Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 104
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
 One of the Best

5+    2/8/2009   10/31/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2009
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tyler State Park is one of the best DG courses. It is 27 holes of beautifully manicured, well-kempt, amazing disc golf. Tyler offers almost everything one could want in a disc golf course.
All holes but #4, 5 & 14 have three pin placements: hole 4 has one, but three tee pads and holes 5 & 14 which have 4 pin placements each. All of the teepads are concrete and are in excellent condition. The course has amazing signage on the course. Every hole features a layout of the hole, lengths, par and what placement the pin is in. Although some of the holes are separated by a short walk the paths are clearly marked where to go.
The vast majority of the holes are mildly to heavily wooded, but there are also 5 open holes. Several of the holes require very accurate shots in order to avoid steep slopes into Neshaminy Creek. Hole 9's new C pin placement is on the edge of a sloping drop into the creek, making an overshot very dangerous. Hole 14 in the C2 pin placement is in the Y part of the trunk of a tree, offering one of the most unique pin placements. Tyler also features several elevated basket positions. Elevation is very varied with a good selection of level, uphill and down hill shots. The last 9 (19-27) were recently renovated with several holes being moved and rearranged (Holes 21 and 22 are entirely new). The course is also long, with several of the holes in the C pin position reaching 700+ feet, so be prepared for a strenuous round of DG. The course is very challenging and when all of the holes are in C par is 102 for all 27 holes.
The park has plenty of areas for picnicking and there are restrooms at several points on the course.
Cons: Its hard to find a con with Tyler State Park, but …
The park service gets lax cutting the rough during the summer months and it can get unruly.
Water is lacking, so bring your own, and the restrooms close during the winter.
One thing I have begun to notice as I develop a fuller X-step is that some of the tee-pads are a bit small ... not all, but a few are.
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 in the C position is my personal favorite hole. The approach crosses a small creek to a pin placement behind a low stone wall for a picturesque hole.
If you are looking for a place to eat, Chick-fil-A is right across the street. That's where all the local DGers go after a round.
Bucks County Disc Golf Alliance features several great tournaments, doubles, several leagues and other fun activities for disc golfers of all ages. Tyler is also home to the Eric C. Yetter Cup.
There are always areas of improvement at any course, but Tyler merits a 5 rating. You will not be disapointed if you play this course.
This course is a must play for anyone looking to play a challenging top-notch course.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

2-4    8/12/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: nascent
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well marked course. Every hole has a colored wood engraving showing exactly how that hole is layed out. It is very well maintained and you can see that people take pride in the course. There were many challenging holes and some unique fun holes. Of the 27 holes, I only remember about 5 that play in open areas so be prepared to beat up your discs as you are playing in the woods most of the time.
Cons: Long course; it is 27 holes and it doesn't really play in nine hole increments. So you can't just play 1-9 or 10-18 or 19-27 and end up back where you started. However, every hole is worth playing so just make sure you set aside enough time to play all 27.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while in Newtown on business travel. I am so glad I took the time to play! My first night out I meet up with a couple of the locals. One of them was the Director of Maintenance and he was a blast to play with. He took a lot of pride in the course and it showed. I highly recommend this course, a must play if you are ever in the area!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: fbrookes
Played: 106  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: I agree that this is one of the most well marked courses I have played. It is the best course I have played to this point. the variety of holes is terrific, it is quite challenging and yet no holes (I think) are impossibly long or dense. Elevated chains are fun and frustrating all at once. I recommend taking a break after hole nine and sit on the rock over looking the water. It is a very satisfying round of disc golf.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: It is a pretty long round so come prepared!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Accuracy is key

7/30/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: DiscGolfMonthlyTV
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 27 baskets, Multiple pin and tee placements, restrooms, water fountains, trash cans near many tee pads, concrete tee pads, many par 4 holes as well as a few par 5, baskets placements changed frequently, and not to mention a host club that works hard to make this course the best it can be.
Cons: restrooms near course close in winter months, a few fountains do not work
Other Thoughts: This course is host to the only A tier PDGA event in Eastern Pennsylvania, and also hosts a C tier event in the late spring, the host club also organizes about 5 non-PDGA sanctioned events per year, in addition the club runs two leagues per year.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Grounds Keeper @ Tyler

