Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: raynger27 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Right on Par

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique obstacles like the rock wall guarding a hole. A few straight holes, and a variety of other holes. Very challenging course for newcomers and experienced players alike.
Cons: Grass in play on the first two holes is way too tall, even for disc golf. Course just recently redesigned, which is why the numbering is off. The course now begins with hole #2. I'm sure this will be addressed and corrected in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well maintained. well marked. interesting holes.
all holes that arent 4 and 5 are very fun
Cons: holes 4 and 5 suck. they just go across and open field. that is overgrown and difficult to walk on and often flooded.
Other Thoughts: i like

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unami Creek Park

1    3/11/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great little 9 hole course. It's within the park, but off on its own. Park patrons keep their distance. This course is a very beautiful place to play the game. Excellent use of the elevation. I really enjoyed teeing off of hole #2. The hill off the tee pad is rather steep.
It is set up well, utilizing the surrounding area. Some of the fairways are through open fields, but most are through the wooded area. Hole number 4 requires to tee off over a stream; keeps the game interesting.
All the tee pads are in excellent condition and are bordered with 2x4 planks. Each tee has a map with landmarks, pars, and distances. They appear well maintained. (Hole 9 was the exception, the map was missing).
The course is easy to navigate. Markers on trees pointed to the next tee.
Cons: I really enjoyed playing this course. There were some minor things that I could see causing some difficulty.
First off, the fairway area within hole 2 and 3 acts as a reservoir for the stream overflow. The stream runs right on the border of this particular fairway. Definitely would want to avoid playing after a good rain fall.
Second thing is just hypothetical, I will have to update more towards the summer. This fairway has the potential, if not maintained and regularly groomed to become rather overgrown. Because of the natural moisture in the soil from the stream, the grass is thick and will grow at a fast rate.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was please with this beautiful course. It encompasses every aspect of a top notch course. It definately is a fun course. Not only is it a nice quick course that you can hit on the way home from work, but also is worth the drive to come and see the area. If I drove 45min to come play here, I would be satisfied with the experience.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Nine-Hole Course

1    9/1/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The old, tall grove of hardwood trees creates a high-ceiling canopy for the bulk of the course. This results in fairly open wooded holes with limited brush and undergrowth, even in the height of summer. Despite the feeling of being in large outdoor rooms, the course still provides its fair share of challenges for players of all skill levels.

For a course located in a township park, Unami is in better shape than other similar courses. The baskets at this course are fairly new and are still in good condition. As are the tee pads. The tee-based signs are also in good shape and helpful.

There are several holes that are pretty fun including the 2nd hole where you have to stand on top of a hill and drive a few hundred feet over a feild before turning sharply to the right over a bridge and into a grove of trees to the basket. The 4th hole is a great water hole where you can play it safe or launch a glory throw over the creek. The 6th hole includes a giant boulder that protects the basket. While a lot of players aren't fond of blind baskets, this one creates a unique situation not seen in most other courses.
Cons: The course can get muddy, especially on the 2nd and 3rd holes. These holes can also be overgrown with tall grass.

While tee signs at the tee pads are great, getting to the tee pads can be a bit tricky, especially going to the 4th tee.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, Unami creek is a fun course. I'm not a big fan of largely wooded courses, but Unami is an exception. The course could easily be played back-to-back in two hours or less and makes a nice stop on the way to Nockamixon or the other world-class courses of the Lehigh Valley.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is not what you expect from a nine hole course. The holes are challenging.
Rubber Fly pads in good shape
New Baskets
Cons: signage isn't the greatest
grass is overgrown (many reviewers commented otherwise and the photos look great, so perhaps it is normally done, but hasn't been cut in a while)
rough has many pricker bushers
The course does not drain well. it rained a few days prior to me being there and the course had puddles/muddy in many sections
Other Thoughts: Some people say the signs are great. I was able to find all 9 holes with only a little bit of trouble. The basket on 4(the water hole) was moved. Many reviewers commented it's a great hole, but that was in the old position. The sign does not reflect the basket change (it is back left of the original position). Finding hole 3 was a little difficult. Many of the fairways are tight, but fair. I often would throw a midrange up the middle and play for par on severlal holes. The basket locations are great on several holes, around large rocks, protected trees, etc.
This is a challenging nine hole course. When I played it it was muddy and overgrown (in the fairway and rough on 2 and 3 (only 1-3 seem to have grass). This course is tough and the best play on several holes is play for par (1 and 9 are duecable, 4 used to be in the old position). I would recommend going to Knockamixon instead of Unami, as it is real close.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: monkeybone75
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sweet 9 hole course, good use of natural cover and elevation. Lots of trees, but the course is well groomed-- its not just a tee box in the woods. Markers are easy to read and find. Def a worth while course to play.
Cons: Can be muddy after rain.. on hole 2 the grass was a little high so you have to watch your throws, the 4th hole was closed and there were directions to an alternate tee-- its a shame because the original 4th hole looked awesome.
Hole #1 is an easy throw beginning hole, could have made #1 more demanding
Other Thoughts: This course is along the lines of nock, it has all of the natural beauty.. there is talk of making it an 18 hole.. that would make it a 4.5 star for me, already a must play

