Dublin, VA 
Randolph Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Yank it Right Hole #17
3 / 240ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Worth A Trip

5+    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: TATCCITW
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Hole Variety. Holes that go left, holes that go right. Long and short. Woods and open. Even a hole that start in the open and you must go through an entrance to end deep in the woods. You'll have a bunch of different looks.

2. Very clean underneath. The wooded holes do not have a lot of underbrush so you can have a variety of approach shots on most holes.

3. The open holes have small obstacles. Too many course just have no challenge in their open holes. This course did a good job of making ending some of the open holes with a few trees around the basket or a gap to throw around. They are still wide open shots but make you think a little around the basket.

3. Nice park layout if you're looking for a good way to spend a day with the family. If you're interested in taking the kids to a pool, or playing some hoops, Randolph park is a great place to go with a variety of activities for the whole family.
Cons: 1. Tee signs are missing. Hole length can be hard to determine for first time course players. I think there is a map available at the clubhouse by the pool so be sure to check that out if you have not played Randolph yet.

2. The open holes are all very open. I like a little challenge from the tee personally and find little challenge off of most the open holes on this course. Unless you are severely left of right off the tee you don't run into much challenge.

3. Another personal preference of mine is elevation change. The course is very flat. I know there is not a lot of elevation change on this course, but I do feel that a little more could have been placed to increase the challenge and make some uphill and downhill shots.
Other Thoughts: If I lived a little closer I would play this course more often than the once a month I make it out there. It provides enough variety to keep throwing new things at you and has a good amount of risk reward holes. Rounds play quick, have not lost a disc out here yet and rarely am searching (except in the fall when the leaves do their thing). Worth the trip if you're in southwest Virginia.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Variety

5+    1/2/2014   10/4/2013
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 48  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2014
Pros: - Good mix of holes, about 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open, left turns vs. right turns, long vs. short, etc.
- Located in a very nice park with athletic fields, pavilions, swimming pool, and restroom facilities
- The wooded fairways and paths between holes are well-maintained and free of debris. There also isn't much undergrowth in the woods, so if you get off the fairway you can still recover.
- The baskets are well-placed, even on the wide open holes the basket locations offer some risk/reward shots.
Cons: - Tee signs are a little lacking and missing on several holes.
- Several of the tee boxes are uneven, especially on the open holes.
- There are some long walks between holes (10 to 11, 12 to 13) due to the park layout as it plays around a roadway & baseball/football fields. If you're new to the course make sure you bring a map, it can be hard to navigate between these holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very solid course. It provides a great variety of holes for both big-armed players as well as those who prefer tighter, wooded courses. No two holes are the same, and there aren't really any "filler" holes. Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area. Favorite holes are 6, 14 and 16.

A Great Course

5+    9/10/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Chris Carpenter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Awesome variety of open and wooded holes
+Long and Short holes
+Nicely kept paths
+Maps available near first tee
+Red, White, and Blue tees
+Several paths have been cleared into brush-heavy areas to make disc hunting easier/more successful
Cons: -The break between hole 10 and hole 11 is quite a walk and could be hard to navigate without a map
-Some of the course signs have been unearthed and tossed by brutes or cavemen (sasquatch also a suspect)
-Poison ivy can get you here, pants or long socks advised.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course a lot and you should too. Good variety makes for an interesting 18 with several ace opportunities if you're at that level.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

neat course and drop the family at the impressive water park

1    7/25/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: maps available at the waterpark
mix of woods and open space
had a nice group of locals to play with
close to freeway
Cons: could use a little more up keep and love
needs more risk/ reward
some more markings could help otherwise you need the map

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long holes

5+    5/5/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Signs show distance and par
2. A few holes Tests how far you can throw
3. Forces you throw sidearm as well as backhand
4. Course is never crowded
5. Neat elevation changes
6. Great mixture of wooded and open holes
7. Fun obstacles on the open holes
8. Pars all seem really fair
Cons: 1. Buggy
2. Some fairways could be cleared better
3. Undergrowth is minimal but still there in some places
4. Only one trashcan and litter is heavy
Other Thoughts: This is really a nice park and a nice course. If you can throw far and accurate you'll do great. This course will really test your abilities in the wooded areas. This is one of my favorite courses to play just because it really tests my arm. Would recommend to anyone.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Represent! Randolph!

1    2/17/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Yellow banded discatchers are certainly appreciated on this course, but mostly on the wooded holes. It makes the baskets so much easier to find in most of the year (except maybe in full color of the fall).

2) Simple laminated tee-signs have Hole #, Distance, sponsors, next tee locations, and an OK map. The map is basically just a line showing the routes available, but no trees or specific obstacles are really indicated.

