Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: raynger27 Hole #6 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Great 9

1    4/7/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The length of the course is good. Hole 1 being the longest and providing a good indication of what your game is honestly like. It's pretty obvious that a TON of work has been done to this course with the widespread carnage in the park itself, but only minor evidence on the holes themselves. The layout is good and play through is fluid and fun. Plenty of opportunity to showcase any shot in your bag. Nice FlyMats on the tees to give you a nice start to each hole.
Cons: Was a bit confused getting to hole 2 from 1 but not by any means difficult to do. I played in the rain which did nothing to compliment the nice FlyMats. I slipped on each mat on my tee shots. Hole 4 where the debris field is still laying can be a little challenging to traverse. I imagine when growth comes in disc loss is a real factor and a great way to have incentive to throw your discs calculated.
Other Thoughts: This being one of the last courses close to my home that I've played, I'm kind of glad I waited on this one. For me, this 9 hole course is perfect. Providing just about everything I want to throw on a course. Grip it and rip it on hole 1 and 2. Technical on most others. A big congrats to the folks putting in the time, energy and funding to make this course possible. I'll be here pretty often!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Same Again, Please

1    7/28/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Rock formations scattered about several of the middle holes pose attractive challenges.
Cons:
Single tee (although they were flat/concrete)/pin position.
Other Thoughts:
There are plenty of challenges to be found on this varied nine set at the back of a small public park. While the first two holes play primarily across a small open space, their baskets are tucked into the woods, and elevation changes (steep down/initially narrow at the start of#1, steep uphill at the end of #2). The next two holes are similar - in the woods, short, straight, tight. Holes 5-8 are where the course really hits stride, as the holes lengthen, the rock formations appear, and subtle turns-n-fades to hit the tough-but-fair optimal windows are needed as the course gently works its way up the wooded slope. A short-but-steep upslope shots finishes the round, where you turn right to head towards the parking lot, or better yet, left, for another go at the baskets.

Navigation: The online map (8/25/08) was not entirely correct the day I played (7/28/12). Hole-1 on the map no longer exists, so you start at map-2. The new hole has been inserted before #5. The only other tip is when finishing hole-3, keep to the lower path, along the creek, as the upper path will take you to tee-9.

Favourite hole: #8 Gentle upslope in its near entirety, with trees defining a fair throwing path, needing a small fade left to head towards the basket. Fade too soon/sharply, and you'll have to see how well you can pitch up-n-over the rock formations looming along the left side before reaching the basket.

Definitely one of the best niners I've played, and worth a visit if passing by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 hole course

5+    3/28/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course, living five minutes away. I find it is very challenging with its tight, but fair, fairways. With the accuracy required to hit the fairway, the distances of the holes seem longer than they are. Distance is not overpowering mind you, but with the precision necessary to navigate through the trees, a grip it and rip it approach is sure to find a tree or two and lead you to being over par.

The course is a challenge. Par is a good score on most of these holes. The course is very clean.

I have become the main caretaker for the course and put in a lot of work with the Township over the winter of 2013/2014. The course has been cleaned up after Hurricane Sandy absolutely destroyed it. The rubber tee pads are in nice condition and the fairways are all clear of debris.

Overall, I love this course. It is very peaceful and out of the way, and never crowded. It's a quick play if you are passing through the area.

Brief synopsis:
Hole 1: Huge downhill with the basket tucked into the woods to the right. Only par 4 on the course. Tons of fun off the tee (as long as the grass is low).
Hole 2: Straight shot with the basket up a relatively steep hill. Tough par.
Hole 3: Straight fairway with the basket on the side of a small incline to the left, protected by a large boulder.
Hole 4: Fun downhill hyzer over a bog. Don't hit a tree, or you'll end up in the muck.
Hole 5: Super straight hole through a narrow tree gap. Another tough par.
Hole 6: Straight shot with the basket protected behind a large boulder, but reachable from either side.
Hole 7: Small uphill right off the tee leading to a 300' slight anhyzer.
Hole 8: Slight dogleg left to a basket protected by a wood pile in front, and large depression behind.
Hole 9: Straight shot directly up a hill back to the pavilion, with numerous trees limiting your options.
Cons: One small complaint is the holes are all relatively straight once you pass hole #1, but each presents its own challenge nonetheless. With the narrow fairways I mentioned, this course is a challenge. The use of the rocks, trees, and minor elevation changes make the holes just dissimilar enough to be interesting.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the terrain available, while satisfying neighborly desires to avoid the playground and fishing/swim hole. Keep an eye on your drive off the first and second tee, as finding a disc in the grass during the summer is quite a challenge if it hasn't been cut in a while. Use a spotter if you can. This area is off the beaten path of the rest of the park, so the area is infrequently mowed.

