Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 109
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
 Sick

1    7/19/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: GrOoViN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: 27 holes of great times. Easily able to cut course down to 18 to your own desire as many people I came across there opted to do, however fully worth playing all 27. Course is never the same as 1 of the guys I played with called me today to tell baskets were diff. from when we went on Sunday.
Cons: People are dicks and cut in and dick around. People are dicks everywhere and they should all walk off their respective cliffs.
Other Thoughts: Great time, don't let the people ruin it for you just like any other course.

0 of 23 people found this review helpful.

ex-local

5+    7/10/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: When everything is in C position, this is one of the greatest/hardest courses I have played.
Cons: When everything is in A for the beginners, you'll wish you went somewhere else. I second the vote for multiple baskets instead of the occasional movement of single baskets.
Other Thoughts: I know it's a lame review--it's not really a review at all--I just wanted to rate my local course. Read the other reviews if you want specifics.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 good, could have been great

1    6/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Well maintained, lots of variety between holes, not crowded, good signs at the tees showing the throwing path, good signs after the baskets helping you find the next tee, not much walking between holes.
Cons: Only one basket per hole despite there being 3 possible baskets per hole. A little too woodsy for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: I can see how if this was your local course it would be nice for things to be a little different each time. But for people who life far away and will only come here once, having to miss out on a potentially fun hole because only the 200ft novice basket is in place is lame. Just put up all 3 baskets and let the players decide which to play, its not like baskets are that expensive.

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 The most Awesome course in Pennsylvania

5+    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Dr.awesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great signs that will never leave you confused, and next tee signs. Awesome layout that will challenge you, while leaving many birdie and even eagle opportunities for the disc golf gifted. The course is maintained very well. The A, B, C basket positions. The long/short tees on 2 holes(7, and 12 i think). This course is filled with pros!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: The only con is hole 6, i don't like water coming into play, or steep slopes.
Other Thoughts: I saw the head of the BCDGA Bigdog. He and the fellow members come out every weekend to maintain the truly awesome course. Tyler rules!!!!!!!!!

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: lennyb6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes, some long some short, some very easy, some difficult. You almost cannot play all 27 and not ind something fun. great for beginners - my girlfriend will come almost anytime. holes have some real nice scenery and be on the look out for wildlife.
Cons: some long walks between holes. a few mistakes can really cost you. Can be a bit crowded (speaks to quality). Three locations on most holes - some can be too simple.
Other Thoughts: Can't say enough good things about it.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tyler is Awesome

1    4/10/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tee pads, some time multiple pads.
2) A-B-C pin placements.
3) if the many trees are enough of an obstacle, stacked wood piles in the fairway add to the challenge.
4) left and right legs.
5) mulitple lines to choose from.
6) excellent signage, from the time you enter the park until you leave.
7) 27 holes although we only played 18.
8) Proximity to route 95 (less than 10 minutes away).
9) We ran into 2 guys from allentown, about 40 miles away, who came to play here. this is a testimonial to how good it is.
Cons: 1) a bit crowded (I live in upstate NY so I am not used to highly used courses)
2) not close enough to my house.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely play this course whenever I am in the Philly area. A must play course.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 TP DG

5+    4/3/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my local course. After seeing other courses in the area I must say Tyler Park is top notch. Majority of holes curve or dog leg left. ( good for right handed hyzers) Only two holes with a Mandatory (again both mandos are setup nice for a right handed hyzer) Multiple holes mean different play everytime. Holes A and B are great for recreational play or beginners but the C holes changes the hole play dramatically. No bad water hazards except for the swamp to the right and down the hill on Hole #6. Course is well kept year round. Rain run off is superb. Water fountains and restrooms on upper and lower parts of course. (closed during winter) Lastly the people, disc golfers and the public, are very friendly. Don't feel embarassed if you drilled that pine tree 8 feet ahead of you a good recovery shot can get you back on track on any hole at this marvelous park. Happy Chain Hunting
Cons: Only thing keeping this park from being a perfect 5 for 5 is not enough field holes, lack of water hazards and too many short holes. I've heard some advanced players down talk this park because the A and B holes are too easy to deuce. (I like them for the easy ace chance) Park can be very crowded with disc golfers or just anybody walking so be prepared to yell "Fore".
Other Thoughts: This course is very technical in the sense of choosing lanes between trees and avoiding steep downward hills. This course does have elevation changes that makes you tweak your shot slightly. ACCURACY AND CONTROL is the way to sucess being that around 21 of the 27 holes are in wooded area...no one likes being a lumber jack. SIDE NOTE: Avery Jenkins played in the Eric C. Yetter Memorial Champions Cup here and was heard saying , "I have had enough of this course". During this event the Pin positions are located mostly in C...which you only see around once a year. So if you've never seen the hidden beast that The Enchanted Forest can so easily become I highly suggest visiting the week prior the Eric C. Yetter Tournement.
Also, the course pro Joe Mela and the BCDGA members bust their butts to make this a gem of a course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Pure Pleaseure to play!

