Dublin, VA 
Randolph Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Yank it Right Hole #9
3 / 216ft.   3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Randolph Park

1    5/15/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 203  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Randolph Park is an enjoyable 18-hole layout. It's a tale of two designs with the front nine exclusively in the woods while the back nine spreads out across the across the remainder of the park.
- Very solid and fun hole layouts. Layouts range from tight, wooded ace runs to long, open, bomber holes. The first nine holes, despite all being wooded and with many of similar length, do offer different looks, preventing a feeling of repetitiveness.
- Course follows the tried-and-true method of starting with a series of easier, warm-up holes leading to longer and more challenging holes throughout. That is until you get to #17 & 18, which seem out of place. The front nine is easier, so you'll want to be aggressive early to get your birdies.
- Great course for beginners, casual players and the like. With the front 9 being much easier, it's a great way to build up one's confidence before giving said players a taste of a much more advanced level of disc golf. Or, you just skip the back 9 and let them work their way up to the longer holes.
- The wooded holes, for the most part, are a solid lot. #5 is a challenging, 210-foot hole that features a narrow fairway. This is the type of hole that many players could just as easily birdie as bogey depending on whether their shot is on- or offline by a matter of feet or inches. #7 is my favorite of the wooded holes. It's a split fairway, 335-foot hole that does allow multiple shots and creativity. It's not overly challenging. So even a decent tee shot should set you up for a simple up-and-down (or two-putt) for a 3.
- The back nine offers more variety in its hole offerings. My favorite hole on the course is #11. It's a 246 foot open shot that throws over a (believed to be) dried out pond/retention area. If you land short, you have a decently uphill shot to the basket that's close to the edge of the drop-off. It's not an overly challenging hole, but it's a very enjoyable hole for watching your tee shot as it sails to the basket. (Note: you can see the basket and drop-off in front of the basket in the background of the picture for hole #12.)
- Hole #14 also offers a cool layout, even if it's also not the most difficult of holes. On this 445 foot hole, the basket is protected on two sides by narrow trenches filled with rocks. It's part of the water runoff drainage system towards a retaining pond area (separate from the one I mentioned for hole #11). I didn't see anything mentioning if the rocks are considered OB; but, if they are, that would add an element of difficulty to this hole.
Cons: The course has an odd flow to it. The front nine is compacted into a small portion of the woods in the back of the park that leads to a quick play. Contrast that to the back nine being spread out across the entire park. You have long walks from #10 to #11; #12 to 13; and #15 to 16. Most of the holes on the back 9 are good, so you understand why they're there. Just be prepared for the total contrast.
- There's a major inconsistency when it comes to tee signs and tee markers. Without a printed map, it would be very difficult to navigate this course for a first timer. That said, even with the map, my buddy and I had difficult times finding all the tee markers. #12, 17 & 18 were the ones we spent the most time searching for. Also, between the long walks and the numerous walking trails that weave throughout the wooded portion of the course, next tee signs would come in handy.
- I wasn't a fan of the final two holes on the course. They stuck out like a sore thumb. After playing probably the most challenging, and arguably best, hole on the course on #16, you finish your round with two relatively basic wooded holes. Why not squeeze in two other holes somewhere else on the course and eliminate these holes? You're already walking plenty on the back 9, so it doesn't matter if current #16 were the closing hole and you had a longer walk back to the parking lot.
- It would have been nice to have more special and/or challenging holes. For the most part, there are a lot of holes in the B to C+ range and almost nothing in the A-grade range. Notice even in the holes I mention I enjoyed I did have to preface them by noting they weren't that difficult, but had more of an enjoyment factor to them. This isn't something that impacts my rating, but it's worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: Randolph Park's disc golf course is enjoyable even if it's not flashy. Take away the drop-off of the last two holes, and I was liking what the course had to offer through the first 16.
- The park itself is great. It has a ton of amenities such as ball fields, tennis courts, running trails, playground and a great, big pool/water area. The waterpark is one of the bigger ones I have seen for a community park of this size.
- Advanced players will shot really low here, taking advantage of a relative lack of difficulty. There isn't a lot of risk/reward to this course, which may be part of the overall lack of great holes. Even on hole #6, a 448 foot, dogleg right wooded hole, it's a pretty simple design. I had two very average shots and still had a putt for a 3.
- Overall, my experience at Randolph was a positive one. I was expecting more to this course based on others reviews and ratings. It's not as good as its current rating merits, but it's still an above-average course. This is a pretty solid 3.0 in my book. Do like I did and play this course on your way to Mountain Lake.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, needs signs