Please utilize the walking path to the right of tee 4 to make your way to the basket. The fairway can become a bog.

I have recently updated the scorecard and navigational map (early 2014), so the layout should be a breeze.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole!

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty course. Lots of "PA Glacial Woods" (huge rocks amidst light canopy.)

I enjoyed the challenge of the tight shots through the woods. Fairways were well defined, and even if the baskets were not visible from the tee, it was easy to determine the layout of the hole.

Tee signs were fairly accurate and very nice (with the noted exception of the renumbering other reviewers have mentioned.)
Cons: Navigation is a bit screwy on the first few holes. Once you get through number 5, the flow is straightforward and easy to figure out.

The field that #1 and #2 play over is in serious need of cutting. It took me 10 minutes to find a blue disc in the open grass if that gives an indication of the size of the foilage.

Rocks! Wear hikers or at least an over the ankle shoe.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of the tall grass, I loved this course. I was pleasantly surprised by the challenge of it, the use of the natural terrain to enhance play, and the beauty of the course.

Lots of birdie opportunities if you can snake your drive through the trees.

I'll definitely play this one again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Nocky

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 211  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with good use of elevation and trees.

2 tees, main tee is a rubber flypad, alternate tees are gravel.

Lots of character: Starts with a challenge, a 600 foot downhill shot with rough on the right and the basket tucked 70 feet in the woods. 2 is relatively open but the basket is uphill tucked into the woods. 3 is very rocky and wooded, 4 is very scenic, but no longer uses the water. The course continues to feature large rock formations, drop offs, and natural obstacles to finish out a solid 9 hole course.
Cons: Low course maintnence. Rubber tee pads were covered in a brown slippery slime and were nearly unusable. Grass was becoming overgrown in area.

Little local support, due to complaints from the neighborhood the signature hole (old #4) over the water is gone and the first 4 signs are all out of order due to changes. Previous hole 1 is gone.

Terrain is rough with large roots and sharp rocks. Just 9 holes tore holes in my shoes, do not try to play in sandals, course terrain is tougher than Nockamixon on your feet.
Other Thoughts: Course is my top ten for 9 holers.

Hole 2's sign is crossed out, all tee signs are screwy until hole 5. This course is like a smaller, less brutal Nockamixon State Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge elevation changes, tight technical shots thru woods, long holes and well placed pins over rocks and all sorts of obstructions. I did two loops today and this course was a fun workout, bring some comfortable shoes
Cons: This is probably a transition but be prepared to start on #2 as hole #1 was taken down and nothing alerts you of this upon arrival

Par is a great score on #2 so don't let this new starting hole get you frustrated
Other Thoughts: Since #2 is now the starting hole.....nice if there was one or two fairway markers alerting you of the basket location as down on the right the wooden foot bridge is the entry point to basket and it was tough to know where I was headed the first time.....but after one time its easy to follow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet 9 Hole Course

2-4    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First...HOLE #2 IS THE FIRST HOLE.
A sweet down hill slalom drive to land in a open grass meadow with a second hard drive into the tree line with a up-shot to get you near the basket and putt to finish with a par 4.
This is a your first taste of this well designed course. This park has it all for a fun and challenging play on a 9 hole course. If it leaves you wanting more, play it again? You won't be disappointed and will enjoy every hole.
This park has a little of everything to give you a intro to playing Disc golf. The designer was lucky to have such great features for a 9 hole course.

This isn't a give-me ace run course you can play with putters and mids. This course plays like the big boys. Great terrain changes, tight wooded fairways, blind holes, dog legs and 2 open long field drives (holes 1&2). Giant boulders guarding some baskets and some on slopes, for death roll putts. Eliminating hole #1 was a smart move due to it's proximity to pedestrian walks and general park use. Elevated boxes with fly pads on tees and good baskets are the norm here.
Cons: Not much to complain about really on this 9 hole course. Errant throws on hole 1&2 can put you in some nasty thick. Changing hole #4 from a over the creek shot was a little disappointing. Seems people hang at this deep pool and let their dogs go for a swim here. So maybe it had to be done for a safety factor.
Park map, photos, scorecard and tee signs need to be updated to reflect changes to the layout.
Other Thoughts: Let me say, this is the first 9 hole course that I have ever played and I wasn't disappointed. It deserves it's rating. I wish it was across the street from my house and I could play it over and over again.
It's a close hop off PA-476 and well worth the detour for a few quick rounds on this challenging course. Don't pass it by, think of it as Nocky's little brother only 9 miles up the road. If only all neighborhoods and a 9 holer like this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unami Creek Park

