East Moline, IL 
Butterworth Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: pauldst Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 325ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway: Basket is on the far side of the pond, to the left between the two small trees to the right of the utility pole.



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Far better courses in the area...

1    9/10/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: lddake
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course seems well kept. There are signs at every tee marking out the hole, and very easy to navigate. Concrete tees.
Cons: This park is far too small to house even a 9 hole disc golf course. You have three holes in a row where you are fighting with a mediocre sized pond and a busy street. Then the last few holes are completely stacked on top of each other. Not novice friendly.
Other Thoughts: There are much nicer courses within a 15 minute drive from here. I won't be coming back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

No thank you

1    6/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Cant think of any pros
Cons: you name it...all the typical crappy things
Other Thoughts: This course was crammed into a park where disc golf does not belong. East Moline trying to keep up with other cities and add a disc golf course but unfortunately East Moline sucks in every way including its parks and this was the best effort they could muster. Was considering giving a 1/2 point...going to make it 0 after all they have earned it!!!

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Mrs. Buttwerworth

1    8/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are in good shape and always a positive on disc golf courses in my opinion.

2) Nice signs at each tee. The only negative is the diagram isn't 100% helpful it is more of a generic layout but it should help you decide which basket location is in play.

3) Nicely maintained . . . even the turf in the dense shade on holes #5-9. Tht is seriously some of the best shady turf I have ever seen and growing grass (turf that is) in the shade is not easy. There was a guy out there working when I played . . he was string trimming all of the tall grass (around the big sign for Lions Club or whatever was on the hill) below the #8 basket.

4) Elevation was used well, the downhill were more severe than the uphills. One was severely downhill through a tight woods and there were two to three holes that ascended through the wider wooded area. All three were great holes.

5) Nice variety here because they have some water in play, they have some more open holes with specific trees to avoid, they have a couple in dense tight woods and even a few in a wider wooded holes. There also is good use of elevation change here.

6) Nice variety in shots required. You need to be able to work you disc both directions an you need to know how to throw up and down hills. I threw my Dragon for the first time on #4 and came up 1' short of clearing the water so I was able to retrieve the floating disc anyways.

7) Avoids other play areas in the park fo the most part which is always an important thing to think of when designing a course.

8) Practice basket available by the first tee area.

9) Decent variety in hole length ranging from 200' to 440'. I like it when approaches need to be thrown along with drives.

10) Double dogleg hole is pretty cool. You need to work the disc one way then back the other to the basket. I enjoyed that especially because if you had the guts to throw an S curve on that hole it could net you an easy par or a really good birdie.

11) Risk/reward shots in play around a few baskets as well as a few drives. Well designed holes overall.

12) Restrooms available near the #1 tee along with some play areas, a picnic area set in the middle of holes #1, 7, 8, and 9. There also are some tennis courts and a basketball court.
Cons: 1) Diagram on signs is a little generic and could be better for helping you know the hole.

2) Discatchers are rusting in spots. The chain is even rusting ona few baskets and that is not a good thing as rust will certainly make the basket catch differently.

3) Nothing too oustanding . . . it is a solid course, just nothing amazing.

4) In my opinion this course is not real beginner friendly with the fairly tight drive over some water. There isn't much of a bailout for this hole. The tight downhiller would be tough on beginners as well as the holes that ascend the hill through the woods. There also are a couple basket perched very close to trouble spots where rollaway could become very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: There aren't a ton of negatives on this course and a fair amount of positives but it isn't the kind of course that is overwhelmingly awesome. It is well designed and built well but it just doesn't thrill me. It is beter than average for sure, just something is missing. Perhaps the holes are just bland and nothing really stands out as extraordinary. I liked the course and I would go back.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and tough 9er

1    4/10/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts in a nice little multi-use park, then plays into a wooded and hilly area and around a small pond. A couple holes have a sharp elevation change which adds some fun factor and some great challenge. A few of the other pins are set close to drop offs and thick rough, making for some great risk/reward opportunities and tough punishment for errant shots.

The pond comes into play on a couple holes, and adds even more great risk to the course. For me, the signature hole on the course was the one shooting down a steep wooded tunnel then across the pond with water to catch short shots and an ob road beyond, just a fun hole that plays some mind games with you.

The course had nice discatchers in great shape. The tees were concrete and were plenty large with some texture. The tee signs were descriptive and made the course easy to follow and navigate.
Cons: I don't often say this, but the alternate pin positions on this course were a bit disappointing. Not only was it not clear on the tee signs which positions the pins were in which made it so that you had to walk ahead on a few blind holes to see where the basket was, but they were also a let down compared to the long positions. They were in a mix of long and short settings when I played, but I checked out where the short and long placements were on all the holes. On nearly all of them, the longs were challenging and fun, with lots of variety, but the shorts were much easier and had lots of straight shots with a lot less challenge and risk. I didn't see the long tees mentioned on the course page, if they're there they aren't well marked.

