Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: raynger27 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mini Nocky

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 210  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with good use of elevation and trees.

2 tees, main tee is a rubber flypad, alternate tees are gravel.

Lots of character: Starts with a challenge, a 600 foot downhill shot with rough on the right and the basket tucked 70 feet in the woods. 2 is relatively open but the basket is uphill tucked into the woods. 3 is very rocky and wooded, 4 is very scenic, but no longer uses the water. The course continues to feature large rock formations, drop offs, and natural obstacles to finish out a solid 9 hole course.
Cons: Low course maintnence. Rubber tee pads were covered in a brown slippery slime and were nearly unusable. Grass was becoming overgrown in area.

Little local support, due to complaints from the neighborhood the signature hole (old #4) over the water is gone and the first 4 signs are all out of order due to changes. Previous hole 1 is gone.

Terrain is rough with large roots and sharp rocks. Just 9 holes tore holes in my shoes, do not try to play in sandals, course terrain is tougher than Nockamixon on your feet.
Other Thoughts: Course is my top ten for 9 holers.

Hole 2's sign is crossed out, all tee signs are screwy until hole 5. This course is like a smaller, less brutal Nockamixon State Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice quick round

2-4    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an above average little 9 hole course. Hole 1 is the perfect way to start a round of disc golf, you can just rip it down the long downhill fairway into a wide open field, then layup to the basket which is tucked into the woods. After hole 2, another field hole that's basket is tucked into the treeline, you head into the woods for the last 7 holes. The courses baskets are in great shape and we had the course to ourselves. The flypads are in great shape and seemed longer than most (in my mind this was a positive). Finally the tee signs are adequate and there are next tee signs after most holes.
Cons: As others have stated the grass on holes 1 and 2 needed to be cut and obviously isn't the priority of the parks landscapers. There are no trash cans or benches throughout the course. The fairways on some of the wooded holes lacked definition, it seemed like these holes required more luck than skill. There were a couple random hikers who cut across fairways.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course. We played through it twice in a relatively short time (about an hour and a half). If your in the area, play Nockamixon first, If you still want more disc golf, then go play these nine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Someone bring the machete

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: Mystic1027
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variety and challenge compared to a run of the mill 9 hole course in a township park

Most teepads are rubber pads and in great shape, though a few were missing when I played.

Close proximity to several other courses including Nockamixon make this a great warmup course for early in the day.
Cons: When I played this course, the grass on hole #1 and 2 (old 2 and 3) was pushing 3 feet tall and very thick. This wasn't tall grass out in the rough, this was in the _fairways_. It really made the holes border on being unplayable.

Finding the first hole is somewhat tricky without knowing as previously mentioned that the course now starts on what was tee #2.

Ground gets VERY soggy after a bit of rain. Bring some waterproof boots!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very impressed with this course compared to the smaller courses in township parks that I'm used to seeing. My group almost turned around and left after trudging through the first hole. I'm very glad we pushed on, because the later parts of the course were quite a little gem. That said, I find it very hard to rate this course much more than a 3 because 2/9 of the course was bordering on unplayable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unami Park DGC

1    5/7/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9-hole course that plays mostly in the woods with tight fairways that require good technical shots.
Cool elevation changes; especially hole 1 with its epic downhill drive. Holes 2 and 9 provide interesting uphill shots.
The baskets are all in good condition as are most of the tee pads; accurate maps on each hole are also a plus. Definitely worth playing if you are in the area; even with a plethra of great courses nearby.
Cons: The removal of hole 1 and the change to hole 4 (used to be a signature drive over the water) are very dissapointing. This course would easily be a 3.5 or 4 in my book if those changes did not take place.
Navigation can be difficult if you are not familiar with the course, especially since hole #2 is now the new hole #1 and there is nothing at the park that I am aware of to alert you of that change.
I know from experience that holes 2 and 3 can get very overgrown if not maintained regularly (over the summer you can expect long searches through the thick stuff for your disc)
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step down in my opinion after the aformentioned changes to several of the holes. It is still a high quality 9-hole course that I will play on my way to the Allentown courses or Nockamixon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High grass

