Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: raynger27 Hole #3 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

5+    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: NateyFresh
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First and foremost it is only 10 minutes from my house. The first three holes are a nice warm up for holes 4 thru 9. The fairways are all about finess and not power. There are few holes after hole three where you can totally air out a shot. Good fairway shots with a a decent up will almost always result in a par. Hole 1, 4, 9 are great duece holes. Hole 2 proves to be the most challenging hole for me it is the only par 4 on the course. Hole 4 is one of my favorite holes that i have ever played.
Cons: -9 more holes would be prime.
-Gets muddy on the lower holes
Other Thoughts: Hopefully this becomes a 18 hole course. When it does, I believe it will be right up there with the best courses in the lehigh valley area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cloud Nine!

5+    10/30/2008   1/3/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good course. Serene little park with a huge back country that has been granted primarily to the disc golf course. Despite only 9 holes there are a lot of unique challenges here. Plenty of variety; some open, many tight, elevation, fast greens, obstacles course seems to have gotten the maximum out of 9 holes. Beautiful Pennsylvania wooded setting.Good amenities. Well marked, good rubber tee pads especially for a woods course. Parking and restrooms. A quick review/#1 a 600 foot shot off a steep sledding hill across a field and back into some woods in the valley below...this hole is a score differentiator for those that care about statistical separation of Pro's and Ams/#2 a sweet drive across a field and uphill slightly to a protected basket on a steep hillside...underrated hole/#3 a straight technical drive across a wooded hillside/ aim for the boulder...#4 a funky short rhfh friendly s curve through the woods...#5 a tight straight with a pair of field goal trees halfway down the fairway....reminds me of Paw Paw#6/ #6 a blind tight drive to a basket hidden behind a huge boulder/#7 a tight slightly lefty up and over wooded drive...this hole eats me alive/#8 A drive around a huge rocky boulder formation with the basket perched up high on a fast green....overshoot and your in the woods below, undershoot and you still have an uphill putt...very cool/#9 a short steep uphill drive to a basket on a nice landing area....fun hole. Aceable but technical. Despite recent changes to address safety of public...its still a great course. Course seems to magically improve every time I go out there. PA_disc is the magician behind the scenes...good work. Actually glad that changes were made so that the course can be saved.
Cons: Only nine holes....and local politics seem to have the second nine in a holding pattern. Grass can be long and muddy on holes 1 and 2 sometimes. Blind nature of drive of #1 can yiels to a lot of searches for discs......It's a one man army out there so I won't complain about the thorns on hole 1 just be aware that you really wanna stay in the grass fairway.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I would rather play it than many 18 holers...I think with the dedication of the course designer and reasonable advice from the many experienced players in the area that this course will become one of the best...As many have noted its good for all levels of player and experts will really enjoy the long technical lines here.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 excellent 9-holer

1    12/29/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unami Disc Golf course is a challenging, well groomed course. While only nine holes at the current time it offers everything one could want in a disc golf course.
Holes 1-3 play relatively open, with 4-9 playing through rocky woods. Hole 2 is a long open down-hill shot, with the pin off to the right in the woods. The hill is pretty steep down and can be very slick. Hole 3 plays back up the hill and ends in the woods. Hole 4 is a nice shot over water that requires a well placed shot to stay out of the creek. The pin placement on hole 6 is really neat with it placed behind a huge boulder and protected by a fallen tree. The last few holes are play very elevated with lots of boulders and thick woods. Hole 8 is set atop a large boulder laden hill and requires a nicely placed shot to avoid rolling away.
The holes have a nice mix of right and left handed holes to please all players. The lengths vary as well, but the long holes feel long, and the short holes don't feel short because of the unforgiving terrain. Overall this course offers enough of a challenge to please more advanced players, but is not overwhelming to new players
Each tee has a nice sign that shows the layout of the hole and the rubber tee pads are great. There are also signs in between each hole to help navigate the course.
This really is a well laid out course and just because it is only 9 holes should not be a deterrent, this is one of those rare 9 holers actually worth making a trip to play.
Cons: The course doesn't drain very well and holds water, so after a heavy rain or snow thaw the course can be extremely muddy.
The rough/brush is pretty thick in spots and could be a pain in the warmer months.
The holes are spread out and there is quite a walk between some of the holes, so the signs directing you to the next holes are essential if you don't want to get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is located just minutes from the PA turnpike, and there are plenty of restaurants close to the course. Nockamixon is only 20 minutes away from Unami and is well worth playing as well.
There are restrooms at the course, but they are closed in November for the winter.
This course is an outstanding, well-designed 9-holer. There are supposedly plans to expand the course to a full 18 holes. There is room and if they are anything like the original 9 holes this course could be one of the better courses in PA.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

5+    10/18/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: misfitrev
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Great elevation changes, water, trees, hidden holes and so much more. The course while new, is in great shape. New rubber pads were just installed and make for great tee boxes. The course is marked extremely well - little kids could find there way around. The signs also display the course well, so that new comers will know where to throw and how long the hole is. The park has many amenities. Previous reviewers mentioned the underbrush being heavy - most of this has been taken care of - even with bad throws I was always able to quickly find my disc and was never tortured looking threw tons of junk.
Cons: The trash that people leave behind on all courses. People need to start caring for the facilities they enjoy.
Other Thoughts: This may be one of the best courses I have played. I have taken at least 10 people with me, because it so enjoyable.The only thing they could do to improve this course is to finish the second nine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding!

