Course Extinct
Golden, CO 
Eagle Rock Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Front 9 = Great Mountain Course

2-4    5/17/2010   5/31/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 of this course make up for an amazing technical mountain round. You will be required to throw most throws in your bag only on the front 9. Most of these holes require a good amount of skill, and all require accuracy. My favorite hole (4 or 5) is a narrow 20-25 foot wide corridor that is 200-250 feet long and can be hit perfectly with an S-curve. While none of these holes are extremely long, expect yourself to have fun with them! The technical aspect and massive abundance of trees make for all of the obstacles and possible extra strokes. This is a high elevation course, and since you must call ahead it is extremely unlikely that you will see anyone else there. This is a YMCA camp, so there are campers walking around in certain areas, but every time I have been there the course is far away enough that it is not an issue. This course is fairly far out of the way of everything.... but the front 9 make for a fun day, especially if they're played multiple times. A few shots here are blind, but that's what makes it great and hard! Many baskets are tucked into little nooks or hidden behind trees.
Cons: I am giving this place a "good" because while the front 9 was "very good"-"excellent", the back nine was hardly reasonable. The back 9 is complete object disc golf (no baskets). It also lacked the inspiration and cleanliness of the fairways of the front 9. It is almost as if they thought up some holes, threw 9 poles in the ground and did nothing to improve or maintain the holes. If you're a fan of object disc golf, you may not feel the same about the back 9... but to me nothing is worse than going from an amazing 9 holes with baskets to a less inspiring back 9 with brown poles. The poles are also very hard to see, because they are brown. The front 9 also has no signage, but with a little wandering you can find your way around the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a bit off the beaten path, but I try to find my way back here every once in a while. The front 9 present a unique challenge, but coming from the city they must be played atleast twice to make the trip even worthwhile.


I want to make a note that since I have done my review, 6 poles on the back nine have been replaced ( 5 baskets, 1 windchime) and some were moved.. I have not had the chance to play with these additions, but they could certainly raise the rating of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More maintenance needed

1    8/15/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: Face
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front 9 had a nice variety of shots. Most were technical shots through trees and there were a few blind shots where you just threw and hoped it got through.
-The person that met us there was very friendly and helpful, he gave us a map to get around (because we had no clue where hole 1 was)
-The front 9 flowed well and was generally easy to find the next hole once you got started.
Cons: That said:
-No signage. Theres no way to tell where hole 1 is without someone telling you, and theres no perminant signs denoting where the next hole is.
-Very small tee boxes. The dirt tee boxes were very small and in a few places awkwardly placed. I should note that they are mostly dirt tee pads but I dont really consider that a Con.
-Back 9 is Poles. Normally that wouldnt be a big deal but but again, in conjuction with the other things, they were very hard to find and there didnt seem to be a whole lot of thought put behind it because the flow was very hard to follow.
-Not very maintained, tall weeds and grass in the fairways. Normally thats not a huge deal but with no signs and bag placement of the back 9 it kind of felt like you were just walking through the wilderness searching for your disc and the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This course would be pretty good if it got some work put into it. The problem is there are so many other mountain courses available that are easier to get to that this course would have to have a lot of work put into it to get into the running. It should be noted that there are on site dormatories that were empty when we were there so Im not sure what it would be like when they have a lot of people there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 has a good variety of shots that challenge all players. The tees were easy to find from the previous holes. It is heavily wooded and punishes bad shots.
Cons: The back 9 is tone pole, which is tough. The walk from hole 11 to 12 is a long one. Hole 10 needs to have some alley for a RHBH hyzer to take. Even if just a small one. The tees need to be groomed and the signage needs to be updated.
Other Thoughts: The tee for hole #1 is concrete and is right next to the basketball fence. The one person we saw at the camp was nice. He helped us find the first tee and gave us a map which was very useful in finding some later holes. Stay on the fairway or you will have a tough time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 wild

1    10/15/2008   4/30/2009
Review By: pitcherofnectar
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2009
14 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is a solid bunch of holes through some nice changes in scenery and elevation. We called ahead and had no problem gaining permission to play. They had a map for us and even some "house" discs if we had come unprepared. There are a few nice tree holes and hole-finding is relatively easy.
Cons: I felt like we were being watched the entire time. There was a dog that kept taking my discs and running off to the main lodge. Kids 13-20 were everywhere, dressed in matching jeans and white t-shirts carrying things around like appliances and books and boxes and staring at us. We tried to say "hi" to a few, receiving no responses but blank stares. I don't think too many people play this course.
Other Thoughts: Eagle Rock is associated with YWAM, the notorious Christian youth camp which had ties to certain events in Denver and Colorado Springs a few years ago. They are flagged on cult-watch websites, and for good reason. The place was outright bizarre. There was a giant cross mounted near the 9th hole with a platform to stand on and ropes for tying one's hands to the cross a la Jesus Christ. However, the owner was quick to let us play, for free, and it can't be too bad if they're just letting people on to play. I would play there again, but I still would definitely call first. I'm sorry if this review sounds a little extreme but it truly reflects how we felt while playing this course. It was weird!

14 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.