and I can't wait to come back!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

One of the Greats

5+    5/2/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: World-class course:
-Extremely well-maintained by the park and local volunteers
-Concrete tees
-27 holes with remarkably little repetition
-Wide variety of holes (elevation, wooded, open, water)
-Constantly changing (different pads/tees for each hole)
-Good signage explaining where the pin is located on any given day, clear maps with distances
-Signs pointing to next hole with clear paths in between
-Challenging but fair fairways, always pushing risk vs reward
-In the middle of a beautiful park
Cons: Despite everything above, I'm not sure if the course really offers a signature hole ( maybe hole 9 or 17?).

On busy days there maybe be a decent number of walkers and bikers nearby. Never close enough to interfere with play, and never actually on the course, but something to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun to play. If you're thinking about going, do it.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great visit

1    5/1/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: Jhayesh2o
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Probably not going to say anything new that hasn't been said before in this review but I came from out of town looking to get my disc fix. I posted on the clubs Facebook page asking for someone to play a round with and within a couple of hours got a reply from the club president. While just about every other review is about the course, I think it's a huge pro when a club presents a positive experience for those of us just passing thru.

Of course the game play was great too. Lots of challenging holes that rewards power and accuracy. But at the same time a beginner can still enjoy the mix of basket placements. The course was fun to play and the scenery and elegance in its design is evident.
Cons: None really. My only grip is that the holes presented lots of doorway tees in which you have to bomb it down the fairway while keeping between two trees. In other words, you had to make it past those trees or suffer. This speaks more to my being a beginner and not having the skill to consistently make these technical skills, but the only way to improve these holes would be to offer several different routes to the basket (to the left or right, high or low). Really this is just nitpicking and forces me to work on shots I find difficult, so it's not a true con. It does however require an element of skill that could frustrate new players. That said, the shorter tee positions alleviate this for many holes.
Other Thoughts: Local course is Ryan Ranch, home of 2011 worlds. This course is very different from that course, but no less challenging or beautiful. Nice to see the east coast, where I'm from originally, can match the west coast is courses.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST

5+    12/18/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Couldn't ask for a nicer course. Signs make navigation a breeze. Beautiful park. Open shots, technical shots, elevation changes. This place is awesome!
Cons: If baskets are in C location, it can make for a tough afternoon.
Other Thoughts: You won't find a better course anywhere in the area

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Just amazing.

5+    10/6/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent signage.
Great Variety of holes.
Multiple pin positions make for everything from long/tough holes, to short ace runs.
Always moving the pin positions.
Benches and bag hangs at nearly every hole.
A few water fountains placed throughout the park.
Beautiful scenery.
27 challenging holes.
All concrete tee pads.
Trash cans placed throughout.
Very clean!
And just everything else about the park!
Cons: Mosquitos are just awful in the summer time.
Can be frustrating for beginners, but if you can play here, you can play anywhere.
Gets really busy on weekends, but thats just a testament to how awesome this park is!
Had a little trouble finding #5 #6 #7 and #19 my first time there.
Other Thoughts: Excellent park that is worth a road trip. I'm lucky enough to live 20 minutes from the park, but I'd drive a few hours for it. You absolutely do not want to miss it! Also I heard they got approval for another 9, may just be speculation, but that would be amazing.

DO NOT FORGET YOUR BUGSPRAY IN SUMMER MONTHS!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

My favorite course

5+    9/14/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: boondongle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: * Variety of holes
* Some elevation changes
* Clear signs to the next hole
* Good illustrations of each hole
* Well maintained
Cons: * No good loop for the back 18: the first 18 make one loop, and the back 9 make another separate loop.
Other Thoughts: * Very few real water hazards (could be a pro or con, depending on your preferences)

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!

2-4    8/9/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: EVERYTHING. Great hole locations, great tee pads, clean, signage is excellent. 3 different basket locations with 2 different tee pads.
Cons: make the directions to hole #5 and #6 a little easier to follow or locate
Other Thoughts: Great course get out and play!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.