Disc Golf Center
Quakertown, PA
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
4 / 681ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nice quick round

2-4    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an above average little 9 hole course. Hole 1 is the perfect way to start a round of disc golf, you can just rip it down the long downhill fairway into a wide open field, then layup to the basket which is tucked into the woods. After hole 2, another field hole that's basket is tucked into the treeline, you head into the woods for the last 7 holes. The courses baskets are in great shape and we had the course to ourselves. The flypads are in great shape and seemed longer than most (in my mind this was a positive). Finally the tee signs are adequate and there are next tee signs after most holes.
Cons: As others have stated the grass on holes 1 and 2 needed to be cut and obviously isn't the priority of the parks landscapers. There are no trash cans or benches throughout the course. The fairways on some of the wooded holes lacked definition, it seemed like these holes required more luck than skill. There were a couple random hikers who cut across fairways.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course. We played through it twice in a relatively short time (about an hour and a half). If your in the area, play Nockamixon first, If you still want more disc golf, then go play these nine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Someone bring the machete

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: Mystic1027
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variety and challenge compared to a run of the mill 9 hole course in a township park

Most teepads are rubber pads and in great shape, though a few were missing when I played.

Close proximity to several other courses including Nockamixon make this a great warmup course for early in the day.
Cons: When I played this course, the grass on hole #1 and 2 (old 2 and 3) was pushing 3 feet tall and very thick. This wasn't tall grass out in the rough, this was in the _fairways_. It really made the holes border on being unplayable.

Finding the first hole is somewhat tricky without knowing as previously mentioned that the course now starts on what was tee #2.

Ground gets VERY soggy after a bit of rain. Bring some waterproof boots!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very impressed with this course compared to the smaller courses in township parks that I'm used to seeing. My group almost turned around and left after trudging through the first hole. I'm very glad we pushed on, because the later parts of the course were quite a little gem. That said, I find it very hard to rate this course much more than a 3 because 2/9 of the course was bordering on unplayable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unami Park DGC

1    5/7/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9-hole course that plays mostly in the woods with tight fairways that require good technical shots.
Cool elevation changes; especially hole 1 with its epic downhill drive. Holes 2 and 9 provide interesting uphill shots.
The baskets are all in good condition as are most of the tee pads; accurate maps on each hole are also a plus. Definitely worth playing if you are in the area; even with a plethra of great courses nearby.
Cons: The removal of hole 1 and the change to hole 4 (used to be a signature drive over the water) are very dissapointing. This course would easily be a 3.5 or 4 in my book if those changes did not take place.
Navigation can be difficult if you are not familiar with the course, especially since hole #2 is now the new hole #1 and there is nothing at the park that I am aware of to alert you of that change.
I know from experience that holes 2 and 3 can get very overgrown if not maintained regularly (over the summer you can expect long searches through the thick stuff for your disc)
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step down in my opinion after the aformentioned changes to several of the holes. It is still a high quality 9-hole course that I will play on my way to the Allentown courses or Nockamixon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High grass

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Kunztown
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety of shots. Hole one is challenging and starts with a nice downslope, across a field. Then the course is a basic par 3 that runs through the woods with most holes being approx. 300 ft. One of the better par 3 courses in the area.
Cons: The grass was extremely high when I played, and looks like it hasn't been mowed in over 6 months. Holes 1 and 2 therefore were a challenge finding your disc across a field of extreme high grass. The signs are nice, but holes 1 thru 4 are written over the other signs? Hole 4 is missing a tee!
Other Thoughts: If in the area, definitely worth checking out. A good compliment on the drive up to nockamixon. Also, the course in sellersville is worth checking out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Right on Par

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique obstacles like the rock wall guarding a hole. A few straight holes, and a variety of other holes. Very challenging course for newcomers and experienced players alike.
Cons: Grass in play on the first two holes is way too tall, even for disc golf. Course just recently redesigned, which is why the numbering is off. The course now begins with hole #2. I'm sure this will be addressed and corrected in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well maintained. well marked. interesting holes.
all holes that arent 4 and 5 are very fun
Cons: holes 4 and 5 suck. they just go across and open field. that is overgrown and difficult to walk on and often flooded.
Other Thoughts: i like

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Nine-Hole Course

1    9/1/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The old, tall grove of hardwood trees creates a high-ceiling canopy for the bulk of the course. This results in fairly open wooded holes with limited brush and undergrowth, even in the height of summer. Despite the feeling of being in large outdoor rooms, the course still provides its fair share of challenges for players of all skill levels.

