Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: PA_Disc Hole #9
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
 Unami what?

1    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: joeypm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They say the pros play here? Saw it on youtube and have wanted to play it. Finally convinced friend and newbie to play it!
Cons: Course was a mess.
Grass was very high.
Every hole we had to search for disc's
Left after hole 6
Other Thoughts: Might on the very outside chance try it again in the late fall. Since we live in the lehigh valley there are better courses near by. I hope other courses we travel to are better maintained. We had to take the newbie to covered bridges just so he wouldn't get discouraged!
NOT GOOD FOR THE SPORT!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No Identity

5+    5/12/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Starts off with a dramatic downhill shot, and one more open hole, the rest is playing through hilly, boulder-strewn woods- so there's some variety. The layout is pretty interesting and challenging, mostly due to the woods though. The tee signs show the layout of each hole fairly well, though I due feel like you get the wrong impression with some of them.

Cons: Only 9 holes. Sorry, but that is a deterrent.

Despite the variety mentioned above, I find several of the wooded holes in the middle (5-8) to be kind of boring and repetitive. Mostly just straight fairways with lots of trees.

The course was in really bad shape after some storms, and has been getting better, but is still not very well maintained. In addition, if there's been any rain recently some of the holes turn into swamps. Hole 4 in particular is a mess- when I say swamp I don't mean lots of mud, I mean an actual swamp.

Some of the walks between holes can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Has potential, but at the moment it's just a poorly-maintained, repetitive 9-holer.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great 9

1    4/7/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The length of the course is good. Hole 1 being the longest and providing a good indication of what your game is honestly like. It's pretty obvious that a TON of work has been done to this course with the widespread carnage in the park itself, but only minor evidence on the holes themselves. The layout is good and play through is fluid and fun. Plenty of opportunity to showcase any shot in your bag. Nice FlyMats on the tees to give you a nice start to each hole.
Cons: Was a bit confused getting to hole 2 from 1 but not by any means difficult to do. I played in the rain which did nothing to compliment the nice FlyMats. I slipped on each mat on my tee shots. Hole 4 where the debris field is still laying can be a little challenging to traverse. I imagine when growth comes in disc loss is a real factor and a great way to have incentive to throw your discs calculated.
Other Thoughts: This being one of the last courses close to my home that I've played, I'm kind of glad I waited on this one. For me, this 9 hole course is perfect. Providing just about everything I want to throw on a course. Grip it and rip it on hole 1 and 2. Technical on most others. A big congrats to the folks putting in the time, energy and funding to make this course possible. I'll be here pretty often!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A work in progress. . .

1    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Primarily this review is an update on storm damage residual from Oct 2012. There are 8 playable holes. Basket not yet replaced on #3... play ahead to #4. Provisional/ temp teeboxes on two holes (I think #4 and #6), but they function fine. #4 temp tee is just a few yards in front of the former box which is obstructed by heavy deadfall. The 8 holes play fine though there is added risk of disc loss on several woodland holes due to deadfall debris. #1 is long and strongly downhill, #2 and #9 uphill drives. Fun layout, hopefully returns to normalcy before long. Several tight woodland drives and elevation challenges.
Cons: Risk of disc loss substantial, particularly now w/ widespread hurricane deadfall. At least some chance of disc loss on most of the holes. Poison ivy here and there, including the meadow left of fairway on #1.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

With some clean-up, it could be great

1    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation adds to the mix of interesting shots at this course.
- Fun course to play on the way to Nockamixon.
- Course is pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: There were plenty here for me.

- The grass on holes 1&2 was too much for me. I ended up losing two discs while playing and spent more time looking for the discs than throwing them on those two holes. Ultimately it's my fault for the shots, but just do whatever you can to stay clear of them. If you want to add more strokes the first two holes, you can easily make them up along the rest of the course.

- As some others have mentioned the destruction from the hurricane is absolutely insane here. Hole 3's basket is damaged from a fallen tree and there were even a few uprooted trees on some of the other holes that were massive. If this was cleaned up I'm sure it would be better.
Other Thoughts: I saw this course featured on disc golf monthly and figured I'd take the drive and give it a shot. I got frustrated quickly from losing two discs, but I could imagine that this course is a lot of fun in the winter when most of the grass and plants die down for the season.

If cleanup efforts are made, I think this course could be fantastic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 High potential is squandered

1    1/2/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: TheBigYelow1
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery. The walk down to (from? see below) hole 1 surely is picturesque in spring/summer/fall. A creek runs alongside a few holes, and there are large rock formations that come into play.
Cons: Short. Every hole was under 400 feet after the first, which made the reasonable fairways a little easy.

Sandy's destruction. The hurricane absolutely smashed the woods here, leaving huge trees downed directly in fairways or on top of baskets. It is passable, but you will literally have to throw over or around tons of trees and branches. Mainly affects holes 3 through 8.

Navigation. The hole maps were great, but the course map was off big time early on.
Hole 1 I think starts at the top of the hill, and ends up in the back woods slightly to the right. However that basket said hole #2, which threw us off.
Hole 2 then goes back across the field and ends towards the bottom of the incline, and that basket says #3.
This goes on for the first three or 4 holes, before the tee numbers catch up to the basket numbers. Made for a very confusing first play through, especially when coupled with trees blocking our view/path at every turn.
Other Thoughts: I had a difficult time rating this course, because the opportunity for a 3 star course is there. However, the massive amount of damage from Hurricane Sandy has left much of the course almost unplayable.
If you're the adventurous type, put on some high-ankle boots and hit the woods. Otherwise steer clear until it's cleaned up.

