Streamwood, IL 
Sunny Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #4 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 328ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Short Community Course

5+    7/6/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from the area this is one of my favorite short courses. Its biggest advantage is that it is close to me. Some may complain it is too easy but that is actually one of the reasons I like it. It is well designed in the sense that it is not just baskets sitting out in an open field. There is good use of elevation with some uphill and some downhill shots here. I have gotten to the point (after playing 1 year) where I could, with a good first shot, get a 2 on every hole except number 4 (which is still a little long for me though I see more experienced players making the distance). The holes are not so short or direct that it is simply a gimmie. You do have to make a good first shot. But if you do, you can be rewarded with a birdie (playing par 3). So that makes the course fun for me.
This is a great course for beginners or average players like me. You most likely will not lose a disc here. It is not simply baskets in a field so newbies get a sense that some different shots and challenges will be needed. Some holes have some moderate distance so you need to learn to increase the length of your drive to get a birdie. You can get through this course relatively quickly. All that adds up to why this is the course I play the most even if it is not my favorite.
Cons: The tee-offs are just dirt and they do have ruts. But you can usually tee off next to them (and begin the process of making new ruts!). Of course it would improve the course greatly to get concrete tee pads. You will on some holes have to wait for pedestrians to cross over, but I have never found that to be a big deal or obstruction.
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms in park.
Water Fountain in park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9

5+    9/14/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Whicho
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course isn't very crowded even on good weather days
-good beginner course with very open drives.
-Most hole positions are nice surrounded by some trees.
-Quick play, ~30 minutes per round
-Good mix of uphill and downhill shots.
Cons: -No skill shots required.
-Par usually higher then it probably should be.
Other Thoughts: If you're short on time and want a quick fun course to play then this is it. It's not a challenging course, but will give you plenty of practice gripping and ripping it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/17/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Andy in Lisle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course isn't very busy (but the park is)
-Some trees and elevations changes and variety of distances to keep things interesting
Cons: -Hole 8 throws on the concrete path but all other tee are dirt and uneven (I usually throw off the grass next to the tee
-A walking path runs through the course that is regularly used
Other Thoughts: -A good variety here, just watch out for other park users as they are usually oblivious that there is a disc golf course.
-The length isn't much of a challenge so if that what you're looking for steer clear of this one. Holes 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9 are all reachable by even lass than average players. Could help with your ace count.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short

5+    9/18/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course makes very good use of the space available in this small park which is impressive as there is also a basketball court, a skate park, and a water park there. It is beginner friendly, but with enough variety and fun to keep an experienced player interested.

It also makes good use of existing elevation. Hole 5 is a long shot off the top of a hill over some brush.

The course has a few baskets that are very well placed guarded by trees or water. Hole 2 shoots over a small pond to a basket in a small grove of trees.

The signs make navigation easy. They clearly show land marks and the location of the basket as well as list distance.
Cons: The park can be crowded due to other park activities and picnicers.

Some of the dirt tees are rutted and could use some work.

A few holes shoot across walking paths. Hole 1 shoots across a path and by a gazeebo.
Other Thoughts: It can be wet if there has been a decent rain recently.

It is a nice little course. Nothing amazing, but I love to stop there on my way home from work for a quick nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little 9 Hole

5+    4/11/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Nosh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are well marked and have basket locations marked on the signs. Elevation changes are what make this course fun.
Cons: A few tee boxes are rutted with sapling stumps and roots - watch your footing. With a fair amount of rain, a couple holes are unplayable or at least will get your shoes mucky.
Other Thoughts: Tee #2 tucked around the corner of a building (check course map in file section). Several walking paths in play so be aware of pedestrians in the area. Tee #8 is close to nice homes. Bad shots can land in backyards. Course should be played as all par 3 as course par is too easy. Fun little course if you happen to be in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    4/10/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole is clearly marked with a sign showing pin location. Course is well laid out, with each hole relatively easy to locate. Elevation changes make what would otherwise be a boring pitch and putt into something with some interest.
Cons: Located in a park with skateboarding, basketball, and play equipment, it can be a little busy on a nice afternoon. Dirt tee boxes can get rutted. If it has been raining, the bottom of the course will be under water making hole 5 unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course for what it is. Elevation changes and interesting course layout will make for some challenge. Worth 30 minutes if you're in the area, but don't plan a trip around coming to the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.