Faribault, MN 
Wapacuta DGC Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 178ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good park to take beginners

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I brought my girlfriend here today and we had a great time. On longer courses she usually needs to do two drives to reach the hole, but here she was able to practice her approach. She also got her first birdie today with a great 20 foot putt on hole 7!

I really liked hole 4, a sharp dogleg left with some mature trees guarding the best throwing line. I also liked hole 9, an elevated tee with a small opening to throw through, with the basket visible.

Even though it's short, the course is well designed and has multiple types of holes. I used all of my shots on at least one hole (backhand, forehand, and hammer).

Navigation is no problem, and the flow is good except for a little backtracking to get to tee 7. There are signs on every hole listing distance. There's a box by hole 1 with score cards - there were some in there when we went. The baskets were all in good condition.

If short holes don't annoy you too much, this course may pleasantly surprise you.
Cons: Hole #8 can be very frustrating. The basket is on top of a steep hill and protected by trees, which can result in bad rolls.

I saw broken glass in many places around the course.

An overthrow on hole 1 (easy as it is downhill) can put your disc in a lawn or driveway.

I think some of the hole distances listed on the signs are off, just by comparing some of the holes to each other. There aren't any hole maps, so we had a little trouble finding the holes 4 and 8 baskets.
Other Thoughts: It was dry today so we had no problem with muddy tees. However, since they are all dirt I would definitely avoid this course if it has rained in the past few days.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Elevations

2-4    6/14/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation, especially for a city park 9 holer
-Nice discatcher baskets
-Great maps/scorecards at the start of hole 1
-Tees are marked by posts with signs
-Some interesting pin postions and fast greens, holes 4 and 8 and 9 were memorable. 4 was a big left turn down a hill and 8 played up a hill into the woods and 9 played back down and out of the woods
-Great layout, could have gotten around without the map
-Course doesn't really conflict with anybody else
-Course doesn't appear to be too busy
-Shouldn't lose any discs at this course
-Even though short, the holes never seemed repetitive. There was always at least one smartly placed tree to keep it fresh.
-There was decent parking, a bathroom, and a playground.
-The park was worn but fairly clean
Cons: -Fairly short
-Natural tees
-Could be muddy when raining with the natural tees. It looks as though this park gets a decent amount of traffic and could maybe use some woodchips to help prevent erosion.
-Getting up to 8 and down from the 9 tee can be dangerous. It hadn't started raining until after my round and I still was slipping going down.
Other Thoughts: I showed up at this course with very minimal expectations as the rating was 2.0 with 7 reviews when I played. I thought this course had a great fun factor with the elevation changes, lack of looking for lost discs, easy navigation, and smaller distance. I would recommend stopping here as it is not far from I-35.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Race Park

1    9/28/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: -DISCatcher Baskets (showing some wear)
-Nice elevation for small park
-Short and quick to play with easy flow
-Hidden/protected baskets with good placement to add some difficulty but holes very short.
-Signs
Cons: -Dirt Tee's with lack of any maintenance
-SHORT/straight holes
-Some signs but distances seem off.
-Not very well kept park
-Erosion around tees and baskets
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 starts out nice with downhill basket along edge of woods but the course kinda goes "downhill" from there... The dirt tees are not a huge problem due to being so short a big run-up is not needed but was muddy and slipped a lot while we were there. You will have to scout out a few baskets and could deal with a few roll-aways as well as over-grown shrubs/wooded areas. Hole 4 is huge dog leg left down the hill and through a very narrow gap but the only real shot which isn't straight. Hole 8 is ridiculous with basket perched along small hill mostly washed out in woods and over-grown so much you can hardly see the basket from the tee. We went here earlier in the day on our way to Maiden Shade as a warm-up and that was exactly what the course was. Only one other person was there on the course with a few "different" kinds of people in the parking lot. . . We were able to play this course with all of our putters/midranges and just had fun trying to shape different lines with each of them on each hole as well as practice approaches and putts but if this course was busy there would be NO WAY we could wait to play there. It was basically a flex round with no real score kept just because most holes are either birdies (if you miss the ace) and for SURE should hit par here but there are some chances for difficult shots and misses because the course was designed fairly well considering the land and space they had available but would get boring very fast. If you are heading south it is hard to say if this course is really worth stopping by. If it had been just a flat straight forward course with same distance and lack of unique baskets the course would easily rate 1/1.5 but you can tell they tried here just didn't have much to work with. The course feels as though it is slowly deteriorating and no local love. We had fun but only because we threw 3/4 discs each hole and did not have any expectations for the course other than being able to work on putt/approach shots.

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

 Quick and Fun

1    8/13/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: CZaslav
Played: 139  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun little course with a few blind shots and some tricky throws. Clean little park and It does not look like it gets very busy. Good Safari potential.
Cons: Extremely short course with most holes around 200-225 feet. Small area. Signage is below average, but with such short holes it did'nt really matter.
Other Thoughts: It was fun because of the tricky blind shots on a few holes. There were a few holes that could also punish you into the trees if you stray off course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Faribault DGC Review

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: pallen03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fun hole 8 which goes up a steep wooded hill adds for an interesting touch.

-There is also a variety and difficulty ranging from straightforward shots, to holes sitting at the bottom of steep hills.

-Signed tees.
Cons: -Very small course.

-Easy relative to par.

-14 and 15 year olds hovering around smoking, amongst other types of trashy people.

-Tee signs do not have map picture to basket.
Other Thoughts: An alright park to go to if you're bored. Compared to other parks this is one you might want to miss. There are WAY better experiences at most other Disc Golf Parks

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For A Quickee

1    9/1/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: lastinhale
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good For a quick 9, Definitely some challenging holes in some interesting places for a small course.
Cons: Hole 9 is not to clear where to tee from. Needs some better upkeep.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for hole 8 it could destroy your score if you don't get a birdie

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 292  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A lot of fun to play. Several nice ace runs and some good hyzers (RHBH).
- Lots of locals out using the course while I was there. Nice to see the local traffic!
- Signs at every tee and ample parking near the Hole 1 tee and Holes 3/6/7.
Cons: - Very, very short course.
- Hole 8 is a fun hole and tee shot, but it is predominantly about luck as to whether you get a 2 or possibly a 4. Also, there is a fence within 8-10 feet of the basket, with no clear indication as to whether the other side is O.B.
- Areas around the tees and a few baskets are very worn.
- Getting up to the Hole 8 basket and down from the Hole 9 tee is a little dangerous...especially with rain/snow.
Other Thoughts: A quick and enjoyable experience! Hole 4 is a very difficult deuce, but otherwise scores of 19-21 are definitely possible out of more advanced players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but tricky

1    7/4/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was pretty well marked with tee signs and no questions on where the next hole was. The designer was able to make this course about as difficult as they could with the limited space and resources they had. I loved the gimmick hole on #6. It sits higher up on a round retaning wall. Good mix for leftys and rightys. Good mix of open and wooded holes as well.
Cons: Not too much elevation. Grass tees can get muddy. Pretty short.
Other Thoughts: I will be back

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

1    9/10/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For the limited space this park has, it makes the most of the space it has.
There are some nice elevation changes on this hole which add to the intrigue.
Cons: Minimal distance makes the course a little too easy. My first round was a -6. (21)
Other Thoughts: For a city park I was surprised that it was not kept up better as there is a lot of garbage, glass and litter all over this park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.