Dublin, VA 
Randolph Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Yank it Right Hole #16
4 / 560ft.   4 / 590ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Variety

5+    1/2/2014   10/4/2013
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 47  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2014
Pros: - Good mix of holes, about 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open, left turns vs. right turns, long vs. short, etc.
- Located in a very nice park with athletic fields, pavilions, swimming pool, and restroom facilities
- The wooded fairways and paths between holes are well-maintained and free of debris. There also isn't much undergrowth in the woods, so if you get off the fairway you can still recover.
- The baskets are well-placed, even on the wide open holes the basket locations offer some risk/reward shots.
Cons: - Tee signs are a little lacking and missing on several holes.
- Several of the tee boxes are uneven, especially on the open holes.
- There are some long walks between holes (10 to 11, 12 to 13) due to the park layout as it plays around a roadway & baseball/football fields. If you're new to the course make sure you bring a map, it can be hard to navigate between these holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very solid course. It provides a great variety of holes for both big-armed players as well as those who prefer tighter, wooded courses. No two holes are the same, and there aren't really any "filler" holes. Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area. Favorite holes are 6, 14 and 16.

Long holes

5+    5/5/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Signs show distance and par
2. A few holes Tests how far you can throw
3. Forces you throw sidearm as well as backhand
4. Course is never crowded
5. Neat elevation changes
6. Great mixture of wooded and open holes
7. Fun obstacles on the open holes
8. Pars all seem really fair
Cons: 1. Buggy
2. Some fairways could be cleared better
3. Undergrowth is minimal but still there in some places
4. Only one trashcan and litter is heavy
Other Thoughts: This is really a nice park and a nice course. If you can throw far and accurate you'll do great. This course will really test your abilities in the wooded areas. This is one of my favorite courses to play just because it really tests my arm. Would recommend to anyone.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Represent! Randolph!

1    2/17/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Yellow banded discatchers are certainly appreciated on this course, but mostly on the wooded holes. It makes the baskets so much easier to find in most of the year (except maybe in full color of the fall).

2) Simple laminated tee-signs have Hole #, Distance, sponsors, next tee locations, and an OK map. The map is basically just a line showing the routes available, but no trees or specific obstacles are really indicated.

3) There are 3 tees on some holes. I found Red, White, and Blue tees marked by 4x4's in the ground. I played the white tees because that seemed most suitable for my abilities, but I love that you can go out there and play a couple different courses by playing different tees.

4) There are some directionals that help with your navigation of the course and I always appreciate it when courses do that because I travel a lot and only get one impression of the course.

5) On the wooded holes the fallen leaves create a really nice cover for what I would assume would just be mud.

6) Excellent variety in hole distances. There are holes in the 100's, 200's, 300's, 400's, 500's, and even 1 in the 800' range. This is such a great feature in this courses design that really makes it a well designed course. You will have so many different shots and discs needed to execute those shots.

7) There just aren't any completely weak holes out here if you ask me. They all bring in some sort of challenge and obstacles or terrain to make them unique. The two holes that would seem to be weak would be 11 and 12 but they use the retention area well to create an interesting throw. Plus on #11 they perch the basket just a little bit above the massive slope down to the retention area so there is some real risk/reward in gunning right at the basket.

8) I like the slightly elevated basket (up on a mound) to finish the round. I like that when it might matter most (on hole #18) you have to concentrate harder to make your putt.

9) This is as close to a "championship" type course as I have seen in a while. The distance, the tight woods, the risk/reward, and the true variety of every shot and every hole make this a great place to test people's overall disc golf skills. It has every test out here and will bring the best disc golfers to the top.
Cons: 1) Gravel tees are always better than dirt, but not as good as concrete. I prefer a surface that is just a little bit more consistent.

2) There is a walk path through a lot of the course where interaction with walkers and other park users might happen frequently. I avoided any issue, but at certain times I could image this might make playing this course difficult or at the very least frustrating.

3) No garbage cans that I remember seeing and some tee-signs are missing.

4) The walk between #10 and #11 is about mile and there is no sign directing you to where the next tee is located. The rung painted on the tray of the basket is not enough help to find that tee.

5) I noticed some barbed wire along #6. Sure there is a way around the barbed wire but it is awfully close to the fairway and in the area where the fairway bends and could easily see a lot of foot traffic in the area.