3) There are 3 tees on some holes. I found Red, White, and Blue tees marked by 4x4's in the ground. I played the white tees because that seemed most suitable for my abilities, but I love that you can go out there and play a couple different courses by playing different tees.

4) There are some directionals that help with your navigation of the course and I always appreciate it when courses do that because I travel a lot and only get one impression of the course.

5) On the wooded holes the fallen leaves create a really nice cover for what I would assume would just be mud.

6) Excellent variety in hole distances. There are holes in the 100's, 200's, 300's, 400's, 500's, and even 1 in the 800' range. This is such a great feature in this courses design that really makes it a well designed course. You will have so many different shots and discs needed to execute those shots.

7) There just aren't any completely weak holes out here if you ask me. They all bring in some sort of challenge and obstacles or terrain to make them unique. The two holes that would seem to be weak would be 11 and 12 but they use the retention area well to create an interesting throw. Plus on #11 they perch the basket just a little bit above the massive slope down to the retention area so there is some real risk/reward in gunning right at the basket.

8) I like the slightly elevated basket (up on a mound) to finish the round. I like that when it might matter most (on hole #18) you have to concentrate harder to make your putt.

9) This is as close to a "championship" type course as I have seen in a while. The distance, the tight woods, the risk/reward, and the true variety of every shot and every hole make this a great place to test people's overall disc golf skills. It has every test out here and will bring the best disc golfers to the top.
Cons: 1) Gravel tees are always better than dirt, but not as good as concrete. I prefer a surface that is just a little bit more consistent.

2) There is a walk path through a lot of the course where interaction with walkers and other park users might happen frequently. I avoided any issue, but at certain times I could image this might make playing this course difficult or at the very least frustrating.

3) No garbage cans that I remember seeing and some tee-signs are missing.

4) The walk between #10 and #11 is about ½ mile and there is no sign directing you to where the next tee is located. The rung painted on the tray of the basket is not enough help to find that tee.

5) I noticed some barbed wire along #6. Sure there is a way around the barbed wire but it is awfully close to the fairway and in the area where the fairway bends and could easily see a lot of foot traffic in the area.

6) One thing I would have done possibly rather than running 1-9 (9 of the tight wooded holes) altogether would be to leave a couple more wooded holes at the end of the course and a few at the beginning so you don't get bored throwing all the wooded holes in a row. I like the variety to be continuous, and the routing looks like this would have been able to accomplish, where basically there would be 6 holes wooded to start, 6 holes in the open and longer holes, and then finishing with 6 more holes in the woods. It's a little nitpicky, but if it could have been done that way I would have routed the course in that manner.

7) I wouldn't say this course is beginner friendly because the tight wooded holes are pretty tight and even some longer ones thrown in there, then the open holes are pretty long making them frustrating to beginners too. I personally like the course the way it is but this could be a negative to many people.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course with an interesting layout. The first 9 holes and 2 of the back 9 are set on an area of the park that is fairly dense woods. There are all sorts of different shots through the woods and they designed an excellent course. Then on holes 10-16 they use a more open park-like piece of the property but there are some interesting features used to make these holes fun also. There are what look to be 3 different rainwater retention areas that help to create some interesting throws and basket locations. This is also where the course gets really spread out in terms of opening up your arm to a full power throw.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty park; nice shot selection

1    1/7/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous park with tons to do with disc golf included.
-Shot selection is great never got bored at any hole.
-Great new Innova discatchers.
-Nice mix of wood and field.
Cons: -The walks from holes I.E. hole 10 to hole 11 is ridiculous 13 to 14.
-Horrible signage, Some with no par some with no diagram at all signs between holes very small hard to find next hole (first time playing) . Which almost makes me think that a 9 hole was originally here and then tried to stretch another 9 across the whole park complex to make it a 18 hole course.
-No concrete tees
Other Thoughts: The horseshoe hole is kind of a crazy type of hole that I wasn't expecting at this park.
If Im in the area I'll play again now that I know where all of the tees and baskets are.
Get some better signs some tees and just make it a 20 something hole course to fill those gaps between the good holes on the course and call this a 4 disc rating course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Moments of Greatness

