Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #8
3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great 9 hole course

5+    3/28/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 32  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course, living five minutes away. I find it is very challenging with its tight, but fair, fairways. With the accuracy required to hit the fairway, the distances of the holes seem longer than they are. Distance is not overpowering mind you, but with the precision necessary to navigate through the trees, a grip it and rip it approach is sure to find a tree or two and lead you to being over par.

The course is a challenge. Par is a good score on most of these holes. The course is very clean.

I have become the main caretaker for the course and put in a lot of work with the Township over the winter of 2013/2014. The course has been cleaned up after Hurricane Sandy absolutely destroyed it. The rubber tee pads are in nice condition and the fairways are all clear of debris.

Overall, I love this course. It is very peaceful and out of the way, and never crowded. It's a quick play if you are passing through the area.

Brief synopsis:
Hole 1: Huge downhill with the basket tucked into the woods to the right. Only par 4 on the course. Tons of fun off the tee (as long as the grass is low).
Hole 2: Straight shot with the basket up a relatively steep hill. Tough par.
Hole 3: Straight fairway with the basket on the side of a small incline to the left, protected by a large boulder.
Hole 4: Fun downhill hyzer over a bog. Don't hit a tree, or you'll end up in the muck.
Hole 5: Super straight hole through a narrow tree gap. Another tough par.
Hole 6: Straight shot with the basket protected behind a large boulder, but reachable from either side.
Hole 7: Small uphill right off the tee leading to a 300' slight anhyzer.
Hole 8: Slight dogleg left to a basket protected by a wood pile in front, and large depression behind.
Hole 9: Straight shot directly up a hill back to the pavilion, with numerous trees limiting your options.
Cons: One small complaint is the holes are all relatively straight once you pass hole #1, but each presents its own challenge nonetheless. With the narrow fairways I mentioned, this course is a challenge. The use of the rocks, trees, and minor elevation changes make the holes just dissimilar enough to be interesting.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the terrain available, while satisfying neighborly desires to avoid the playground and fishing/swim hole. Keep an eye on your drive off the first and second tee, as finding a disc in the grass during the summer is quite a challenge if it hasn't been cut in a while. Use a spotter if you can. This area is off the beaten path of the rest of the park, so the area is infrequently mowed.

Please utilize the walking path to the right of tee 4 to make your way to the basket. The fairway can become a bog.

I have recently updated the scorecard and navigational map (early 2014), so the layout should be a breeze.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole!

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty course. Lots of "PA Glacial Woods" (huge rocks amidst light canopy.)

I enjoyed the challenge of the tight shots through the woods. Fairways were well defined, and even if the baskets were not visible from the tee, it was easy to determine the layout of the hole.

Tee signs were fairly accurate and very nice (with the noted exception of the renumbering other reviewers have mentioned.)
Cons: Navigation is a bit screwy on the first few holes. Once you get through number 5, the flow is straightforward and easy to figure out.

The field that #1 and #2 play over is in serious need of cutting. It took me 10 minutes to find a blue disc in the open grass if that gives an indication of the size of the foilage.

Rocks! Wear hikers or at least an over the ankle shoe.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of the tall grass, I loved this course. I was pleasantly surprised by the challenge of it, the use of the natural terrain to enhance play, and the beauty of the course.

Lots of birdie opportunities if you can snake your drive through the trees.

I'll definitely play this one again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Nocky

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 217  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with good use of elevation and trees.

2 tees, main tee is a rubber flypad, alternate tees are gravel.

Lots of character: Starts with a challenge, a 600 foot downhill shot with rough on the right and the basket tucked 70 feet in the woods. 2 is relatively open but the basket is uphill tucked into the woods. 3 is very rocky and wooded, 4 is very scenic, but no longer uses the water. The course continues to feature large rock formations, drop offs, and natural obstacles to finish out a solid 9 hole course.
Cons: Low course maintnence. Rubber tee pads were covered in a brown slippery slime and were nearly unusable. Grass was becoming overgrown in area.

Little local support, due to complaints from the neighborhood the signature hole (old #4) over the water is gone and the first 4 signs are all out of order due to changes. Previous hole 1 is gone.

Terrain is rough with large roots and sharp rocks. Just 9 holes tore holes in my shoes, do not try to play in sandals, course terrain is tougher than Nockamixon on your feet.
Other Thoughts: Course is my top ten for 9 holers.