1    3/11/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great little 9 hole course. It's within the park, but off on its own. Park patrons keep their distance. This course is a very beautiful place to play the game. Excellent use of the elevation. I really enjoyed teeing off of hole #2. The hill off the tee pad is rather steep.
It is set up well, utilizing the surrounding area. Some of the fairways are through open fields, but most are through the wooded area. Hole number 4 requires to tee off over a stream; keeps the game interesting.
All the tee pads are in excellent condition and are bordered with 2x4 planks. Each tee has a map with landmarks, pars, and distances. They appear well maintained. (Hole 9 was the exception, the map was missing).
The course is easy to navigate. Markers on trees pointed to the next tee.
Cons: I really enjoyed playing this course. There were some minor things that I could see causing some difficulty.
First off, the fairway area within hole 2 and 3 acts as a reservoir for the stream overflow. The stream runs right on the border of this particular fairway. Definitely would want to avoid playing after a good rain fall.
Second thing is just hypothetical, I will have to update more towards the summer. This fairway has the potential, if not maintained and regularly groomed to become rather overgrown. Because of the natural moisture in the soil from the stream, the grass is thick and will grow at a fast rate.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was please with this beautiful course. It encompasses every aspect of a top notch course. It definately is a fun course. Not only is it a nice quick course that you can hit on the way home from work, but also is worth the drive to come and see the area. If I drove 45min to come play here, I would be satisfied with the experience.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 very nice 9

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unami is one of the best 9 hole courses that I have ever played. Only minutes from I-476. Hole 2 is an awesome downhill tee shot. The wooded holes 4-9 have 'fair'ways yet are in the woods. Hole 4 is scenic and fun with the creek in play. The elevated pin on #8 is great! Good fly pads placed over crushed rock and wooded tee frames. Very detailed tee signs.
Cons: Can be muddy in places. Erosion will become a problem on #2 over time with
more foot traffic.Only 9 holes now.

Other Thoughts: About 15 minutes from Nockamixon, it is basically on the way if coming from the south (Philly). A worthy stop. I'd bump this up to 4 stars if it becomes 18 holes.
I didn't mind the walk between holes since every hole brought another challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 excellent 9-holer

1    12/29/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unami Disc Golf course is a challenging, well groomed course. While only nine holes at the current time it offers everything one could want in a disc golf course.
Holes 1-3 play relatively open, with 4-9 playing through rocky woods. Hole 2 is a long open down-hill shot, with the pin off to the right in the woods. The hill is pretty steep down and can be very slick. Hole 3 plays back up the hill and ends in the woods. Hole 4 is a nice shot over water that requires a well placed shot to stay out of the creek. The pin placement on hole 6 is really neat with it placed behind a huge boulder and protected by a fallen tree. The last few holes are play very elevated with lots of boulders and thick woods. Hole 8 is set atop a large boulder laden hill and requires a nicely placed shot to avoid rolling away.
The holes have a nice mix of right and left handed holes to please all players. The lengths vary as well, but the long holes feel long, and the short holes don't feel short because of the unforgiving terrain. Overall this course offers enough of a challenge to please more advanced players, but is not overwhelming to new players
Each tee has a nice sign that shows the layout of the hole and the rubber tee pads are great. There are also signs in between each hole to help navigate the course.
This really is a well laid out course and just because it is only 9 holes should not be a deterrent, this is one of those rare 9 holers actually worth making a trip to play.
Cons: The course doesn't drain very well and holds water, so after a heavy rain or snow thaw the course can be extremely muddy.
The rough/brush is pretty thick in spots and could be a pain in the warmer months.
The holes are spread out and there is quite a walk between some of the holes, so the signs directing you to the next holes are essential if you don't want to get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is located just minutes from the PA turnpike, and there are plenty of restaurants close to the course. Nockamixon is only 20 minutes away from Unami and is well worth playing as well.
There are restrooms at the course, but they are closed in November for the winter.
This course is an outstanding, well-designed 9-holer. There are supposedly plans to expand the course to a full 18 holes. There is room and if they are anything like the original 9 holes this course could be one of the better courses in PA.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.