If you do go for a round, pay close attention to the course map in the woods. The tees are pretty accurately placed and you'll need to snoop around a bit through the uprooted trees. Hole 4 or 5 was particularly difficult, as a tree laid parallel to the path, in front of the tee.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Same Again, Please

1    7/28/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Rock formations scattered about several of the middle holes pose attractive challenges.
Cons:
Single tee (although they were flat/concrete)/pin position.
Other Thoughts:
There are plenty of challenges to be found on this varied nine set at the back of a small public park. While the first two holes play primarily across a small open space, their baskets are tucked into the woods, and elevation changes (steep down/initially narrow at the start of#1, steep uphill at the end of #2). The next two holes are similar - in the woods, short, straight, tight. Holes 5-8 are where the course really hits stride, as the holes lengthen, the rock formations appear, and subtle turns-n-fades to hit the tough-but-fair optimal windows are needed as the course gently works its way up the wooded slope. A short-but-steep upslope shots finishes the round, where you turn right to head towards the parking lot, or better yet, left, for another go at the baskets.

Navigation: The online map (8/25/08) was not entirely correct the day I played (7/28/12). Hole-1 on the map no longer exists, so you start at map-2. The new hole has been inserted before #5. The only other tip is when finishing hole-3, keep to the lower path, along the creek, as the upper path will take you to tee-9.

Favourite hole: #8 Gentle upslope in its near entirety, with trees defining a fair throwing path, needing a small fade left to head towards the basket. Fade too soon/sharply, and you'll have to see how well you can pitch up-n-over the rock formations looming along the left side before reaching the basket.

Definitely one of the best niners I've played, and worth a visit if passing by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kudzoo

1    6/4/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There was free parking
Cons: The walk to hole 1 was the best part of this course, and it was through a course with screaming kids running around. Hole 1 is a tight shot down a steep downhill, grass on either side is neck high and full of thorn bushes and heavy debris. If you miss by 10ft to the left you may have been better off throwing your disc into a black hole. (if a champion red sidewinder is found please hit me up) the second hole is also terrible, you need a tracking device. The signage is terrible at best and locating the tee boxes (if you can call them that) is a royal pain. I would never play this course again, even in the dead of winter when there is nothing growing at all. For all the great courses the lehigh valley has to offer i guess there had to be one that sucked.
Other Thoughts: this course needs about 1000 man hours of hard labor and another couple grand spent on signage for it to even be considered a DG course

FAIL

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    4/1/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shoestring shots after first 2 holes
Nice natural obstacles
located in park with open land to practice drives if desired
Cons: No dog leg holes
Only 1 hole more than par 3
no practice basket
Holes 1 and 2 are unplayable. The grass is way too long. Only good to play in winter when grass dies.
Other Thoughts: Lawn needs to be mowed between holes 1 and 2. I wish this course had 18 holes and grass was mowed. There is plenty of room for more holes and if it had a few longer holes this course (and dog legs) would be great as well as over water holes. It is decent after the first 2 holes for a 9 hole and if it were expanded could probably attract more players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 hole course

5+    3/28/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course, living five minutes away. I find it is very challenging with its tight, but fair, fairways. With the accuracy required to hit the fairway, the distances of the holes seem longer than they are. Distance is not overpowering mind you, but with the precision necessary to navigate through the trees, a grip it and rip it approach is sure to find a tree or two and lead you to being over par.

The course is a challenge. Par is a good score on most of these holes. The course is very clean.

I have become the main caretaker for the course and put in a lot of work with the Township over the winter of 2013/2014. The course has been cleaned up after Hurricane Sandy absolutely destroyed it. The rubber tee pads are in nice condition and the fairways are all clear of debris.

Overall, I love this course. It is very peaceful and out of the way, and never crowded. It's a quick play if you are passing through the area.

Brief synopsis:
Hole 1: Huge downhill with the basket tucked into the woods to the right. Only par 4 on the course. Tons of fun off the tee (as long as the grass is low).
Hole 2: Straight shot with the basket up a relatively steep hill. Tough par.
Hole 3: Straight fairway with the basket on the side of a small incline to the left, protected by a large boulder.
Hole 4: Fun downhill hyzer over a bog. Don't hit a tree, or you'll end up in the muck.
Hole 5: Super straight hole through a narrow tree gap. Another tough par.
Hole 6: Straight shot with the basket protected behind a large boulder, but reachable from either side.
Hole 7: Small uphill right off the tee leading to a 300' slight anhyzer.
Hole 8: Slight dogleg left to a basket protected by a wood pile in front, and large depression behind.
Hole 9: Straight shot directly up a hill back to the pavilion, with numerous trees limiting your options.
Cons: One small complaint is the holes are all relatively straight once you pass hole #1, but each presents its own challenge nonetheless. With the narrow fairways I mentioned, this course is a challenge. The use of the rocks, trees, and minor elevation changes make the holes just dissimilar enough to be interesting.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the terrain available, while satisfying neighborly desires to avoid the playground and fishing/swim hole. Keep an eye on your drive off the first and second tee, as finding a disc in the grass during the summer is quite a challenge if it hasn't been cut in a while. Use a spotter if you can. This area is off the beaten path of the rest of the park, so the area is infrequently mowed.

Please utilize the walking path to the right of tee 4 to make your way to the basket. The fairway can become a bog.

I have recently updated the scorecard and navigational map (early 2014), so the layout should be a breeze.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.