Disc Golf Store
Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket ('C' Position)



Reviews: 108
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
 A must play

2-4    4/22/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: jparent
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with 27 holes and 3 pin placements that are alternated regularly. There are hand painted signs on every hole and a pin indicator to let you know what position the pin is in. The course offers holes with various difficulty, every hole has it's own challenge. There are public bathrooms, water fountains, and clearly labeled paths to the next holes. Every time I was there there were players that would let me in their group since I was solo.
Cons: Someone at the course for the first time might get a little lost at hole 7 or 8, I forget which one, if not both. Just ask someone will help you.
I always seem to get wood chips in my socks.
Other Thoughts: I'm a newer player and have only played at a few courses so take my review with a grain of salt. There is a place to fish near hole 9. It is pretty busy on the weekends, I would go before 1pm or maybe even earlier. There are always joggers and bikers on a paved path that weaves though the course, which may provide entertainment for family members if need be.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/8/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: flyfarmblues
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 27 Holes. There are no "junk" holes. Pars are accurate to the course. GREAT Maps at each hole, showing pin locations, and their distances. Heavily wooded course, so you will have shade for a majority of it.
Well maintained course. Nice hike. Concrete tees. What more to say...this course would be worth driving to from pretty far away.
Cons: It would be nice to have some more open field holes. The trees can give you fits if you don't place your throw well...Don't bring your Camo discs here!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Disc Golf

5+    12/20/2009   1/8/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: To name just a few:
beautiful, often elevated, concrete tee pads
multiple tees on several holes
A B and C basket locations which get rotated regularly
Wooden posts with bag holders on every hole
Many benches
Restroom facilities/water fountains
27 different challenging holes
Cons: A couple holes are blind, where you should walk down the fairway prior to throwing (I find it easier to look than trust the signs, although the signage is great)

It can get crowded at times

There can be non-DGers there sometimes, such as a high cool Xcountry race through the course
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely a must play course (great DG trip to include with nearby Tinicum, Jordan Creek, Knockamixon and Little Lehigh parkway)

This is a beautiful challenging course set mainly in the woods. There are a few open holes, but even than you'll be challenged by OB. While it is primarily wooded, all of the holes are fair. Good shots are rewarded, while errant shots do get punished. There are many different excellent basket placements. Elevated, placed on the side of a hill, protective wood log walls, next to a steep drop-off. This course has many par 4's that you will need to plan out your shots. I love courses that make me think and this course does that. The hand-painted signs add a great touch and are very accurate. There are rotating dials on each hole to indicate the current basket location. There are plans to eventually have all the C (long) baskets put in permanently while rotating the others between A and B. That would allow players to always play long if they desired. I enjoy the course with rotating holes as it gives some birdie chances and than many tough longer holes. There is a good amount of walking, so be prepared with proper shoes and food/drink as this course will physically and mentally drain you. The course is fairly easy to navigate with arrows and signs pointing you to the next holes. There are several spots where you can just take a break and enjoy the beautiful park, which is nice to be able to sit, listen to some nature and enjoy a beautiful view (while hopefully hearing some chains banging in the background). This course is top notch and you should make every effort to play it and test your game. Regardless of my score here (which can vary greatly) I always enjoy this excellent course, and feel lucky that I live fairly (45minutes) close to it.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 The Epitome of a Wooded Challenge

1    11/17/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
20 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With 27 well-designed holes, Tyler has a lot to offer. As the most technically challenging course I've ever seen, forget who you're playing with...this course pits you against yourself.

Despite having a few holes where you can bomb a disc, this course is almost entirely wooded. Despite this fact, there is still a wide variety of holes that test all of your skills.

Multiple concrete tees and pin positions (constituting a wide variance in distances) essentially changes the entire character of the course whenever the baskets are moved.

Handcrafted signs do a decent job getting you around the course without too much wandering or confusion. The baskets at the course are in great shape. Benches are a great touch for the weary discer, as are the bag hangers at each tee.
Cons: For the most part, the cons of this course are also the pros.

