Dublin, VA 
Randolph Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 335ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth A Trip

5+    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: TATCCITW
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Hole Variety. Holes that go left, holes that go right. Long and short. Woods and open. Even a hole that start in the open and you must go through an entrance to end deep in the woods. You'll have a bunch of different looks.

2. Very clean underneath. The wooded holes do not have a lot of underbrush so you can have a variety of approach shots on most holes.

3. The open holes have small obstacles. Too many course just have no challenge in their open holes. This course did a good job of making ending some of the open holes with a few trees around the basket or a gap to throw around. They are still wide open shots but make you think a little around the basket.

3. Nice park layout if you're looking for a good way to spend a day with the family. If you're interested in taking the kids to a pool, or playing some hoops, Randolph park is a great place to go with a variety of activities for the whole family.
Cons: 1. Tee signs are missing. Hole length can be hard to determine for first time course players. I think there is a map available at the clubhouse by the pool so be sure to check that out if you have not played Randolph yet.

2. The open holes are all very open. I like a little challenge from the tee personally and find little challenge off of most the open holes on this course. Unless you are severely left of right off the tee you don't run into much challenge.

3. Another personal preference of mine is elevation change. The course is very flat. I know there is not a lot of elevation change on this course, but I do feel that a little more could have been placed to increase the challenge and make some uphill and downhill shots.
Other Thoughts: If I lived a little closer I would play this course more often than the once a month I make it out there. It provides enough variety to keep throwing new things at you and has a good amount of risk reward holes. Rounds play quick, have not lost a disc out here yet and rarely am searching (except in the fall when the leaves do their thing). Worth the trip if you're in southwest Virginia.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Course

5+    9/10/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Chris Carpenter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Awesome variety of open and wooded holes
+Long and Short holes
+Nicely kept paths
+Maps available near first tee
+Red, White, and Blue tees
+Several paths have been cleared into brush-heavy areas to make disc hunting easier/more successful
Cons: -The break between hole 10 and hole 11 is quite a walk and could be hard to navigate without a map
-Some of the course signs have been unearthed and tossed by brutes or cavemen (sasquatch also a suspect)
-Poison ivy can get you here, pants or long socks advised.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course a lot and you should too. Good variety makes for an interesting 18 with several ace opportunities if you're at that level.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

neat course and drop the family at the impressive water park

1    7/25/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: maps available at the waterpark
mix of woods and open space
had a nice group of locals to play with
close to freeway
Cons: could use a little more up keep and love
needs more risk/ reward
some more markings could help otherwise you need the map

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Moments of Greatness

2-4    8/1/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Multiple Tees. Every hole at Randolph Park has three sets of tees (Red, White, Blue) allowing the user to determine the course they want to play. I found the Whites to be the most "finished" set of tees in terms of construction of the tee-pads… while the Blues and Reds were there to be used, but not as "finished".
- Open / Wooded. The Front-9 at Dublin played through an extremely wooded section of the park, while the Back-9 played primarily through a wide open section of the park. All the wooded holes fairways were completely fair, and the open holes were designed in such a way that they were not boring. Actually, the open holes used some drainage basins quite well to tighten up some otherwise wide-open shots (if played as OB).
- Long Stuff. There were some long holes on the Back-9… 700'er… 900'er… etc… I love having to play GOLF where you're required to throw to an optimal landing zone in order to have a successful attempt at the next shot. And, with wide open skies, you really get to air it out and watch the disc fly.
Cons:
- Trashed. LITTERally. Parts of the course were trashed - LITTERally. My buddy and I would pick up all the trash we could find on each Hole and deliver it to the next tee-pad (as there were no trashcans in the woods, and there was no way we could carry it all out). Hopefully, our recentralization of the litter at each tee-pad convinces some local to go for a round with a trash bag and finish the job.
- Long Walks. There are some amazingly long walks out there. One that has to be almost a ¼ mile between Hole 10 and 11… and then an 1/8 mile walk between Holes 12 and 13… and then another long walk to 16. Luckily, I had seen the baskets on that side of the park on my way into the course and knew I would have to walk in that direction.
- Ends Weak. For a course with so many great shots, I feel that it ends weak… as if they were just trying to get back to the car. Several of the Holes on the course are "Championship" quality Holes… and then Holes 17 and 18 are just there. I hate when courses do that.
Other Thoughts:
- Convenient. Randolph Park is located right off the I-81 and is extremely close to gas, food, and other stores. It's an ideal road-trip course to grab if driving down the I-81.
- Overall. I thought Randolph Park had some great golf to be played. I've played it from the Whites and Blues and had a blast on both, but preferred the Whites. The Blues are definitely designed for the Pro-level golfer in mind, providing very few bridie opportunities (except for the longest of arms), while the Whites are designed more like a standard disc golf course in terms of length and difficulty. The trash, long walks and natural tee-pads definitely take away from the course in terms of rating, but the course is still fun and has some championship level golf to be played.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Saturday in Dublin, VA

1    9/12/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: jackrbailey72
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I REALLY liked the mix of wooded and open holes. Even with the wide-open fields, you needed to shot shape. The signage was outstanding with a couple of exceptions (#6 and some directional signage), and that was great. Another nice touch was the QUALITY of the signs, course markers, and even the scorecard/course map...very accurate and helpful. Another PRO is the maintenance and upkeep of the park and course. Good job to those folks in Dublin.
The online docs were great (as stated above), but headed to the #1, there were also copies available...that shows upkeep and pride...good job parks and rec, as well as the local club.
Cons: Hole #6...I hated this hole from beginning to end. It goes against the entire personality of this course. There is NO WAY in (guess the insert here) that you can even get close, much less lucky. Come on guys...re-think this one...it has potential.
Hole #13...just because you have 900' to play with does not mean you have to use it. Don't get me wrong, it was a fun hole, but realistically, this was another hole that was out of the personality mold.
Final CON...PLEASE erect some signage showing directions to the holes..I had good info on 11 and 12, but 15 was a mystery...couple of good arrows...
Other Thoughts: This was a CHALLENGING course and had a lot to offer ANY level of player. The wooded holes were relentless if you missed your line and I like that risk/reward element. The open field holes were cool, too. I would HIGHLY suggest sneaking holes in between 12 and 13...that is a perfect little line to put a sneaky little basket tucked away...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Both Worlds

2-4    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Vicarious
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers the best things for people who like wooded courses as well as open courses. I found that this course favors the strong arm because once you get through hole nine, it gets very spacious. Hole 12 rounds 899 feet which can be a bit of a trouble for a player who prefers par 3's and 4's. The park is very well maintained and very scenic.
Cons: The signs need to be replaced because some have been broken and some don't list the par. Also I think one of them was facing backwards. It can be quite easy to lose a disc if the retaining ponds were full and if you don't watch where your disc lands while in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes were 9, 15 and 18. 9 is the last of the first set of wooded holes, i like this one because i nearly have aced it twice. 15 is a good straight open shot with a row of trees running parallel along the fairway.and finally 18 is a favorite because the pin is located on a mound of dirt that can be challenging for a longer putt.


Least favorite hole has to be 6 because there was no sign telling how the hole is layed-out and you have no idea what par it is. The hole makes a dog leg right and becomes a bit too difficult.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.