Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 107
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
  Amazing Course

5+    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: MagSass
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good variety in length and difficulty per hole. hole layouts change frequently to always offer a new perspective so that it is never a boring course to play. hard workers in the course club always out maintaining the course. some holes are easy to cut out if you have limited time and are only looking to play a few holes. new benches being installed on all holes.
Cons: no cons so far.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tyler State Park

2-4    3/11/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: oceancountydg
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent maintenance. The local club really takes care of the course and shows much love for the course. They were in the parking lot selling gear to raise money to make it even better.
Design was really fun. Some extremly long holes and some very short. 3 pin placements that were different on each hole (some holes used close pin, some used mid pin and some used long) allowed for a good mix of shots and distances. 27 holes and from what they told me they are planning 9 more! awesome, well worth the drive.
Cons: Mandos. some holes had several mandos. Not a terrible thing but for playing the course for the first time it made some holes frustrating. Im sure if I played the course all of the time I would be ok the added difficulty but only playing it twice the course was pretty challenging without the added mandos.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course and the people there. It was packed on a beautiful spring-like Sunday in March but not over crowded. I wish I lived closer.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Manicured

5+    2/25/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 177  Reviewed: 17
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The local club has obviously put a lot of work into this course, and it has paid off. The fairways are clear and well delineated. The signage is excellent - lots of useful "next tee" signs, and charming maps that accurately present the hole and pin position. The tees are large, concrete, and in excellent shape. Every hole has three quite different pin positions, and most holes have both back and front tees. There's also a lot of good disc golf to be had. There's 27 holes and they mix things up well -- uphill, downhill, straight, dogleg, open, wooded, and so forth.
Cons: Tyler is a good course any disc golfer will enjoy. These cons are to explain why I "only" give it a 4, not a 5:
- The A positions: typical pin positions go: B position is a good hole. C position is a longer or trickier good hole. A position is a boring, straight 200 foot hole. Just get rid of the As.
- Over use of OB/mandos: I like man vs. terrain, not man vs. contrived obstacles: don't hit trees or end up off the ravine. Tyler feels too artificial: A lot of random fields are roped OB, and there are a lot of mandos. (One hole has 3!) I don't mind one ocassionally, but it's excessive here.
- Lack of epic holes: Tyler's design feels a little like checking boxes: "Ok, we need to include a wooded dogleg left." Most top courses have a few holes that I just want to sit and savor, I don't feel that at Tyler. The terrain has the potential. For example, there's a big gully between holes 7 and 8. Why not have a drive over that gap, a la Whipping Post #9? The only steep downhills (2 and 21) are both short and straight.
Other Thoughts: A couple reviews complain about the course being too crowded, I don't think it's too bad. Obviously, if you play a course in a populated area on a sunny summer afternoon, you shouldn't expect a wilderness retreat feel.

Driving here also involves a typically suburban Philly problem: there aren't enough highways, and that means other arterial roads are also congested.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  The Enchanted Forest

5+    2/9/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: DarwinsDisc
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging play on every hole. 3 pin location that move at the least every 3 weeks. Open, wooded, uphill, downhill if you can play this course well you can handle ANYTHING any other course throws at you. There are tee signs with pin location and distance on every hole, next tee signs near every basket and someplace to put your bag and your butt at every hole and almost every tee box. Most holes have 2 tee boxes. There is a bathroom every 9 holes or so as well as water fountains. During tournaments they provide coolers on several holes. It's well maintained and by far the best course I've ever played (40+ so far). Any course that tries to equal Tyler has its work cut out for it.
Cons: Can be muddy on some holes though nothing is unplayable. Can be crowded at times though most groups will let you play through. Will spoil you for any other course.
Other Thoughts: A large club loves this course and it is constantly evolving. Every year you find new tees, new pins, and even new holes. The PA Parks Dept has helped allow the BCDGA to have a great course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/5/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: buzyheat50
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: well kept.,constant basket location changes,next tee signs.intermediate pro course thats still fun for beginners.also 27 holes
Cons: trees trees trees.can be frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: best maintained couse ive played

