Eagan, MN 
Northfield Park Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #1
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 1



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Nice Little Course

2-4    6/22/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Milk Man X
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some Interesting Hole Placements (In a clearing in the trees etc.)
-One hole has a rather large drop which is fun, but not long enough to really be able to let loose
Cons: -Tough parking situation, although there are two nearby lots which you can usually find a spot in
-Relatively nice people around the area as it is a frequently used park
Other Thoughts: -Very quick, not too busy even during what I would consider a high traffic time of day (7:00PM - 8:00)
-Good for a couple rounds in a row as it plays so quick
-If you somehow throw one on the softball field on #9 during play there is a spot in the middle of the center field fence where you can slip through to grab your disc

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Cute and diverse"

1    12/19/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees. Kindof surprising for a small little neighborhood park to have put so much into the tees. Breath of fresh air as I would prefer concrete everytime.

2) This could be a positive to a local or to a visitor that comes at the wrong time, but I think it is good for the sport. The course can actually be reserved for programming (clinics, beginner lessons, school programs). That is a great way to promote the sport while also allowing for the kids to be out there and not intimidated by Jerry Garcia or the older punk kids.

3) Wonderful use of some rolling terrain with elevation change on every single hole. There is only one dramatic elevation change, but enough on each hole you have to plan your technique beforehand. I really enjoy the thought process that it takes to modify your standard through just slightly. Not only does it have some nice terrain but it uses the wooded areas and sporatic trees to create some unique and still challenging holes.

4) From the photos on the course page and from everything I could see the course seems to be very well maintained. Keep in mind I played it with about 6 inches of snow so I cannot comment on the turf, use of mulch, and/or compaction areas (wear areas), but from everything I could tell it is well taken care of. The trees are all fairly healthy woodland trees and there is very little underbrush immediately in play. A couple spots might have some buckthorn or some wild rose, but they are generally removed from the in play areas.

5) Some challenging greens and basket locations. #2 has plenty of trees to knock you down outside normal putting range so if you can miss the trees you might birdie but if you hit any of them you are looking at one of those tough 40' putts. #3 is tucked back into a little wooded area with a 30' green free of obstruction. #4 is tucked amongst some evergreens and deciduous trees. Try and thread the needle on an anny or loft a big hyzer up there and hope it drops straight down. #8 is tucked halfway down about a 6 foot sidehill. The top of the hill is only 12 feet away but it is taller than the basket. I could imagine some interesting skip aces there! #9 has about 5 evergreen surrounding 3 sides of the basket. Go for it but leave it short is the safest birdie opportunity, but who does that we all go for the ace. If you do and overshoot or too much hyzer and the disc has about a 50-50 chance of being blocked by an evergreen. You could be 10 feet away and have NO putt at the basket. It is a short enough hole I am ok with this green setup, but on a longer hole I wouldnt agree with the proximity of the basket to those trees, because at that point it is more luck than skill.

6) Nice variety in shots required. 1) slight turnover. 2) hyzer or anhyzer route slightly uphill. 3) Straight out but up over crest of hill. 4) Uphiller with some trees in your way. 5) Big anny into woods. 6) Big downhiller (dont throw much more than a putter). 7) Straight out ace run with 10-12 foot dropoff past basket. Nice risk/reward on the ace run or probable 3. 8) Nice basket placement on sidehill. Interesting skipshot. 9)Nice hyzer into the trees and hope the disc finds a putting area!
Cons: 1) Vandalism appears to be a problem, I think 1, 3, and 4 tee signs were all tagged. Large black sharpie across the entire sign. Typical douchery.

2)Very short holes on average, I cannot downgrade this course much because it is still fun . . . it still provides some challenging shots . . . it is definitely designed as a beginner course or family course . . . and I still would have fun playing that course everyday. I would just have a lot more aces and a lot less birdies because if I don't hit the ace I may not make the comeback putt.

3) A couple of times the holes cross the sidewalks. One spot (#8) could be particularly dangerous if someone was coming from behind the tee on a bike or something. By the time you release you might be throwing right into their back. The tennis court is also in play (granted only for a really poor shot by a beginner) because the fence is not full height about 50' off the 3rd tee. It is only 3 1/2 feet tall so a disc could easily slip out of a beginners hnd with a lot of hyzer and go right into the next Anna Kournikova. Thats all this sport needs is a budding tennis start getting mamed by a "frisbee golfer".

4) Not a huge negative but when a tee is not visible from the previous basket I always recommend a simple next tee sign of some sort. #6 tee is located up a hill and down a path from the 5th basket. It would help in directing visitors. It is even harder in the snow when noone has played the course.

