Streamwood, IL 
Sunny Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Nosh Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Tee #2 tucked around the corner of the building.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Fun quick round

2-4    3/19/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a small neighborhood park with scattered trees and some good elevation. The elevation was used very well to create some fun little holes that make the course pretty interesting. The trees are also used well to protect many of the pins, and make some of the shorter holes a little more difficult.

There are tee signs on the holes that clearly show the hole layout, and make the course easy to follow. The course has a decent flow, and you can see all the tee markers from the previous basket so there is never a question of where to go next.
Cons: The course is a short little 9 holer, so there isn't a whole lot of difficulty here. The tees were dirt, and were in pretty bad shape with ruts and roots on many of the pads. There were also a number of muddy and wet areas in the lower parts of the course.

A few of the holes played pretty close to one another, so if there were other players here there could be an issue with throwing on top of other people. The course also plays pretty close to other park facilities, so there was some interference from other park users. Hole 1 seems to be a popular picnic spot, especially with the gazebo located there, so on a nice summer day it can be completely unplayable. My last round there, someone had their hammock strung between a tree and the first basket...
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice little course that is beginner friendly, but also has some fun holes for more experienced players. It's not terribly challenging, but it's a quick and enjoyable place to get a quick round in, or bring new players out. Don't drive out of your way to get here, but it's an ok stop in if you're in the area, and a good warm up for nearby Shady Oaks.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    4/15/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 151  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a small park, this course offers the most it possibly could. Water elevation, wind are all factors. Now before you jump to the conclusion that this course is a high caliber course know that this is my home course so I think I like it a lot more than everyone else. This is a very open course where trees barely play a factor. Wind and elevation play a factor on holes 4-7 which help make the course a little more challenging. Easy to navigate with good signage.
Cons: RAIN RAIN RAIN. If it rains half of the course will be flooded which can be really annoying. Can get crowded with all the external activities going in the park. Watch out of people walking their dog through the course. No concrete tees. (Just my preference)
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very fun course that basically comes down to being a pitch and putt. Beginner friendly, so bring out your friends who have never played because it will give them the confidence to play more. Don't drive out of your way to play, but if you are in the area this course is a lot more enjoyable than Streamwoods Shady Oaks course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little 9 Hole

5+    4/11/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Nosh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are well marked and have basket locations marked on the signs. Elevation changes are what make this course fun.
Cons: A few tee boxes are rutted with sapling stumps and roots - watch your footing. With a fair amount of rain, a couple holes are unplayable or at least will get your shoes mucky.
Other Thoughts: Tee #2 tucked around the corner of a building (check course map in file section). Several walking paths in play so be aware of pedestrians in the area. Tee #8 is close to nice homes. Bad shots can land in backyards. Course should be played as all par 3 as course par is too easy. Fun little course if you happen to be in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    4/10/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole is clearly marked with a sign showing pin location. Course is well laid out, with each hole relatively easy to locate. Elevation changes make what would otherwise be a boring pitch and putt into something with some interest.
Cons: Located in a park with skateboarding, basketball, and play equipment, it can be a little busy on a nice afternoon. Dirt tee boxes can get rutted. If it has been raining, the bottom of the course will be under water making hole 5 unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course for what it is. Elevation changes and interesting course layout will make for some challenge. Worth 30 minutes if you're in the area, but don't plan a trip around coming to the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

1    3/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 They remembered the fun

2-4    11/29/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 140  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course designers remembered to add a little fun to this one. They used the elevation changes to design in several elevated tee ace runs. A few of the baskets are tucked into some tree cover, so they added a little challenge where they could. # 4 is an uphill shot with some rollaway potential. The course flowed pretty well, although I looked for the tee for # 2 for awhile. Most of the tees were a decent distance away from the last basket, yet still easy to find. All in all, it was a fun little course.
Cons: In the end, it is a 9-hole pitch and putt. The tees were rutted and in bad shape. There was a nice bulletin board between the parking lot and # 1's tee that said "Sunny Hill Disc Golf" on it with exactly zero information on it. # 4 played pretty close to # 2 & # 3; it looked like it had room to move over closer to # 5 to avoid that conflict.
Other Thoughts: This course is no great challenge, but given the size of the park it's a good local course. By no means should you go out of your way to play here, but if you find yourself in the area it's a fun place for a quick 9 holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Neat little course

2-4    10/4/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each tee is clearly marked with a posted sign. Quality markers detail where the specific holes are, but it doesn't matter, as this course has a decent flow. Really surprising elevation changes on this little park, and some pretty well placed trees. For the most part, this course is pretty open. Absolutely nobody there when I played on the middle of a beautiful Saturday.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes aren't great, and I never like playing near homes. This is in the middle of a busy park, so foot traffic can play a role. Some of the ground is fairly murky and not in great condition, but it isn't so bad that it ruins the course. Even though it flows well, I feel like they could have used some of the open space better.
Other Thoughts: You have to take this course for what it is, and that's a fun, quick, easy little nine hole in the middle of a larger park. In that regard, this course succeeds, but that of course presents the problem that there is not much lasting value in playing this course. I may go back to play if I'm in the area, but it isn't a course that I am dying to play again. I had a very pleasant, relaxing time playing this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.