Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #26 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Approach ('A' Position)



Reviews: 108
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
 Tyler State Park (DG Galore!)

2-4    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hands Down the most Amazing course I have ever played! This course uses EVERYTHING to its advantage! Course will require one to use every type of throw possible and choose your disc wisely. Plays through an amazing wooded area that has very distinct flight paths and is extremely well maintained. Tons of OB to add to the challenge. Has a few wide open tee offs so one could literally grip it and rip it. A few holes are short distance but are really technical. The tee pads and signs are in great shape and the overall flow of the course is great! This is a 27 hole course that hosts a large pro tourney once a year with a huge payout! Everything about this course is exactly what a disc golf course should look like! Course also has 3 pin positions for each hole which are moved regularly to change your game up. This is a MUST PLAY course for any disc golfer period!
Cons: The ONLY con i can think of is the pedestrian traffic along paths. You have walkers, joggers, and bikers. Overall they are not a problem at all though.
Other Thoughts: I drove about an hour and a half to play the course and i am extremely jealous that you Bucks County guys get to play it on a regular basis! lol I love the course and will recommend it to any disc golfer i see playing!! If this isn't a 5 of 5 course, then please tell me what is?! I'm giving it a 5 of 5 because these Bucks County guys have the crowned jewel of all disc golf courses hands down! Shout out to the Bucks guys for keeping your course pristine and amazing! Also shout out to Joe Mela on designing that BEAST!!! I will be back for more action!! Play on fellow golfers!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The course I play the most

5+    6/19/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rickerbocker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of varied terrain from tight fairways to open fields to let you really drive the disc. Some holes have a great mix of elevation. The course is well maintained.
Cons: I've played the course several times, and have gotten used to the layout, but for first time players of the course the layout can be a bit difficult to follow. Sometimes the marker that indicates what spot (A, B, or C) the tee is in will point to the wrong letter.
Other Thoughts: I play this course mainly because it it the clsoest course to where I live, but it is still one of the best courses int eh Philadelphia area. It is a solid 27 hole course and as I previously said provides a variety of holes that lets you use every part of your game.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tyler State Park

5+    5/7/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful 27 hole course that is a pleasure to play. It is extremely well maintained and a great place to be out in nature. As far as disc golf goes it has almost everything you can ask for. Great variety (hyzer, anhyzer, uphill/downhill elevation changes, some open holes to air out the driver and tight wooded fairways to test the technical game).
Hand painted, accurate signs are at every tee-box. Baskets/tee pads are in great condition; its clear that a lot of work goes into maintaining this course.
Multiple basket locations at every hole that are rotated regularly make the course a little different every time you play it.
Also the fact that it has 27 holes is a major pro..more DG is always a good thing.
Cons: Its tough to think of any real cons but there are a few minor ones..
There is usually a good deal of non-disc golf traffic especially on a nice day. There is a running/biking path that runs though part of the course so obviously it is important to be aware of you surroundings before you throw.
There have been some recent changes to the layout of the course that are a little confusing but that is being ironed out.
Other Thoughts: I am extremely impressed but how the designers were able to come up with so much variety...all 27 holes have their own unique feel and challenges. One of my favorite courses to play and its definitely worth a long drive for if you aren't lucky enough to live in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in a Nice Park

1    5/8/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: DarkNemesis618
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Challenging Course through the woods
Multiple pins to mix things up
Good mix of long and short holes
Great signage directing you to the next hole as well as the layout of the hole
Cons: All but a few holes are in the woods which for some might get a bit old
Other Thoughts: This park has quickly become my favorite course. The signs at each hole were great to allow you to know where the pin was and where you needed to go.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The Traveler

1    9/24/2009   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: All the hand painted signs were great. Each fairway was lined out with trees. The baskets can be seen from the tees. Nice, not to tight thought the woods. This course was line out great. On one of the hole I could hear a waterfall, even could look out over the lake. I had some deer come up to me on one of the back holes. This course is in my top five of courses I have ever been too.
Cons: None

