Streamwood, IL 
Sunny Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Nosh Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 209ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Minor water hazard between the tee and the basket.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Short Community Course

5+    7/6/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from the area this is one of my favorite short courses. Its biggest advantage is that it is close to me. Some may complain it is too easy but that is actually one of the reasons I like it. It is well designed in the sense that it is not just baskets sitting out in an open field. There is good use of elevation with some uphill and some downhill shots here. I have gotten to the point (after playing 1 year) where I could, with a good first shot, get a 2 on every hole except number 4 (which is still a little long for me though I see more experienced players making the distance). The holes are not so short or direct that it is simply a gimmie. You do have to make a good first shot. But if you do, you can be rewarded with a birdie (playing par 3). So that makes the course fun for me.
This is a great course for beginners or average players like me. You most likely will not lose a disc here. It is not simply baskets in a field so newbies get a sense that some different shots and challenges will be needed. Some holes have some moderate distance so you need to learn to increase the length of your drive to get a birdie. You can get through this course relatively quickly. All that adds up to why this is the course I play the most even if it is not my favorite.
Cons: The tee-offs are just dirt and they do have ruts. But you can usually tee off next to them (and begin the process of making new ruts!). Of course it would improve the course greatly to get concrete tee pads. You will on some holes have to wait for pedestrians to cross over, but I have never found that to be a big deal or obstruction.
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms in park.
Water Fountain in park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awful

1    9/25/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There's a couple nice holes. I liked 2,3 and, 5. Nice elevation on some holes.
Cons: There's alot of them first I would like to say this course may have been alot better when it first opened. I went there on Thursday and was really dissatisfied n whoever runs it has just let it goto crap. There was not a single tee sign,hole 8 didn't even have a basket, no signs or anything to help u figure out where it starts. Idk if the kids at the skatepark or something demolished this course and it's a shame
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't waste your time there's 2 really nice course within 5 minutes away. This course is a disaster but the skatepark, basketball court, and tennis court are super nice. ill never go back

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    12/25/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent layout flow once you find the first hole. Good use of what there is of water, trees, and hills. It also has some longer holes where you can let loose and throw. There isn't many places to lose your disc unless you get into the middle of the small water hazards. All baskets were in pretty good condition and had numbers on top for each hole.
Cons: It was a little difficult finding hole 1 (park just as you get in the parking lot off Rt 19 and follow the sidewalk behind skate park and basketball court), mostly because there are almost no signs on any holes. Out of the 9 holes, there were posts on 6 of the course but only 3 signs to identify hole number and one was on its last leg. All tee pads were dirt except for number 8 which I couldn't find but I think the walkway was being used because I found two painted lines that would make sense. All the tee pads were really worn down and had no release point (were worn down anywhere from 10-25' in front of post). Many were worn down a few inches so a miss step could result in a twisted ankle. When I was there is was too wet to even try to throw from that area. The only reason why I could find the starting point for 2 holes without posts was because of the warn out path for throwing. There's lots of trash in the grass around hole 2 and hole 3 pad. There was tons of geese poop on holes 5 and 6 and almost guaranteed to get it on your disc/shoes.
Other Thoughts: If this course had a full set of signs and some sort of tee pad (even boxed in with wood and have wood chips) this course would be so much better. It was probably a pretty good course at one time, but its been neglected for a while. I'm surprised because the rest of the park is really nice, new and kept up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9

5+    9/14/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Whicho
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course isn't very crowded even on good weather days
-good beginner course with very open drives.
-Most hole positions are nice surrounded by some trees.
-Quick play, ~30 minutes per round
-Good mix of uphill and downhill shots.
Cons: -No skill shots required.
-Par usually higher then it probably should be.
Other Thoughts: If you're short on time and want a quick fun course to play then this is it. It's not a challenging course, but will give you plenty of practice gripping and ripping it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/17/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Andy in Lisle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course isn't very busy (but the park is)
-Some trees and elevations changes and variety of distances to keep things interesting
Cons: -Hole 8 throws on the concrete path but all other tee are dirt and uneven (I usually throw off the grass next to the tee
-A walking path runs through the course that is regularly used
Other Thoughts: -A good variety here, just watch out for other park users as they are usually oblivious that there is a disc golf course.
-The length isn't much of a challenge so if that what you're looking for steer clear of this one. Holes 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9 are all reachable by even lass than average players. Could help with your ace count.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for a beginner

