Disc Golf Store
Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 158ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee



Reviews: 109
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
One of the Greats

5+    5/2/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: World-class course:
-Extremely well-maintained by the park and local volunteers
-Concrete tees
-27 holes with remarkably little repetition
-Wide variety of holes (elevation, wooded, open, water)
-Constantly changing (different pads/tees for each hole)
-Good signage explaining where the pin is located on any given day, clear maps with distances
-Signs pointing to next hole with clear paths in between
-Challenging but fair fairways, always pushing risk vs reward
-In the middle of a beautiful park
Cons: Despite everything above, I'm not sure if the course really offers a signature hole ( maybe hole 9 or 17?).

On busy days there maybe be a decent number of walkers and bikers nearby. Never close enough to interfere with play, and never actually on the course, but something to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun to play. If you're thinking about going, do it.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but not elite

1    5/11/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.6 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tyler State Park offers everything you would expect from an upper level course. It is well maintained, with concrete tees and nice signage displaying all of the pertinant information for each hole. The fairways are kept very clean, and nicely built walkways help move players through the course without causing unnecessary wear on the landscape. The layout plays primarily through the woods with a few open field holes that help mix it up a little. The fairways are fair and the rough is not overly punishing.
Cons: While the course does everything right to fit the mold of a nice course, it does nothing to really set itself apart. There are no real signature elements and no "wow" moments. It's fun to play, but not overly memorable.

Each hole features three unique pin placements, but only one basket rotating among them. This normally doesn't bother me much. But at Tyler, each pin location represents a very different challenge. The A pins play nicely for beginners, the C pins are tough championship level challenges, and the Bs fit nicely in between the two. But with just one basket, players do not have the option to choose the best layout for them. When I played, the pins were fairly evenly mixed between all three layouts. This gave me a nice sampling of each, but left me feeling like I was missing out on a lot of what Tyler has to offer. And for stat junkies, it makes comparing scores very difficult. The layout I played was just 1 of 19,683 possible configurations (some of which are better than others).

The course shares space with a few high volume walking trails. The trails don't directly interfere with the course, but I did encounter a number of pedestrians that chose to go off the paved trails. Be prepared to exercise a bit of patience, especially on a busy day.
Other Thoughts:
This is a fun place to play, regardless of what layout you find it in. Although, I was a bit surprised by how highly it is rated. At no point in my round did I feel like I was on a truely elite disc golf course. It certainly ranks among the better courses I've played, but it is not at the top of that list.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great visit

1    5/1/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: Jhayesh2o
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Probably not going to say anything new that hasn't been said before in this review but I came from out of town looking to get my disc fix. I posted on the clubs Facebook page asking for someone to play a round with and within a couple of hours got a reply from the club president. While just about every other review is about the course, I think it's a huge pro when a club presents a positive experience for those of us just passing thru.

Of course the game play was great too. Lots of challenging holes that rewards power and accuracy. But at the same time a beginner can still enjoy the mix of basket placements. The course was fun to play and the scenery and elegance in its design is evident.
Cons: None really. My only grip is that the holes presented lots of doorway tees in which you have to bomb it down the fairway while keeping between two trees. In other words, you had to make it past those trees or suffer. This speaks more to my being a beginner and not having the skill to consistently make these technical skills, but the only way to improve these holes would be to offer several different routes to the basket (to the left or right, high or low). Really this is just nitpicking and forces me to work on shots I find difficult, so it's not a true con. It does however require an element of skill that could frustrate new players. That said, the shorter tee positions alleviate this for many holes.
Other Thoughts: Local course is Ryan Ranch, home of 2011 worlds. This course is very different from that course, but no less challenging or beautiful. Nice to see the east coast, where I'm from originally, can match the west coast is courses.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST

5+    12/18/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Couldn't ask for a nicer course. Signs make navigation a breeze. Beautiful park. Open shots, technical shots, elevation changes. This place is awesome!
Cons: If baskets are in C location, it can make for a tough afternoon.
Other Thoughts: You won't find a better course anywhere in the area

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Is that deer following me?

1    10/10/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signage. I love the spinning piece on the post to show which pin the basket is on. Benches and bag posts all over, Very well maintained park in general. The course had a great variety with some nice challenging woods shots. I was playing in the fall and my driver was yellow... bad call on my part. It was fun to rip shots around wooded fairways... not so fun searching for my yellow disc in yellow leaves.
Lots of signs pointing to next tees.
This course also has a few "pedistal" baskets... mounted up on these really cool landscaped structures. Very cool to look at and make for some persicion approach shots.
Cons: Be sure you pay attention to the next tee signs as you walk down the fairways... if the basket is in the farthest pin, you may have past the sign for next tee and need to go back to look... a few holes didn't have these signs down near the "c" pin position.
This is less of a con and more of a question or something to think about if you don't play this course regularly.... Par for some of the holes was 4 or 5 and I can completely agree when the basket is in the "c" position but if it is in "a"... that would be way high so I assume you adjust par based on pin position but didn't see that on the signage... maybe it is written somewhere else but I know at least one hole was par 5 but the basket was like 300' straight away down a wooded cooridor. C pin was Way back tucked off to the right which clearly warranted the par 5.
Other Thoughts: I got to travel all across PA this week and see a variety of top rated courses in PA... I did like this one the best. Clearly well established and loved. The Park offers great amenities, bathrooms... pavilions. There are even water fountains out on the course though I think it was disconnected for the season. Absolutely worth a drive and trip to go play this course. Lots of variety and 27 holes with 2 tee pads per... so you could play all day and get a new look all day. I play a lot of wooded courses up in New England and this is what I hope our courses look like in 20 years.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Just amazing.