1    5/14/2015   5/14/2015
Review By: ChainSmoker32
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a very nice with a lot of great holes. More advanced players wil, be able to utilize several different discs out of their bag. The course was well maintained and layer out well.
Cons: No signage or information so you don't know where the next tee is or what the par is.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Strokes of brilliance hidden by poor upkeep

1    11/15/2014   11/17/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 97  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot to offer if you know where to find it. (see complaints about navigation below)

To start, it combines a lot of wooded and open holes, but only 1 that mixes both. Front nine is technical, wooded and mostly short-medium in length. The long hole is a giant "U" so don't expect to be able to bomb one in here.

You'll probably use a fair amount of your bag on this course. You'll likely be throwing technical mids-putters on the front 9, and then you'll have some wide-open fields on the back to bomb some drivers.

All of the baskets were in really good shape. They were all top of the line Innova catchers, however a few had some rusted chains that may present problems in the future.

There are some REALLY cool shots out here. Namely holes 14 and 15. 14 has you throwing into several rock-lined drainage ditches, hoping you don't chip your plastic. 15 is probably my favorite shot on the course. Just a simple midrange tunnel shot (reminiscent of a hole at Winthrop) but the well manicured trees and park environment add to the beauty of it. Hole 16 is probably the other sweet shot as you'll be able to bomb one out near the opening of the woods and then throw a technical up-shot to finish it out. My advice; Don't give up on this course after hole 10. You really want to play holes 14-16, so pull your best Lewis and Clark and navigate to these if you can.
Cons: A consideration for future development, I would suggest some navigational signs. Perhaps only a product of the forest floor being covered in leaves, however I was unable to find the next tee in several instances. Compounding this confusion was the fact that the tees were natural, perhaps some with toe boards/frames, but nothing distinguishing them from the rest of the leaf-laden landscape.

Many of the tee signs no longer existed as they had been broken off of their pedestals. This only added to the confusion of finding the next hole. I distinctly remember being unable to find hole 17's tee. I used my best judgement based on the map provided online.

The navigation issues don't end in the woods either. Once you've played hole 10, unless you have a map on hand you'll have a tough time finding 11. An astute observer may have noticed baskets scattered in the fields on the right on the drive into the park. That's where holes 11-14 are, but there is quite the walk between several of these holes, with zero signage. You best bring a map!

There aren't many, if any at all, risky shots that you can be rewarded on. Zero water hazards, no major chance of OB. Your standard fare.

I couldn't tell if some of the park amenities (benches mainly) were for the course or for the walking trails. After seeing several benches pointing away from the tee pads, I assumed the latter. Thus, the park is lacking some of the typical stuff I'd like to see on a course. Navigation signs, benches, trash cans, non-natural pads, etc...
Other Thoughts: This course was a real treat to play. Honestly, holes 14-16 are what made it stand out to me, otherwise I probably wouldn't play it very often. Since I travel down I-81 fairly often, this will probably become one of my normal stops (along with Steele Creek in Bristol). The park is beautiful, the course is fun, you'll have some shots at aces and hopefully a good time. Plenty of food and other things in the area as well. I do recommend it, despite it suffering from a few of the things above.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth A Trip

5+    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: TATCCITW
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Hole Variety. Holes that go left, holes that go right. Long and short. Woods and open. Even a hole that start in the open and you must go through an entrance to end deep in the woods. You'll have a bunch of different looks.

2. Very clean underneath. The wooded holes do not have a lot of underbrush so you can have a variety of approach shots on most holes.

3. The open holes have small obstacles. Too many course just have no challenge in their open holes. This course did a good job of making ending some of the open holes with a few trees around the basket or a gap to throw around. They are still wide open shots but make you think a little around the basket.

