Disc Golf Store
Eagan, MN 
Northfield Park Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #2
3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 2



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This course is so easy

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
Pros: - Nice tee pads
- Not totally in the open
- Was clean when I was there.
- Ace runs all over the place.
Cons: - I threw a putter off the tee for every single shot except for one, and that time it was because my putter wasn't overstable enough lol.
- Would have been nice to have some more signs out on the course.
- Erosion on 6 is bad.
Other Thoughts: Show up with only a putter and make bets with rec players?

Better Than Expected

1    7/20/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 344  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Pretty big tees for a smaller city park course. They were nice and grippy and aimed the right direction.
+Nice baskets. And they were blue!
+Some fun elevation changes on many holes. One big downhill ace run and a few faster greens on the last few holes.
+Lots of other stuff to do at the park and having the course here might get others into the game. At the same time, the course doesn't really get in the way of other activities and vice versa.
+The course has tee signs that are helpful enough.
+There were enough trees to make this course fun and make you hit your lines a bit without making it overwhelming or frustrating.
+Lots of ace runs here for many levels of players.
+This course is less busy than other courses in the area (lower rated but much less busy, worth it IMO)
+Lots of parking here.
+Easy to find first tee and easy to follow through the course. The 9th basket is close enough to the parking lot.
Cons: -Vandalism and litter are prevalent here. Some tags on some tee signs and lots of bottles and cans on the wooded holes. I don't think that there were any trash cans specific to the disc golf course.
-The course is overall pretty short and doesn't have a lot of variation in length. If you like to throw open bombers then this course isn't for you.
-The gap on 5 seemed to be slightly too tight. It is uphill and you can't see the basket and there are a few different gaps but they are all tight.
-I only knew how to find 6 because I was following some locals. It is up a little path to the top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: +This course is definitely worth a stop if you are in the area and want a shorter course that is a little technical with some ace runs.
+This course is similar but slightly less fun than other area courses in the 9 hole range. I had fun.
+They did a good job here with some marginal land around the edge of a city park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent break-in

5+    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: MNthrow
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are individual and don't seem to cookie cutter from each other.
Small elevation changes, with some going left and right, and straight.
Good tee pads.
Maintained fairways.
Good use of trees as obstacles on some hole and not on every single hole.
Beginner friendly!
Cons: SHORT!
Only 9 holes.
Many times you will have to skip holes because the other people at the multi use park will be sitting on your fairways and don't care if they are in the way or not.
No tees signs on all holes.
Other Thoughts: IT is a good park to go introduce someone to the sport, break in a new mid range/putter, practice pinpoint shots or a casual day with friends. No reason to bring out a big arm as the holes are all around 200 feet long.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Decent.

5+    10/7/2010   5/7/2012
Review By: Fuath
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Ace Run! Can not stress this enough.
2. Its a city park, so the fairways are always groomed.
3. Fast to play. Easy to get in a few rounds.
4. Variable terrain.
Cons: 1. Lots of trash.
2. Parking can be an issue during softball, little league and school hours.
3. Short
4. Hole 6 can be difficult to find.
5. on occasion there are little league parents sitting on the fairway of 7.
6. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Although there are far more cons than pros its a good course. It is kept up well as long as you do not care about trash. If your in the area and have time its worth hitting up. The best part is being able to go for chains on every hole. Great place to have an ace race with a few pals.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent enough course

5+    8/15/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free, nice chain baskets, good confidence boosting course, good course to work on new discs/techniques without fear of losing a disc or posting an awful score.
Cons: Too easy, can be busy at times with slow moving high schoolers, inconsistent signage, lots of littering, walking from your car when you park can a bit farther than you'd like if you go during school times (the course is right next to the high school and the parking lots are used by the kids).
Other Thoughts: Course really only for beginners, every basket is easily reachable from the tee. I used to think this course benefited lefty backhanders, but in reality there are easy lines for all types of throws and their corresponding natural hyzers, etc. There are multiple ace opportunities, especially on #6. Some holes have signs, most don't. It had seemed like every time I go there another sign is missing, currently there are only four (three are readable) left. Decent cement tee off locations. Worth checking out at least once, and a great place to bring someone to have them try out the sport for the first time. Helpful hint: It can get very windy here at times and the wind plays a big factor on the holes 6-9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Neighborhood Pitch & Putt!

1    7/1/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Eagan course sits in a small section of large rambling city park. There are many ballfields and soccer fields and open areas. it's just a really lovely park. The course itself is just a small pitch and putt that plays over in a corner of the park around the tennis courts and up against the park boundaries. This is really nice rolling, wooded terrain for a course. The course is definitly set up for the beginner/recreational player. Intermediate to advanced players need not apply unless you just want to work on your short game. The teepads are nice, large concrete ones with a feature I've not seen before but then again then is probably my first snow belt course. They are sloped on the sides for maximum rain/snow run-off. What a great idea! The baskets are older but serve this course perfectly well. There are a number of fun little ACE runs. My own personal favorite was # 6. It's just a little 150' touch shot to an open basket, pretty simple, just an ACE waiting to happen. Note on # 6 hole: The teepad due to space constraints lies sideways. Fairly unique!
Cons: The signs are missing for #'s 3, 4, 5 and 6. Darned punks! There is no place to show off your big arm on this course. Leave the driver at home.
Other Thoughts: This course is what it is; That is a decently fun little pitch and putt. It would be fun to be throwing on a busy summer night with all the ballfields in action. # 9 finishes right behind the left field fence. Try not to anhyser your drive (???) over the fence and into the playing field. You could probably get in three rounds in an hours time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

2-4    6/22/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Milk Man X
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some Interesting Hole Placements (In a clearing in the trees etc.)
-One hole has a rather large drop which is fun, but not long enough to really be able to let loose
Cons: -Tough parking situation, although there are two nearby lots which you can usually find a spot in
-Relatively nice people around the area as it is a frequently used park
Other Thoughts: -Very quick, not too busy even during what I would consider a high traffic time of day (7:00PM - 8:00)
-Good for a couple rounds in a row as it plays so quick
-If you somehow throw one on the softball field on #9 during play there is a spot in the middle of the center field fence where you can slip through to grab your disc

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Cute and diverse"

1    12/19/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees. Kindof surprising for a small little neighborhood park to have put so much into the tees. Breath of fresh air as I would prefer concrete everytime.