7/23/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: Hobie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being the Grounds Keeper for this course ...I'm a bit bias. But I am confident that this course will be one of the cleanest DG courses you'll ever play. With high hardwood canopy, this course is for the most part shady and comfortable on hot sunny days. Tee signs on every hole indicate all three pin positions, distance, par to C pin, and direction of next tee. Also, on the tee marker post, a dial indicates what position the pin is in. Next Tee signs positioned on every fairway. Water fountains are between holes 6&7, 15&16, and along fairway of 20. Garbage cans on #5, 12, 14, 19, 20, 22, & 27. Practice basket available at parking lot. Map and tournament info on bulletin board also at parking lot (Website has scorecard and map). Benches at holes #1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, & 21. Multiple pins make this a wonderful course for every type of player. When front 18 are in the C position the Par is 70 (WCP=68). One of the best courses I've ever played. Outstanding local club works hard at maintaining the course and has excellent relationship with wonderful park staff and personnel.
Cons: Mostly wooded course makes for a lot of clean up after a windy storm. Course could use more water fountains...so bring a water bottle on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: Designed by Joe "The Technician" Mela. I recommend that you stay in the fairway. Winter and Summer leagues with flexible start times. Lots of women players. Great Grounds Keeper that goes by "Willie"...don't let him catch you littering...(including cig butts) its a $300 fine. This club takes "keeping the course clean" very seriously!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Sweltering Woods

6/7/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.2 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course plays through the woods, with lots of elevation changes. The interesting thing with this course is the use of multiple Tee pads and pin locations. Each hole was set to one of these 3 locations (A,B,C). It seemed to vary per hole, and I assumed the difficult for the hole increased depending on that setting. All the holes were marked with signs, however the signs weren't very accurate. Large, level concrete pads were set with plenty of running room for strong drives. The majority of the holes were long, with only a few short finesse holes sprinkled in. This course will push your skills, but more it'll push your stamina for long drives over and over again. There were lots of elevation changes on this course as well. Some of the pins were also elevated on man-made bunker boxes.
Cons: Get ready to hike. This course is spread out. Several holes end with lots of hiking to the next tee. There were a few times we got lost trying to find the next hole (especially after hole 13, the trench hole?!) Bring water, we didn't see any water fountains while playing, and this is a demanding course.
Other Thoughts: We played on one of the hottest, most humid days of this year. 90+ with a real feel of 104. It was intense, but we were glad the majority of the holes played through the woods. Once we got to 17 and 18, sweat was just pouring off of us.

I liked this course, it was really challenging. If you're looking for something that's going to test you drive accuracy and distance, this is the course for you.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Cleanest Course Ever

5/25/2008   6/25/2008
Review By: Qwikstreet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Great 27 hole course and surprisingly clean. I love the elevated baskets and the tree walls.
Cons: Hole 27!!!
Challenging island hole.

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/28/2009   5/18/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2013
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Huge course with a beautiful challenging layout. Most holes are wooded with five open holes that make good use of OB to keep you accurate. Makes you use a variety of drives from the tee. 3 pin placements per hole (sometimes more) and positions are changed regularly giving the course a different layout most times you come out. Also some of the positions (14C2, 13B, 9C, 3C, 6C) are the best I've ever seen. On occasion the course will have all baskets in C position for tournament play and will provide you with one of the most unique, challenging and fun days of golf you'll have. Lots of Elevation change and a number of elevated pins. trash cans at many holes is also a plus, as park is very clean. Tyler is also host several tournaments a year, a number of them PDGA. Great Course. Great challenge. Best I've ever played.
Cons: Needs Permanent C Pins on holes 3, 8, 12, 15, 18, 23, 24, 27. (For starers)
Other Thoughts: Love it.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2/19/2008   2/19/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: When the course is in the C position…Watch out because it will be a tough round. (but fun)! Course is mostly in woods and when in C position is a great challenge. Great use of land and although some holes looked alike, they each had there own challenge. 5-6 of the holes in the c-position have raised baskets, and almost every pin location has its own challenge to get to. I was really surprised how much I enjoyed the course. The course can teach you to become a great golfer as accuracy, and distance is essential and there is enough elevation change to keep it interesting

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in SE Penna.

7/14/2007   1/29/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As mentioned previously 27 holes with various tee and pin positions. Plays thru the woods then opens up to finish. A must play! Host of the Tyler Jr. Jam which is how I got introduced to it. Caddying for my son just didn't satisfy the urge and ended up staying afterwards and throwing the entire course after walking it thru 18 holes. Well groomed paths between baskets.
Cons: Definitely want to bring the hikers and a little tricky trying to follow the scorecard map.
Other Thoughts: Great work improving the course. Adding the extra 9 holes complements the the already varied course layouts. See ya at the Great Eastern Am championship and the Yetter.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.