Eagan, MN 
Northview Park Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #6
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 6

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Too much of the same

2-4    8/15/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: LeftyHukin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: As I have stated in my other reviews, I hold all course to the same standards. Reviewing how the course flows, how well it is maintained, how difficult based on design/use of space, creativity of different shot lines and if it does its job for the target audience.

Northview park was designed for the casual disc golfer and beginners, so please leave everything but a putter/mid range at home. Not a bad thing! It pays to work on ones placement shots and up shots. So with that out of the way, on to the review!

The course was very well maintained during the 3-4 times I have played there. Every hole has a concrete tee pad that are all in good shape, nothing crumbling. The course surrounds a very maintained tennis court complex, so the area has little to no trash to speak of, which is a very welcome sight compared to other courses. In addition the fairways are well groomed and the baskets are also in wonderful shape! Glad to see the course taken care of! Each time I was there, it really had a good vibe that made me feel safe and that I could bring a family here to have fun with no worries.

The course also flows well. Even going for the first time I had no issues finding the next tee with the exception of hole 6. It is at the top of a high hill behind 5's basket. There is also a dirt patch behind 5's basket which I assumed is where locals tee off to make the hole longer and a bit more difficult (rather than a putter downhill or thumber.

The elevation changes are really the only difficulty on this course. Holes 3-6 give anywhere between 10ft to 40ft of elevation changes. 3-5 you are throwing from just outside the tennis courts up hill into the woods, while for hole 6 you are on top of a hill throwing straight down to the basket. Hole 9 has a slight elevation elevation change, however it does shine by teaching the newer players how to throw a shot into a slanted hill as the basket is on the side of a hill a little above the fairway.

Cons: Even though the course "looks" very nice, there are also some items that the course is sorely lacking. First off there are no signs at all. Nothing where you tee off and no signs showing you to the next tee. Basic navigation tip is to stay close to the tennis courts. Hole 2 throws up to the courts, then #3 goes along the tennis courts throwing into the woods, then you come back out of the woods and the tee pad is up against the back of the tennis course. Repeat this trend for holes 4 and 5. The rest of the tees are easy to find, but again no signs or markers showing you where to go.

A lack of signs is not the only thing the course is lacking. There is very little design for the holes despite a decent area. It was like the designers wanted to make the course tricky, but then decided to hold back. I understand the course is for beginners, but there is just no difference in shot selection going from hole to hole. For a RHBH it is a short up the gut or slight hyzer putter holes 1 and 2. Then it is nothing but an uphill hyzer or straight hyzer for every single hole beside 8. You can still do a hyzer, but a flick or slight anhyzer that carries 200ft before stalling and flexing back. As a lefty, it is more of the same. Stay straight on 1-2, then a slight straight to anhyzer on 3 the hyzers on every other hole. I don't mind short courses if the design makes you come up with different lines or shot, but this course screams the same shot over and over.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to take the first timer and make them in awe of how easy you can make it look just by throwing simple hyzer shots. If you need to work on how to place your line for a hyzer, then go here and break in that new putter or mid range.

This course could be a lot better if there were signs showing where the next tee is. Again it is not too difficult, but for how well maintained the course is, it was a little baffling that signs were missed!

It might be too much to ask for, but having a couple holes with alternate baskets in different spots in the woods would really benefit the course. As I mention earlier, it felt like they were holding back and placing the baskets right as you enter the woods and not tucked away where you would have to think of different lines.

Easy South Metro Course

5+    5/8/2015   5/9/2015
Review By: stinkins
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
Pros: Great for beginners
Concrete tee pads on every hole
Baskets and course are well-maintained
Challenging elevation changes on holes 3-6
Cons: Easy for seasoned players
Not a lot of distance changes between holes

This course is so easy

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
Pros: - Nice tee pads
- Not totally in the open
- Was clean when I was there.
- Ace runs all over the place.
Cons: - I threw a putter off the tee for every single shot except for one, and that time it was because my putter wasn't overstable enough lol.
- Would have been nice to have some more signs out on the course.
- Erosion on 6 is bad.
Other Thoughts: Show up with only a putter and make bets with rec players?

Better Than Expected

1    7/20/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Pretty big tees for a smaller city park course. They were nice and grippy and aimed the right direction.
+Nice baskets. And they were blue!
+Some fun elevation changes on many holes. One big downhill ace run and a few faster greens on the last few holes.
+Lots of other stuff to do at the park and having the course here might get others into the game. At the same time, the course doesn't really get in the way of other activities and vice versa.
+The course has tee signs that are helpful enough.
+There were enough trees to make this course fun and make you hit your lines a bit without making it overwhelming or frustrating.
+Lots of ace runs here for many levels of players.
+This course is less busy than other courses in the area (lower rated but much less busy, worth it IMO)
+Lots of parking here.
+Easy to find first tee and easy to follow through the course. The 9th basket is close enough to the parking lot.
Cons: -Vandalism and litter are prevalent here. Some tags on some tee signs and lots of bottles and cans on the wooded holes. I don't think that there were any trash cans specific to the disc golf course.
-The course is overall pretty short and doesn't have a lot of variation in length. If you like to throw open bombers then this course isn't for you.
-The gap on 5 seemed to be slightly too tight. It is uphill and you can't see the basket and there are a few different gaps but they are all tight.
-I only knew how to find 6 because I was following some locals. It is up a little path to the top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: +This course is definitely worth a stop if you are in the area and want a shorter course that is a little technical with some ace runs.
+This course is similar but slightly less fun than other area courses in the 9 hole range. I had fun.
+They did a good job here with some marginal land around the edge of a city park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Casual Course