1    3/27/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.4 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW! where do I start. I played at 8:15am after a big rain storm the night before. You would hardly know the course had been rained on for several hours the day and night before. Drainage here is wonderful and I had no problem with slipping and sliding.

Each basket is laid out well with signage that is nice to see and very functional. At the base of each sign was a dial that told you which basket to use since there is at least 3 on each (except 4 where it tells you which tee to use). Several of the baskets have both a long and short tee. The signage was always on the long one. Also the signs for directions to the next tee are very easy to follow and accurate.

The baskets play well and the areas around them are maintained so that putting is not a chore. The tee pads look to be in a state of being updated because some were small (tee 1) and others were very nice and large which shows these people care. This was very early spring and as yet the undergrowth was not an issue. It does look like maybe it could be later but only sparingly and most of those places are marked as mandos or OB. There use of logs as benches was a nice touch. Each tee had a 4x4 to hang a bag from.

There is plenty of elevation change here that will challenge your ability but nothing as drastic as Campgaw Reservation.

In the first 16 it is in the woods and there are some long ones in there. Once you break out onto 17 you get to start really airing some out.
So there is a nice mix of technical holes and grip and rip if you play all 27. One of the things I noticed is the nice variety of left to right and right to left throws. Some of them even give you the choice to go either way. This is a very nice feature here.

There are 2 baskets I will never forget. Nine was awesome to me because of the accuracy needed to avoid a very long hike down a hill that is all down the left of the fairway and about 30 feet behind the basket. If it does get away there are steps built into the side to go down and retrieve your disc. They also take you to the tee at 10. The other was 12 long. You will test everything you have one this one. Both a technical and a grip and rip. Choose your poison here and hope for the best.

This is a state park and there are water fountains in several areas. However they were turned off because of the time of the year. There are bathroom facilities on 2 places but both were closed for the season and the only bathroom was at the boathouse.

Because this is a state park, and as always PA does a nice job, this is a very well maintained place to play.

Parking here looks to be plentiful.
Cons: Not to many to speak of. There is no sign, when entering the park, to direct you to the proper parking lot to start. But if you take the map and follow it you will be fine. Five, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, and 15 are near roads and you will need to pay attention. Only 8 was real bothersome though. It is a hard right to left that follows the road. If you throw it too straight one of the many joggers/walkers I saw cold get hit. The only other thing is if you only play the first 18 there is no sign to direct you back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a course for everyone. It will challenge the best and because of the signage and condition of the course even a novice will have a good time. I cannot wait to play here again.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 getting better each time

5+    9/29/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 297  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have played Tyler at least once a year since it opened about 10 years ago and it just simply gets better each time here.

The work and maintenance done on each and every wooded hole is tremendous! 23 of the 27 holes are in the woods yet have true 'fair'ways. Great use of elevation changes. Very well marked course, the next tee signs, the dial indicating the pin position, and orange number plates on each basket all help you navigate the course easily. Large cement tees and more wood chips than any other course that I've seen. Some elevated baskets add to the challenge of the course.

The new wall and puting green on hole 5 is a great improvement.
Cons: There are some long walks in between some holes but it is well marked. Print a map for the 1st time through, it will help with these long walks.

Other park activity such as joggers and dog walkers on the paved trails can
interfere with your game or the course.
Other Thoughts: Close to I-95 and other commerce if needed. The Bucks County DG group needs to be commended for their work on this course, it rocks!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 What an Experience!

1    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every tee is concrete and kept clean. Each hole offers it own version of a challenge whether it be tight trees or length. Plenty of signs showing where the next tee is. Each tee has the hole mapped out and even a "dial" that has the pin location listed (A, B, C). Course is kept very clean, even in the colder months. 27 holes, and none are really the same. A good test of ability for all level of players.
Cons: If you're a very skilled player a couple of the pins may seem too easy for you.
Other Thoughts: I've never played a course that is this well taken care of. It honestly seemed like a crew of people goes out every morning and prepares the course. All the signs are very nicely done. The fact that its in a State Park really gives it that quiet private feel to it. First course 18 hole course i've played where I was never searching for the next hole.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.