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Kunztown
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety of shots. Hole one is challenging and starts with a nice downslope, across a field. Then the course is a basic par 3 that runs through the woods with most holes being approx. 300 ft. One of the better par 3 courses in the area.
Cons: The grass was extremely high when I played, and looks like it hasn't been mowed in over 6 months. Holes 1 and 2 therefore were a challenge finding your disc across a field of extreme high grass. The signs are nice, but holes 1 thru 4 are written over the other signs? Hole 4 is missing a tee!
Other Thoughts: If in the area, definitely worth checking out. A good compliment on the drive up to nockamixon. Also, the course in sellersville is worth checking out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Nine Holer

1    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: riversol
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall, well crafted course with fun elevation changes and scenic geology along the way.
Cons: Only reason I don't give this a course a 5 is because some of the Next Hole and Tee placards are in disrepair. Even so, with the somewhat outdated online map in hand we were able to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: This review was made before Spring had made its debut, so I look forward to how the increased greenery changes the play of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge elevation changes, tight technical shots thru woods, long holes and well placed pins over rocks and all sorts of obstructions. I did two loops today and this course was a fun workout, bring some comfortable shoes
Cons: This is probably a transition but be prepared to start on #2 as hole #1 was taken down and nothing alerts you of this upon arrival

Par is a great score on #2 so don't let this new starting hole get you frustrated
Other Thoughts: Since #2 is now the starting hole.....nice if there was one or two fairway markers alerting you of the basket location as down on the right the wooden foot bridge is the entry point to basket and it was tough to know where I was headed the first time.....but after one time its easy to follow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Slice of Heaven in My Backyard

5+    6/30/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: PhantomGreen
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very diverse course for being tucked away. I love to throw this course a few times in a row. Unami has something for everyone, beginners will enjoy the compactness, and advanced players will enjoy shooting the more technical lines.
Cons: Course is a bit disorganized right now, but not terribly. I loved the hole over the creek, I wish that would come back, also the old first hole was a nice lead in to the big downhill on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I live ten minutes from this course and I feel lucky to have such a nice little slice of disc heaven in my own backyard. Very nice break from Nocky.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet 9 Hole Course

2-4    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First...HOLE #2 IS THE FIRST HOLE.
A sweet down hill slalom drive to land in a open grass meadow with a second hard drive into the tree line with a up-shot to get you near the basket and putt to finish with a par 4.
This is a your first taste of this well designed course. This park has it all for a fun and challenging play on a 9 hole course. If it leaves you wanting more, play it again? You won't be disappointed and will enjoy every hole.
This park has a little of everything to give you a intro to playing Disc golf. The designer was lucky to have such great features for a 9 hole course.

This isn't a give-me ace run course you can play with putters and mids. This course plays like the big boys. Great terrain changes, tight wooded fairways, blind holes, dog legs and 2 open long field drives (holes 1&2). Giant boulders guarding some baskets and some on slopes, for death roll putts. Eliminating hole #1 was a smart move due to it's proximity to pedestrian walks and general park use. Elevated boxes with fly pads on tees and good baskets are the norm here.
Cons: Not much to complain about really on this 9 hole course. Errant throws on hole 1&2 can put you in some nasty thick. Changing hole #4 from a over the creek shot was a little disappointing. Seems people hang at this deep pool and let their dogs go for a swim here. So maybe it had to be done for a safety factor.
Park map, photos, scorecard and tee signs need to be updated to reflect changes to the layout.
Other Thoughts: Let me say, this is the first 9 hole course that I have ever played and I wasn't disappointed. It deserves it's rating. I wish it was across the street from my house and I could play it over and over again.
It's a close hop off PA-476 and well worth the detour for a few quick rounds on this challenging course. Don't pass it by, think of it as Nocky's little brother only 9 miles up the road. If only all neighborhoods and a 9 holer like this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Right on Par

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique obstacles like the rock wall guarding a hole. A few straight holes, and a variety of other holes. Very challenging course for newcomers and experienced players alike.
Cons: Grass in play on the first two holes is way too tall, even for disc golf. Course just recently redesigned, which is why the numbering is off. The course now begins with hole #2. I'm sure this will be addressed and corrected in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.