Hole 2's sign is crossed out, all tee signs are screwy until hole 5. This course is like a smaller, less brutal Nockamixon State Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice quick round

2-4    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an above average little 9 hole course. Hole 1 is the perfect way to start a round of disc golf, you can just rip it down the long downhill fairway into a wide open field, then layup to the basket which is tucked into the woods. After hole 2, another field hole that's basket is tucked into the treeline, you head into the woods for the last 7 holes. The courses baskets are in great shape and we had the course to ourselves. The flypads are in great shape and seemed longer than most (in my mind this was a positive). Finally the tee signs are adequate and there are next tee signs after most holes.
Cons: As others have stated the grass on holes 1 and 2 needed to be cut and obviously isn't the priority of the parks landscapers. There are no trash cans or benches throughout the course. The fairways on some of the wooded holes lacked definition, it seemed like these holes required more luck than skill. There were a couple random hikers who cut across fairways.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course. We played through it twice in a relatively short time (about an hour and a half). If your in the area, play Nockamixon first, If you still want more disc golf, then go play these nine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Someone bring the machete

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: Mystic1027
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variety and challenge compared to a run of the mill 9 hole course in a township park

Most teepads are rubber pads and in great shape, though a few were missing when I played.

Close proximity to several other courses including Nockamixon make this a great warmup course for early in the day.
Cons: When I played this course, the grass on hole #1 and 2 (old 2 and 3) was pushing 3 feet tall and very thick. This wasn't tall grass out in the rough, this was in the _fairways_. It really made the holes border on being unplayable.

Finding the first hole is somewhat tricky without knowing as previously mentioned that the course now starts on what was tee #2.

Ground gets VERY soggy after a bit of rain. Bring some waterproof boots!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very impressed with this course compared to the smaller courses in township parks that I'm used to seeing. My group almost turned around and left after trudging through the first hole. I'm very glad we pushed on, because the later parts of the course were quite a little gem. That said, I find it very hard to rate this course much more than a 3 because 2/9 of the course was bordering on unplayable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unami Park DGC

1    5/7/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9-hole course that plays mostly in the woods with tight fairways that require good technical shots.
Cool elevation changes; especially hole 1 with its epic downhill drive. Holes 2 and 9 provide interesting uphill shots.
The baskets are all in good condition as are most of the tee pads; accurate maps on each hole are also a plus. Definitely worth playing if you are in the area; even with a plethra of great courses nearby.
Cons: The removal of hole 1 and the change to hole 4 (used to be a signature drive over the water) are very dissapointing. This course would easily be a 3.5 or 4 in my book if those changes did not take place.
Navigation can be difficult if you are not familiar with the course, especially since hole #2 is now the new hole #1 and there is nothing at the park that I am aware of to alert you of that change.
I know from experience that holes 2 and 3 can get very overgrown if not maintained regularly (over the summer you can expect long searches through the thick stuff for your disc)
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step down in my opinion after the aformentioned changes to several of the holes. It is still a high quality 9-hole course that I will play on my way to the Allentown courses or Nockamixon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High grass

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Kunztown
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety of shots. Hole one is challenging and starts with a nice downslope, across a field. Then the course is a basic par 3 that runs through the woods with most holes being approx. 300 ft. One of the better par 3 courses in the area.
Cons: The grass was extremely high when I played, and looks like it hasn't been mowed in over 6 months. Holes 1 and 2 therefore were a challenge finding your disc across a field of extreme high grass. The signs are nice, but holes 1 thru 4 are written over the other signs? Hole 4 is missing a tee!
Other Thoughts: If in the area, definitely worth checking out. A good compliment on the drive up to nockamixon. Also, the course in sellersville is worth checking out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Nine Holer

1    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: riversol
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall, well crafted course with fun elevation changes and scenic geology along the way.
Cons: Only reason I don't give this a course a 5 is because some of the Next Hole and Tee placards are in disrepair. Even so, with the somewhat outdated online map in hand we were able to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: This review was made before Spring had made its debut, so I look forward to how the increased greenery changes the play of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge elevation changes, tight technical shots thru woods, long holes and well placed pins over rocks and all sorts of obstructions. I did two loops today and this course was a fun workout, bring some comfortable shoes
Cons: This is probably a transition but be prepared to start on #2 as hole #1 was taken down and nothing alerts you of this upon arrival

Par is a great score on #2 so don't let this new starting hole get you frustrated
Other Thoughts: Since #2 is now the starting hole.....nice if there was one or two fairway markers alerting you of the basket location as down on the right the wooden foot bridge is the entry point to basket and it was tough to know where I was headed the first time.....but after one time its easy to follow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Slice of Heaven in My Backyard

5+    6/30/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: PhantomGreen
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very diverse course for being tucked away. I love to throw this course a few times in a row. Unami has something for everyone, beginners will enjoy the compactness, and advanced players will enjoy shooting the more technical lines.
Cons: Course is a bit disorganized right now, but not terribly. I loved the hole over the creek, I wish that would come back, also the old first hole was a nice lead in to the big downhill on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I live ten minutes from this course and I feel lucky to have such a nice little slice of disc heaven in my own backyard. Very nice break from Nocky.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.