Disc Golf Store
Davenport, IA 
Slattery Park Share
Uploaded By: dekalbdiscfan Hole #4 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great place to learn, or teach, the game of disc golf

2-4    7/16/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beginners course, hence, there is absolutely no rough. Well groomed turf throughout the park. There are really nice 8 foot concrete tees. There is a bathroom and drinking fountain. Mach II targets from DGA are adequate. Some shot shaping requirements for intermediate arms and above which is also a good thing for the beginner disc golfer whom this course is geared for.Great use of trees by the Davenport forestry department including fast growing trees such as Willow and Sycamore but also many mature trees that often are in the way or framing the target. Room to expand to 9 holes (and really should)
Cons: No kiosk/course map. No tee signs. No hole over 290'. Close proximity to basketball, pavilion, playground etc makes some holes unplayable during peak traffic. #6 tee is pointing 30 degrees left of the target due to target having been relocated.
Other Thoughts: I uploaded a course map you can find in the links page. I am not adding a ton of information because the other reviews here are quite lengthy and accurate. I figured the best thing I could do is give everyone (especially the beginners) a map showing the layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 6'er

1    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small city park. Park had a basketball court, a children's playground, small open shelter with several picnic tables, porta potty on site, grass softball - baseball field, and a walking trail thru park. Trashcans and several benches in park also, though not throughout the disc golf park, which is acceptable due to size and # of holes. Park was maintained quite will also.

Nice sized concrete tee pads, good texturing too. They also were wide in the back of the pad and narrower towards the pins, which was helpful (see why in Cons area). Baskets were in great shape, all of them looked like new.

Beginner friendly - due to course being short and only 6 holes. Great place to bring the kids to try out the sport, or other less experienced players.

Though mostly open, there are a few trees protecting a some pins (holes 1, 2, 4) and a few causing you to choose anny or hyzer (hole 1).
Cons: No main kiosk available, which normally isn't a big deal. Butů There were no tee pad signs or layouts or maps, even for a small park with only 6 holes, it was a little confusing. Without the tee pads pointing me in the correct direction, it may have taken me a bit longer to figure out the layout.

Fairways were close to many of the other activity areas in the park, just something to be cautious of.

Only 6 holes, I think I would have enjoyed a few more making a 9 holer out of it. Not a lot of challenging holes, by distance or obstacles.

Park has potential (due to size) to be riddled with other park goers. I could see many holes on this park becoming completely unplayable due to this.
Other Thoughts: Couple of holes to note: Hole 1 has nice full grown trees directly in the line with the pin. This forces you to choose an anny or hyzer shot to get to the pin. Hole 5 was the longest on the course at 290', and uses what little elevation on the course for a small valley shot, plus there is a tee on either side of the basket which may cause a little interference when your disc fades at the end of the shot.

I could see to the newbies of the sport, without direction or maps it may be confusing to play here.

I ended up just playing with a Mako and a new Champ Roc +(just purchased the Roc). I wasn't going for a low record score, just trying to evaluate and learn a new disc. All of the holes are deucable with whatever is in your bag, and in reality, probably with what I was playing with.

Overall, though this was a very short and simple 6 hole course, I really enjoyed playing it. For some reason, the atmosphere was very refreshing and laid back. I didn't feel rushed, I just really enjoyed the passiveness of the park. I could easily see my family stopping here again if in the area, letting the kids play either on the equipment, or having them and the wifey take in a quick easy round with me.

Note: Hole 6 pin has been moved to the right of the walking trail due to excess water around previous pin location.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    8/28/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are in adequate shape. Even in a small little park with only 6 holes it was nice to see them install concrete teepads. It simply is my preferred tee surface.

2) Very beginner friendly because it is mostly open, there is no rough to lose a disc, and because the holes are not extremely long.

3) There is some shot shaping options here which is always a positive. It isn't just a simple hyzer, or a dead straight shot at every basket. I like this because it could have been really boring. I also consider this a big positive when considering beginners in the sport, they need to learn different shots and what better way than a few well placed obstacles.

4) Noone was there to play disc golf on a beautiful evening. I would gues it doesn't get a lot of play with all the other great courses in the area so it would be a really nice place for a calm round with the significant other, a nice place to practice, and the course has enough room you could invent all sorts of safari holes too.
Cons: 1) #1 and #2 pass fairly close to a picnic pavillion which was a big party when I was there. As is typical parties tend to creep outward and I had to wait for a few people to acknowledge my presence even though I am sure they had no idea what I was doing. There is a walk path in the middle of the park and #4 also passes right next to a BBall court.

2) No signs on the course but at least they put the hole # on the teepad.

3) I would guess the park is pretty crowded as it is nice wide open, it has playgrounds, basketball, a pavillion, and is well maintained. I could imagine people being in the way from time to time.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. it was my 8th of the day on my way into Davenport so to end on a nice calm 6 holer was perfect for me. I wouldnt hit this place up all that often if I lived in the area, but mainly because I prefer more challenge and the rest of the Quad Cities courses all have an abundance of challenge. If I wanted to practice a bit, get an nice calm round in with my wife, or I wanted a place to make up my own holes I would certainly return.

This course is just a nice contrast to all the other courses in the area dn it compliments them well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to start

1    4/10/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a well groomed multi use park. The fairways are grassy and some have nice mature trees as obstacles. There is a little variety in length here, enough to at least keep every hole from feeling exactly the same. There are good concrete tee pads, and the baskets are in great shape and catch well. The flow of the course is easy to follow despite the lack of numbering on tees and baskets.
Cons: There's just not a whole lot going on here that makes it a challenging or interesting course. None of the holes are very long, and none have enough obstacles to keep them from being ace runs for more experienced players. The park has a lot of other things going on, and the course plays very close to a walking path, playground etc., likely causing some safety issues on a nice day. There is no signage at all to tell distance or to know you're actually shooting the right hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to try out the game, with some minor obstacles, reasonable distances, and a nice quick loop that won't take all day for a beginner. More experienced players just won't find any challenge here, and there's not enough variety or interesting holes to make up for the lack of difficulty. If you want to check one off your list, it's a quick stop, otherwise don't bother.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short Feet

2-4    3/22/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Playground
Cement Tees
Quick Playing Course
Cons: No Signs
Only 6 baskets
Path in play on some holes
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it has potential. There's room for expansion. I like playing it over lunch with just a midrange and putter. Some pins are protected by mature trees, and some holes are just long enough to test your approach and longer putts. Missing basket on #5 has been replaced.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Slattery 6

1    8/23/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Portajohn and pavilion
-Pins are guarded by mature trees
-DG is fairly uninhibited by other park activities
Cons: -1 hole (#5) was missing the pin.
-all short par threes that are reachable with a hyzer (no real variety)
-NO tee signs, and pins didn't have the hole numbers on them
-walking path in play on some holes
-last hole doens't really play back to the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Nice little park setting with mature trees, unfortunately 1 of the holes was missing

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Slattery Park

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: dekalbdiscfan
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees.
Nice playground for kids.
Room for expansion.
Cons: Only 6 holes, all fairly short par #3s.
There are no signs or maps; making it challenging to find where to go next.
Other Thoughts: This is a very new course (2008) that hopefully is still in some phase of construction. Concrete Tees are nice but this course needs 3 more holes to make 9 and needs markers to identify the tees and pins. The course has potential but until it's only a one disc course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.