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: -Good place to take someone who's new to the game
-Pleasant walk through and around a park
-Decent concrete tee pads
-Good chance for an ace on every hole
Cons: -Too simple
-Very short. It seems like most holes are less than 200 feet
-Close to tennis courts and baseball fields, could possibly interfere with play
-Baskets are getting a little old, some are crooked.
Other Thoughts: Not terrible, but nothing special. All holes are very short, which can be fun if you're looking for an ace, but they present little to no challenge. I'd consider myself a below-average player and I still shot way under par. The main advantage of this course is that it's perfect for a quick round. I was able to finish in around 20 min. This would be a good place to take someone who's new to the game, or a good place to go if you need to work on some different shots/play a confidence booster round. However, I can't suggest going out of your way to play here. If you're in the area or live close, check it out, but otherwise there are lots of courses in the MPLS/STP metro area that are much more deserving of your time.

 ace runs!

5+    5/14/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is an ace run. My girlfriend brought me here because her house is super close and I wanted a round in before it got dark. You can fly threw a round in 20 minutes. Every hole is ace-able. There fun 200 footers. Not much difficulty. Perfect for putters and mids. No need to bring a driver at all. A few baskets are blocked by trees. Some uphill shots from the teepad. The hole where you throw from on top of the hill, the teepad is sideways, but good thing you dont need a run up because its a 30 foot ish drop down, and the distance is only 150 ish so you barely need to put any mustard behind your toss.
Cons: By the schools. Passing students. The sideways teepad previously mentioned. Football equipment by one of the holes that your disc could get stuck under. Students play during the day for their class, so they fills up the course. No shots over 250. Sidewalk very close to a few holes. Tennis courts right next to a few holes, could hit them with a disc or they could potentially hit you with a ball.
Other Thoughts: The locals tee off on spots they made calling them "pro tees" that are longer so it makes the course a little more challenging by adding distance to the mix. Fun warm up round, or just ace runs. Bring your mids and putter and youll have a blast. Its more of a casual course rather than taking it seriously.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short 9

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: blowil
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great tee pads
good hole placement
good mix of right and left holes
nice elevation changes
perfect for beginners
perfect for anyone trying to learn putter control
Cons: short, wish there were a few more holes.
Other Thoughts: easy course that dosent take long to play perfect for learning to control your putter.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent break-in

5+    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: MNthrow
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are individual and don't seem to cookie cutter from each other.
Small elevation changes, with some going left and right, and straight.
Good tee pads.
Maintained fairways.
Good use of trees as obstacles on some hole and not on every single hole.
Beginner friendly!
Cons: SHORT!
Only 9 holes.
Many times you will have to skip holes because the other people at the multi use park will be sitting on your fairways and don't care if they are in the way or not.
No tees signs on all holes.
Other Thoughts: IT is a good park to go introduce someone to the sport, break in a new mid range/putter, practice pinpoint shots or a casual day with friends. No reason to bring out a big arm as the holes are all around 200 feet long.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Decent.

5+    10/7/2010   5/7/2012
Review By: Fuath
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Ace Run! Can not stress this enough.
2. Its a city park, so the fairways are always groomed.
3. Fast to play. Easy to get in a few rounds.
4. Variable terrain.
Cons: 1. Lots of trash.
2. Parking can be an issue during softball, little league and school hours.
3. Short
4. Hole 6 can be difficult to find.
5. on occasion there are little league parents sitting on the fairway of 7.
6. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Although there are far more cons than pros its a good course. It is kept up well as long as you do not care about trash. If your in the area and have time its worth hitting up. The best part is being able to go for chains on every hole. Great place to have an ace race with a few pals.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Beginners

5+    9/3/2011   1/11/2012
Review By: laxgoalie88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees, good baskets, great for families, good location, variety in landscape (lots of open tees but also plenty of trees and a nice hill on hole 6)
Cons: Can be pretty crowded during peak hours, litter everywhere, holes 5-7 are confusing if you've never played them before, only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is best for beginners, young children, and people who aren't that great at disc golf. This was the first course I played and I have enjoyed it very much. If you're looking for a course to test your skills, I would suggested a different one. There is a course map available, and I would bring it along. Getting from hole 5 to hole 6 is challenging the first time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.