While fun, the technically challenging woods is draining and can be soul-crushing, given enough bad kicks. Being able to launch a disc now and then would be helpful for shaking things up, as opposed to the constant wooded tunnels.
Other Thoughts: I look at Tyler State Park the same way that I look at beer: When you're new to it and inexperienced, you take whatever is easy and may not be able to appreciate its true character. As you get more accustomed to it, you start to dabble with some more intricate options and begin to comprehend the different nuances more. Once you've been at it for a while, you can truly appreciate the amazing attributes and complexities. It's going to be a nightmare for noobs (like it was for me the first time I played), a good course to test your chops on when you get some experience, and a really fun course to weave through when you've got a good grip on your technique.

Play this course if you get the opportunity and you'll have played one of the top courses in the world.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding Course

5+    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Primarily wooded course that is very impressive in every way, from the well marked signs, to the neatly groomed playing area to the multiple basket placements at each hole. Some pin positions find the baskets placed precariously on the edge of slopes where mistakes can be costly. Benches/logs to rest and poles to hang your bag at each hole. Dials at the base of each tee sign telling you which pin placement is being used is a great touch. Great use of natural barriers, railroad ties, elevated pins and good variety over 27 holes make this a challenging and unique course. Clear pathways and a wooden bridge over the water between holes 9 & 10 make the walk enjoyable. A few open holes mixed in for variety. Navigation easy, good cement tee pads and well-designed with challenges for every level.
Cons: Tough on the the beginner. Baskets at some holes difficult to see from the tee pad. Not much bad to say- can't imagine people being unhappy with this course. First rate in every way. Pedestrians, cyclists, dog walkers and others can periodically disrupt play.
Other Thoughts: Introduced to the course by BCDGA President Big Dog Sweeton and Sunday League coordinator Rex Hay- both great guys who were helpful in acclimating me to the holes and disc golf in general. Both have taken a lot of pride in making Tyler a top notch attraction. Wonderful local club here who are always looking to make improvements and work tirelessly to maintain the course. On par with the best courses on the upper east coast. If you can stand your ego being bruised, Tyler will help your game in the long run. If you can play well here you can play well most anywhere.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Like a Box of Chocolates

5+    7/2/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like Forrest Gump saying - "you never know what you'll get" when you come here. Pins rotate in three different positions. This is the spice of life here. In the A, you will be looking at birdie hopes. In the C, you will be challenged to get par.

One of the most beautiful parks, mostly wooded and technical, with only 5 of the 27 going through open fields. You will need a variety of shots and discs to play this well, as you will play short, long, up and down. You will have to play smart fairway placement on many of the long (C) holes, instead of relying on power. Hole #5 (C) is my personal favorite - a LOOONG, very narrow dogleg horseshoe that absolutely demands good shot placement along its entire length.

The tee pads, signs and baskets are all fantastic. Even better, there is a rotating dial on the signs indicating which pin position is being used. This prevents you from having to walk down the fairway and waste precious time looking. This should be standard at ANY course that has rotating pin placements.
Cons: I used to think of rotating pins as being a sort of "con" as you would never have a distinct layout to determine your personal best score for the course. Ideally, multiple pins at some point would allow the player to pick their poison or even draw cards to decide which basket they will be driving to at each hole!
Other Thoughts: This is an absolute must play if your'e in the area. The designers and local club members of the BCDGA are really dedicated to the course and are improving it all the time.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 best course i ever played

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: tony14k
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: the course is well-maintained with little underbrush; the shots are exciting and challenging, with many extra obstacles (such as raised pins, gate keepers, and walls); the landscape is beautiful; the holes are well-marked and easy to navigate. each hole has and A,B, and C location, and the sign at each tee will indicate which location it's currently at. kudos to the Buck County Disc Golf Assoc.
Cons: are there any?
Other Thoughts: if it weren't an hour away, I'd go every day.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Who the hell is Tyler???

