Placerville, CA 
Finnon Reservoir DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #16
4 / --   4 / 443ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Wrong time of year

1    9/22/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: justdisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course is a challenge, in my opinion the best courses are. It is a long course with many par 4s & 5s. Not the most elevation change I have ever played, but there is still a lot. You will be required to throw a variety of long drives, and throw them accurately. Mistakes can be very costly here as the bush's are very thick and discs can be easily eaten up by them. Staying in the fairway is more important here, impenetrable bush and poison oak lurk around every corner. That being said the holes here are really cool and well put together. Every hole is so unique and a diffrent challenge. Really liked this course as a challenge, it was my first time here and it kicked my butt. I look forward to coming back here and figuring this course out. Putting up a good score here is now a disc golf goal for me.
Cons: Biggest con for me has to be the time of year I played this course, it was pretty brutal out there. It is located on a hot country side with STICKER BUSHES WEEDS EVERYWHERE!!!!! I played here in late summer/ early fall and I will never play here this time of year again. Me and my friend were both COMPLETELY covered in stickers before we finished . The fairway is sticker bushes weeds, the rough is sticker bushes, they are knee/ waist high and they are everywhere. If you do play in late summer or fall wear long pants. Otherwise I will only be playing this course in winter or spring from now on, possibly early summer. But the time of year I played it was almost unplayable, it took a long time and a strong will to finish.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course, but don't get caught in the sticker bush weeds in late summer or early fall

1    5/10/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: Par6
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long and challenging. Only made it through Hole 10 as I got tired. The shortest hole was 330 ft. The > 600 ft holes are extremely challenging due to the vegetation (tall grass, lots of bushes) and elevation.
Cons: LOTS of Poison Oak. The tees are natural, and not very even. Not a lot of course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: People should pack out their trash that they pack in. There are very few trash cans and people should be aware and pack it out.
The little cafe at the start of the course has good food, reasonable prices and a very friendly staff.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course great mix of challenges

1    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Gravediggerjason
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Diverse holes with several different challenge a unique topography and a nice little restaurant with great service and course knowledge
Cons: Some tee pads are placed a great distance from the prior basket.
(I'm reaching though it's great fun)
Other Thoughts: Lake water was low a horse was wandering the course (take water it's along walk)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Finnon update

5+    3/10/2013   11/15/2012
Review By: Hangtownie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is improving - Tee signs are up and 4 tee matts have been installed on the worst tees. Baskets have been renumbered. Stolen basket 12 has been replaced with a new alt. pin placement. Maps/scorecards are in the cafe. Navigation should be much easier for new players. Course is better suited for experienced players. Plays best from October to about May. Hot as hell in the Summer and depending on how much weedwacking has been done - stickers and grass can get tall. Frank in the cafe cooks up some good after golf grub. Lake is about half refilled after the new dam but looks swimable. Last year the water looked like chocolate milk. As a local I would recommend a guide for first timers not just for navigation reasons.
Cons: Not perfect yet - very large course which requires tons of work and only a handful of people willing to do it and all funds come from Hangtown Disc Golf Club. So thing like replacing stolen baskets takes away from things like new tees. Also Poison Oak is about everywhere so make sure you know what it looks like even in the winter. We've removed tons from the main part of the course but still need more work and if you land off the fairway good chance your near some.
Other Thoughts: The parking fee is because they have to have a federal inspector inspect the dam every year at the sum of $6,000. - Why the Black Basket? Linex sponsered that hole. Unfortunitly The pictured hole had to be moved.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/6/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course has lots of room, makes for a very nice hike.
Excellent use of available terrain! Unique aspect, use of an old water tower converted into a tee pad!
Many opportunities to let fly with a variety of throws.
Cons: More 'raw' than 'refined'.
Navigation was iffy in spots.
Stray discs can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Reaching the course is almost as fun!!
Excellent and friendly help available from the proprietor (Frank?) of the Rock Creek Cafe!
Other course local is Pinocchio, the long ago abandoned horse.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Find Finnon

2-4    5/26/2010   5/3/2011
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 35.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Outrageous course. Just getting there is half the battle. Very diverse and raw terrain. Will take lots of work to tame this property. If you like a challenge you will love this course.
Cons: Watch out for poison oak, and need spotter on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Camping right on site and great food at Rock Creek Cafe. It is quite the drive out to the course. Remote area but worth it!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.