3. Nice park layout if you're looking for a good way to spend a day with the family. If you're interested in taking the kids to a pool, or playing some hoops, Randolph park is a great place to go with a variety of activities for the whole family.
Cons: 1. Tee signs are missing. Hole length can be hard to determine for first time course players. I think there is a map available at the clubhouse by the pool so be sure to check that out if you have not played Randolph yet.

2. The open holes are all very open. I like a little challenge from the tee personally and find little challenge off of most the open holes on this course. Unless you are severely left of right off the tee you don't run into much challenge.

3. Another personal preference of mine is elevation change. The course is very flat. I know there is not a lot of elevation change on this course, but I do feel that a little more could have been placed to increase the challenge and make some uphill and downhill shots.
Other Thoughts: If I lived a little closer I would play this course more often than the once a month I make it out there. It provides enough variety to keep throwing new things at you and has a good amount of risk reward holes. Rounds play quick, have not lost a disc out here yet and rarely am searching (except in the fall when the leaves do their thing). Worth the trip if you're in southwest Virginia.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Variety

5+    1/2/2014   10/4/2013
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of holes, about 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open, left turns vs. right turns, long vs. short, etc.
- Located in a very nice park with athletic fields, pavilions, swimming pool, and restroom facilities
- The wooded fairways and paths between holes are well-maintained and free of debris. There also isn't much undergrowth in the woods, so if you get off the fairway you can still recover.
- The baskets are well-placed, even on the wide open holes the basket locations offer some risk/reward shots.
Cons: - Tee signs are a little lacking and missing on several holes.
- Several of the tee boxes are uneven, especially on the open holes.
- There are some long walks between holes (10 to 11, 12 to 13) due to the park layout as it plays around a roadway & baseball/football fields. If you're new to the course make sure you bring a map, it can be hard to navigate between these holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very solid course. It provides a great variety of holes for both big-armed players as well as those who prefer tighter, wooded courses. No two holes are the same, and there aren't really any "filler" holes. Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area. Favorite holes are 6, 14 and 16.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Course

5+    9/10/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Chris Carpenter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Awesome variety of open and wooded holes
+Long and Short holes
+Nicely kept paths
+Maps available near first tee
+Red, White, and Blue tees
+Several paths have been cleared into brush-heavy areas to make disc hunting easier/more successful
Cons: -The break between hole 10 and hole 11 is quite a walk and could be hard to navigate without a map
-Some of the course signs have been unearthed and tossed by brutes or cavemen (sasquatch also a suspect)
-Poison ivy can get you here, pants or long socks advised.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course a lot and you should too. Good variety makes for an interesting 18 with several ace opportunities if you're at that level.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 neat course and drop the family at the impressive water park

1    7/25/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: maps available at the waterpark
mix of woods and open space
had a nice group of locals to play with
close to freeway
Cons: could use a little more up keep and love
needs more risk/ reward
some more markings could help otherwise you need the map

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long holes

5+    5/5/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Signs show distance and par
2. A few holes Tests how far you can throw
3. Forces you throw sidearm as well as backhand
4. Course is never crowded
5. Neat elevation changes
6. Great mixture of wooded and open holes
7. Fun obstacles on the open holes
8. Pars all seem really fair
Cons: 1. Buggy
2. Some fairways could be cleared better
3. Undergrowth is minimal but still there in some places
4. Only one trashcan and litter is heavy
Other Thoughts: This is really a nice park and a nice course. If you can throw far and accurate you'll do great. This course will really test your abilities in the wooded areas. This is one of my favorite courses to play just because it really tests my arm. Would recommend to anyone.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Represent! Randolph!

1    2/17/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Yellow banded discatchers are certainly appreciated on this course, but mostly on the wooded holes. It makes the baskets so much easier to find in most of the year (except maybe in full color of the fall).

2) Simple laminated tee-signs have Hole #, Distance, sponsors, next tee locations, and an OK map. The map is basically just a line showing the routes available, but no trees or specific obstacles are really indicated.

