Grass Lake, MI
Big Portage DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #15 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Worth the Drive

1    11/7/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: deezler
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout in beautiful area
No one around
Shot variety
Good use of limited elevation change
Fairways were raked of leaves
Cons: Pretty short course
Plenty of trees in your way, almost no open holes
Back 9 concrete tees are slick! WTF were they thinking with no texture on the concrete pads
One foot deep accumulation of oak leaves off the fairway has serious disc loss potential. Be aware.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. Looks kind of far from Ann Arbor on the map, but the drive really went quite quickly. If there was another decent course nearby, would be even better. Some locals we saw on the course recommended playing Jackson Community College, but reviews on this site of that course have me thinking otherwise.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/4/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great flow, cement pads and signage. The fairways have had all the leaves removed which is amazing in its self. This course has a great fun factor and is very clean. Great scenery.
Cons: None for me but the short holes will not be favored by the big gun arm types that have no clean up game.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive. I will be returning here time and time again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet, peaceful, and excellent

1    11/2/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quiet. Idyllic woods. Saw deer while playing.
-Nicely defined fairways.
-Good amount of elevation changes for the area.
-Good concrete teepads, except hole 9 which was still dirt, and signage. Very easy to find your way around, once you're at hole 1.
-Good variation on shot types. Front nine favors righties, back nine has more lefty/forehand shots. Uphills and downhills. Straight shots, and big hooks.
-Bathrooms and water on site.
-No vandalism or litter. Please keep it that way.
Cons: -Evidence of a lot of poison ivy during poison ivy season, but not bad during November.
-Carpeted by leaves in early November, we were lucky to not lose any.
-Pay to park, but changed to 10$ from 24$ annually with car registration, which makes it a lot cheaper. Support your state parks. Probably free if you play in the off season, too, as there was no staff on site to collect our money.
-6 different kinds of thorny vines in the roughs. Not too dense, but you want to stay on the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves much better scores than it received when it was only 9 holes. I noticed that it had not been reviewed since it went to 18 holes, and made the journey, hoping it would exceed the 2.5 stars rating it had averaged before. I was not disappointed. As pretty much the farthest west of the courses that can still be considered in the Ann Arbor area, it has a lot of strong competition, but I definitely found it worth the trip and a solid addition to what is already a very strong local scene. Come out and enjoy some of the most peaceful disc golf in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 designed by my dad

1    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good basic design with some very tough and tricky shots you are glad to be able to putt at.
- Has one elevated downhill into the woods shot, rare for SE Michigan to have a hill at all.
- No water hazard, serious loss of plastic opportunity.
-Good signage

Cons: -Several janky woods holes that can be parked but offer up no real route but luck
- Will have very high levels of poison ivy by area standards in season (highest in SE Michigan I'd say)
Other Thoughts: The course is mostly wooded, some open narrow fairways, some tightly packed, one basket uphill in the open and one tee in the open. Typical michigan wooded landscape, can be rough off the fairway. Will be well maintained due to state park maintenance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/5/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 66  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Minor elevation changes on 2 holes one up and one down,nice signs,restrooms,easy to navigate,Discraft baskets,nice size fairways for a wooded course,good variety,nice park with beach,picnic area and camping,
Cons: New course still a little rough around the edges,natural tees,9 holes,
Other Thoughts: They have cement tee pads piled up around the course appears they are waiting for spring, heard a rumor they were going to add 9 more holes,wouldn't drive out of my way but if I was in the area I would play again,State Park pass required,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.