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Nockamixon companion

1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Still missing the 4 Nockamixon holes? I think they miraculously showed up here. Rocky holes, tree-lined fairways, two wide open ones, elevation... this little course packs a lot into nine holes. Great facilities and a playground on-site. Excellent signage; didn't get lost once.
Cons: Very muddy, even two days after a rain. Flypads aren't the best, and often are uneven. Hole 1 seems very out of place, and too close to the pavilion and ballfield. If you weren't on this site, you would have no idea what happened to hole 4. There is a very dangerous half-fallen tree near basket 6 that needs to be taken care of ASAP before it kills someone. No accommodations for shorter/easier holes for beginners, though having discs for rent is a nice touch.
Other Thoughts: Hole 4 would have been so beautiful! Bring it back! This course makes a fine companion to Nockamixon, with many of the same pros and cons.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unbelieveable

1    3/25/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, will have you throwing up and down hill. There is a great risk reward water shot to challenge you. Unique and well protected pin locations. One basket is hidden behind a large boulder, while another is near the top and side of a boulder, so a missed putt here is costly.

There is a great mix of wooded, semi-wooded and open holes. No two holes are alike and each offers its own unique test. Completely separated from the rest of the park, so non-disc golf traffic should be minimal.

Tee signs at every hole, providing distances, pin and alternate pin placements and clear topography of the challenge ahead. Next tee signs made this fairly easy to navigate without a map.

There are restrooms on site as well as a nice playground for the really little ones.
Cons: I have to nitpick for this. Only 9 holes, so it may keep some from playing it, thinking it's your typical pitch and put crappy niner. A few extra strategically placed next tee signs couldn't hurt. If the pavilion near tee 1 and basket 9 is in use, some caution may need to come into play.
Other Thoughts: Ok, I just came from playing the world class Nockamixon State Park course and was expecting Unami to be your typical short and easy nine hole course to rebuild my battered disc golf game. Wow, was I in for a shock. This was easily the best nine hole course I've ever played. It had great length and difficulty.

Not being familiar with the park or area, I wasn't sure if there is enough land to build an entire 18 hole course. These 9 had me begging for more. If this park has enough room for 9 more holes, and they are designed as well as these were, this could easily become one of the best courses in this already well established world class disc golf course area.

Please don't let the fact it is not 18 holes deter you from playing this course. The first hole will mislead you into thinking this course is going to be easy, but just wait for the next eight, just wait.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course!!

2-4    3/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: crepitis13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of natural terrain! Very scenic!! Easy enough for beginners, but will still challenge most players. The tees are nice, the signs are very good. A bit of a walk between a few holes, but the course is by no means long. The course is a must play!!!
Cons: Can be muddy. Though hole 4 is great, I can see problems with plastic in the water etc etc. A couple of very small prunings might fix most of that.
Other Thoughts: Would love to see this expanded to 18, but I feel multiple tee positions would be just as good.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice 9

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unami is one of the best 9 hole courses that I have ever played. Only minutes from I-476. Hole 2 is an awesome downhill tee shot. The wooded holes 4-9 have 'fair'ways yet are in the woods. Hole 4 is scenic and fun with the creek in play. The elevated pin on #8 is great! Good fly pads placed over crushed rock and wooded tee frames. Very detailed tee signs.
Cons: Can be muddy in places. Erosion will become a problem on #2 over time with
more foot traffic.Only 9 holes now.

Other Thoughts: About 15 minutes from Nockamixon, it is basically on the way if coming from the south (Philly). A worthy stop. I'd bump this up to 4 stars if it becomes 18 holes.
I didn't mind the walk between holes since every hole brought another challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.