5+    10/11/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: ipaman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. All types of terrain. Elevation change is great. Water, rocks, narrow fairways, open fairways. It is the best 9 hole course I have ever played. Most times I wouldn't have given this place a second thought,( the 9 hole courses in the area are not too great), but what an exception. If anyone is in the area, play this course.
Cons: It's not 18 holes.Can't wait to see it when it is. The tee boxes are a little rough, but soon to be fixed up w/ Fly 18's.
Other Thoughts: Again, just a great job. Heck I played 27 there today, and diddn't even get a little bored.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  impressive

5+    10/4/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: avm0807
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/10/2008
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow! I walked this course a few months back before baskets were thrown in. Saw the potential...also saw...alot of work (Congrats! to those who put it in...stellar job!) Considering how new the course is...fantastic! Well marked. Great variety. Elevation, water, blind shots, narrow lanes...works every shot...and all on 9 holes. I can not forget my wife's favorite part of the course. Doggy Poo bags that look like they came from the SoHo Grand. These things were thick & heavy duty. No fingers accidently poking thru these babies!!!
Cons: 9 holes. Most frolfers will not give the course the time of day it deserves as a result. (Those would be the same people who get upset that I referred to it as Frolf).

Needs to be broken in... in time.
Other Thoughts: Would love to see plans to take an additional 9 close to the stream. Hole 4 is such a fun ace run over the creek...I could sit there all afternoon.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: maf763
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed course, good signs, variety of challenges
Cons: Wouldn't mind one more open hole for better balance with wooded holes
Other Thoughts: The first three are fairly open, pin placements add to the challenge of the holes; hole 4 brings a nice creek into play; holes 5 - 9 are all wooded, and might remind you of the back 9 at Hickory Run - aggressive throws can really get punished on these holes as opposed to conservative throws that look for good placement

Note to course designer - the slope coming down from hole 8 is going to get badly eroded unless some type of erosion dam is installed

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A true 9 hole fantasy!

2-4    9/16/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained 9 hole course with a bit of elevation and a water hole, number 4. Baskets are brand new and in terrific shape. A few open holes, then wooded the rest of the way with punishments for leaving the fairway. Mix of lefty and righty holes to keep players honest. 9th hole ends close to 1st tee to make for easy second round setup. Water and restrooms available, as well as a playground, pavilion, b-ball courts, baseball fields, and a roller hockey rink. Signs are very helpful and tee signs point the way to the next tee. Very well thought out, designed well, and plays somewhat like an 18 holer. The water hole plays tough but unless you hit the deep part of the creek, chances are you'll keep your disc.
Cons: If you're not the best fairway driver, wear long pants. You'll be glad you did. Hill on number two a little slippery, but otherwise I have no complaints. With the new fly pads recently installed, the course is better yet!
Other Thoughts: The location of this course is just 5 minutes from the turnpike and 15 minutes from Nockamixon State Park. This is the best 9 holer in the Lehigh Valley and I'm sure if you played two rounds, you will truly see the real glory of this great course. Kudos to all who designed and were involved, this was a well deserved treat for dg'ers and yet another standout course in the Lehigh Valley area. Outstanding!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

1    9/13/2008   9/14/2008
Review By: seanwilliam
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Even though this course is only 9 holes, it has everything you would want in a disc golf course. The first couple holes are more open with some very nice elevation changes. After the third hole, the rest of the course is played through the woods with a creek coming into play on a couple of the remaining holes. The entire course is marked very well so it is hard to get turned around. The signs are very nicely made and very true to the layout of the hole. The best thing about this course is that it can be played within a half an hour and when your done you have the feeling of just getting done an 18 hole course because it seems like you never throw the same shot twice. No hole is the same.
Cons: Even thought the course is marked very nicely there is a little bit of a walk between some of the holes. There is also currently a lot of underbrush so a bad shot could put you in a little bit of trouble. The tee pads are currently crushed gravel, which I believe is going to be changed, but you don't get the best footing while teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Whatever cons I may have listed the pros definitely outweigh them. This course is a must play and is only located five minutes off the PA turnpike. It will definitely be a stop for me every time I am in the Lehigh Valley.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole Course Yet!

2-4    9/5/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the by far the best 9 hole course I have played yet. For only being 9 holes theres is great variety of challenging holes on this course, including holes in the open, huge elevation changes, tight narrow wooded fairways (very unforgiving) and even a beautifull water hazard hole. This is a great all around cousrse and I plan to play it many times. Conviently located close to PA Turnpike and RT663
Cons: You will be very unhappy if you land anywhere but the fairway, right now undergrowth is thick and prickly. Sinage not yet installed, and tee boxes are extremly soft (to be fixed soon from what I understand)
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best 9 hole course I have ever played. I wasn't even going to try the course due to other 9 hole courses being so bad. This is definetly worth the time. I plan to play this course many more times!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.