El Reno, OK 
Route 66 DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #12 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ignore this review - can't remove

1    8/11/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: dwsutton
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview Instagram Profile - INK361
ink361.com/app/users/ig-651474498/dgcoursereview/photos
Jul 3, 2014 - View the Instagram profile for dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview on INK361 - Disc Golf Course Review. Follow us on ... phillydiscgolf - the best in pa/nj/de disc golf Its a bummer they removed the top course at bear.
Cons: dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview Instagram Profile - INK361
ink361.com/app/users/ig-651474498/dgcoursereview/photos
Jul 3, 2014 - View the Instagram profile for dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview on INK361 - Disc Golf Course Review. Follow us on ... phillydiscgolf - the best in pa/nj/de disc golf Its a bummer they removed the top course at bear.
Other Thoughts: dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview Instagram Profile - INK361
ink361.com/app/users/ig-651474498/dgcoursereview/photos
Jul 3, 2014 - View the Instagram profile for dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview on INK361 - Disc Golf Course Review. Follow us on ... phillydiscgolf - the best in pa/nj/de disc golf Its a bummer they removed the top course at bear.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

best course in western OKC

1    5/29/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice layout with a variety of different holes
-mix of open/some trees and shorter/longer holes
-creek and street OB in play on many holes
-concrete tees and Mach 3's in good condition
-very nice park, clean and safe
-bathrooms and trash cans
-bridges to cross the creek
Cons: -pads are pretty short and thin
-pedestrians and other park users in play in several places
-a few long walks between holes, navigation not always obvious
-a few places where there is an out-of-the-way walk to a bridge to cross the creek
Other Thoughts: Route 66 is probably the course I have enjoyed most in the OKC area other than the Norman courses. There are a variety of holes from longer, more open holes to shorter, tighter holes. The design makes good use of the trees and the creek to create interesting holes that are challenging to the amateur player and offer some risk/reward choices.

The baskets and signs are in good condition and the concrete pads are quite small but appreciated, especially if it is wet out there. The bridges are great and make it much easier to make it through the course.

The course is ideal for red and white level players. The short holes are fun and the longer holes are not too demanding. For the more experienced player, the course is fun but not that challenging. There are no holes where placement is key. The trees are good obstacles but don't really force specific lines. The course doesn't really favor RH or BH as there are many viable routes to the basket.

Overall, a fun course in a nice park that will challenge amateur players. Definitely a must-play for OKC residents and one of the better options for traveling players.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Please update the map

1    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short and long shots. There is a small creek/stream that is in play on a couple of holes as well. There are good restroom facilities, although they are spread out. Good use of a multi-use public park. Well kept grounds and the signs are good as well. As previously stated they have directions to the next tee on them also. Good mix of short and long shots.
Hole #1 plays across the stream to the and the basket is to the left. #2 is pretty much a straight shot, with a lower than normal basket. #3 is a cool hole with trees lining your way down the fairway, not a tight alley but makes a nice looking hole. #4 is a shorter hole. #5 is a long hole 700 ft or so, and the stream is in play on this one as well. #6's basket was up on a dirt mound. #7 is a short shot with the basket behind a tree, which was cool. #8 again is a shorter hole with bathrooms to the left and a protect basket. #9 's basket has a tree protecting it as well, but not so much as to block you from shooting well. #10 plays across a stream, as of May 4 2011 it was dry. #11 pretty much a straight shot. #12 dog leg to the right water behind the basket so don't over throw, also has trees about 50 foot in front of the basket. #13's basket is between 2 cedars, which was nice. #14 plays across the stream and has some trees in play but not too bad. #15 is pretty much straight on. #16 was a longer hole, you can air it out a bit. #17 runs along the fence on the north side of the park and the basket is to the right. #18 finishes up with moderate length and is like #17.
Cons: Long walk from #3's basket to #4's tee pad, also the same way for #4's basket and #5's tee pad. All but about 4 tee pads are way too short. I think #1, 2, 17, 18 where what I would say are what most discgolfers would consider to be good tee pads. The rest are very short. I had to play from the grass to the side in order to feel comfortable in teeing off. Outside of the long walks between some holes, this also occurs on going from #8 to #9, and the short tee pads, this is a good, fun disc golf course.
The only other problem I can see is that you would not want to play here during soccer season because there are soccer goals everywhere here. I would venture to say this is why the map is not correct, because they had to redo some things so soccer wouldn't be disturbed, as well as disc golf.
Other Thoughts: On #7 it says 179 feet and it would be a good chance for someone to get that coveted ACE.
Someone needs to update the map for this course. As it is currently #8 is actually #1, #9 is #2 and has been moved across the road to the west of where it is on the map. This continues as #10 is actually #3, #11 is #4, #12 is #5, #13 is #6. #14 is #7, but has been cut short and is by the big tree on the map. #8 is going from the NW to the SW to the big tree on the map where it says #14's basket is. #9 is actually #15 on the current map. #7 on current map is not there. #17 is actually 10, #18 is 11, #1 is actually 12, #2 is 13, #5 is 14, #6 is 15, #4 is 16, #3 is 17 all though I think they cut the length down a bit from the current map. #18 is not on the map but it is directly behind, to the west of, #17's basket and plays to the west towards the new parking lot.
I would have given this course a 3.5 but the map and the long walk between holes and the short, I mean short, teepads take this course down a half notch. You should play this course if you are traveling thru or are in the area. I had fun and a good score would not be unattainable.
I hope this review helps you find your way around this course a little better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Somethin Long an out in the open

1    11/27/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just what OKC disc golf needed,another course! Beautifully layed out using the land the park has to offer,as well as creative pin placements utilizing the stream that runs throughout.There are some wide open shots for long bombs on a few holes which I enjoyed.This course has fresh water faucets.
Cons: Pretty fun course my cons on this one would be lack of seating and shade thats about it.
Other Thoughts: I didn't grow up playin disc golf in okc but if I did judging by the variety of dgc's one would have to choose from here before this course was put in Adams Park will be something a bit out of thier ordinary other then still dealing with lots of wind.Only course i could compare it to in okla that I've played is that its similar to Divillio without as many trees.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.