2-4    8/1/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 274  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Multiple Tees. Every hole at Randolph Park has three sets of tees (Red, White, Blue) allowing the user to determine the course they want to play. I found the Whites to be the most "finished" set of tees in terms of construction of the tee-pads… while the Blues and Reds were there to be used, but not as "finished".
- Open / Wooded. The Front-9 at Dublin played through an extremely wooded section of the park, while the Back-9 played primarily through a wide open section of the park. All the wooded holes fairways were completely fair, and the open holes were designed in such a way that they were not boring. Actually, the open holes used some drainage basins quite well to tighten up some otherwise wide-open shots (if played as OB).
- Long Stuff. There were some long holes on the Back-9… 700'er… 900'er… etc… I love having to play GOLF where you're required to throw to an optimal landing zone in order to have a successful attempt at the next shot. And, with wide open skies, you really get to air it out and watch the disc fly.
Cons:
- Trashed. LITTERally. Parts of the course were trashed - LITTERally. My buddy and I would pick up all the trash we could find on each Hole and deliver it to the next tee-pad (as there were no trashcans in the woods, and there was no way we could carry it all out). Hopefully, our recentralization of the litter at each tee-pad convinces some local to go for a round with a trash bag and finish the job.
- Long Walks. There are some amazingly long walks out there. One that has to be almost a ¼ mile between Hole 10 and 11… and then an 1/8 mile walk between Holes 12 and 13… and then another long walk to 16. Luckily, I had seen the baskets on that side of the park on my way into the course and knew I would have to walk in that direction.
- Ends Weak. For a course with so many great shots, I feel that it ends weak… as if they were just trying to get back to the car. Several of the Holes on the course are "Championship" quality Holes… and then Holes 17 and 18 are just there. I hate when courses do that.
Other Thoughts:
- Convenient. Randolph Park is located right off the I-81 and is extremely close to gas, food, and other stores. It's an ideal road-trip course to grab if driving down the I-81.
- Overall. I thought Randolph Park had some great golf to be played. I've played it from the Whites and Blues and had a blast on both, but preferred the Whites. The Blues are definitely designed for the Pro-level golfer in mind, providing very few bridie opportunities (except for the longest of arms), while the Whites are designed more like a standard disc golf course in terms of length and difficulty. The trash, long walks and natural tee-pads definitely take away from the course in terms of rating, but the course is still fun and has some championship level golf to be played.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced course

5+    8/10/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: gerp
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - this type of course is what comes to mind when you think of a balanced course. Front 9 in the woods, back 9 in the clear, a decent amount of elevation on some holes

- the distance (both throws and total walking) is a good amount. This course will take you 2 hours to play through

- the course is located in a well maintained county park. Nicely maintained for the most part. The course is wooded, but not overly so.
Cons: - you need to consult a map the first time you play, the hole locations are not exactly intuitive. The front 9 in the woods wind a little. Look out for between hole 10 and 11, it's not easy to find.

- white tees are clearly visible, it's hard to find the blues or reds on most.

- there are no par markings on the holes. Print a score card. we always just score as a par 3 course then subtract off 6 at the end. You should be able to tell where the 4 and 5's are.
Other Thoughts: The park is relatively busy on most afternoons/evenings, but it seems the holes are far enough out of the way there isn't much interference. There are walking paths that wind through the front 9, but there are rarely people in the way.

The woods are not too dense (except for leaves in the fall), lost disks should not be a terrible problem.

There are some fences in some places. Look out for the electric fence to the left of 16.

Pads are natural, some filled with stone. Obviously would be nice to have real pads, but you can't complain too much.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 194  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful. Peaceful. Right off the highway. Great variety of shots/lengths. Never too crowded. Etc Etc
Cons: About a year ago I played it for the first time. I pulled up right before a tournament started. I asked to play, they said no - for club members only. Hopefully this has changed, otherwise these guys are dipsh*ts.
Other Thoughts: Vareity (shots) 4.5/5 - Front 9 wooded, back 9 opens up.

Variety (length) 5/5 - shorties through bombs. Also nice that the length varies in the woods, as well as out in the open.

Beauty - 5/5 - You ever go to the Grand Canyon and think, "Holy sh*t, there's no way you can capture this in a picture." Maybe I just suck at photography, but this place is way prettier than the pictures.

Trackability - 3.5/5 - Could use a little help here. More signs? I gave it some extra credit because it's so easy to track from I-81 (and so close)

Lost Disc Hazard - 3/5 - The woods, obviously, but the back 9 can hide a disc too

Vibe - 4/5 - Front 9 can have a lot of walkers. Otherwise peaceful and serene. Great way to break up a road trip.

Safety - 4.5/5 - Little security office on your way in. The locals seem to be small-town friendly. I only docked 1/2 point because there were some laws I wanted to break on the front 9 but I was nervous about the people and security in the area.

29.5/35 = 4.21 = 4
I bumped it up to 4.5 because I like it so much. Very highly recommended to anyone driving up I-81


4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.