Eagan, MN 
Northview Park Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #6
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 6



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Too much of the same

2-4    8/15/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: LeftyHukin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: As I have stated in my other reviews, I hold all course to the same standards. Reviewing how the course flows, how well it is maintained, how difficult based on design/use of space, creativity of different shot lines and if it does its job for the target audience.

Northview park was designed for the casual disc golfer and beginners, so please leave everything but a putter/mid range at home. Not a bad thing! It pays to work on ones placement shots and up shots. So with that out of the way, on to the review!

The course was very well maintained during the 3-4 times I have played there. Every hole has a concrete tee pad that are all in good shape, nothing crumbling. The course surrounds a very maintained tennis court complex, so the area has little to no trash to speak of, which is a very welcome sight compared to other courses. In addition the fairways are well groomed and the baskets are also in wonderful shape! Glad to see the course taken care of! Each time I was there, it really had a good vibe that made me feel safe and that I could bring a family here to have fun with no worries.

The course also flows well. Even going for the first time I had no issues finding the next tee with the exception of hole 6. It is at the top of a high hill behind 5's basket. There is also a dirt patch behind 5's basket which I assumed is where locals tee off to make the hole longer and a bit more difficult (rather than a putter downhill or thumber.

The elevation changes are really the only difficulty on this course. Holes 3-6 give anywhere between 10ft to 40ft of elevation changes. 3-5 you are throwing from just outside the tennis courts up hill into the woods, while for hole 6 you are on top of a hill throwing straight down to the basket. Hole 9 has a slight elevation elevation change, however it does shine by teaching the newer players how to throw a shot into a slanted hill as the basket is on the side of a hill a little above the fairway.





Cons: Even though the course "looks" very nice, there are also some items that the course is sorely lacking. First off there are no signs at all. Nothing where you tee off and no signs showing you to the next tee. Basic navigation tip is to stay close to the tennis courts. Hole 2 throws up to the courts, then #3 goes along the tennis courts throwing into the woods, then you come back out of the woods and the tee pad is up against the back of the tennis course. Repeat this trend for holes 4 and 5. The rest of the tees are easy to find, but again no signs or markers showing you where to go.

A lack of signs is not the only thing the course is lacking. There is very little design for the holes despite a decent area. It was like the designers wanted to make the course tricky, but then decided to hold back. I understand the course is for beginners, but there is just no difference in shot selection going from hole to hole. For a RHBH it is a short up the gut or slight hyzer putter holes 1 and 2. Then it is nothing but an uphill hyzer or straight hyzer for every single hole beside 8. You can still do a hyzer, but a flick or slight anhyzer that carries 200ft before stalling and flexing back. As a lefty, it is more of the same. Stay straight on 1-2, then a slight straight to anhyzer on 3 the hyzers on every other hole. I don't mind short courses if the design makes you come up with different lines or shot, but this course screams the same shot over and over.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to take the first timer and make them in awe of how easy you can make it look just by throwing simple hyzer shots. If you need to work on how to place your line for a hyzer, then go here and break in that new putter or mid range.

This course could be a lot better if there were signs showing where the next tee is. Again it is not too difficult, but for how well maintained the course is, it was a little baffling that signs were missed!

It might be too much to ask for, but having a couple holes with alternate baskets in different spots in the woods would really benefit the course. As I mention earlier, it felt like they were holding back and placing the baskets right as you enter the woods and not tucked away where you would have to think of different lines.

 Decent Casual Course

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: -Good place to take someone who's new to the game
-Pleasant walk through and around a park
-Decent concrete tee pads
-Good chance for an ace on every hole
Cons: -Too simple
-Very short. It seems like most holes are less than 200 feet
-Close to tennis courts and baseball fields, could possibly interfere with play
-Baskets are getting a little old, some are crooked.
Other Thoughts: Not terrible, but nothing special. All holes are very short, which can be fun if you're looking for an ace, but they present little to no challenge. I'd consider myself a below-average player and I still shot way under par. The main advantage of this course is that it's perfect for a quick round. I was able to finish in around 20 min. This would be a good place to take someone who's new to the game, or a good place to go if you need to work on some different shots/play a confidence booster round. However, I can't suggest going out of your way to play here. If you're in the area or live close, check it out, but otherwise there are lots of courses in the MPLS/STP metro area that are much more deserving of your time.

 Good for Beginners

5+    9/3/2011   1/11/2012
Review By: laxgoalie88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees, good baskets, great for families, good location, variety in landscape (lots of open tees but also plenty of trees and a nice hill on hole 6)
Cons: Can be pretty crowded during peak hours, litter everywhere, holes 5-7 are confusing if you've never played them before, only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is best for beginners, young children, and people who aren't that great at disc golf. This was the first course I played and I have enjoyed it very much. If you're looking for a course to test your skills, I would suggested a different one. There is a course map available, and I would bring it along. Getting from hole 5 to hole 6 is challenging the first time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: maeittreim
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really close to a few schools as well as a park for people to play in and enjoy as well. This course would be a great beginners course for someone trying out new discs or learning the game for the first time. It offers some shots into the woods, and 2 with elevation changes which gives someone the opportunity to experience some new shot types.
Cons: For someone who has played before you can almost drive right up next to the pin on every hole if you have a good drive, making it a less challenging course overall. Some tees are a little tricky due to signs being lost or stolen.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a quick play you can probably get through the entire course in 20 min. if not sooner if you are strapped on time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Course

5+    4/29/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: AliMagnetLocal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: A good beginner course, a quick play if you don't have much time.
Cons: It seems it was put in after the park was established. Many people come there for tennis and during the summer baseball games, marching band and track kids run through areas you play through. There aren't any decent holes for a good drive.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play if you want to warm up.

 Short but varied

1    7/16/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: kjtw55
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of shots, although they are all fairly short. A low tunnel shot, shots into and out of the woods, a nice downhill shot. Cement tee pads are nice and the blue baskets are easy to see. Layout is easy to follow and it is a very quick play.
Cons: This course seems almost like an afterthought as it winds around tennis courts and ballfields. Park can be pretty busy and bad shots will interrupt someone's tennis or softball game. I felt like I was in the way while playing the course.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is really nice with a good variety of shots. When the park is empty it's a fun and quick play. However it's too busy with the other traffic going on in the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short-n-easy

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course for working on your putting and midrange shots. Targets are nice and there are a few concrete tee pads. There are a few holes that help a person work on their precision shotmaking through tight windows.
Cons: Course is super short and I only use a mid-range and putter on this course.
Other Thoughts: They need to extend a few of the holes to 300+ feet so the average and above average players can warrant using a driver.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/11/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Fredodagov
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of trees and open holes. Short, but with some obstacles. Decent course for a quick afternoon round.
Cons: Traffic. Park is heavily used, with tennis courts and high traffic areas coming into play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.