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  First Time In Penn

2-4    1/5/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: zackeriath
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A beautiful Course that offers a variety of different shots for all skill levels. Short and long tee is great for mixing it up with 3 pin placements on each hole. This is by far the best i have ever played. Upkeep around the course was the best i have ever seen, very challenging pins for risk reward putts that can easily take off down a hill.
Cons: very muddy, but that just part of disc golf
Other Thoughts: Will be defiantly making the 15 hour trip to make it to the pro event held there,

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/14/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: eric_dmb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Tyler has everything. With 3 pin locations on every hole and multiple tee locations on many holes with many more planned and coming this year, You are hard pressed to find a 27 hole course than can compare to Tyler State Park. Elevation, open bomber holes, tight tree lined holes, some water, it is the complete course!
Benches on most holes, bag holders, water fountains, bathrooms and not another course within 20 miles that can even come close to touching the amazing variety that Tyler has.
The BCDGA has disc sales in the parking lot on most weekends of the year which is also a bonus.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 perfection keeps getting better

5+    8/6/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: everything..awesome conc. tee pads..beautiful creative basket locations..nice use of natural land..lots of nice mulch all over..
Cons: 1.5 hours from my house
Other Thoughts: they keep adding stuff and making it better..just goplay you will love it

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent wooded course

1    8/23/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a beautiful wooded piece of land, with some nice elevation changes. Some holes have pretty steep hills, making for some fun and challenging shots, and many of the rest have at least minor hills in play. The lanes tend to be tight, but fair and in proportion to the hole length making it a real decision on many holes how much distance to go for. There is enough rough to punish errant shots, but not so much that lost discs are a major worry.

The variety here is top notch, only one hole out of 27 felt at all like filler, making it the second best course I've played in that regard. You'll need a full complement of shots to be successful here, with a balance of left and right turning holes with all kinds of shot shapes required. There is also a nice mix of reachable holes and long multi-shot holes where you'll need to plan ahead to set up your next shot.

The multiple pin positions definitely add quite a bit of variety to the course, many change the hole dramatically. The tee signs are excellent, with hole length and layout, and a nice pin position indicator so you know where to throw. The tees were in fine shape and most were plenty roomy, and the baskets didn't show too much wear. The flow is good, with enough next tee songs to make navigation easy.
Cons: Hole 26 is a boring open field shot that could easily have had the pin tucked back into the trees, it made the end of the round a little disappointing. I got to play a layout of mostly C pins, so that's the course I'm rating. Many of the shorter pins offered less fun and exciting shots, and I can definitely understand the lower ratings of people who played short configurations. Though the roads and jogging paths near many of the holes don't really come into play, they do detract from the feeling of playing out in the woods away from other park activities.
Other Thoughts: As I said above, I fully understand lower ratings from people who played shorter layouts. I can only rate the set of pins I had the chance to play, and in that configuration this course offers a great deal of challenge and variety. Beginners will enjoy the course in A pins, and experienced players will love the test of the C pins, this is a very different course depending on how it's set up. Either way, it's a beautiful and well designed course and a great walk in the woods.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Tyler State Park (DG Galore!)

2-4    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hands Down the most Amazing course I have ever played! This course uses EVERYTHING to its advantage! Course will require one to use every type of throw possible and choose your disc wisely. Plays through an amazing wooded area that has very distinct flight paths and is extremely well maintained. Tons of OB to add to the challenge. Has a few wide open tee offs so one could literally grip it and rip it. A few holes are short distance but are really technical. The tee pads and signs are in great shape and the overall flow of the course is great! This is a 27 hole course that hosts a large pro tourney once a year with a huge payout! Everything about this course is exactly what a disc golf course should look like! Course also has 3 pin positions for each hole which are moved regularly to change your game up. This is a MUST PLAY course for any disc golfer period!
Cons: The ONLY con i can think of is the pedestrian traffic along paths. You have walkers, joggers, and bikers. Overall they are not a problem at all though.
Other Thoughts: I drove about an hour and a half to play the course and i am extremely jealous that you Bucks County guys get to play it on a regular basis! lol I love the course and will recommend it to any disc golfer i see playing!! If this isn't a 5 of 5 course, then please tell me what is?! I'm giving it a 5 of 5 because these Bucks County guys have the crowned jewel of all disc golf courses hands down! Shout out to the Bucks guys for keeping your course pristine and amazing! Also shout out to Joe Mela on designing that BEAST!!! I will be back for more action!! Play on fellow golfers!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center