1    9/2/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 269  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
5 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The course is an overall blast to play. Its got TONS of variety in shot requirements. Also a LOT of risk and reward shots where power and finesse have to combine to make for the "great" shots. Playing this course on a normal basis will definitely turn you into a skilled player. The Natural Beauty out here is top notch. Excellent use of the land. Very beautiful place for DG..
Cons: The only thing I can honestly say is some of the teepads were a bit small but that doesn't affect my rating at all. Aleast there's something!!
Other Thoughts: So I've been meaning to update this review for a while. After reading it I must have been drinking. Whoops! Anyways, This course I've now played a few times. This course is a MUST play everytime I'm in the area. I love this course. And it's also a very wooded course overall, and I love wooded courses. It gives you that "out there" feeling. Awesome job to the course maintainers!!!

5 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mature Course

1    8/27/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have been looking forward to playing this course all summer and was not disappointed. This course has some of the best "fixtures" of any course I have played. The tees are all concrete, many are elevated and there are multiple tees on many of the holes (some are a little smaller but serviceable). The painted tee signs are great and the little dials below the signs indicating the basket position are awesome. This is really important because many of the baskets are not visible from the tee. Many of the basket placements are also unique. There are a lot of raised baskets, protected baskets and even one I saw that was raised and between the roots of two trees.
The holes have a good mix of right and left dog legs. I have read a lot of comments about the length of the "short" basket placements in earlier reviews. I must have gotten lucky because most of the holes were in the "C" or long configuration when I played. Plus this course boasts 27 solid holes any of which can be challenging. The challenge comes from its heavily wooded nature (most of the holes), the sharp turns of the dog legs, the length in some cases (if the basket is in the C position), the background of shots and some great risk v. reward shots. I would like to mention hole 9 in particular. my second shot landed about fifteen feet from the basket which is usually a low risk shot. However, this basket ("C" position) is right in front of a sharp drop off. If you don't sink the putt or at least get it to land flat your disc could easily roll right off the hill. Fortunately I did make this one.
This is a very well kept course and while it is predominantly wooded (17 and 18 are like a breath of fresh air) I really never had any difficulty locating my disc because of the lack of underbrush. There are also some interesting barriers that have been set up throughout the course to keep players honest (as if there needed to be more barriers) such as stacks of logs, zig-zaged log fences to discourage rollers I guess (hole 19) and embankments to require straight shots. The fairways on many of the holes are tight but they are not unfair. I could see Iron Hill, DE being a lot like this course in ten years or so (except Iron Hill being a bit longer).
Cons: There are only a couple of minor issues that I noticed with this course.
1) This is a busy multi-use park and there were even a good number of runners/bikers/walkers when I was playing on a Thursday afternoon.
2) Since there are so many holes in a relatively small space some of them can encroach on each other (5 and 19 for example).
3) The last issue that was a non issue for me (because most of the holes were in the C position) is having more than one permanent basket on each hole. I know this is a big expense but this is really the only thing that could be done to improve this course. I don't have a big arm but I noticed that many of my drives were going past the "A" placement with regularity. I can see how it would be frustrating for a pro level player who went out of his way to visit this course if all the pins were in the A or B configuration.

However, these minor issues only would compel me to rate this course as low as a 4.75 and because that is not possible I am rounding up to 5.0.
Other Thoughts: As a new visitor the directions on the Course Info page are very important to me. They are good except that once on Rte. 413 you come to a stoplight at Swamp Rd.. If you follow signs for Rte. 413 you have to turn right. The park entrance is actually the left turn at this stop light. I was busy following Rte. 413 looking for an entrance off that road and blew right by the park. You actually travel a very short distance on Rte. 413 so slow down and watch for the Swamp Rd. intersection.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Sick

1    7/19/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: GrOoViN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: 27 holes of great times. Easily able to cut course down to 18 to your own desire as many people I came across there opted to do, however fully worth playing all 27. Course is never the same as 1 of the guys I played with called me today to tell baskets were diff. from when we went on Sunday.
Cons: People are dicks and cut in and dick around. People are dicks everywhere and they should all walk off their respective cliffs.
Other Thoughts: Great time, don't let the people ruin it for you just like any other course.

0 of 23 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.