Cloverdale, CA 
Cloverdale-KOA Campground Share
Uploaded By: axelator Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Turn Out The Lights, The Party's Over!

1    8/17/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It could be a decent piece of terrain for a course. There are five baskets with plastic chains. The KOA people were once willing to offer disc golf.
Cons: The grass is currently higher than waist high. The KOA brass are concerned with snakes. One of the baskets has been overran with blackberries.

They are at the present time not allowing anyone to venture out onto the high grass tundra to locate the baskets. They have effectively shut down the course.
Other Thoughts: Using all my my years of disc golf course bagging skills, I managed to infiltrate the reportedly shut down course and attempt a round. The good news is, I escaped without being eaten or bitten by any snakes hidden in the tall grass. The bad news is, in it's present condition, this course is not a course, it's not even a practice area. It's a abomination and should be drowned!

The lady at the office said they have had no interest in the last five years and offered me the chance to come in and play some miniature golf. I politely declined her offer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Cloverdale KOA

1    1/24/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 5 baskets. Nice views. On a hilltop so there is decent elevation change depending on what layout you decide to play. At a very nice campground with lots of amenities and great scenery all around. Lots of wildlife around too; I saw a bobcat and some deer the day I was there. The owners seem like they are willing and ready to redevelop the existing course and possibly add another course through a nature trail area with terrain that could make for a great course.
Cons: Mach 1 baskets with one set of plastic chains that do not catch very well at all. One basket has a huge nasty blackberry bush growing up and through the basket, making it virtually unusable. Completely open boring hilltop with tall grass and weeds everywhere. Very easy to lose a disc, even if you keep a good eye on it. No manicuring at all on the course. Only one small post with the number 4 on it near the blackberry infested basket. No other signs on the course. No tees or designated layout.
Other Thoughts: This really isn't even a course. At best it is a practice area. I spent more time trying to find my discs than I did actually playing. Don't go out of your way to play it; it's a joke. On a lighter note, the owners know that the course is sad and the people working there when I played were very friendly and asked me for suggestions on how to improve the course. They said that they have had increased interest in the course and will be making some changes. They also mentioned potentially adding a new course in a much better area. I wasn't able to talk to the owner face to face when I was there, but I did receive an email from her where she stated this:
"Morning Riley -sorry to have missed seeing you. Our experience with the subject has been disappointing to say the least. But the last year or two interest has really increased and I am more than willing to invest further on an obstacle course down below the hill and perhaps a beginners too. Your suggestions would be most welcome and do return as my guest when you can."
So it sounds like they're ready to put in the effort and potentially turn this place around. If anyone with experience with course design and development gets a chance to make it to Cloverdale please email the owners ahead of time and I'm sure they will let you stay there for free for a little advice. It would be nice to see the original course area cleaned up and a beginner 9 put in, then an obstacle course through the nature trail area. If that goes well, I could see them adding baskets to that area as well. There's potential for a great course on the property.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wildly disappointing

1    9/29/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
There are baskets
The view is nice
There are restrooms
Cons:
These are the plastic chain baskets
No tees
No signage
"Course" is in terrible shape
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Skip it

Random Thoughts:
Wow, up to now I can't say I've ever walked out on a course, took a look around and then left. Now I can. This "course" is an afterthought at best. It's basically a big field where someone randomly stuck a few cheap baskets up. There's no thought to layout and no challenges unless you have trouble throwing completely wide open shots. This might just barely be forgivable except the field is completely overgrown. The grass is 4' high, dead, and just waiting to cover you in all sorts of stickerbush fun. It's not even worth the hassle to get some practice throws in, and the sad thing is (yes, there's an additional sad thing) there is a lot of space for a nice course here. There are some beautiful views, woodsy areas, and even a small lake. But where do they put the baskets? In the big boring empty field. I don't get it.

Bottom Line:
Skip it. Skip it. Skip it. This course almost got my first zero but maybe just maybe someone will be inspired to at least mow the grass and then it'll at least be playable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course Still There, Barely

2-4    11/10/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: axelator
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Yellow plastic chains instead of metal on the baskets makes you pay more attention to your putting.

+ Awesome views of vineyard covered hills in wine country!

+ Lots of different bugs and wildlife hanging around. White ladybugs and giant bunny rabbits give the course a whimsical experience.
Cons: - The course is defunct, and is not maintained at all, kinda sad.

- Basket 6 has been removed.
Other Thoughts: Upgraded my review rating to 1.5/passable after plotting a playable 9 hole course, see the Google Map under the course links tab.

The view alone makes this place worth the trip, being a 15 minute drive from 101 in the off season (a direct route via Asti road is open during the summer only).

This would be a good stop-over on a disc golf road trip, if you were playing up or down Northern California and needed a place to chill and practice putt while you rest your arm a few days. The KOA has some of the most affordable nightly rates on tent camping in the region, too!

Due to lack of interest, I was told today, they are going to remove the baskets and stop offering disc golf. So, maybe call before you head over to make sure the course is still there!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bad deal

9/18/2007   11/18/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: None
Cons: No thought, old pins.
Other Thoughts: They are going to remove the pins anyway.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.