5+    10/30/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: geognerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Little in the way of water or rough to cause you to lose discs. Enough trees and terrain to keep things interesting. A variety of slightly wooded, open, uphill, and downhill basket placements to challenge a beginner and demonstrate the different settings where a basket may be placed. Signage posted at each hole. Had the course to myself. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Most of the tee areas are just lumpy uneven bare ground. Probably muddy or slippery if they're wet. A lot of geese and their droppings are in the vicinity of Holes 5-6. A really errant shot or putt at Hole 8 may go into the neighbor's yard.
Other Thoughts: This the first time I had played disc golf in about 15 years. This course is close to home and matches my abilities, so I see Sunny Hill being my course of choice for a while. Challenging enough that it will help me improve my game, but not so difficult that I get turned off. Signage for Hole 3 was missing. The photo by Nosh for Hole #8 shows the tee being in the grass to the right of the path. The tee is now on the walking path.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a multi-use park, but the disc golf is well separated from everything else.
- Best feature of the course is the large, sloping hill that contains most of the holes. A good downhill shot at 367' and an ok uphill basket at 328', as well as some more gently sloping shots. Even the flatter holes have a slight up or down angle which makes some lines just a touch tougher or easier.
- Good use of what little trees there are, especially by the baskets. Some small rows of trees and other small clusters add some difficulty to otherwise open holes.
- There are some marshy/swampy areas in a few of the fairways, depending on the recent weather. Not a real challenge; the field is wide open, and most players can throw right over it with no issue.
- A few holes require some line shaping due to medium sized trees or protected baskets. But, a typical RHBH hyzer can be serviceable.
- Great signs, good baskets, tees were dirt and getting pretty rutted.
Cons: - A couple of holes on the longer side, but overall the course is short. The downhill slopes make the holes more fun as opposed to difficult, and makes the course play smaller.
- Very few obstacles in the fairways, almost any line can be used to get to the basket. There are some trees and rough by some of the baskets, sure, getting there is a no-brainer.
Other Thoughts: - Fun course with some decent elevation here and there. A few challenges are present with wet areas and protected baskets, but overall it is wide open. Rewards both accurate shorter drives, and some longer uphill and downhill drives.
- Great for beginners and even some intermediate players, too easy for a seasoned player with decent length.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Chi Town 9 Bagger

2-4    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very nice small multiuse park. There is a building with restroom facilities.

When you arrive at the park you will see #9's basket tucked in the trees to your left. The 1st tee is located to the southeast of the basketball court. #1's basket is located near the building.

This course is mostly open with a variety of distances. It's a pretty short course. Many holes have some type of obstacle protecting the pin. This is a very beginner friendly course with no rough to lose discs.

The course does have some minor elevation changes. #5 is a nice long downhill toss.

Tee signs are adequate. Not bad for homemade. Has #, distance, and brief hole description.

Good Mach 3 baskets with number plate on them.

Course is easy to navigate.
Cons: Dirt tees. They will definitely be muddy after rain. Some are rutted and uneven.

After heavy rains/wet times of year there are many places that hold water.

This course is not a challenge to more adv/pro level players.
Other Thoughts: Shady Oaks Park in Streamwood is just down the road. It's much more difficult and offers more challenge it that is what you are looking for.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

2-4    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent little nine hole course in a suburban park. The course is mostly open but has enough elevation change to make the holes interesting. This would make a great beginner course as it has very little rough to lose a disc in and the holes are long enough to require some distance with out being frustrating for those who can't throw far. There are 3 fun downhill ace runs and an uphill shot with the basket placed near the top of a fairly steep slope. The baskets are older mach 3's and although they don't look that nice, they still catch just fine. There are long tees, but you would need to play with a local since they are grass and are not marked in any way. Tee signs are pretty good for such a simple straightforward course.
Cons: The course is pretty easy, and only a couple of the holes require you to shape lines. The rest of the holes are pretty much wide open. The tees are dirt and a couple of them are very uneven. The worst tees are on shorter holes so this shouldn't be too much of a problem. The only navigational problems are between hole 1 and 2 (walk to your right around the building and you will find 2) and between 5 and 6 (walk toward your left and towards the road).
Other Thoughts: While not a bad course, its really nothing special. Don't go out of your way to play this one, but it's a nice quick round if you happen to be out in the area. Nearby Shady Oaks is a challenging, varied 18 hole course that is well worth a stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short

5+    9/18/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course makes very good use of the space available in this small park which is impressive as there is also a basketball court, a skate park, and a water park there. It is beginner friendly, but with enough variety and fun to keep an experienced player interested.

It also makes good use of existing elevation. Hole 5 is a long shot off the top of a hill over some brush.

The course has a few baskets that are very well placed guarded by trees or water. Hole 2 shoots over a small pond to a basket in a small grove of trees.

The signs make navigation easy. They clearly show land marks and the location of the basket as well as list distance.
Cons: The park can be crowded due to other park activities and picnicers.

Some of the dirt tees are rutted and could use some work.

A few holes shoot across walking paths. Hole 1 shoots across a path and by a gazeebo.
Other Thoughts: It can be wet if there has been a decent rain recently.

It is a nice little course. Nothing amazing, but I love to stop there on my way home from work for a quick nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.