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: *Good use of the land, up until you get to the last 9
*3 diff pin placements for each basket
*Good variety of shots and discs needed
Cons: *Randomly scattered easy staright aways that only ask you to throw your driver as far as you can tiwce to get across a boring field
*Many holes run back and forth over a paved walking/running trail
*alcohol prohibbited in the park, pfff! haha
*Not very unique
Other Thoughts: It seems as if someone designed a really good course and the just decided to add another 9 that was sub-par at best. It weaves in and out and back on and off trails, a lil confusing, but mostly just annoying. Not a very secluded enjoyable disc golf enviroment like its rival course Sedgley. I guess i would play it if in the area again, but its deff not on my To Do list. I'd rather be playing Campgaw/Mighty Gaw

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Tyler is sweet!

5+    2/26/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Emac24
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I've only played at Tyler, but what a great course to learn the game and grow on! It has a majority of holes tree covered and in the woods. During the summer months the greenery is thick but I have yet to lose a disc! Many different varieties of holes, dog legs left and right, up hill, down hill, obstacles, as well as 3 diff basket positions, there is something different each hole. And then a few holes that are wide open fields to let one fly! I enjoy every time I get to go out and can't wait till the next! Also extremely well maintained by the BCDGA awesome job!!
Cons: Par for the day sign? I know the baskets change at least once a month but I'm always confused if the par for the course changed? any clarification on this?
Other Thoughts: Wish there was a permanent 9 more holes! hoping one day to have 36 to run through. not that 27 isnt great, but who wouldnt want more.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    11/1/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A fair wooded course with well defined fairways that reward well thrown shots with very few trees in the middle of the line. Several well thought out holes with some good variety as well requiring a variety of shots.
Cons: Layout is kind of strange and can be hard to follow. Apparently some changes have been made recently so this will probably get better soon. Almost every hole was set up short. I don't know if this is just for the casual play or if the baskets are moved reguarly. It would have been nice to see a mixture.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course and I can see that a better player like Joe Mela has influenced it. It overall was fair with some memorable shots. Playing this course was fun and it certainly will make you a better player. I wish I would have had time for another round or two.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love this Course

5+    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Dino
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easy to follow, Holes were relocated, changes are marked. Alot of fun, Nice cement Tees,Other players nice,friendly. Great scenic area, Well laid out.
Cons: Very Crowded on the weekends and holidays. Watch out for the Poison Ivy.
Bring water
Other Thoughts: Just started playing and I can't get enough of this course.Great way to spend an afternoon

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in Eastern PA

5+    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: pattkd85
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is VERY well maintained. Pins are changed about once a month providing a different challenge each visit. I have played every hole on almost every pin position and, regardless of A, B, or C pin placement, this course provides some unique challenges. There is a good balance of Dog legs left and right, wide and narrow fairways as well as raised pins. There is MAJOR elevation changes on some holes which provides the necessity for some non-conventional throws. For those who enjoy more finesse rather than pure power, this course in mostly wood (save 15 (Old 17), 16 (Old 18), 25-27). The course was just re-worked for the ECY Tournament next weekend (hence the reference to OLD hole locations. Signage from pin to pin is the best i've seen. Each hole has a well detailed map of the hole with suggested paths drawn. With the re-worked layout, you can now play 18 holes and end at the top of the hill where you parked.
Cons: This course can get crowded on weekends and holidays. Suggestion is to go early in the day, or during the week when foot traffic is at a minimum. Since this is a public park, many times stray hikers will cut across the course. Be sure to call "Fore" or check the path to make sure you won't hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: As the title says, this is the Best Course that Eastern PA has to offer. Be sure to bring your Hiking Boots or comfortable hiking shoes. Also, bring some bug spray during the summer months to keep pesky bugs away. All in all, this is my home course and I couldn't be happier to play this course on a weekly basis.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.