5+    10/6/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent signage.
Great Variety of holes.
Multiple pin positions make for everything from long/tough holes, to short ace runs.
Always moving the pin positions.
Benches and bag hangs at nearly every hole.
A few water fountains placed throughout the park.
Beautiful scenery.
27 challenging holes.
All concrete tee pads.
Trash cans placed throughout.
Very clean!
And just everything else about the park!
Cons: Mosquitos are just awful in the summer time.
Can be frustrating for beginners, but if you can play here, you can play anywhere.
Gets really busy on weekends, but thats just a testament to how awesome this park is!
Had a little trouble finding #5 #6 #7 and #19 my first time there.
Other Thoughts: Excellent park that is worth a road trip. I'm lucky enough to live 20 minutes from the park, but I'd drive a few hours for it. You absolutely do not want to miss it! Also I heard they got approval for another 9, may just be speculation, but that would be amazing.

DO NOT FORGET YOUR BUGSPRAY IN SUMMER MONTHS!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

My favorite course

5+    9/14/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: boondongle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: * Variety of holes
* Some elevation changes
* Clear signs to the next hole
* Good illustrations of each hole
* Well maintained
Cons: * No good loop for the back 18: the first 18 make one loop, and the back 9 make another separate loop.
Other Thoughts: * Very few real water hazards (could be a pro or con, depending on your preferences)

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Tyler...Home Sweet Home

5+    9/3/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Been playing Tyler for 10 years...it keeps getting better. No doubt to the BCDGA crew! I like the flow and mix of terrain, layout is always challenging, especially when in the "C" pin placement. I actually prefer playing in the "C". Makes for an exceptionally challenging 27 holes of disc golf. It's also nice to see all the hard work that has gone into this course over the years, making it one of the best DGC in PA. Signage is good (a better sign/s directing new to the course golfers from hole 18 to hole 19 would be nice, heard some complaints), log lined walkways, wood chips, log barriers, anti-erosion work with improved steps/paths have all been nicely done. Well done BCDGA!
Cons: This is not a big deal, but I've seen a trend at some courses to have rakes or brooms to clean off the tee pads..would be nice. Rubber tee pads would be an awesome upgrade to the course.
Other Thoughts: I consider Tyler as my home course and it never gets boring, no matter how many times I play it, fun way to challenge yourself for an afternoon.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!

2-4    8/9/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: EVERYTHING. Great hole locations, great tee pads, clean, signage is excellent. 3 different basket locations with 2 different tee pads.
Cons: make the directions to hole #5 and #6 a little easier to follow or locate
Other Thoughts: Great course get out and play!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Enchanted Forest

5+    7/27/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: Wook1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 challenging holes that snake through a beautiful old wood forest(some trees 10+ft around) In a full 27 you will see glory and defeat, risk and reward, and will need every shot in your arsenal to be on point. 3 pin/2 tee positions for each hole makes playing Tyler an ever changing beast, you never really know what to expect. Sometimes the layout can change 1 or 2 times in a week. New even longer (if you can believe that!) tee pads went in on a few holes this past year holes 6,8,10,15,25 and the new score card with exact distances/pars for short and long in A. B, & C are great. Multiple full bathrooms & water fountains through out the 27 are an added bonus you dont get at many courses. When I first played Tyler I couldn't really think of needed improvements, yet in that 4+ year span each year this course seems to grow and add new and unique touches to make the rounds different. For example an amazing new pin position on 9 has been added, using the logs removed from the parking area, currently there is a PVC pin in similar to the yetter pins.

Need to mention how great the BCDGA is. THANK YOU! From constantly improving the course and relentlessly changing the pin positions to selling custom Tyler state park disc which a % goes back into the park getting lost plastic back to their owners and all the great Charity events/ benefit events/ pro-level events you guys roc.
Cons: Hard to think of something worthwhile for this section, the first thing that comes to mind is, if your off your game, Tyler can be rough day in the woods. Especially in a competitive round, this course is not very forgiving... Dont give up! Second thing that comes to mind is car and walking paths sometimes come into play on bad shots or ricochet off trees, also sometimes the fairways get confused by park non-DGers as hiking trails, give them a polite heads up and they are typically happy to obligee.
Other Thoughts: Tyler was the course that i was introduced to the sport, lets just say those first few rounds were frustrating at times. But looking back it was this course that forced me to get my game up to level it is at currently.

Hiking Boots/shoes recommended

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.