El Reno, OK 
Route 66 DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #3 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
ignore this review - can't remove

1    8/11/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: dwsutton
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview Instagram Profile - INK361
ink361.com/app/users/ig-651474498/dgcoursereview/photos
Jul 3, 2014 - View the Instagram profile for dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview on INK361 - Disc Golf Course Review. Follow us on ... phillydiscgolf - the best in pa/nj/de disc golf Its a bummer they removed the top course at bear.
Cons: dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview Instagram Profile - INK361
ink361.com/app/users/ig-651474498/dgcoursereview/photos
Jul 3, 2014 - View the Instagram profile for dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview on INK361 - Disc Golf Course Review. Follow us on ... phillydiscgolf - the best in pa/nj/de disc golf Its a bummer they removed the top course at bear.
Other Thoughts: dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview Instagram Profile - INK361
ink361.com/app/users/ig-651474498/dgcoursereview/photos
Jul 3, 2014 - View the Instagram profile for dgcoursereview - @dgcoursereview on INK361 - Disc Golf Course Review. Follow us on ... phillydiscgolf - the best in pa/nj/de disc golf Its a bummer they removed the top course at bear.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

best course in western OKC

1    5/29/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice layout with a variety of different holes
-mix of open/some trees and shorter/longer holes
-creek and street OB in play on many holes
-concrete tees and Mach 3's in good condition
-very nice park, clean and safe
-bathrooms and trash cans
-bridges to cross the creek
Cons: -pads are pretty short and thin
-pedestrians and other park users in play in several places
-a few long walks between holes, navigation not always obvious
-a few places where there is an out-of-the-way walk to a bridge to cross the creek
Other Thoughts: Route 66 is probably the course I have enjoyed most in the OKC area other than the Norman courses. There are a variety of holes from longer, more open holes to shorter, tighter holes. The design makes good use of the trees and the creek to create interesting holes that are challenging to the amateur player and offer some risk/reward choices.

The baskets and signs are in good condition and the concrete pads are quite small but appreciated, especially if it is wet out there. The bridges are great and make it much easier to make it through the course.

The course is ideal for red and white level players. The short holes are fun and the longer holes are not too demanding. For the more experienced player, the course is fun but not that challenging. There are no holes where placement is key. The trees are good obstacles but don't really force specific lines. The course doesn't really favor RH or BH as there are many viable routes to the basket.

Overall, a fun course in a nice park that will challenge amateur players. Definitely a must-play for OKC residents and one of the better options for traveling players.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not too Shabby

2-4    5/10/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs with arrows pointing to the next hole and nice baskets. Good mix of shots with a river hazard on several holes.
Cons: Tee Pads are small but sized to the hole; the longer the hole the longer the tee pad but they are still small. Soccer fields add pedestrians as hazards. No benches and this is a long course.
Other Thoughts: Install benches, plant a few more trees in play, and build a couple more bridges over the stream where needed. Good place for night rounds as it's safe and you don't have much deep rough to trample through.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Please update the map