2) This could be a positive to a local or to a visitor that comes at the wrong time, but I think it is good for the sport. The course can actually be reserved for programming (clinics, beginner lessons, school programs). That is a great way to promote the sport while also allowing for the kids to be out there and not intimidated by Jerry Garcia or the older punk kids.

3) Wonderful use of some rolling terrain with elevation change on every single hole. There is only one dramatic elevation change, but enough on each hole you have to plan your technique beforehand. I really enjoy the thought process that it takes to modify your standard through just slightly. Not only does it have some nice terrain but it uses the wooded areas and sporatic trees to create some unique and still challenging holes.

4) From the photos on the course page and from everything I could see the course seems to be very well maintained. Keep in mind I played it with about 6 inches of snow so I cannot comment on the turf, use of mulch, and/or compaction areas (wear areas), but from everything I could tell it is well taken care of. The trees are all fairly healthy woodland trees and there is very little underbrush immediately in play. A couple spots might have some buckthorn or some wild rose, but they are generally removed from the in play areas.

5) Some challenging greens and basket locations. #2 has plenty of trees to knock you down outside normal putting range so if you can miss the trees you might birdie but if you hit any of them you are looking at one of those tough 40' putts. #3 is tucked back into a little wooded area with a 30' green free of obstruction. #4 is tucked amongst some evergreens and deciduous trees. Try and thread the needle on an anny or loft a big hyzer up there and hope it drops straight down. #8 is tucked halfway down about a 6 foot sidehill. The top of the hill is only 12 feet away but it is taller than the basket. I could imagine some interesting skip aces there! #9 has about 5 evergreen surrounding 3 sides of the basket. Go for it but leave it short is the safest birdie opportunity, but who does that we all go for the ace. If you do and overshoot or too much hyzer and the disc has about a 50-50 chance of being blocked by an evergreen. You could be 10 feet away and have NO putt at the basket. It is a short enough hole I am ok with this green setup, but on a longer hole I wouldnt agree with the proximity of the basket to those trees, because at that point it is more luck than skill.

6) Nice variety in shots required. 1) slight turnover. 2) hyzer or anhyzer route slightly uphill. 3) Straight out but up over crest of hill. 4) Uphiller with some trees in your way. 5) Big anny into woods. 6) Big downhiller (dont throw much more than a putter). 7) Straight out ace run with 10-12 foot dropoff past basket. Nice risk/reward on the ace run or probable 3. 8) Nice basket placement on sidehill. Interesting skipshot. 9)Nice hyzer into the trees and hope the disc finds a putting area!
Cons: 1) Vandalism appears to be a problem, I think 1, 3, and 4 tee signs were all tagged. Large black sharpie across the entire sign. Typical douchery.

2)Very short holes on average, I cannot downgrade this course much because it is still fun . . . it still provides some challenging shots . . . it is definitely designed as a beginner course or family course . . . and I still would have fun playing that course everyday. I would just have a lot more aces and a lot less birdies because if I don't hit the ace I may not make the comeback putt.

3) A couple of times the holes cross the sidewalks. One spot (#8) could be particularly dangerous if someone was coming from behind the tee on a bike or something. By the time you release you might be throwing right into their back. The tennis court is also in play (granted only for a really poor shot by a beginner) because the fence is not full height about 50' off the 3rd tee. It is only 3 1/2 feet tall so a disc could easily slip out of a beginners hnd with a lot of hyzer and go right into the next Anna Kournikova. Thats all this sport needs is a budding tennis start getting mamed by a "frisbee golfer".

4) Not a huge negative but when a tee is not visible from the previous basket I always recommend a simple next tee sign of some sort. #6 tee is located up a hill and down a path from the 5th basket. It would help in directing visitors. It is even harder in the snow when noone has played the course.

5) #5 seems to be a hole that stretches the limits. It is a massive anny but the angle that you need to hit the gap is almost unhittabble. I do not mind the fact that I could not make a 2 on that hole, I mind more that it is almost a guaranteed 3. Why make a hole that is virtually not duecable on occassion. My guess is that only a handful of people have made that perfect shot to get in close to the basket, and rarely do people birdie that hole. It just seems silly to make a short hole that virtually everyone takes a 3 on. Creativity is good, but I do think that you need to consider that virtually everyone will be taking a 3 on that hole. Again another spot where luck may be better than skill and I do not like that on the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this place, and whoever posted the info on the course info page said it well "short but cute". I laughed about that when i got to the course, I was imagining rinky dink ace runs all across the course. I don't feel this course is setup that way at all. Sure there may be 2 or 3 you absolutely gun for the ace, but there is some shot selection and execution are required. All in all I enjoyed myself . . . and although i doubt if I will be back (because it is a little far removed from the metro area), I had a good time there. I made a couple ace runs, but didn't execute. I made some birdies and I missed some I was so close to making.

Thank you city of Eagan.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.