6) One thing I would have done possibly rather than running 1-9 (9 of the tight wooded holes) altogether would be to leave a couple more wooded holes at the end of the course and a few at the beginning so you don't get bored throwing all the wooded holes in a row. I like the variety to be continuous, and the routing looks like this would have been able to accomplish, where basically there would be 6 holes wooded to start, 6 holes in the open and longer holes, and then finishing with 6 more holes in the woods. It's a little nitpicky, but if it could have been done that way I would have routed the course in that manner.

7) I wouldn't say this course is beginner friendly because the tight wooded holes are pretty tight and even some longer ones thrown in there, then the open holes are pretty long making them frustrating to beginners too. I personally like the course the way it is but this could be a negative to many people.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course with an interesting layout. The first 9 holes and 2 of the back 9 are set on an area of the park that is fairly dense woods. There are all sorts of different shots through the woods and they designed an excellent course. Then on holes 10-16 they use a more open park-like piece of the property but there are some interesting features used to make these holes fun also. There are what look to be 3 different rainwater retention areas that help to create some interesting throws and basket locations. This is also where the course gets really spread out in terms of opening up your arm to a full power throw.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced course

5+    8/10/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: gerp
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - this type of course is what comes to mind when you think of a balanced course. Front 9 in the woods, back 9 in the clear, a decent amount of elevation on some holes

- the distance (both throws and total walking) is a good amount. This course will take you 2 hours to play through

- the course is located in a well maintained county park. Nicely maintained for the most part. The course is wooded, but not overly so.
Cons: - you need to consult a map the first time you play, the hole locations are not exactly intuitive. The front 9 in the woods wind a little. Look out for between hole 10 and 11, it's not easy to find.

- white tees are clearly visible, it's hard to find the blues or reds on most.

- there are no par markings on the holes. Print a score card. we always just score as a par 3 course then subtract off 6 at the end. You should be able to tell where the 4 and 5's are.
Other Thoughts: The park is relatively busy on most afternoons/evenings, but it seems the holes are far enough out of the way there isn't much interference. There are walking paths that wind through the front 9, but there are rarely people in the way.

The woods are not too dense (except for leaves in the fall), lost disks should not be a terrible problem.

There are some fences in some places. Look out for the electric fence to the left of 16.

Pads are natural, some filled with stone. Obviously would be nice to have real pads, but you can't complain too much.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/2/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great balance of open and wooded holes.
- Course will test both your distance and accuracy.
- Park has a great pool open to the public. Jump in after your round to cool off during the summer months.
Cons: - Course doesn't flow extremely well. A course map is very helpful for first-time navigation.
- The park has many other amenities that make it congested during summer months. However this doesn't interfere with most holes.
- Tee signs don't list pars. Just be sure to print a scorecard from DGCR.
Other Thoughts: - For a full day of disc golf, play Randolph Park and then drive over to the Golden Hills course in Christiansburg and enjoy the full New River Valley 36!

Score Breakdown:
Variety:4 Balance:5 Strategy:3 Character:3 Fun:4 Avg: 3.8

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    5/19/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Diversity of course
signage
upkeep of course
facilities around course
Cons: lack of risk reward on most shots
not too many elevation changes
long walk between a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: My wife and I played this course on vacation and loved it. There are a lot of diverse holes from one to the next that can make you have to play a variety of shots. Would highly recomend this one to anybody.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course

2-4    11/13/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to get to as it's literally 2 minutes off Interstate 81. Great setting and facilities, variety of hole styles and lengths, scorecards and map at kiosk, open holes are really great for ripping it and great scenery of the mountains. Well marked football field on walk between holes 12 and 13 allows you to measure your drives.
Cons: Not a ton of elevation change, but if you want that just head over to Golden Hills (30min drive away). Leaves in fall can lead to lost disks, would be nice to see tee pads as this course is of the caliber to deserve them.
Other Thoughts: Loved playing this course, definitely recommended!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Homer Review

5+    11/2/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park setting is top notch. Various different types of holes and shots. Holes 10-16 are a great stretch of holes using natural land features as obstacles. The front 9 is technical and wooded. Gorgeous park with pool, bathrooms, water, pavilions(rental is really cheap), food in the summer. Hole 14 is one of the prettiest holes and a lot of locals favorites.
Cons: A couple long walks to avoid some existing park features (soccer/football field, road/barbwire fence). Favorite hole #16 first two-thirds in open to a landing zone, then 220 or so through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Challenging course for all skill levels. Virtually no briers on the course. Natural Tee pads in the field Stone tee pads in the woods are done. Blue Tees are in and all have stone pads in the woods Natural in the field. Installed new teepads and raked/tamped teepads. Changes to a few holes should be done by June. New course Signage to be installed by June.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.