5) #5 seems to be a hole that stretches the limits. It is a massive anny but the angle that you need to hit the gap is almost unhittabble. I do not mind the fact that I could not make a 2 on that hole, I mind more that it is almost a guaranteed 3. Why make a hole that is virtually not duecable on occassion. My guess is that only a handful of people have made that perfect shot to get in close to the basket, and rarely do people birdie that hole. It just seems silly to make a short hole that virtually everyone takes a 3 on. Creativity is good, but I do think that you need to consider that virtually everyone will be taking a 3 on that hole. Again another spot where luck may be better than skill and I do not like that on the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this place, and whoever posted the info on the course info page said it well "short but cute". I laughed about that when i got to the course, I was imagining rinky dink ace runs all across the course. I don't feel this course is setup that way at all. Sure there may be 2 or 3 you absolutely gun for the ace, but there is some shot selection and execution are required. All in all I enjoyed myself . . . and although i doubt if I will be back (because it is a little far removed from the metro area), I had a good time there. I made a couple ace runs, but didn't execute. I made some birdies and I missed some I was so close to making.

Thank you city of Eagan.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 boring and awkward

1    7/6/2007   7/6/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ok for beginners.
Cons: Holes are very short. Not one hole is remarkable in any way. The worse thing is that the course is clearly an afterthought. This park is huge and is always filled with people playing softball/baseball and tennis. The disc golf course meanders randomly between the nooks and crannys that aren't being used for something else.
Other Thoughts: No reason for me to ever go back here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: maeittreim
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really close to a few schools as well as a park for people to play in and enjoy as well. This course would be a great beginners course for someone trying out new discs or learning the game for the first time. It offers some shots into the woods, and 2 with elevation changes which gives someone the opportunity to experience some new shot types.
Cons: For someone who has played before you can almost drive right up next to the pin on every hole if you have a good drive, making it a less challenging course overall. Some tees are a little tricky due to signs being lost or stolen.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a quick play you can probably get through the entire course in 20 min. if not sooner if you are strapped on time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Course

5+    4/29/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: AliMagnetLocal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: A good beginner course, a quick play if you don't have much time.
Cons: It seems it was put in after the park was established. Many people come there for tennis and during the summer baseball games, marching band and track kids run through areas you play through. There aren't any decent holes for a good drive.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play if you want to warm up.

 Short but varied

1    7/16/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: kjtw55
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of shots, although they are all fairly short. A low tunnel shot, shots into and out of the woods, a nice downhill shot. Cement tee pads are nice and the blue baskets are easy to see. Layout is easy to follow and it is a very quick play.
Cons: This course seems almost like an afterthought as it winds around tennis courts and ballfields. Park can be pretty busy and bad shots will interrupt someone's tennis or softball game. I felt like I was in the way while playing the course.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is really nice with a good variety of shots. When the park is empty it's a fun and quick play. However it's too busy with the other traffic going on in the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. There are a few shots that present a challenge to all players, but for the most part, it is a very easy course. I thought this course was one of the easiest in terms of finding the next hole.
Cons: Short holes mean you don't really need to bring your driver. There are a few too many holes out in the open where there are absolutely no obstacles.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short-n-easy

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course for working on your putting and midrange shots. Targets are nice and there are a few concrete tee pads. There are a few holes that help a person work on their precision shotmaking through tight windows.
Cons: Course is super short and I only use a mid-range and putter on this course.
Other Thoughts: They need to extend a few of the holes to 300+ feet so the average and above average players can warrant using a driver.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/11/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Fredodagov
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of trees and open holes. Short, but with some obstacles. Decent course for a quick afternoon round.
Cons: Traffic. Park is heavily used, with tennis courts and high traffic areas coming into play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Diverse

2-4    10/1/2007   8/13/2008
Review By: Luke@DiscTrips
Played: 316  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is refreshingly diverse for a neighborhood nine. Hole 1 is a tunnel shot, 2 is a big hyzer (RHBH) around trees, 4 is a sharply uphill anhyzer, and 5 is a big (relatively speaking) drive down a hill. You have variations in distance, great use of trees, and a low-population area that hugs a community park. Kudos to the designer for a balance of layout usually found on strong 18s.
Cons: While the holes are diverse, they lose a few points for being too score-consistent. I'm going to throw the same shot on each one, and end up with a 3 about 80% of the time.
Other Thoughts: A perfect place to kill time if you're waiting to pick up a delayed traveler from the nearby Minneapolis/St. Paul airport, just minutes away!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.