1    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short and long shots. There is a small creek/stream that is in play on a couple of holes as well. There are good restroom facilities, although they are spread out. Good use of a multi-use public park. Well kept grounds and the signs are good as well. As previously stated they have directions to the next tee on them also. Good mix of short and long shots.
Hole #1 plays across the stream to the and the basket is to the left. #2 is pretty much a straight shot, with a lower than normal basket. #3 is a cool hole with trees lining your way down the fairway, not a tight alley but makes a nice looking hole. #4 is a shorter hole. #5 is a long hole 700 ft or so, and the stream is in play on this one as well. #6's basket was up on a dirt mound. #7 is a short shot with the basket behind a tree, which was cool. #8 again is a shorter hole with bathrooms to the left and a protect basket. #9 's basket has a tree protecting it as well, but not so much as to block you from shooting well. #10 plays across a stream, as of May 4 2011 it was dry. #11 pretty much a straight shot. #12 dog leg to the right water behind the basket so don't over throw, also has trees about 50 foot in front of the basket. #13's basket is between 2 cedars, which was nice. #14 plays across the stream and has some trees in play but not too bad. #15 is pretty much straight on. #16 was a longer hole, you can air it out a bit. #17 runs along the fence on the north side of the park and the basket is to the right. #18 finishes up with moderate length and is like #17.
Cons: Long walk from #3's basket to #4's tee pad, also the same way for #4's basket and #5's tee pad. All but about 4 tee pads are way too short. I think #1, 2, 17, 18 where what I would say are what most discgolfers would consider to be good tee pads. The rest are very short. I had to play from the grass to the side in order to feel comfortable in teeing off. Outside of the long walks between some holes, this also occurs on going from #8 to #9, and the short tee pads, this is a good, fun disc golf course.
The only other problem I can see is that you would not want to play here during soccer season because there are soccer goals everywhere here. I would venture to say this is why the map is not correct, because they had to redo some things so soccer wouldn't be disturbed, as well as disc golf.
Other Thoughts: On #7 it says 179 feet and it would be a good chance for someone to get that coveted ACE.
Someone needs to update the map for this course. As it is currently #8 is actually #1, #9 is #2 and has been moved across the road to the west of where it is on the map. This continues as #10 is actually #3, #11 is #4, #12 is #5, #13 is #6. #14 is #7, but has been cut short and is by the big tree on the map. #8 is going from the NW to the SW to the big tree on the map where it says #14's basket is. #9 is actually #15 on the current map. #7 on current map is not there. #17 is actually 10, #18 is 11, #1 is actually 12, #2 is 13, #5 is 14, #6 is 15, #4 is 16, #3 is 17 all though I think they cut the length down a bit from the current map. #18 is not on the map but it is directly behind, to the west of, #17's basket and plays to the west towards the new parking lot.
I would have given this course a 3.5 but the map and the long walk between holes and the short, I mean short, teepads take this course down a half notch. You should play this course if you are traveling thru or are in the area. I had fun and a good score would not be unattainable.
I hope this review helps you find your way around this course a little better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: joey h
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The pin placements were great and really challenging. It had a great mix of long holes and short holes. Each tee had a nice sign to tell you were the pin is and there is a " next tee this way" to tell you were to go.
Cons: The tee pads are CRAZY short, 2 steps at least.
Other Thoughts: The course map is not entirely correct. In the picture hole #1 is actually #8 and if you go to the #1 hole on the map it is #12 on the course. After we figured that out it is VERY easy to find were you are going. The 1st hole is in the Memorial Park, parking lot. Its not on the maps because its a new lot. If you print out a score card the numbers are all correct. Awesome course!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for a short drive

1    6/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This looked like an almost brand new course to me. The tee boxes were new (although short) and the pins were mostly easily located. Most of the pins had a "next tee this way" marker on them that was VERY nice. The holes that were in the woods had clearings to throw through. Adequate number of trash cans. This is at a well-used soccer complex so if you get there at the right day, there are concession stands open (but, see below in the "cons" section). The area is very well maintained.
Cons: If you try to play this on a Saturday during youth soccer season, you better have great control of your discs. MANY holes run parallel to the soccer fields and I'm sure they won't appreciate the discs. One hole (early front 9, but that's all I remember) has the pin really close to a set of bleachers. Use caution around the soccer moms!

The tee boxes are insanely short as noted previously. It appears that they are new and there is a noticeable step up onto the box if you need a run-up. That gives you something else to think about as you are trying to drive, otherwise you might roll your ankle.

There's quite a hike between a few of the holes due to having to get around the soccer fields and the map doesn't accurately locate some of the holes and pins properly.
Other Thoughts: Most holes run east/west and the predominant southern wind is ALWAYS a factor. If you get out here without the soccer crowds you can no doubt play this course very quickly. This is an excellent course and not too far away from OKC.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Good, Except Lilliputian Tee Boxes

2-4    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well thought out course with a variety of interesting holes. The course makes good use of the trees and the meandering creek. Each hole has a relatively new tee pad and a sign showing the hole and usually an indication of the next tee as well. Garbage cans on the first few holes, but you only have those adjacent to the park pavilions for the last 2/3rds of the course.

A couple of long holes (580 ft+ and 700 ft+) and a few < 250 ft for variety. The majority of the course is in the lower 300's or lower 400's. The course follows a logical progression around the park and was fairly easy to navigate with the map (I got mine at the gas station next to Dolese, but there needs to be an updated map online somwhere) and the indicators on the signs at every hole. A few holes even had "Next Tee" arrows on the pins or near the pins to help navigation.

Vast majority of the holes are laid out in a predominantly East/West direction which can cause havoc in a Southerly/Northerly windy day.

I've mostly played on a Sunday and the park is not very busy. Could be a different story on a Friday/Saturday, especially in relation to the soccer fields (see below).
Cons: All but 2 or 3 of the new tee pads are TINY. Like about 5 feet long. Basically more than one stride, less than two. That's probably sufficient on the 180 ft to 230 ft holes, but those 300 and 400+ holes need full size tee boxes so that golfers aren't worrying about rolling ankles on the step up/down as they stride onto the boxes for their drive. Might be better to just throw from the ground adjacent to some of the boxes. The two long holes have full-size boxes, but the middle distance holes suffer a tad from this deficiency.