A few of the hilly fairways were quite muddy despite no recent rain, which made them a little treacherous and pretty messy. The beginning and end of the course are pretty boring in the flat open part of the park, and play too close to playgrounds and picnic areas for safety.
Other Thoughts: This course has more challenge and variety than most of the 9 hole courses I've played, and a couple really fun holes that make it worth a stop if you're in the area. Beginners will find the course tough, but the water carry has a safe route around it and the rough is punitive but not too terribly disc hungry. More experienced players will enjoy several of the holes here, especially if they're in the long positions, though there are a few throw away holes that are a bit boring.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tech Nine

1    4/19/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Catcher Baskets
-Cement Tees
-2 Pin Placements
-Practice Basket
-Tennis and Basketball Courts Nearby
-Park is immaculately kept
-Great Layout (Uphill, Downhill, Open and tight fairway shots, water hazard, ob hazard
-Light Traffic (I was the only one there)
Cons: -#1 and #9 baskets are pretty close together
-#3 was muddy
-Getting from #4 basket to #5 Tee through the woods requires the nimbleness of a mountain goat
Other Thoughts: This park is beautiful. No trash, the grass is cut, the trees are trimmed and it's right in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. Downhill shots give the danger of overshooting the basket and uphill shots make the holes play longer. This course is a real test of the golfers shot selection and shot placement skill. Throw in a little fatigue factor from the hill portion, and it's a very rewarding experience. This is a great course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Bagger I've played.

1    4/2/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this course last spring. I read a few of the reviews about the pond being worked on. I played this course when the pond was full and looking great. If it's restored to what it was this course is awesome!

I can't imagine too many 9 holers being better than this one. It's pretty awesome. It's by far better than any 9 holer i've played. Don't let #1 fool you into thinking this is going to be easy.

There is a practice basket right off the parking lot and restrooms by the tennis courts.

This course has it all in terms of terrain. Open. tight, downhill, uphill, and over water. It has great variety with several par 4's when pins are in the long positions.

This is a challenging 9 hole course and can be beginner friendly with the short pins.

There are concrete tees and 2 pin positions for every hole. There is ultimate variety on this course. The shorts average 265ft while the longs play 368ft.

There are nice Innova Discatcher baskes and the tee signs are accurate with good info.

I had a blast playing this course.
Cons: When I played this course the pond was fine. The only complaint I had was hole #1 was an average hole.
Other Thoughts: Here is a link to the QC Course Page that has a map and photos.
http://www.qcdiscgolfclub.com...tterworth.php

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 very good niner

1    8/23/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: See hognosesucker's review for my first listing of pros and overall review; we were there together, and I agree with his comments.
I would also add that a number of greens have extreme fall offs surrounding the pin on multiple sides. This is a wonderful green feature being utilized more and more. Here, it is done very well.
Three of us; top level advanced players, were all nearly +5! And....we played pretty well. I hit the bucket for a near ace on #2; got the deuce, and still ended up well over.
Pond holes are still a little rough due to construction; but are good holes.
All but #5 and #7 were in long pin placements when we played.
Cons: Short pin placements will probably make this a quite less challenging/fun course.
Construction around pond is not pretty at present.
Course was quite busy with non-discers. We discovered after we were done, that four holes were technically closed; per posted sign. But, no one complained that we played by.
Other Thoughts: A gorgeous Mississippi River bridge/view on the way here from Devil's Glen. I very rarely give a 9 hole course a three rating. But, I was very pleasantly surprised by Butterworth and would add this one to the list of outstanding qca courses (along with Middle, West Lake, Camden 2 and Devil's Glen.)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A great 9 holer

1    8/23/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome shot variety, a little of everything hyzers anhyzers straight shots uphills and downhills
-2 pin locations
-some of the holes are really difficult for a nine holer, I was surprised and thrilled. For example, 3 is a tunnel down about 280' to a pond then a toss over the pond to the pin 30' from road, 4 is a longer hole where you have to throw either safe and shortish because of pond or go big and dangerous...nice risk/reward tradeoff. 6 was probably one of my favorites uphill around 450' with a layup hyzer for the first 200' then an up the gut tunnel shot uphill the rest of the way. 7 and 8 were also excellent holes 7=reverse rhbh 'S' shot 8=300' anny through some gnarly trees and a drop off 30' behind pin to the pond.
-concrete pads
Cons: -No facilities (no bathrooms that I saw, or water)
-Only 9 holes, and holes 3-6 were technically closed but we played them anyway
-Big time pond construction project going on make holes 3-6 pretty ugly, but you can tell 3,4,6 are great holes
-DGCR said 2 tee pads, but we only found 1.
Somewhat of a multiuse park. Lots of families when we were there but the folks that were in the fairways were pretty courteous, and moved out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Of the nine holers I've played this will probably be by far my favorite when they finish pond construction. Some very difficult holes on this nine holer made it quite memorable. Definitely recommend playing this when in the qca

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Butternuts!

1    6/12/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Damn this course looked awesome when I pulled in. It's in the middle of a neighborhood where peoples' backyards open up into the park. Looked like a pristine 9-hole. Holes 3 through 5 play around a pond down the hill from where the course starts. Fairly hilly with a few nice downhill shots. Holes that start in a field and end up in the woods bring both power and technique into play.
Cons: Pond was drained and there was construction taking place all around it. Bridge was out so i couldn't play hole 5. Most signs on the holes claim that there are two baskets for each, however all only had one. I don't know if this was due to the construction or not. Probably a four-star course if not for the hard hat area. Mosquitoes aplenty so be prepared.
Other Thoughts: I played in the early morning and got to talk with some of the friendly locals. There is a playground running through it so be careful where you throw. No litter or vandalism in sight. I will play through again after the bridge has been repaired.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bahh! 9 Holer

5+    10/11/2008   2/11/2009
Review By: MoPhunk
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course makes you keep your drives tight and also varies hyzers versus anhyzers and even throws in a couple of tomahawk/thumber shots. Not bad for a 9 hole course.
Cons: Hole 5 seems like a throw-in. People fishing can get in the way of your throw.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice a variety of throws except bombs.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.