3) There are 3 tees on some holes. I found Red, White, and Blue tees marked by 4x4's in the ground. I played the white tees because that seemed most suitable for my abilities, but I love that you can go out there and play a couple different courses by playing different tees.

4) There are some directionals that help with your navigation of the course and I always appreciate it when courses do that because I travel a lot and only get one impression of the course.

5) On the wooded holes the fallen leaves create a really nice cover for what I would assume would just be mud.

6) Excellent variety in hole distances. There are holes in the 100's, 200's, 300's, 400's, 500's, and even 1 in the 800' range. This is such a great feature in this courses design that really makes it a well designed course. You will have so many different shots and discs needed to execute those shots.

7) There just aren't any completely weak holes out here if you ask me. They all bring in some sort of challenge and obstacles or terrain to make them unique. The two holes that would seem to be weak would be 11 and 12 but they use the retention area well to create an interesting throw. Plus on #11 they perch the basket just a little bit above the massive slope down to the retention area so there is some real risk/reward in gunning right at the basket.

8) I like the slightly elevated basket (up on a mound) to finish the round. I like that when it might matter most (on hole #18) you have to concentrate harder to make your putt.

9) This is as close to a "championship" type course as I have seen in a while. The distance, the tight woods, the risk/reward, and the true variety of every shot and every hole make this a great place to test people's overall disc golf skills. It has every test out here and will bring the best disc golfers to the top.
Cons: 1) Gravel tees are always better than dirt, but not as good as concrete. I prefer a surface that is just a little bit more consistent.

2) There is a walk path through a lot of the course where interaction with walkers and other park users might happen frequently. I avoided any issue, but at certain times I could image this might make playing this course difficult or at the very least frustrating.

3) No garbage cans that I remember seeing and some tee-signs are missing.

4) The walk between #10 and #11 is about mile and there is no sign directing you to where the next tee is located. The rung painted on the tray of the basket is not enough help to find that tee.

5) I noticed some barbed wire along #6. Sure there is a way around the barbed wire but it is awfully close to the fairway and in the area where the fairway bends and could easily see a lot of foot traffic in the area.

6) One thing I would have done possibly rather than running 1-9 (9 of the tight wooded holes) altogether would be to leave a couple more wooded holes at the end of the course and a few at the beginning so you don't get bored throwing all the wooded holes in a row. I like the variety to be continuous, and the routing looks like this would have been able to accomplish, where basically there would be 6 holes wooded to start, 6 holes in the open and longer holes, and then finishing with 6 more holes in the woods. It's a little nitpicky, but if it could have been done that way I would have routed the course in that manner.

7) I wouldn't say this course is beginner friendly because the tight wooded holes are pretty tight and even some longer ones thrown in there, then the open holes are pretty long making them frustrating to beginners too. I personally like the course the way it is but this could be a negative to many people.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course with an interesting layout. The first 9 holes and 2 of the back 9 are set on an area of the park that is fairly dense woods. There are all sorts of different shots through the woods and they designed an excellent course. Then on holes 10-16 they use a more open park-like piece of the property but there are some interesting features used to make these holes fun also. There are what look to be 3 different rainwater retention areas that help to create some interesting throws and basket locations. This is also where the course gets really spread out in terms of opening up your arm to a full power throw.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty park; nice shot selection

1    1/7/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous park with tons to do with disc golf included.
-Shot selection is great never got bored at any hole.
-Great new Innova discatchers.
-Nice mix of wood and field.
Cons: -The walks from holes I.E. hole 10 to hole 11 is ridiculous 13 to 14.
-Horrible signage, Some with no par some with no diagram at all signs between holes very small hard to find next hole (first time playing) . Which almost makes me think that a 9 hole was originally here and then tried to stretch another 9 across the whole park complex to make it a 18 hole course.
-No concrete tees
Other Thoughts: The horseshoe hole is kind of a crazy type of hole that I wasn't expecting at this park.
If Im in the area I'll play again now that I know where all of the tees and baskets are.
Get some better signs some tees and just make it a 20 something hole course to fill those gaps between the good holes on the course and call this a 4 disc rating course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.