Like most open OK courses, wind is a huge factor. With the vast majority of the holes laid out in a predominantly East/West direction, this can cause havoc in a Southerly/Northerly windy day. A little more variety as to compass rose orientation would help even out the course on N/S wind days.

A little bit of a hike is to be had between holes 8 and 9 and 11 and 12. The lack of a bridge over the creek makes navigating 10 thru 16 a little tricky at times as well. 17 and 18 are layout out parallel to Route 66 to the north and well-utilized soccer fields to the left. Wouldn't recommend playing those holes on a Saturday while games were going on. 2 is in pretty close proximity to some soccer fields as well.

The online map linked at this site bears no resemblance to the course. It needs to be updated. The club that appears to be maintaining/upgrading the course (Route 66 Flyers) has little online presence that I can find and didn't have any luck finding links to any current maps.

THERE IS A BIRD THAT WILL TRY TO ATTACK YOU ON THE FOURTH HOLE!! Come prepared and bring a spotter to watch your back while putting.
Other Thoughts: I vacillated between a 3 and a 3.5 for this course. Gave it the higher score mainly because the only beef I had for this well-thought out, effectively-utilized course was the tee boxes AND THE ATTACK BIRD.

Walking the course for the first time, I also felt that there was a missed opportunity for a hole that could effectively utilize the park road as O.B. between the pin at 11 and the bridge to 12. Would have worked well with the flow and kept you from walking a ways to get to 12. Still, that's just opinion and doesn't detract from the course.

Overall, I enjoyed this course. It appears to be well-maintained and is in a good location relative to OKC. It offers a variety of shots and is just beginner-friendly enough not to be frustrating. I will play again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/30/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: rt66dgc6
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Good short holes alsome Long holes. last time i played the bridge from holes 15 to 16 is fixed. i love it. only Course on Route 66 thats what i like Quite mostly
Cons: need a Bench at hole #5 hole #13 hole#18. trim the tree a little for the southpawls. on hole #1
Other Thoughts: one of the best iv played on thats Close by. the where i live

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Somethin Long an out in the open

1    11/27/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just what OKC disc golf needed,another course! Beautifully layed out using the land the park has to offer,as well as creative pin placements utilizing the stream that runs throughout.There are some wide open shots for long bombs on a few holes which I enjoyed.This course has fresh water faucets.
Cons: Pretty fun course my cons on this one would be lack of seating and shade thats about it.
Other Thoughts: I didn't grow up playin disc golf in okc but if I did judging by the variety of dgc's one would have to choose from here before this course was put in Adams Park will be something a bit out of thier ordinary other then still dealing with lots of wind.Only course i could compare it to in okla that I've played is that its similar to Divillio without as many trees.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/7/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: Heathen
Played: 170  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park course. The baskets have been installed only within the past couple weeks and the original layout has been altered. There are a nice mix of long and short holes (from 700' to a short of 179') and they've done a respectable job of using the park trees to create challenges and nice holes. Hole three is a good example, running 400' down a dual line of trees. There is also a creek that meanders the length of the park and it is used to the fullest to offer more challenges.
The course is easy to follow ,albeit with a little scanning and searching, and the park is well kept. This was a very enjoyable round.
Cons: Desperately in need of a few more bridges for crossing the daunting and impassable gash that tears through the park. especially between holes 15 and 16. currently it's a bit of an expedition to trek half the park to the nearest bridge and back just to get to the tee pad for 16 which otherwise would only be about 40 feet away. The other biggest need is for a crossing or two on the creek that runs the right side of the 700' hole number 5.
If you're unlucky enough to end up on the right side of the creek, then you have a 700' jaunt just to get to the road so you can cross and set up a base camp to begin your assault back down the creek to your stranded disk. REALLY guys... great work on the new course but we're all gonna need a few bridges. Nothing fancy, just some sturdy walkway would suffice.
Other Thoughts: I met some of the guys that are part of the club responsible for this transformed course and they were quite proud of it and deservedly so I would say. Ignore all the previous reviews 'cause they really just don't apply any more. This is a new course, one I would recommend without hesitation..

Final word on improvements.:
Place some small signs pointing the way to the next hole just for ease and smooth play..
Benches so old worn out golfers like me can sit a spell.
Strategically located trash receptacle on at least every other hole.
Finish tee pads for all 18 holes.

I'll be back to OK within the year and I'm planning on coming back to this course,

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center