Disc Golf Center
Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 109
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
 Am I In Heaven?

5+    4/26/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: TheBirdGuy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is astoundingly fun and beautiful. I am fortunate enough to live 20 minutes from the course, so I play here 4-6 times a week. I am a recent die-hard fan of the sport and I have been playing since January 2010.

As many people have already said, this course is beautiful. It has holes packed with trees, uphill/downhill, left and right curve, long and short, a few with water hazards. They have water fountains spread out every 5 holes or so. The course is located in a park so there are trails/roads that people are walking/biking/driving through... you might not like that, but it just makes the atmosphere that much more beautiful for me. It's a place for everyone to go and relax.They switch up the pin location frequently (A, B, and C). They provide scorecards with pencils on the communal bulletin board in the parking lot (you can also print them out here). This place is a blast.

I'd say the reason Tyler State Park is ranked Top 10 in the world for courses is because it's managed by volunteers, which means people are truly dedicated to the sport and to the beauty and architecture of the course. Joe Mela has done an incredible job with the place. The design is incredible. They set up some obstacles with fallen trees, they just built new tee platforms and benches, they have unique and accurately drawn out hole preview boards, they have poles at each hole so you can hang your bag on them. They have it all. It's hard to believe something so awesome could be free and so easily available.

Come to Tyler State Park... it's worth it, it's fun, it's difficult and it will blow your freaking mind.
Cons: What could the cons possibly be... maybe the one thing I would say is that #13 has 3 mandos and that is a little frustrating... it's my least favorite of the holes, but I still love it and can't really be considered a con, which just goes to show how awesome this course really is.
Other Thoughts: It's amazing how well maintained the place is. People are nice and everyone is there for the same reason... they want to have fun and experience the architecture and uniqueness of Tyler State Park. A bonus is that you sometimes run into professional players who have tips for you if you think to ask. Some friends and I ran into Glenn Patterson - who is a friend of Joe Mela's and has played on his team in some tournaments - and he gave us some tips on how to improve our drives without hesitation (he is a monster with his drives). He is a perfect example of the people involved and the people there. Amazing Disc Golf community. By the way, he is there all the time practicing on the 15th hole... you will most likely see him.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful

1    4/19/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: BDorsh99
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Layout is super. A little bit of everything from short, challenging tee shots to long, open tee shots. Very clean course. Trash cans on almost every tee box. Posts made on almost every tee box just for your bag.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Course

5+    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: MagSass
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good variety in length and difficulty per hole. hole layouts change frequently to always offer a new perspective so that it is never a boring course to play. hard workers in the course club always out maintaining the course. some holes are easy to cut out if you have limited time and are only looking to play a few holes. new benches being installed on all holes.
Cons: no cons so far.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tyler State Park

2-4    3/11/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: oceancountydg
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent maintenance. The local club really takes care of the course and shows much love for the course. They were in the parking lot selling gear to raise money to make it even better.
Design was really fun. Some extremly long holes and some very short. 3 pin placements that were different on each hole (some holes used close pin, some used mid pin and some used long) allowed for a good mix of shots and distances. 27 holes and from what they told me they are planning 9 more! awesome, well worth the drive.
Cons: Mandos. some holes had several mandos. Not a terrible thing but for playing the course for the first time it made some holes frustrating. Im sure if I played the course all of the time I would be ok the added difficulty but only playing it twice the course was pretty challenging without the added mandos.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course and the people there. It was packed on a beautiful spring-like Sunday in March but not over crowded. I wish I lived closer.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Manicured

5+    2/25/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 183  Reviewed: 17
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The local club has obviously put a lot of work into this course, and it has paid off. The fairways are clear and well delineated. The signage is excellent - lots of useful "next tee" signs, and charming maps that accurately present the hole and pin position. The tees are large, concrete, and in excellent shape. Every hole has three quite different pin positions, and most holes have both back and front tees. There's also a lot of good disc golf to be had. There's 27 holes and they mix things up well -- uphill, downhill, straight, dogleg, open, wooded, and so forth.
Cons: Tyler is a good course any disc golfer will enjoy. These cons are to explain why I "only" give it a 4, not a 5:
- The A positions: typical pin positions go: B position is a good hole. C position is a longer or trickier good hole. A position is a boring, straight 200 foot hole. Just get rid of the As.
- Over use of OB/mandos: I like man vs. terrain, not man vs. contrived obstacles: don't hit trees or end up off the ravine. Tyler feels too artificial: A lot of random fields are roped OB, and there are a lot of mandos. (One hole has 3!) I don't mind one ocassionally, but it's excessive here.
- Lack of epic holes: Tyler's design feels a little like checking boxes: "Ok, we need to include a wooded dogleg left." Most top courses have a few holes that I just want to sit and savor, I don't feel that at Tyler. The terrain has the potential. For example, there's a big gully between holes 7 and 8. Why not have a drive over that gap, a la Whipping Post #9? The only steep downhills (2 and 21) are both short and straight.
Other Thoughts: A couple reviews complain about the course being too crowded, I don't think it's too bad. Obviously, if you play a course in a populated area on a sunny summer afternoon, you shouldn't expect a wilderness retreat feel.

Driving here also involves a typically suburban Philly problem: there aren't enough highways, and that means other arterial roads are also congested.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  The Enchanted Forest

5+    2/9/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: DarwinsDisc
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging play on every hole. 3 pin location that move at the least every 3 weeks. Open, wooded, uphill, downhill if you can play this course well you can handle ANYTHING any other course throws at you. There are tee signs with pin location and distance on every hole, next tee signs near every basket and someplace to put your bag and your butt at every hole and almost every tee box. Most holes have 2 tee boxes. There is a bathroom every 9 holes or so as well as water fountains. During tournaments they provide coolers on several holes. It's well maintained and by far the best course I've ever played (40+ so far). Any course that tries to equal Tyler has its work cut out for it.
Cons: Can be muddy on some holes though nothing is unplayable. Can be crowded at times though most groups will let you play through. Will spoil you for any other course.
Other Thoughts: A large club loves this course and it is constantly evolving. Every year you find new tees, new pins, and even new holes. The PA Parks Dept has helped allow the BCDGA to have a great course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/5/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: buzyheat50
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: well kept.,constant basket location changes,next tee signs.intermediate pro course thats still fun for beginners.also 27 holes
Cons: trees trees trees.can be frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: best maintained couse ive played

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  First Time In Penn

2-4    1/5/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: zackeriath
Played: 98  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A beautiful Course that offers a variety of different shots for all skill levels. Short and long tee is great for mixing it up with 3 pin placements on each hole. This is by far the best i have ever played. Upkeep around the course was the best i have ever seen, very challenging pins for risk reward putts that can easily take off down a hill.
Cons: very muddy, but that just part of disc golf
Other Thoughts: Will be defiantly making the 15 hour trip to make it to the pro event held there,

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/14/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: eric_dmb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Tyler has everything. With 3 pin locations on every hole and multiple tee locations on many holes with many more planned and coming this year, You are hard pressed to find a 27 hole course than can compare to Tyler State Park. Elevation, open bomber holes, tight tree lined holes, some water, it is the complete course!
Benches on most holes, bag holders, water fountains, bathrooms and not another course within 20 miles that can even come close to touching the amazing variety that Tyler has.
The BCDGA has disc sales in the parking lot on most weekends of the year which is also a bonus.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 perfection keeps getting better

5+    8/6/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.8 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: everything..awesome conc. tee pads..beautiful creative basket locations..nice use of natural land..lots of nice mulch all over..
Cons: 1.5 hours from my house
Other Thoughts: they keep adding stuff and making it better..just goplay you will love it

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.