For a course located in a township park, Unami is in better shape than other similar courses. The baskets at this course are fairly new and are still in good condition. As are the tee pads. The tee-based signs are also in good shape and helpful.

There are several holes that are pretty fun including the 2nd hole where you have to stand on top of a hill and drive a few hundred feet over a feild before turning sharply to the right over a bridge and into a grove of trees to the basket. The 4th hole is a great water hole where you can play it safe or launch a glory throw over the creek. The 6th hole includes a giant boulder that protects the basket. While a lot of players aren't fond of blind baskets, this one creates a unique situation not seen in most other courses.
Cons: The course can get muddy, especially on the 2nd and 3rd holes. These holes can also be overgrown with tall grass.

While tee signs at the tee pads are great, getting to the tee pads can be a bit tricky, especially going to the 4th tee.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, Unami creek is a fun course. I'm not a big fan of largely wooded courses, but Unami is an exception. The course could easily be played back-to-back in two hours or less and makes a nice stop on the way to Nockamixon or the other world-class courses of the Lehigh Valley.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Nockamixon companion

1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Still missing the 4 Nockamixon holes? I think they miraculously showed up here. Rocky holes, tree-lined fairways, two wide open ones, elevation... this little course packs a lot into nine holes. Great facilities and a playground on-site. Excellent signage; didn't get lost once.
Cons: Very muddy, even two days after a rain. Flypads aren't the best, and often are uneven. Hole 1 seems very out of place, and too close to the pavilion and ballfield. If you weren't on this site, you would have no idea what happened to hole 4. There is a very dangerous half-fallen tree near basket 6 that needs to be taken care of ASAP before it kills someone. No accommodations for shorter/easier holes for beginners, though having discs for rent is a nice touch.
Other Thoughts: Hole 4 would have been so beautiful! Bring it back! This course makes a fine companion to Nockamixon, with many of the same pros and cons.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cloud Nine!

5+    10/30/2008   1/3/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good course. Serene little park with a huge back country that has been granted primarily to the disc golf course. Despite only 9 holes there are a lot of unique challenges here. Plenty of variety; some open, many tight, elevation, fast greens, obstacles course seems to have gotten the maximum out of 9 holes. Beautiful Pennsylvania wooded setting.Good amenities. Well marked, good rubber tee pads especially for a woods course. Parking and restrooms. A quick review/#1 a 600 foot shot off a steep sledding hill across a field and back into some woods in the valley below...this hole is a score differentiator for those that care about statistical separation of Pro's and Ams/#2 a sweet drive across a field and uphill slightly to a protected basket on a steep hillside...underrated hole/#3 a straight technical drive across a wooded hillside/ aim for the boulder...#4 a funky short rhfh friendly s curve through the woods...#5 a tight straight with a pair of field goal trees halfway down the fairway....reminds me of Paw Paw#6/ #6 a blind tight drive to a basket hidden behind a huge boulder/#7 a tight slightly lefty up and over wooded drive...this hole eats me alive/#8 A drive around a huge rocky boulder formation with the basket perched up high on a fast green....overshoot and your in the woods below, undershoot and you still have an uphill putt...very cool/#9 a short steep uphill drive to a basket on a nice landing area....fun hole. Aceable but technical. Despite recent changes to address safety of public...its still a great course. Course seems to magically improve every time I go out there. PA_disc is the magician behind the scenes...good work. Actually glad that changes were made so that the course can be saved.
Cons: Only nine holes....and local politics seem to have the second nine in a holding pattern. Grass can be long and muddy on holes 1 and 2 sometimes. Blind nature of drive of #1 can yiels to a lot of searches for discs......It's a one man army out there so I won't complain about the thorns on hole 1 just be aware that you really wanna stay in the grass fairway.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I would rather play it than many 18 holers...I think with the dedication of the course designer and reasonable advice from the many experienced players in the area that this course will become one of the best...As many have noted its good for all levels of player and experts will really enjoy the long technical lines here.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.