Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 333ft.   3 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Long Tee



Reviews: 104
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
 The Traveler

1    9/24/2009   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: All the hand painted signs were great. Each fairway was lined out with trees. The baskets can be seen from the tees. Nice, not to tight thought the woods. This course was line out great. On one of the hole I could hear a waterfall, even could look out over the lake. I had some deer come up to me on one of the back holes. This course is in my top five of courses I have ever been too.
Cons: None

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: *Good use of the land, up until you get to the last 9
*3 diff pin placements for each basket
*Good variety of shots and discs needed
Cons: *Randomly scattered easy staright aways that only ask you to throw your driver as far as you can tiwce to get across a boring field
*Many holes run back and forth over a paved walking/running trail
*alcohol prohibbited in the park, pfff! haha
*Not very unique
Other Thoughts: It seems as if someone designed a really good course and the just decided to add another 9 that was sub-par at best. It weaves in and out and back on and off trails, a lil confusing, but mostly just annoying. Not a very secluded enjoyable disc golf enviroment like its rival course Sedgley. I guess i would play it if in the area again, but its deff not on my To Do list. I'd rather be playing Campgaw/Mighty Gaw

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Tyler is sweet!

5+    2/26/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Emac24
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I've only played at Tyler, but what a great course to learn the game and grow on! It has a majority of holes tree covered and in the woods. During the summer months the greenery is thick but I have yet to lose a disc! Many different varieties of holes, dog legs left and right, up hill, down hill, obstacles, as well as 3 diff basket positions, there is something different each hole. And then a few holes that are wide open fields to let one fly! I enjoy every time I get to go out and can't wait till the next! Also extremely well maintained by the BCDGA awesome job!!
Cons: Par for the day sign? I know the baskets change at least once a month but I'm always confused if the par for the course changed? any clarification on this?
Other Thoughts: Wish there was a permanent 9 more holes! hoping one day to have 36 to run through. not that 27 isnt great, but who wouldnt want more.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    11/1/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A fair wooded course with well defined fairways that reward well thrown shots with very few trees in the middle of the line. Several well thought out holes with some good variety as well requiring a variety of shots.
Cons: Layout is kind of strange and can be hard to follow. Apparently some changes have been made recently so this will probably get better soon. Almost every hole was set up short. I don't know if this is just for the casual play or if the baskets are moved reguarly. It would have been nice to see a mixture.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course and I can see that a better player like Joe Mela has influenced it. It overall was fair with some memorable shots. Playing this course was fun and it certainly will make you a better player. I wish I would have had time for another round or two.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love this Course

5+    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Dino
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easy to follow, Holes were relocated, changes are marked. Alot of fun, Nice cement Tees,Other players nice,friendly. Great scenic area, Well laid out.
Cons: Very Crowded on the weekends and holidays. Watch out for the Poison Ivy.
Bring water
Other Thoughts: Just started playing and I can't get enough of this course.Great way to spend an afternoon

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in Eastern PA

5+    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: pattkd85
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is VERY well maintained. Pins are changed about once a month providing a different challenge each visit. I have played every hole on almost every pin position and, regardless of A, B, or C pin placement, this course provides some unique challenges. There is a good balance of Dog legs left and right, wide and narrow fairways as well as raised pins. There is MAJOR elevation changes on some holes which provides the necessity for some non-conventional throws. For those who enjoy more finesse rather than pure power, this course in mostly wood (save 15 (Old 17), 16 (Old 18), 25-27). The course was just re-worked for the ECY Tournament next weekend (hence the reference to OLD hole locations. Signage from pin to pin is the best i've seen. Each hole has a well detailed map of the hole with suggested paths drawn. With the re-worked layout, you can now play 18 holes and end at the top of the hill where you parked.
Cons: This course can get crowded on weekends and holidays. Suggestion is to go early in the day, or during the week when foot traffic is at a minimum. Since this is a public park, many times stray hikers will cut across the course. Be sure to call "Fore" or check the path to make sure you won't hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: As the title says, this is the Best Course that Eastern PA has to offer. Be sure to bring your Hiking Boots or comfortable hiking shoes. Also, bring some bug spray during the summer months to keep pesky bugs away. All in all, this is my home course and I couldn't be happier to play this course on a weekly basis.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Home

5+    5/15/2013   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2013
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Hole info : 5 Each hole has a wooden plaque with the best hole info I have seen so far.
Terrain management : 5 This course is well loved and maintained.
Variety : 4.5 This has everything except a shot over water.
Ease of finding course : 4.5
Pin and tee box quality : 5 Lots of well marked variety with all holes.
Layout : 5 This has 27 holes of challenge. Many pas 5s.
Fun factor : 5 The reason I started and continue to love disc golf.
Cons: There is poison ivy in them woods ;)
Other Thoughts: Ease of finding next hole : 4.5
Beginner friendly : 4
Lost disc recovery : 4 This course has thick woods but it is easy to find stray discs

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect C Sharp

5+    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: Silly Willi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is my home course, where I first started over 17 yrs ago. I remeber back when it was only 21 holes and hole one started down in the woods where hole 22 is. This is the best groomed and most well maintained woods course, I really like the 27 holes that exist today. There is a lot of love that goes into this course. All positions are a challenge but I especially like when all holes are in C. That is my fav because get to utilize the entire course to the max. No matter how many times I have played, always a challenge and always fun.
Cons: 27 holes is just not enough. There is so much more land over by hole 24 why can't this part be expanded to include another 9? Then there would be two pro18 courses!!
Other Thoughts: Go here and play, you will love it. Bring your girlfriend, wife, kids, dogs..whomever. Fun for everyone.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Coasterbrad
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm still fairly new to the sport but have played Tyler's course three times now. It never gets old.

Having multiple basket locations for each hole, or multiple tees, really helps keep this course "fresh". It is a different game each time. The A locations are nice short shots but still require accurate shots. The B and C locations often require every shot you have. There are some seriously challenging holes here.

The course is good for beginners and pros alike. While a beginner will never get near par on this course, it is a great place to work on your different shots.

Lots of shade as it is almost all wooded.

The pin placements are very creative. Depending on what letter they are at, some pins are placed perfectly between trees, up on hills, or in one case, in a tree (hole 14?). Really a lot of fun.
Cons: If the brush is thick, you could lose a disc or two. The holes tat are out in the open have a large field of tall grass that will also eat your discs up. It was cut down today but in the past it was very tall and thick.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is truly a fantastic course. I recommend you go play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great course to play

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course set in the woods of Tyler Park.
-The course has a nice balance of easy and challenging holes. Not sure how ofter the pins are moved but the "C" pins are very challenging on some holes.
-Majority of holes are in the shade
-Good use of elevation
Cons: -Some holes (23 and 27) when the pin is in the "C" position should have different pars. They may be different but it isn't reflected on the tee marker.
-Tee Markers may say pin is in one position but it is actually in another spot
Other Thoughts: The last 3 holes were out in the open and I really wanted some shade at the end of my day. It was hot and muggy, so bring lots of water.
Can't wait to bring my friends here to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.